Fried carrot cake (chai tow kway), any recommendation

TSjimmyay
post Jul 11 2011, 10:21 PM, updated 15y ago

228 posts

I love those (red & white) spicy and salty style from Batu Pahat, Johor style. This is a must have food when i am back to hometown. Any idea where in Klang valley i can find these.

Commonly found in KL are the black, sweet style.

Attached image(s)
samlee860407
post Jul 11 2011, 10:52 PM

4,631 posts

most dim sum shop shud hav, no?
etigge
post Jul 11 2011, 11:30 PM

295 posts

This is also one increasingly hard to find good ones, just like the 'woon chai ko'. I love them fried with egg with a tinge of 'choy poh' flavour and crunchy bean sprouts. drool.gif But so hard to find nice ones. Probably because nowadays the radish cake is supplied rather than self made.
puchong20
post Jul 12 2011, 12:03 AM

86 posts

only tried at sogo and pavilion food court..
i love carrot cake..
but its hard to find good one and HALAL....
ccslink
post Jul 12 2011, 12:23 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(jimmyay @ Jul 11 2011, 10:21 PM)
I love those (red & white) spicy and salty style from Batu Pahat, Johor style. This is a must have food when i am back to hometown. Any idea where in Klang valley i can find these.

Commonly found in KL are the black, sweet style.
u mean radish cake, dry like s'pore style?
etigge
post Jul 12 2011, 12:27 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(ccslink @ Jul 12 2011, 12:23 AM)
They are used to say 'carrot cake' nowadays because of one supplier who described it as 'carrot cake'. He supply's the radish cake and even sets up the stalls for interested hawkers to operate. I think he has quite a number of outlets and has posters describing it as 'carrot cake'. Probably because the only 'lopak' they know how to translate is red 'lopak' but they didn't know there's another white 'lopak' laugh.gif called radish which is the actual main ingredient. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Jul 12 2011, 12:28 AM
zstan
post Jul 12 2011, 12:37 AM

15,856 posts

I LOVE THIS DISH MANN!!! ESPECIALLY LOVE THE ONE FROM MY KAMPUNG (PONTIAN, JOHOR) wub.gif

This is the sweet sweet type with egg, chilli and dried carrot and garlic.

I prefer this more than this, which is more common in klang valley:

DSC02905 by zstan, on Flickr

Difference is they use bean sprouts and is saltier.
TSjimmyay
post Jul 12 2011, 02:41 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(ccslink @ Jul 12 2011, 12:23 AM)
Yes, Singapore can find this easily.
stimix
post Jul 12 2011, 07:37 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yan-Yan restaurant used to serve one of the best chow lobak kao last time. I stopped going there for sometime now dunno whether their chow lobak kao improve liao or not. otherwise Dragon Imperial Dim Sum in Bdr Puteri also good.

BTW, Chai Tow Kwai is only used in Southern Malaysia, in the Northern Malaysia...It's called "Kuih Kak" ..Chai tow Kuih in Northern is those plain type.
Fei Kei
post Jul 12 2011, 10:33 PM

389 posts

most pasar malam n pasar not nice.
the best is the Dim Sum shop in SS2/24 (end of ESH electrical shop)
formerly Sri Siam
TommyTan
post Jul 13 2011, 10:55 AM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 12 2011, 07:37 PM)
Yan-Yan restaurant used to serve one of the best chow lobak kao last time.
I tried 2 months ago, still good

QUOTE(Fei Kei @ Jul 12 2011, 10:33 PM)
most pasar malam n pasar not nice.
the best is the Dim Sum shop in SS2/24 (end of ESH electrical shop)
formerly Sri Siam
That dim sum shop is a branch of Yuen Garden (Bandar Puchong Jaya)

The lobakko is nice, I like it too, I feel its one of the better ones around.

Personally I love the black ones of the south with sweet sauce, like in Johor / Singapore but they dont sell it here.
DarkNite
post Jul 13 2011, 11:08 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Near SS2 Maxis also have one Dim Sum restaurant that sells this
stimix
post Jul 13 2011, 11:42 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Taiping style Chai Tow Kuih...(Not my image copy from motormouth blog here http://j2kfm.blogspot.com/2008/06/taiping-...way-finale.html
Haha..he dunno what this thing called in Taiping

Their similar to Central & Southern style Chai tow kuih is "Kuih Kak" biggrin.gif
TSjimmyay
post Jul 14 2011, 10:45 PM

228 posts

Yes, i'm going to have this in Batu Pahat tomorrow...yummy yummy. The white colour style.
stimix
post Jul 15 2011, 11:22 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

One thing unique on the Southern style fried raddish cake- They add the pink sweet saurce..well not all & probably nowadays getting lesser doing this
TSjimmyay
post Jul 25 2011, 03:47 PM

228 posts

Glad i try tapau back from Batu Pahat, keep in freezer. Then defrost using microwave and fried it again...add egg. Taste good.
slimfox
post Jul 30 2011, 08:38 PM

392 posts

The best one and closest to Penang's Koay Kak in terms of taste and presentation is the one in Pudu wai sek kai. Be prepared to line up and wait on weekends. On weekdays this stall is like the wind sometimes he is open sometimes he is close. This stall is run by three brothers.

Actually the food in the Pudu Wai Sek Kai is good. Famous are the Koay Kak, Chee Cheong Fun, Yam cakes and fried chicken. For all the items mention be prepared to line up and wait on weekends.

I just love eating in the back lanes... gives an authentic feel to hawker food.

BTW sorry its non-halal
yong_c3po
post Jun 28 2023, 04:17 PM

Hi everyone!

Sorry for bringing up this old thread.
Any good fried carrot cake to recommend in JB?
The only one i read recommendations online is Liu Shan Jie Carrot Cake in Masai, Johor.

Any other good carrot cakes to recommend in JB?

Thanks! =)

SUSbronzeleg P
post Aug 18 2023, 09:42 AM

Probation

if youre looking for halal fried carrot cake in jb, go to kempas indah, Saiful Chinese Fried Carrot Cake. Jual dekat rumah saja. But if not mistaken also available in Foodpanda

0.0196sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:44 AM