SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1
h11g
Jul 16 2011, 10:35 AM
on your virgin sgs2, run it down to 0% then do a full charge with the phone off. that's what i normally do with a new gadget.
btw u just flashed villainrom 2.0, it is quite good. i flashed the lite version btw.
nicregi
Jul 16 2011, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(h11g @ Jul 16 2011, 10:35 AM) on your virgin sgs2, run it down to 0% then do a full charge with the phone off. that's what i normally do with a new gadget. btw u just flashed villainrom 2.0, it is quite good. i flashed the lite version btw. bro... Mind I ask what the difference between the lite and full version?
h11g
Jul 16 2011, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 16 2011, 10:36 AM) bro... Mind I ask what the difference between the lite and full version? full means the normal bloatware is still in the rom, the lite version means the cook takes out most of the app including google apps, so you gotta download back the apps you need, the reason why i installed the lite version is i don't like my phone to have all the bloatware. alternatively you can installed the normal version and use titanium backup to freeze apps that you don't need. So the lite version is for ppl who are lazy like me. haha
uk15029
Jul 16 2011, 10:56 AM
I was wondering will screen protector cause blue tinted screen?i am using normal clear screen protector..
pluginbaby
Jul 16 2011, 10:57 AM
To those that wonders why Tegrak wont work on some roms, its kernel related. Module will only run if ur using a kernel which is based on stock kernel, not built from source
Quoted from XDA :
"program doesn't work with kernels built from source. Due to lack of info from Samsung the needed modules could be loaded only on stock kernel. Cf root and Tegrak kernel are stock kernel with only changes in InitRAMfs."
Answered my question of why the heck i cant load it
h11g
Jul 16 2011, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 16 2011, 10:57 AM) To those that wonders why Tegrak wont work on some roms, its kernel related. Module will only run if ur using a kernel which is based on stock kernel, not built from source Quoted from XDA : "program doesn't work with kernels built from source. Due to lack of info from Samsung the needed modules could be loaded only on stock kernel. Cf root and Tegrak kernel are stock kernel with only changes in InitRAMfs." Answered my question of why the heck i cant load it yes I found this out the hard way, after flashing the tegrak kernel then no problem
FrostZero
Jul 16 2011, 11:10 AM
Ok, I'm using Maxis and I got this phone as a replacement for my broken SE k660i, and had used the *100# to get the configuration for MMS and WAP. After I installed it, I still can't send/receive MMS nor surfing net with WAP (sometime I went to places without wifi). Thebn I tried the setting on the first post, and yet still the same problem. Any help? Anyone using Maxis and CAN send/receive MMS WITHOUT enabling wifi?
hye
Jul 16 2011, 11:13 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(FrostZero @ Jul 16 2011, 11:10 AM) Ok, I'm using Maxis and I got this phone as a replacement for my broken SE k660i, and had used the *100# to get the configuration for MMS and WAP. After I installed it, I still can't send/receive MMS nor surfing net with WAP (sometime I went to places without wifi). Thebn I tried the setting on the first post, and yet still the same problem. Any help? Anyone using Maxis and CAN send/receive MMS WITHOUT enabling wifi? Sending MMS will require the telco data. To my best knowledge, WiFi won't work.
rahuldave
Jul 16 2011, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jul 15 2011, 08:13 PM) maybe i waited until the 9th minute, will try again and post the result here. Guyz I did full wipe and try installing Villain or Infusion ROM from Cognition, but both stucked in the boot, waited almost 15 minutes. Nothing bootup accept for the startup screen. Any Idea why this is happening to me?
FrostZero
Jul 16 2011, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(hye @ Jul 16 2011, 11:13 AM) Sending MMS will require the telco data. To my best knowledge, WiFi won't work. But I did tried to enable the wifi once, and the MMS successfully being downloaded, and at the same time consuming my credits.
pluginbaby
Jul 16 2011, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(h11g @ Jul 16 2011, 11:03 AM) yes I found this out the hard way, after flashing the tegrak kernel then no problem flashed to CF.. booted try load ok, then purchased Ultimate version edi.. hahaha.. thx for all for the tips and help..
nicregi
Jul 16 2011, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(h11g @ Jul 16 2011, 10:40 AM) full means the normal bloatware is still in the rom, the lite version means the cook takes out most of the app including google apps, so you gotta download back the apps you need, the reason why i installed the lite version is i don't like my phone to have all the bloatware. alternatively you can installed the normal version and use titanium backup to freeze apps that you don't need. So the lite version is for ppl who are lazy like me. haha Hmm I think I am the lazy one too but...since I have installed it. Will just stick to it I guess...lol! Do you get the sysmui error thingy? My task abr keep being FC....dunno what reason. VR 2.0 QUOTE(uk15029 @ Jul 16 2011, 10:56 AM) I was wondering will screen protector cause blue tinted screen?i am using normal clear screen protector.. I applied stein clear sp and guess I regreted it. Why? Too much finger prints lol! gorilla glass is fine for me since the I was already using the phone for 2 weeks without any sp...hmm! Added on July 16, 2011, 11:35 amQUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 16 2011, 11:22 AM) flashed to CF.. booted try load ok, then purchased Ultimate version edi.. hahaha.. thx for all for the tips and help..  Welcome to the club! This post has been edited by nicregi: Jul 16 2011, 11:35 AM
zildj
Jul 16 2011, 11:44 AM

harvey norman / best denki / courts have sgs2?
Bugeca
Jul 16 2011, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jul 16 2011, 11:14 AM) Guyz I did full wipe and try installing Villain or Infusion ROM from Cognition, but both stucked in the boot, waited almost 15 minutes. Nothing bootup accept for the startup screen. Any Idea why this is happening to me? Most probably coz of kernel mix match. Using Odin, flash a Chainfire CF-Root kernel and use that kernel CMW to flash another ROM. Best if you wipe everything and format /system then install the zip.
bb.supplements
Jul 16 2011, 11:56 AM
i wanna connect my pen drive to this phone. wats d name of d device that i should buy huh? thanks people...
Fallenangelz
Jul 16 2011, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(bb.supplements @ Jul 16 2011, 11:56 AM) i wanna connect my pen drive to this phone. wats d name of d device that i should buy huh? thanks people... USB-On-The-Go, or USB OTG in short. can find nokia store as well
bb.supplements
Jul 16 2011, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jul 16 2011, 11:59 AM) USB-On-The-Go, or USB OTG in short. can find nokia store as well  thanks....  any forummer here selling? please pm me
vkyip
Jul 16 2011, 12:37 PM

Sifus, I think I am gonna get flamed, but I am going to venture what I think is a my own accessment of the SGS2.
1. The hardware is super, the camera is great. 2. The UI is unpolished (understatement). Many things is hidden under multiple levels of menu, and involve too many clicks to access. 3. Some things work and some don't. APNDroid does not seem to work. Paypal and BUMP cannot install. So stock ROM is hopeless, unless you root. 4. Battery life sucks, even with juice defender installed. Paid for Tasker, but unfortunately cannot set data to off, late at night and still consume quite an amount of battery. Got tasker to set Wifi off, bluetooth off, GPS off. Perhaps it's just me, or I am playing with it a bit, but I would expect 2 days of battery life with lite or moderate usage.
Perhaps I am wrong, but I would not recommend to friends at this time, comments are welcome.
This post has been edited by vkyip: Jul 16 2011, 12:39 PM
wcpon
Jul 16 2011, 12:39 PM

Anyone experience, sometimes I go online using 3G, browsing internet or facebook halfway... the 3G services will be cacat... Cannot go online anymore... then I tried to disable the Packet Data and Enable back.. Still cannot... The 3G icon totally gone.. the signal bar is full... Then I clear cache... try enable and disable few times.. then the service only back to normal... Is it the stock rom have this kind of issues?? Any advice?
vkyip
Jul 16 2011, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(wcpon @ Jul 16 2011, 12:39 PM) Anyone experience, sometimes I go online using 3G, browsing internet or facebook halfway... the 3G services will be cacat... Cannot go online anymore... then I tried to disable the Packet Data and Enable back.. Still cannot... The 3G icon totally gone.. the signal bar is full... Then I clear cache... try enable and disable few times.. then the service only back to normal... Is it the stock rom have this kind of issues?? Any advice? I had experience it yesterday. Even with wifi, cacat. Then I go back and upgrade to 2.3.4. Hopes it does not come back. When you need to go online, and it dies on you, well your friends looking at you and your super phone and you cannot get online