6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

jchue73
post Sep 5 2011, 02:18 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 4 2011, 10:45 AM)
Jchue, why the 85 instead of 35? It's just personal taste, I just prefer tele ends more than wide. Of coz, the 35 have it's strengths as well.
Tele is always "easier" to shoot. Wide angles are more difficult to shoot get good shots.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 4 2011, 11:09 AM)
I prefer tele ends more than wide tongue.gif 85mm on FF is just nice for me. Altho I want a 24mm as well to balance out my prime range =/ but pricing is er...
You need both 24mm f/1.4 and 35mm f/1.4. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 4 2011, 11:35 AM)
both the 35mm and 85mm are equally important.
When in doubt, buy all. laugh.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 4 2011, 12:19 PM)
Nice range on FF. Last year was using 85mm on D90 for a while, find it too tele sad.gif Wonder how those guys shoot with 135mm on FF for full body portraiture, need stand far away lol.
I was even using 135mm on DX. Agree that it's long and therefore one of my lease used primes. Now on the FX, the 135mm is nice. It feels just like 85mm on DX.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 4 2011, 04:40 PM)
everytime i use my 17-55, i wish it had extra reach cos sometimes lazy to take that extra 2 steps or so.
then i go to 17mm and realise its more needed, cos sometimes u got no place to step back.

now if only nikon would release a 17-70 f/2.8
Now that would be a HUGE lens !

Instead of waiting for Nikon to solve your problem, you can solve it yourself by getting another body with another lens. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 4 2011, 05:02 PM)
lol its a king fisher ke? i didnt know what just shoot only since its the closest one to me that day laugh.gif

Taken at my moms kampung at Kuala Sepetang on 2nd day of raya smile.gif

Had to use manual focus on 200mm because this 80200 two touch back focus really really bad sad.gif
KFs are difficult as they are small, easily spooked and hard to find especially perched on a clean branch. Looks like it was quite near. KFs are usually shot at 500mm to 800mm if you want to fill the full frame.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 4 2011, 09:46 PM)
relatively silent but some are abit noisy also like the 300mm f/4 af-s i tried before...
The AF-S 300mm f/4 (at least my version) is not noisy. Same sound as any AF-S motor. Just that it hunts if shot in low light or not with a cross type sensor in difficult conditions. Similar problem you get when doing the same thing with a 24mm f/1.4 or the 35mm f/1.4. I assume the same thing as well on the new 85mm f/1.4.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 4 2011, 10:44 PM)
not really...just that its older af-s.
200-400 f/4 is very silent...so is the 600mm f/4.
Same silent noise as any AF-S lens.

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 4 2011, 10:49 PM)
17-55 no VR, but still very very good lens

To cover 17-55 i rather use a 50mm prime and wide angle, 24-70 is good.
Errr... The 50mm and the 24-70mm you're suggesting also no VR wor... whistling.gif

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 4 2011, 11:06 PM)
My point is, since a standard system will definitely include a wide angle lens, may as well, get 24-70 and 70-200 + prime, instead of getting 17-55. This apply to DX too.

17-55 is good, but for me, i rather spend that money for 24-70. But, if one have cash to burn, not a problem at all tho.

Since i no money to buy either, lets wait for 17-55, 24-70 VR, who knows they might release it soon.
We've debated a lot about 17-55 vs 24-70. The summary of it is to buy what you need NOW. No use getting a better glass like the 24-70 only to say that the focal length tak ngam on DX. doh.gif
jchue73
post Sep 5 2011, 02:29 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 4 2011, 11:08 PM)
This one seems good, F4 is sharp, not the girl F4 please.
Not super but it's fine. Comparing just quality, lenses like the 17-55 and the 24-70 are still better though.

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 4 2011, 11:26 PM)
well, to clarify, 17-55 is very good lens, i use it before. Like it

But if budget limited, i would rather spend on 24-70 and get wide angle to cover the wider length.
Limited budget and the 24-70 lens does seem to be a paradox. rclxub.gif They do not belong in the same line.

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 4 2011, 11:26 PM)
17-55 is not wide enough, especially on DX. One will still need at least 10-24. So instead of getting 10-24, 17-55, 70-200 which is overlapping and missing the length between 56-69mm, i would rather get 10-24, 24-70, 70-200.

Just my opinion. for lens planning.
17-55 is a more general / event type lens. Of course it's not in the super wide category which you may want for landscapes.

For events, super wide may be a nice lens to have but not if you want to shoot group photos. Distortion is horrible.

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 4 2011, 11:47 PM)
Well, you DO notice that even at f/2.8 you'd still hit 1/15s and ISO1600 at 70mm in a dim lit hall right? Think about it wink.gif Of course having VR/IS is better than not having anytime. Don't need it? Just switch it off.
IS/VR is a nice feature to have but it is not the be all end all of things to have. Likelihood of getting motion blur is quite high too at 1/15.

If you really need to shoot at those lighting conditions, get a body like the D700 where you can shoot at ISO 6400 at 1/60. Or an f/1.4 lens at 1/60 at ISO 1600. Take your pick.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 4 2011, 11:59 PM)
and lose out on the 'free' telephoto range of DX? nah.
There are no such things as free telephoto. It comes at the expense of having less efficient photosites.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 4 2011, 11:59 PM)
now waiting for nikon to release 100-300 f/4 tongue.gif
Sigma already has one.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:12 AM)
Given if stage situation, using 17-55 or 24-70 will be relatively lack of reach. I bet these two lenses aren't mean for those. If that's the case, the 70-200 VR will be much more suitable.
Yup. Heavy too and a monopod would be a welcome relief if you're going to be shooting long.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:12 AM)
Isn't the D7000 already equipped with 100% viewfinder? In long run, I hope to reach FX and keep the DX as my backup laugh.gif
FX and DX is a perfect marriage.

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 5 2011, 12:16 AM)
Not if when you are at the photographer's pit...
With that kind of reach and in a photograher's pit, you'd use a monopod to support the heavy lens + body combo anyways.

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 5 2011, 12:36 AM)
nope.. not unless you know where to look for a place for your lens to lock focus to. Here, let me give an example

sorry size a bit big

f/7.1, 1/30s, ISO800 (the highest I dare push on my old A100), 70mm, no flash...

I could push the f-number a bit lower, but my old sigma 24-70 wasnt that good at smaller apertures, so yeah...
That's not a great example. More of a lucky shot that the AF was on the spot lights near the main subject and you barely get sufficient focus on the main subject, thanks to a small f/7.1 aperture.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Sep 5 2011, 01:13 AM)
Never has experience with that kind of stage light yet, but couple of times I back focused when against a subject with bright backlit sweat.gif

Well, only short focal length with f/2.8 from Nikon has no VR while the tele lens such as 70-200 has it.
80-200mm f/2.8 old? icon_question.gif

Some of the more challenging concert photos I took a while back with the venerable AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8.

Backlighting

Dim and hard to focus

When loads of light, it's fantastic.

jchue73
post Sep 5 2011, 04:21 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ Sep 5 2011, 02:56 AM)
80-200mm AF-S, the best piece of glass you can get for sub RM5k. Not easy to hunt for a good copy but worth the effort. Not as heavy as 70-200mm but just as fast as it when focusing. Shouldnt have sold my whole nikon gears years back sad.gif
Agreed. Actually, the AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8 is heavier than the 70-200mm f/2.8.

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Sep 5 2011, 03:52 AM)
Hey guys i was wondering why would nikon make a 14-24 f2.8 for? Most photographers dont shoot lanscapes wide open.. or do they?

hehe still new wink.gif
My guess... Photojournalism?
jchue73
post Sep 5 2011, 12:16 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(1kokies @ Sep 5 2011, 05:23 AM)
jchue that 80-200 for concert shoot is sharp !!!! Makes me want to get one too.
I really dig shooting at concerts and I miss shooting at fashion shows. It presents the most challenging situation for the shooter when whatever you read is being put to practice. But to be able to shoot at one (especially concerts) is quite difficult as you need proper credentials.

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Sep 5 2011, 07:06 AM)
I don't know about landscape but for wedding/events then the fast f2.8 sure comes in handy
Agreed. DoF at f/2.8 wide open and at those focal lengths is quite a lot and usable for weddings / events. Landscape usually use small aperture and any reasonable wide angle lens is able to perform nicely.

QUOTE(onscreen @ Sep 5 2011, 10:34 AM)
Oh? I didn't realized that but that were based on my hands-on handling. Tried the AFS 80-200mm and 70-200mm VRII side by side, the 80-200mm seems comfortably light for me while 70-200mm have a heavy middle. Mounted on D300 with battery grip as well as mounted on a D3.
Well, it's just nitpicking as it's only very slightly heavier than the 70-200. Actually the 70-200 is more hand holdable since it's easier to hand hold the barrel.

QUOTE(onscreen @ Sep 5 2011, 10:34 AM)
14-24mm were made specially for fullframers only. Yes, not many people shoot at wide open as distortion are obvious to naked eye but with Photoshop, you can just correct the distortion. Tried this lens, heavy and need extra care on the front glass. Easy to have any finger poke into it tongue.gif

It can be used for landscape and best is to shoot at 15mm. Comfortable in view for me on the finishing shot.
I think you meant shooting at the wide end (14mm) as oppose to shooting wide open at f/2.8... biggrin.gif

Yes, it looks lovely on FX. You can still use it on DX though but it's a little awkward since you can save and go with cheaper DX lens options. If you need to use the 14-24mm f/2.8 on a DX body, you must really know what you're doing and need the lens' strengths and accept no compromises.

What I like about the 14-24mm f/2.8 is the ability to use f/2.8 and still get sharp in the middle and reasonably sharp across the frame.

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 5 2011, 10:57 AM)
ahhhh icic...that day i wish i have a 1.4x TC though, could use the extra reach laugh.gif

owh and awesome concert photos there! thumbup.gif
Thanks. Sometimes 1.4x TC also not enough for birding. sad.gif I've gone birding with people using 600mm + 1.4x TC on a DX body ! sweat.gif

This was my old attempt at KF at the backyard of my house. Too far away and quality not as good as I was using the version 1 of the 2.0x TC.

I have a recent one which I shot a month or two ago with the latest 2.0x TCEIII. Need to look for it. If I recall, the KF was closer but the background was a little more busy.

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 5 2011, 11:01 AM)
Saw one for sale at YL Camera not long ago, RM3.9k which is not bad i think thumbup.gif
Yes, you cannot get the AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8 new as Nikon has discontinued this lens quite while back when the 70-200mm f/2.8 VR1 came out. So getting it from a reputable shop like YL is quite important to guarantee that you don't receive a dud since older lenses with AF-S motors is quite expensive to replace.
jchue73
post Sep 5 2011, 02:04 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ Sep 5 2011, 12:49 PM)
yeah, i know its used lens. Was assuming that you saw it in the shop. Rm3.8k ~ RM3.9k is the price i am hunting. Some went up as high as RM4.8k for the black one where i can pay the price for a white version.
Is there a HB-17 lenshood included? I don't see one. Perhaps the reason why it's relatively cheaper and have not been sold yet. The HB-17 lenshood is not easy to find.

QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 5 2011, 01:41 PM)
this is so right. but one has to know when to use what lens... but having said that, my 35mm 1.4 choice is towards the carl zeiss version.
Have you sourced for it yet? I'm told the price is close to Nikon's 35mm f/1.4. Is that correct?
jchue73
post Sep 5 2011, 03:57 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Sep 5 2011, 02:51 PM)
I think I saw the 80-200 push pull at a shop in up townies around 3k I think and  it's pretty heavy but eventually I opt for the sigma 70-200
For push-pull, shouldn't be that price. Expensive.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 5 2011, 03:08 PM)
Nikon hoods are relatively hard to find sad.gif even the 85mm f/1.4G one also whole Msia no stock lol.
You're still hood-less?
jchue73
post Sep 5 2011, 06:57 PM

2,496 posts

Speaking about the 14-24mm f/2.8, did you guys see this from dpreview?

jchue73
post Sep 6 2011, 05:35 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(v26davk @ Sep 6 2011, 11:59 AM)
Just bought a D7000 Kit set 1 week ago.....getting a hang of it and still got lots more to learn....but then Its an awesome camera. Good price too...Rm3750 at DigitalMall PJ. Will play around with the KIT lense before going onto other lenses.....
Congrats ! So you're gonna shoot your diecast with the D7000? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:34 PM)
ya now saving kuat kuat lor, hopefully can get 1 FF body before oversea company trip. tongue.gif
as for the lens, beside 35mm f/1.8...lucky i got friend can borrow 50mm f/1.8D to play first XD
You planning to buy which FX? Sempat meh?

QUOTE(Calvin Pixels @ Sep 6 2011, 04:39 PM)
Sifu(s) need some opinion on macro lens for my D5100
I have 2 lens to choose from (given with limited budget)
- Tamron 90mm AS AF Di (lastest with build in motor, not sure with this statement as different site show 2 versions) F/2.8
- Nikon 85mm ED VR F3.5

I have being googling this but havent found answers like sharpness accuracy and AF speed. I hope someone can help me out here smile.gif

I prefer 85/90 for working range with bugs (not incline w/ 105mm nikon, kill my pocket budget kaw kaw).
I have no idea on the performance of the new Nikon 85mm but the Tamron is one of the better 3rd party lenses for not so much money.

For macro, AF speed is not so important. You'd need to manual focus most of the time anyways.
jchue73
post Sep 6 2011, 05:59 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 6 2011, 05:44 PM)
sempat gua, next year march baru pergi mah...that time nikon should be announce the new replacement liao gua...if not then wait till announce lor, i take my D70s service if tak sempat tongue.gif
and cheapest FX la, because i m not generating any moneh form my camera =x
maybe someday will find a way to do freelance with camera gua...not those wedding, help people shooting products or whatever... photoshop all people kaw kaw then become avatar XD
*in before need train my skill to acceptable level first. sweat.gif
Don't need to look at replacement model. The latest and greatest will always be expensive.

Therefore if budget is a concern, aim for the D700 only. Kautim.
jchue73
post Sep 6 2011, 06:06 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Sep 6 2011, 05:46 PM)
That should be my next aim tongue.gif
Fuh ! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 6 2011, 05:58 PM)
Another cheap option is to use macro/close-up filter like Raynox DCR-250; You can invest on your Flash then  tongue.gif
Yes, I use a Canon 500D filter attachment (this is the only Canon in my photographic armory) on my 300mm f/4 or 80-200mm/f2.8 lenses. Good for pseudo macro work.

Anyway, you get what you pay for. The best would be Nikon's 105mm f/2.8 VR.

QUOTE(zeero @ Sep 6 2011, 06:00 PM)
what's the best sdhc card type (class) that cab be used for d5100? class 6 enough ah?  hmm.gif
If want to shoot 1080p video, you need Class 10.
jchue73
post Sep 9 2011, 12:06 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(v26davk @ Sep 8 2011, 10:52 AM)
jchue73 - You are very right my fren hahahaha thumbup.gif ....but the camera is not just of that la.....F1, MotoGP, Fireworks and vacation lo smile.gif .
Tired of Point & Shoot.....
Hmmmm blink.gif ...Actually its Point+wait..all ok..then shoot tongue.gif
F1, MotoGP needs long lens. Minimum is a 70-200mm range. drool.gif You can go "cheaper" alternative and get the Nikon 70-300mm VR instead.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 8 2011, 05:39 PM)
yea, if only the D7000 had an AF-ON button, but its just a very minor inconvenience anyway.
but i bet they couldve put one if they found another location for the speaker...like on the D5100 the speaker is at the bottom.
Most people don't miss it but I know quite a bit of people that focus using the AF-ON button.

QUOTE(razuryza @ Sep 8 2011, 06:09 PM)
haha.. that AF-ON button? i hope it can be configured to assign other function(but cant!). really useless for me... never use it...half press is faster for me
I'm also not used to using AF-ON button for focusing but some people feel it is more natural to separate focusing and releasing button.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 9 2011, 09:34 AM)
Its just the 18-200 FX version, no big deal. Don't expect great optics out of it as an all rounder.
Dave Black uses the 28-300mm quite alot for his light painting.

jchue73
post Sep 13 2011, 04:30 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 13 2011, 01:11 PM)
Tats why u need wandeeassmakthree  tongue.gif

19cross af all over screen.

Or wandeemakfor 39  tongue.gif
1DMKIII is plagued with AF problems. It seems 1DMKIV also inherits the some of 1DMKIII's AF problems.

Anyway, it's all nice having 39 crossed type AF points but many fail to read the fine prints. The 1DMKIV will only have 39 high precision cross type AF (horizontal and vertical) points when a lens with a max aperture of f/2.8 or more is used or when combined with an extender. The cross type sensors vertical line sensitivity is approx two times more than the horizontal line sensitivity.

However, when using f/4 lens itself like the 600mm f/4 or by using a f/2.8 lens with a 1.4x extender, then only the centre AF point is usable as a cross type with the other 44 will only remain as non-crossed type (horizontal sensitive) only.

Using a f/5.6 lens or by using a f/4 lens with a 1.4x extender, all the AF points are horizontal sensitive and using a f/8 lens, only the centre AF can be used as a non-crossed AF while other are unusable.

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Sep 13 2011, 01:51 PM)
During my time using d300s never use the LV myself..
Last Raya ask my fren's brother shoot us then the 1st time use the LV

On my d90 I use it once or twice also..

Rarely find that time where I need to 'lay low on the floor' or shoot high angle..
If I need high angle or low on the ground; then why use my d300s/d90? My Sony a350 have a tilt screen that serves that purposes..
Using LV while it's on the floor, means I have to bend down more (already squatting?) Rite? Thus, the tilt screen comes in handy..

But if I wana shoot fast; will never use LV also. Just point blindly and shoot.mostly because of luck, 90% can get the angle that I want; or I'll just crop during PP later..

Cheers!
I mentioned before that I don't use Live View but there were actually times when I remember that I did use it. biggrin.gif Not to replace the viewfinder to shoot but to use it to check WB. Switch on Live View and adjust / tweak WB on the fly and watch it on the LCD screen before you take a shot.
jchue73
post Sep 14 2011, 11:20 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(tplus1 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:05 PM)
i am on DX. so 50mm means around 80mm, while 85mm is 136mm right?

for half body portrait, 50mm lens should be better right?

guess i'll just search for a 50mm f1.4 for a try. thx
Just for info, bokeh on the 85mm f/1.4 is more beautiful and less harsh than compared to the 50mm f/1.4. Similar case too when comparing 24mm f/1.4 and 35mm f/1.4 bokeh which ironically the 24mm f/1.4 is more beautiful.

In my opinion, the most beautiful bokeh can be had from the 135mm f/2.0.

Bokeh aside, I think you should choose your lens focal length base on which is most comfortable to you. Pick them up and test them out. For studio work when bokeh is not important, the 50mm f/1.4 (or even the f/1.8G) should be fine as it's also the cheaper one.

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:23 PM)
blink.gif  how come in so many intl sports even still so many canon wan ?
This is because of history. Canon was indeed ahead in the game before the D3 era with long lenses equipped with IS. Many photo agencies and newspapers already invested in a lot of Canon equipment. Changing to a new system is very costly.

QUOTE(a.ihsan @ Sep 14 2011, 08:30 AM)
have you invested in some FX glass? if you haven't, I suggest you buy a couple of those first, then get the D700. it's a brilliant camera, no matter what the replacement can do. I feel like buying another one myself! it's just amazing, especially when coupled with some sweet, fast lenses. it should hold on its own provided you take good care of it. if you can't justify making a 'small' leap from a D90, save a lot more and get a D3s wink.gif
Spot on. nod.gif

jchue73
post Sep 14 2011, 05:57 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(iloveOov @ Sep 14 2011, 03:28 PM)
I just love this kind of bokeh tongue.gif

35mm f/1.4? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 14 2011, 03:35 PM)
I prefer this type. Click at your own risk tongue.gif

Not bad. I posted this before from the Nikon 135mm f/2.0 on FF. Not mine.

This is mine but shot on DX sometime back;

This is from the 24mm f/1.4 on FF.

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 14 2011, 04:01 PM)
I love an 85 on a FF.
135mm on FF is lagi nice.

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 14 2011, 04:01 PM)

Added on September 14, 2011, 4:01 pmFunny though, I don't like the 50 on apsc.
Same. I don't like the 50mm either. I don't have the motivation to shoot at the moment. Perhaps I'll pick up the 50mm and shoot on the D700.
jchue73
post Sep 18 2011, 11:46 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Sep 16 2011, 09:58 PM)
What is the series of nikon lens equal to canon L lens.
First off, it's quite a long list. Some that I can list off my head and comparing only noteworthy ones;

Nikon AF-S 24mm f/1.4 better than Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM II
Nikon AF-S 35mm f/1.4 better than Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nikon AF-S 24-70mm f/2.8 better than Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nikon SB-900 speedlight better than Canon Speedlite 580EX II

Lenses that are about equal in performance;
Nikon AF-S VR II 70-200mm f/2.8 - Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM II
Nikon AF-D 135mm f/2.0 DC - Canon EF 135mm f/2.0L USM
Nikon AF-S 200mm f/2.0 VR II - Canon EF 200mm f/2.0L IS USM
Nikon AF-S 300mm f/4 - Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nikon AF-S 300mm f/2.8 VR II - Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nikon AF-S 400mm f/2.8 VR - Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nikon AF-S 500mm f/4 VR - Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM
Nikon AF-S 600mm f/4 VR - Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS USM

Nikon lenses that do not have any equivalent in the Canon camp;
MF 58mm f/1.2 NOCT
AF-S 14-24mm f/2.8
AF-D 200mm f/4 Micro
AF-S 200-400mm f/4 VR II
TC 1.7x

Yeah, on the other hand, there are a few lenses in the Canon camp as what celciuz mentioned that Nikon has no equivalent including great f/4, DO, T&S lenses (which Nikon only recently added to their lens lineup without a real wide angle one like Canon's 17mm) and not forgetting the great EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM.

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Sep 17 2011, 06:59 PM)
guys, just sharing

This third party Nikon D7000 MB-D11 battery grip was sold as an original by Anatolian Bookstore Inc. (third party reseller on Amazon)

Nice and informative video. On a side note, I cannot help but notice that the video was very professionally produced. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(KIEN18 @ Sep 17 2011, 08:20 PM)
Pic spam....Yesterday's shot...comment please..

Lion dance? They still allow open burning?

QUOTE(a.ihsan @ Sep 18 2011, 07:32 PM)
I would think so. you'd lose some fair bit of resolution, but gain in cleaner images at middle to high ISOs. also the D700 has a more robust body and more AF points than the D7000. if you're planning to upgrade, I wouldn't suggest you to because you'd lose out more than you're gaining. having said that, the D700 is a capable camera, and would continue to be one for years to come. a real headache this one  sweat.gif
Why do you say so? In what ways are you loosing out more? Just curious.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 18 2011, 09:38 PM)
D7000 vs D700, its a tough choice. Its like a 2010 Civic to a 2008 Accord? >_< Dunno kira upgrade or downgrade lols.
Bad analogy lah that one. I would say neither because both are overpriced for what they are.
jchue73
post Sep 19 2011, 12:07 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 19 2011, 12:01 PM)
Haha, main point was to compare different line up of different generation. So in your opinion, which Nikon DSLR body is correctly priced for what they are?
Sorry, I was referring to the Honda models being bad example and overpriced for what they are.
jchue73
post Sep 20 2011, 02:52 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Sep 19 2011, 10:03 PM)
Hey guys, havent been here for awhile...  sweat.gif

I know this is not a common lens but can anyone give me a general idea on how much a 2nd hand nikkor 300mm f2.8 vrii cost nowadays? hmm.gif

Thanks in advance. smile.gif
Wah... I've not seen a VR II being sold as 2nd hand yet. But the VR I can be as high as RM 12k for 2nd hand.

BTW, how's the 14-24mm f/2.8 been treating you? biggrin.gif
jchue73
post Sep 20 2011, 05:16 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Sep 20 2011, 04:23 PM)
That one is AF-D. Slow. I would at least get the AF-S Mk 1 or Mk 2 (non VR) version.

YL Camera will have these type of lenses from time to time. Currently, there is the AF-S 400mm f/2.8 (non VR) for sale at RM 17,800 (nego).

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 20 2011, 05:00 PM)
wah, they finally sold it.
i notice they changed the description to 'hairline scratches on the front element'.
before at rm7k i remembered it was 'minor scratches' on the front element tongue.gif
Wah... Somebody's diligently watching. shocking.gif

I think you can find better copies of the older AF version on Ebay.
jchue73
post Sep 20 2011, 05:34 PM

2,496 posts

RM 3.9k for the 300mm f/4 is not too bad. Where did you get it from?

Yeah, forgot to add that as a slightly "cheaper" alternative rolleyes.gif , one can get the Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8 zoom with OS built-in.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Sep 20 2011, 05:35 PM
jchue73
post Sep 21 2011, 09:27 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 20 2011, 11:04 PM)
so is the 17-55 worth the money? biggrin.gif
btw, i also find its slightly unbalance even on a D7000, thats why got battery grip.
If you mount a 24-70mm f/2.8 or a 14-24mm f/2.8 lens, it'lll be more unbalanced then.

QUOTE(iloveOov @ Sep 20 2011, 11:49 PM)
midnite spam pic xD

Could use some flash to balance the background.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 21 2011, 12:19 AM)
Best? Better than the 70-200?

Btw, the 17-55mm f/2.8 is bigger than 24-70mm f/2.8
The 24-70mm f/2.8 is bigger than the 17-55mm f/2.8.

83 x 133 mm vs 85.5 x 110.5mm
900 grams vs 755 grams

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.8531sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:56 AM