RPG Diablo III v2, Q2 2012

khelben
post Aug 9 2011, 01:44 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Aug 9 2011, 01:33 PM)
Diablo is one of my favourite game back then.... and talking about connection.... i remember it was 1998 when i first try using the dial up connection to play with my friend..... it was using phone dial over to my friends modem... tat means onli can 2 player play.... and it was not even consider 56k modem online play.... is like direct connect....
wow really miss it..... nowadays all broadband or Fiber optic..... big differences..... so i guess connection will only get better. ALL PPL NO WORRY....LETS GRAB D3!
I played Diablo 1 on my 33.6kbps modem laugh.gif

Super addictive.
Archaven
post Aug 9 2011, 01:47 PM

It isn't Death you should be afraid of
1,201 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Aug 9 2011, 01:33 PM)
Diablo is one of my favourite game back then.... and talking about connection.... i remember it was 1998 when i first try using the dial up connection to play with my friend..... it was using phone dial over to my friends modem... tat means onli can 2 player play.... and it was not even consider 56k modem online play.... is like direct connect....
wow really miss it..... nowadays all broadband or Fiber optic..... big differences..... so i guess connection will only get better. ALL PPL NO WORRY....LETS GRAB D3!
Sorry i'm no longer interested. It's more to me that Blizz is showing freaking obvious greed in introducing the RMT AH. Listing fee, transaction fee, cash out fee. Will they be even interested to make D3 subscription based too? Yeah they would like to if they can. Can't you see their wide open mouth smiling dreaming only about cash instead of focusing on the darn game? Think about it.. You proably need to spend close to RM300 for the game, then constant internet connection, participate in RMT AH to get 1 full set legendary item.. probably RM25-30 for 1 set? If a particular set item is popular it may even cost more. And what if a character have different playstyles and probably few sets. What about other characters? So if you play all characters including grabbing all the sets you probably end up paying 2 to 3 times more the price of the original game.

Oh haven't you forgot? Diablo 3 is a 4 player multiplayer co-op action hack and slash RPG. Not a freaking MMO. Why are they introducing MMO element onto a 4 player multiplayer co-op game? Because of $_$. Blizz is pure sold out.
khelben
post Aug 9 2011, 01:50 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Aug 9 2011, 01:47 PM)
Because of $_$. Blizz is pure sold out.
Oh my god! A company is trying to make money!!

Somebody call the whambulance!
mugenz
post Aug 9 2011, 02:09 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

To me i wish i can have the conventional computer games which can be played anytime, anywhere and anyhow.

all i know if i am gonna download some stuff, which i cant use my connection i will resort to a single player computer game which does not use my connection so i can wait for my download to finish atm do some gaming.

Give a scenario, reach home tired from work and wanna play d3 and login "omg.. game server maintenance?".

post Aug 9 2011, 02:12 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Aug 9 2011, 02:09 PM)
To me i wish i can have the conventional computer games which can be played anytime, anywhere and anyhow.

all i know if i am gonna download some stuff, which i cant use my connection i will resort to a single player computer game which does not use my connection so i can wait for my download to finish atm do some gaming.

Give a scenario, reach home tired from work and wanna play d3 and login "omg.. game server maintenance?".
tis is the trend this day.... cannot bising one..... i also faced problem like connection down then i cant login my Steam ACC and it dont allow me to used offline mode end up no need to play.....

Quazacolt
post Aug 9 2011, 02:16 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Aug 9 2011, 01:44 PM)
I played Diablo 1 on my 33.6kbps modem laugh.gif

Super addictive.
tristram lies in golden riches~ dupes~ archangel staff of apocalypse~ king sword of haste~

yeah the good ole days rclxms.gif
mugenz
post Aug 9 2011, 02:20 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

hahaha.. throw the coins on the floor and ready one potion..

DUPE 5000 coins! hahahaa
used2bcow
post Aug 9 2011, 02:48 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Aug 9 2011, 01:19 PM)
I do understand your preferences and i can empathize with you. But out of curiosity how often do you find yourself playing games without the net ? 10% ? 50% of your overall gametime ?

The are are some differences between the two game modes. In Ladder, you'll find runes that dont drop in SP which allows you to make all sorts of runewords which opens up a whole different kind of gameplay altogether. There are also end game events that only take place on the battlenet like Uber Diablo and Pandemonium event. Both events reward you with items you otherwise won't find in SP. I think this will not happen in D3 because the toons are not restricted to either game modes.

They could do what you said but they would then have to provide 2 different games to cater both worlds. Because in order for offline gameplay to work, the entire game needs to be stored locally. Which means all the data like drop rates, chest spawns, map coordinates can be found on your pc. This isn't something they want to happen with the online game. Part of the reason why the hackers were able to dominate D2 was the fact that the entire game was on the client side and so they were able to break the game apart and hack it. There's also the issue of having to deal with updating 2 sets of games and this doesnt even take into account of future contents. I'm sure the offline guys would want what the online people are getting as they wouldnt want to be left out. What they end with is two sets of fans demanding different things. The potential problems are endless, so they've made the judgement call to consolidate both game modes so they could focus their efforts in supporting one game as opposed to having to support 2 different games.
I've got constant internet connection though the games i play dun require any internet connections, apart from the game updates from Steam.
I dont really play multiplayer games. Tried WOW and City of Heroes but didnt have the time to constantly play so the subscription was a waste. Ended up stopping after awhile. SO i guess less than 1%? tongue.gif

I dont play competitively so i guess the Ladder thing doesnt really appeal to me much. I play for the story. Maybe thats why adventure games and games with heavy story is more my cup of tea.

Anyways, regardless of the game modes, your argument is valid. Even though some ppl may not like it i see credence in your point.

For me, this is more a wait and see purchase. Want to see if the single player is worth the other setbacks.

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Aug 9 2011, 02:59 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(used2bcow @ Aug 9 2011, 02:48 PM)
... Tried WOW ... didnt have the time to constantly play so the subscription was a waste. Ended up stopping after awhile....

u should try wow taiwan with english cilent if u can read and understand mandarin fonts.

zero entry cost, u dun need to buy cd keys to play.

alternate billing system.

method A ~ RM17 = 30 hours
method B ~ RM51 = 30 days

i recommend RM17 for 30 hours though. so you can stop anytime and continue back anytime.

because if buy 30 days for RM51 then will feel urge to grind everyday to get monies worth because RM51 = 90 hours if based on method B
used2bcow
post Aug 9 2011, 03:13 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Aug 9 2011, 02:59 PM)
u should try wow taiwan with english cilent if u can read and understand mandarin fonts.

zero entry cost, u dun need to buy cd keys to play.

alternate billing system.

method A ~ RM17 = 30 hours
method B ~ RM51 = 30 days

i recommend RM17 for 30 hours though. so you can stop anytime and continue back anytime.

because if buy 30 days for RM51 then will feel urge to grind everyday to get monies worth because RM51 = 90 hours if based on method B
Lol unfortunately cant read chinese. OCBC tongue.gif

Thanks for the recommendation though biggrin.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Aug 9 2011, 03:16 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(used2bcow @ Aug 9 2011, 03:13 PM)
Lol unfortunately cant read chinese. OCBC tongue.gif

Thanks for the recommendation though biggrin.gif

no worries u can still join the english speaking guild.

trial gives 30 hours within 14 days, until level 15 / 20

RM17 +30 so u get 60 hours of game play at RM17

more info in this tered:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1609365
heaven
post Aug 9 2011, 03:19 PM

369 posts

No one mention you still can use ingame gold for Auction House?
Quazacolt
post Aug 9 2011, 03:29 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(heaven @ Aug 9 2011, 03:19 PM)
you could. think of the auction house as just that, just with added RMT options
neoengsheng
post Aug 9 2011, 03:33 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(heaven @ Aug 9 2011, 03:19 PM)
The question should be, would you sell a Legendary or Epic item for in game gold or cash?

Remedy
post Aug 9 2011, 03:56 PM

83 posts

Actually seriously i know many guys out there don't freaking care much if D3 were to go online-only to play.

HOWEVER - would you guys even realize

1. Playing D3 halfway .. and your internet connection drops... would your game just hang? stop and restart u at the last checkpoint ?? What happen u just saw an AWESOME drop u can sell in auction house on the floor... and u gonna walk over it to pick it up... but that very instance.. our so called reliable STREAMYX connection drops... so what ?

2. And what happen if let say most guys out there are using an internet connection which shared among a few people in a dorm or by few people living within the same roof... someone just torrent a whole bunch of stuff while halfway you are playing D3 SOLO.. should that affect your SOLO experience to be laggy ?? If they would have introduced offline mode.. i guess like SC2.. your game experience won't be affected ...

3. For god sake... even if we have constant internet connection doesn't mean you your connection isn't BLOCKED on certain ports.. maybe for some people who u know joined a wifi hotspot or something... they might only open PORT 80 for you to browse web. That means... those internet connection can't let u play D3. YOU NEED A NICE CLEAN OPENED Internet connection like personal streamyx or unify line to play D3. So in another words. you are only restricted to play D3 just like how u would play MMORG right at home. Even though.. with D2 or SC2 i could play it anywhere in a game capable laptop hardware.
SpikeTwo
post Aug 9 2011, 03:58 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

QUOTE(neoengsheng @ Aug 9 2011, 03:33 PM)
The question should be, would you sell a Legendary or Epic item for in game gold or cash?
yes!
Archaven
post Aug 9 2011, 04:02 PM

It isn't Death you should be afraid of
1,201 posts

I hope D3 will backlash and Blizz will get a tight slap on their face..
yimingwuzere
post Aug 9 2011, 04:14 PM

990 posts

Regarding AH criticism - we can always choose not to buy items with real money. Only concern is if the servers will now be saturated with PRC gold farmers now that Blizzard has legalized RWM item sales.

Regarding SP criticism - there's Torchlight 2 so you won't miss D3 much. It'll also be cheaper for sure.

Main concern is this: if they try another bullshit price jack and lie their way out e.g. "Server bandwidth in Singapore is expensive so the game is expensive too!", then I won't be buying this game like I never bought and never will buy Starcraft 2.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Aug 9 2011, 04:15 PM
Gormaz
post Aug 9 2011, 04:23 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

I am somehow interested in how the "buy stuff from AH with real money" or "sell it for real money" will work.

That it get used by criminals as a way to launder money or for people to cheaply transfer fund internationally is not totally out of questions imo...

And I am surprised Blizz didnt think of these...
used2bcow
post Aug 9 2011, 04:26 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Aug 9 2011, 03:16 PM)
no worries u can still join the english speaking guild.

trial gives 30 hours within 14 days, until level 15 / 20

RM17 +30 so u get 60 hours of game play at RM17

more info in this tered:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1609365
K man thanks biggrin.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(Gormaz @ Aug 9 2011, 04:23 PM)
I am somehow interested in how the "buy stuff from AH with real money" or "sell it for real money" will work.

That it get used by criminals as a way to launder money or for people to cheaply transfer fund internationally is not totally out of questions imo...

And I am surprised Blizz didnt think of these...
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm....reminds me of a Cop show(criminal minds? Csi new york? Law and Order:SVU?). That...is...very possible....

This post has been edited by used2bcow: Aug 9 2011, 04:32 PM

95 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:59 AM