9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 12:23 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Andy89 @ Jul 9 2011, 11:02 PM)
every new phone need to charged 8 hr??? i didnt charge my SGS2 for 8 hr, i just charge to 100% then i stop, any effect?
No effect. It is just old school belief. I believe it just to make me feel better.

Guys check this out: http://www.talkandroid.com/45727-samsung-g...to-be-top-tier/

Also, Gratz for v8! Proud to be God part of it!
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 12:32 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(JohnDoe86 @ Jul 10 2011, 12:25 AM)
hai can someone guide me, i wan update firmware using ordin n i already download it from samfirmware.com. when i extract the file that i download i got 4 file exclude odin n at samfirmware the guide said that if i wan flash 3 file at a time i hv to select re-partition. so should i select it or just flash 1 file at a time just to be save?

second question is should i flash the .pit file also? as i alredy read the xda forum said i should not touch it. So how? sorry if my question is noob new adroid user here .

Even if you are about to die, just don't touch with pit if you want your phone to be okay.
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 01:38 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 10 2011, 12:50 AM)
VillainRom 2.0 link from their official site is damn slow T_T.. 2hrs left.. do u guys know where do they share up multiupload links for latest villainrom, cuz on their site they asked for no mirrors cuz they want to track all the download but its damn slow T__T
Hi bro. I am uploading now. Once ready, i will place it on my siggy for you ya!

Added on July 10, 2011, 1:47 am
QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Jul 10 2011, 01:29 AM)
to all sifus... want to ask..superoneclick root is better or cf-root better?
CF root easier in my opinion. But, after testing both, I feel that both are alike and not much difference.

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 10 2011, 01:35 AM)
Sifus, I have been unable to instal apps like paypal and bump. Am I the only one? Is the app unavailable in malaysia? Not compatible with sgs2? Thanks.
Paypal is fine. Just tested. Change using Market Enable app (I selected T-Mo) and downloaded it. Login and no problem at all. Malaysia's market not yet I guess.

This post has been edited by nicregi: Jul 10 2011, 01:47 AM
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 02:25 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Jul 10 2011, 02:03 PM)
Hi guys, I've already pushed the google map with nav into system/app and mounted as r/w but I still can't install..any ideas?

Using root explorer
Hmm.. Try this.

Uninstall both google map and street view.
Restart
Put google map the navi one in system app.
Restart again.

See if this works.
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 02:31 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jul 10 2011, 01:07 PM)
Hope will put this in pg1.
Actually uncle already placed it on page one but is from xda topic.

Also, if you can install, install the one without resigned.. It works 100% well for me though.
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 02:42 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jul 10 2011, 02:36 PM)
HI,

What kernel and modem version you all using in VillainRom 2.0?
I was from 1.4 i think. Just install 2.0 and updated the modem. Works fine. Kernal is 2.3.4

Just tested smile.gif

*for those saying the link on VR is slow, below is my siggy (link).
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 02:43 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Jul 10 2011, 02:29 PM)
that's exactly what i did laugh.gif
will try and see.. Thanks! icon_rolleyes.gif

edit: downloaded and renamed it as .apk but still couldn't install hmm.gif
WHat I mean is that the guide asked us to use ownhere resign right? THat doesnt work for me. I use ownhere and works perfectly. If you have try that out...hmm...got to think of another way.

*if you wondering about the link, you can check the link on my siggy* biggrin.gif
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 02:47 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Jul 10 2011, 02:43 PM)
Kernel XWKF1..waiting for KG1 by ChainFire

Modem XXKG1 Rev 02 as suggested by Pulser
Off topic: How you got the lovely VR siggy? drool.gif
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 02:55 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Jul 10 2011, 02:51 PM)
Thanks! it's now there wheeeeeeeeeee notworthy.gif
I just copied the image whistling.gif
There you go. Gratz bro!

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 10 2011, 02:51 PM)
does it reduce the browser lag?
If you are talking about VR, VR always has those stock browser lag. Using Dolphin HD and seems....great. Not much of a problem. Gonna try Xscope later today... rclxm9.gif
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 03:52 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 10 2011, 03:44 PM)
I was waiting for the user to respond to me before I reply. He was making a generalized statement which is misleading. ANyway here is my understanding . First and foremost I am not an expert in such stuffs - this is based on my experience flashing the first Galaxy S and Galaxy Tab and present Galaxy S II.

PIT stands for PARTITION INFORMATION TABLE. The pit file basically tells Odin how to divide the partitions (for formating) and also where certain components ( PDA, PHONE, CSC ) to go when flashing them individually. PIT understanding is very crucial when you wish to flash roms from samfirmware.com , one place I always discourage new users from attempting as it is a trap to bricking a phone if you do not understand what you are doing

Cooked roms take cares of PIT ; you rarely see cooked roms asking you to choose PIT during flash thro Odin. Most cook roms, the developer has built in his rom the PIT instructions

For example, in the samfirmware.com Galaxy S site, you can even see different types of PIT listed and a warning that you choose the right PIT file. In its SGS II site, If you look at samfirmware.com - there is a default PIT file you can download at the top box just above the list of firmwares for different regions. If you download any of these official roms, you will see some roms comes with a PIT file and some does not. You asked a very good question, why is the PIT included if is of no use ?
My advise is simply this : If you see a PIT included in your rom, choose it during flashing as most probably the PIT is a changed version from default. You can only use this PIT to flash with the rom that comes with it. You cannot take this PIT and used it to flash another rom - this will brick your phone. When you use a wrong PIT - you have 2 possible scenarios :
- failed flash and phone cannot boot
- flash OK but the whole internal SD is formatted and cannot be detected at all by phone ( my experience with the Tab)

If the rom downloaded does not supplied a PIT file - than you just flash it without it or you choose the default PIT

As the PIT name implies, using PIT basically repartition /reformat your whole internal SD - once you select PIT, you will see repartition is auto selected. All your data in the internal SD will be wipe clean

You can choose NOT to select the PIT during flashing if you wish to have your internal SD intact. I cannot say whether you will have a successful flash. If is successful it just means your present rom PIT is similar to the rom you have downloaded. If is unsuccessful, just flash it again and select PIT

Read this post if you wish to know more. The writer similarly points out about the false/wrong understanding of many users about using PIT
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=999097
Uncle Benny,

Thank you for your explanation on PIT. Never in my life dare to touch PIT. Now, at least I understand a little bit more. Before this PIT was shocking.gif for me...

Thank you again Uncle!

nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 04:13 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Jul 10 2011, 03:57 PM)
i think theres a bug in 2.3.4 that i cant sort/arrange the apps...i arrange everything manually and trim to 5 pages but after reboot its goes back to same old stuff 9 page and the back to respective page....so some page got empty space/icon....
Bro what launcher you are using? I am using GO EX and after reinstall it still the same. My problem is I set shortcut and widgets then at certain time, those widgets will be missing. LIke a screen can have max 16, some time check and noticed only got 8 or 10. The rest hilang. Restart and at times those icons will be back. if not gone for good. Pek check sial.

If like this I am going to ADW or LauncherPro again...Yesterday I reinstall back those browser, shortcuts like nearly 10 times le!
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 06:09 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(ohmlawx @ Jul 10 2011, 04:47 PM)
I am on stock firmware 2.3.4, rooted with chain fire. but i didnt face this problem.
You are lucky. I am on go ex and having the same problem. My shortcuts always go missing. Was so pissed that i thought of going back to ADW and try it out.
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 07:06 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Vinspire @ Jul 10 2011, 06:56 PM)
which one nicer? smile.gif

or

user posted image user posted image

better?
No hybrid ftw!
nicregi
post Jul 10 2011, 07:13 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Vinspire @ Jul 10 2011, 07:08 PM)
everyone said the same thing and i placed the order edi. sked i regret only.

anyway, i am looking for bluetooth headset to match with s2. any recommendation?
Eh bro... Suppose to be Neo hybrid. Lol sorry typo cos SwiftKey but you got it right!
nicregi
post Jul 11 2011, 12:50 AM

4,536 posts

For those planning to get SG2, saw some shops selling it in Tesco Melaka. Not sure the price though. Just thought of sharing!
nicregi
post Jul 11 2011, 01:30 AM

4,536 posts

Guys, what is the weather widget for sg2? Currently using accu weather but aint happy with it. Any suggestions?
nicregi
post Jul 11 2011, 08:06 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(munk88 @ Jul 11 2011, 02:08 AM)
Hi There,
I have questions regarding SGII.
1. Is anyone else experiencing poor battery life with their Galaxy S2 ?Coz my phone goes flat in about 8 hours. (Not much playing games, but just surfing on internet only).

2. How to connect with Samsung Kies on PC via USB?Coz i unable to connect with it (It's coming out with this notification: "Reconnect the device in Samsung Kies (PC Studio) mode. Current connection mode not supported by Kies.

Hope you guys can help me~
Already answered you in the topic you started. Medium usage is around 8-10hours.
nicregi
post Jul 11 2011, 08:36 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 10 2011, 12:48 PM)
Villain 2.0 is ooookay. Nothing much besides the goodies that 2.3.4 stock brings + a laggy stock browser lol. But I use Xscope anyway so no biggie.

Just installed OpenTyrian (huraaaah!), now for some Baldur's Gate action.

Oh and just dropped my SGS2 from the height of a cupboard top onto a tile floor. FACE FIRST...  sweat.gif

The "loose" Ultra Capsule and it's subtle lid prolly saved it from most of the damage, but the battery cover got loose in the process ( shocking.gif ) and my SD card gegar a bit = unmounted.

So I turned the thing off, popped the SD card out and in again, re-closed the battery cover and rebooted. The SGS2 chugged along like nothing ever happened lol. Maybe Samsung DID make this thing tough after all.
Bro do you face any issue with icons/shortcuts missing at times? Using Go EX launcher and keep happening everytime (now and then). Got tor estart phone or tilt a few times for the shortcuts to be back. Very....irritating! Any fix for this or is this a bug with 2.3.4? cry.gif

Added on July 11, 2011, 8:38 am
QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 11 2011, 08:32 AM)
talking about ROMs are a phone specific discussion btw  rolleyes.gif .. i guess yes since the stock browser on SGS2 is fully gpu accelerated and it handles flash nicely indeed.. i guess its one of the key points when comparing sgs2 to other dual core since samsung has developed a perfectly awesome browser, still needs improving on bookmark manager though.. huhu
+1 on this. I uses Xscope (thanks to you) and Dolphin HD just because I feel they load faster and the app seems cooler.

This post has been edited by nicregi: Jul 11 2011, 08:38 AM
nicregi
post Jul 11 2011, 09:01 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 11 2011, 08:41 AM)
u use dolphin hd? do you use their bookmark plugin (i wonder how safe is it, that's all)? the bookmark plugin is the one that pops up every now and then -- supposedly can export/ sync with SD.
I love Dolphin as it has the gesture. Very fun and speedy smile.gif

I did try it but doesn't interest me that much. Yes it did save in my sd but again, I didn't bother to reinstall back after changing to VR 2.0.

I changed to Xscope as I tested both and Xscope loads the page like 1 sec faster smile.gif rclxms.gif
nicregi
post Jul 11 2011, 09:36 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(loloz @ Jul 11 2011, 09:34 AM)
Hi Guys much apreciate for the help you guys have been helping me previously, but lately my phone is a bit of laggy and some games i played would make my phone hang such as fruit slice is tis the game problem or the phone problem?
Laggy can be because of apps. Is there any apps that you instaleld lately. Also, I believe if you use those live wallpaper, it will make your phone some sort of laggy. Try check on Task manager and see any application is not closed properly. Press back and not home button to exit.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0425sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:31 AM