5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Official Blu-ray Thread v13, Let's sharing BD news & BD purchase. ;)

fadthil
post Jul 29 2011, 01:19 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jul 29 2011, 12:49 PM)
My small pckg for d mth :

Frm amz.uk
D
FGTH & Thompson Twins eh.... great New Wave stuff back then! "Relax, don't do it...." hahaha....
thumbup.gif
fadthil
post Jul 29 2011, 02:31 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jul 29 2011, 01:24 PM)
Haha..

Same 'era' wan la ni..
Got Shakin Stevens n Paul Young cd hidden ther sumwhere oso..
Upgrdng [well maybe its more sideways..] all my old-er cassettes..

Kekeke blush.gif
D
haha... yup, layan durin' schoolin days time although I already upgraded to cd years ago. tongue.gif
fadthil
post Jul 29 2011, 05:09 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jul 29 2011, 03:48 PM)
Haha..

Gud for u.. I only recently goin to cds.. even thou' my casette deck kaput more than 2 yrs liao frm lack of use - I tink de beltin melted liao.. so kind of miss tis oldies..
Actually.. if not mistaken, Frankie gtH'wood had like 2 gud songs only.. but Relax is awesome thou'..
Luckily amz.uk sells them really cheep..

D
cassettes huh? i almost forgot how to spell it already haha... still have hundreds of 'em in few boxes somewhere... don't know if all fungus-ed up! I adopted to cds when i first started working. but it's already been 6 years since i bought my last cd; nowadays can get any tunes instantly from "ehemm".. tongue.gif

same goes wif home video collection: first it's vhs (have quite a few), then upgrade to dvds (i still have a few hundreds) and now blu-rays... but my last purchase was in February!

btw, that other FGTH song was Two Tribes right? or maybe sumthin else... biggrin.gif

Added on July 29, 2011, 5:24 pm
QUOTE(terranova @ Jul 29 2011, 05:01 PM)
Include me in that era too bro.... i have those exact same CDs in my collection, now ripped to FLAC of course. Trivia .... did u know that Thompson Twins is named after the characters in the Tin Tin series of books. tongue.gif  For more nostalgia, Spandau Ballet has released an updated acoustic version of their old classics, and Ms. Debbie Gibson has just released a new album ... she sounds more "matured" and sings Japanese as well (wtf!).  blush.gif

Sorry for the OT.
haha... good for u too & welcome to the club! And yup, Thompson Twins - named after that 2 detectives character in Tin Tin; which happens to be released as a "uncanny valley" motion capture CGI feature film this October; directed by non other than Mr. Spielberg & produced by Mr. Jackson... rclxms.gif

new wave bands still alive & kicking nowadays like u mentioned... even Durian Durian still releasing albums! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fadthil: Jul 29 2011, 05:24 PM
fadthil
post Jul 30 2011, 12:12 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jul 29 2011, 05:27 PM)
Yes ..

I do.. n they are a trio n not a 'duo' .. I mean wif de name twins.. go figure..
I like Spandau Ballet too.. n Human League .. O ya .. did u catch Glees version of HL's Dont u want me.. cool woh..
My casettes are still all playable.. summore use 'Chrome' cassetes then.. but unfortunately no player liao..

Unfortunately.. vhs vdo cassettes, I tink I hv one lef - 'Babe' n vcr is used as a tuner for free tv for my pj..
DVD's stil got la but slowly upgrdn to bd's..

Frankie gtH has 3 hits namely Relax, 2 tribes n War .. n they are big fans of Frank Sinatra hence d name but they are brits..

O memories..
D
Most of my recorded (own song compilation) cassettes are using Chrome type too and two-third are in 90mins ones. My 2-deck cassette recorder still in working condition but who listens to cassettes nowadays anyway... tongue.gif btw Depeche Mode, OMD, Kajagoogoo, Culture Club, Wham! and countless others are good too! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(scmah73 @ Jul 29 2011, 06:12 PM)
hehe..since suddenly everybody talk abt 80s music, i join as well too

anybody here like the FGTH Relax extended version 12" abt 7 min, i love the opening 4 min just music b4 start singing, damn nice, also who is fans of CC Catch  biggrin.gif
Can't remember that version... but those days extended version 12" singles are v. popular! CC Catch? only heard once or twice... but i bet she's in the same league as other Europop artists like Sandra, Modern Talking, no?... nod.gif

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Jul 29 2011, 07:03 PM)
Durian Durian..LOL.. I suppose it's Duran Duran?  whistling.gif
hahaha... that's the response from most of my mates who never heard of the group before; and when they first heard me mentioning it... laugh.gif

i hope we're not OT too much now... whistling.gif
fadthil
post Jul 31 2011, 04:29 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 30 2011, 11:57 PM)
Check around others forum, I notice more and more, nearly 90% UK new release blu-ray slipcover is top naked now, UK blu-ray packaging now not only ugly because of nipples, now it became extreme ugly as Topless with Nipples!

Hah! Am not surprised... Brits like topless and showing nipples... laugh.gif
fadthil
post Aug 4 2011, 07:14 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 4 2011, 11:20 AM)
Got nothing to discuss...  haha

You got any to share?

OK la, share something not related to BD, anyone planning on watching Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes?

I already buy the ticket online, will go this coming Saturday, hopefully it is a nice show.
just watched the making of... ROTPOTA. looks like not bad... at least the cgi-efx - the ape looks believable and im not surprised bcoz it's from WETA; the efx co. who did mo-cap & cgi for Avatar, King Kong & LOTR. thumbup.gif
fadthil
post Aug 5 2011, 01:20 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Watched The First Avenger last night and it was really not that bad! I went there with no high expectations and it was quite entertaining though certain parts maybe a bit slow but certainly better than The Green Lantern.

What amazed me was the painstaking digital work that had to be done frame by frame to reduce Chris Evan's brawny bod into Skinny Steve; instead of using a body double and CGI-ed the head! Link here notworthy.gif

Overall, just love the movie - story, character, villain, action, setting.... only lost to Thor for me this year. (can't compare to X-Men: First Class; because missed that one at cinema blush.gif ) A sure bd top list in my shopping cart later of this year! nod.gif

4 out of 5
fadthil
post Aug 8 2011, 08:29 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Aug 8 2011, 05:52 PM)
For some price matters, for some quantity matters, for some interior matters, for some quality matters..
...and for me: place where u purchase oso matters! nod.gif
fadthil
post Aug 10 2011, 11:16 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 10 2011, 05:49 PM)
Hi, I have a question.

Did anyone try slip in the individual release slipcover to the normal 7-disc Pirates of the Caribbean Trilogy (new release) boxset? Can it be fit? and put back the 3 disc back to the box itself together with slipcover?

Thanks for any kind help answer this.

I have the new release Pirates of the Caribbean slipcover for it but I don't own any of the film yet.

I not sure to get which version now as standalone came with 6 BD + 3 DVD but missing that extra bonus BD which only came with the 7-Disc boxset, and now I got the individual release slipcover, if it not fit, then no point I buy the boxset. But if I buy the single release, then I missing the extra bonus BD. Help! I not sure what to get for it now.

Appreciate any kind reply.
i think u just buy the boxset... and try to squeeze with the slipcover in, if too tight then just lose the main box & keep individually as though u bought them separately... at least u hv titles with the respective slipcovers plus the bonus disc tongue.gif
fadthil
post Aug 11 2011, 09:22 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(nazmanson @ Aug 11 2011, 06:29 PM)
When this is over we can expect amazon.uk will have a sale of Sony titles
sale on warped & slightly burnt bd titles... tongue.gif
fadthil
post Aug 12 2011, 12:24 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 12 2011, 12:05 AM)
Actually, I have waiting this title for quite some time...  sweat.gif  even though I know this movie is so so only...
haha... most will watch this flick for only one thing in mind haha... - no arguments. i've own it on download (dvd-ripped) and it is as good as it is... there's really no necessity for me to upgrade to bd... tongue.gif
fadthil
post Aug 13 2011, 12:44 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 13 2011, 12:32 AM)
Finally, my The Mummy Trilogy complete with Slipcover  rclxm9.gif

Yup, it can fit after all... but try to take out one... whistling.gif
fadthil
post Aug 13 2011, 02:30 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 13 2011, 12:54 AM)
It can fit nicely and take out easily after I change all the case to eco-LITE VORTEX. biggrin.gif

Now they is absolutely no issue taken out and in. wink.gif

** Before that, the default normal Amaray case is too tick and overall too tight and can't fit in without force which will eventually damage everything. But thanks to eco-LITE VORTEX case design which is much more slimmer and make everything perfect now. No force is required to take out or put in biggrin.gif
hmm... good thinking bro! bravos... thumbup.gif
fadthil
post Aug 13 2011, 09:58 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 13 2011, 09:08 PM)
I love slipcover than steelbook ... haha! ops!
if i'm a collector, i'd b like u too... would prefered slipcover; it's cheaper & won't scratch/dent easily... nod.gif
fadthil
post Aug 16 2011, 01:43 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 16 2011, 10:17 AM)
Once buy, don't check the price.

I also seen the 2D version at speedy, but the packaging and price .. say bye bye for me. I won't spend more in same thing with lousy packaging unless no choice.
Not all SPEEDO bds have crappy packaging & quality... some are produced by licensed manufacturer of major studios. The HVN-produced ones are the crappy ones though... tongue.gif So far I have only one SPEEDO-purchased bd and that is the steelbook version of Avatar - very nice made! But I do agree on the pricing part... not worth for the normal bd. nod.gif
fadthil
post Aug 16 2011, 06:03 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 16 2011, 02:39 PM)
I know, but 95% out of 100% is crap packaging. How many title you seen with slipcover, with steelbook, with Digibook, with Digipack, with better boxset? Most boxset packaging also like UK packaging not US packaging.
oh... for this one, i totally agree wif you 105%! UK packaging a "turn-off" for me... tongue.gif
fadthil
post Aug 17 2011, 06:20 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 16 2011, 08:22 PM)
Thx, not that I dont like 2:35:1 movies, but the amount of flashlighting on my TV makes watching movies with black bars unwatchable.. and the black bars are so gray... not true black...
flashlighting?

well, at least watching a 2.35:1 ratio movie on 16:9 tv is not that bad as compared to on a 4:3 tv... where the black bars are unacceptable!
fadthil
post Aug 18 2011, 01:36 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 17 2011, 05:41 PM)
I don't like, but not until hate yet. and this batch slipcover is well suite those nipple. (I mean in color and design term) and I am ok with one nipple, dual nipples la I not so like especially one left one right.
haha... you like one nipple? ( .) ? hmm.gif

nway, i like your sig:
I love Slipcover not slip sleeve | I love Steelbook not stickerbook.

should be more like this:
...I love Slipcover not nip-slip | I love Steelbook not pasties. laugh.gif

sorry, a bit OT there... actually UK BD nipples are ok if they put at the back of the casing and shouldn't be an element of design on the cover... worst still if they're darn f-big!!?! doh.gif
fadthil
post Aug 19 2011, 12:54 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Wow, everybody seem excited come September/October for their big haul of titles especially from this year's summer flicks. But I'll wait til November for my big haul. Anyone can foresee or predict which title may get the slash of price during this year's Black Friday sales? (or even wish it will be slashed.. haha!). nod.gif

Mine will be:
• Jurassic Park trilogy
• Scream Trilogy
• Star Wars: The Complete Saga
• Shrek: The Whole Story
• The Expandables
• Star Trek

ok la... the first 4 seems like asking too much, but who knows... tongue.gif
fadthil
post Aug 19 2011, 06:23 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 19 2011, 12:57 AM)
What about The Lord of the Rings: Extended Edition?  tongue.gif
heh heh... it's not in the list for me this year unless it's ridiculously cheap! i'm quite happy with my EE dvd for now...

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0478sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:11 AM