28 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Academic Research Thread, MPhil/PhD candidate/holder welcome!

Farmer_C
post Apr 4 2015, 11:31 AM

199 posts

Hi everybody, I've been missing for 2 years from this forum biggrin.gif. Good to be back. I'm in my 3rd year of PhD now.

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Mar 23 2015, 10:43 PM)
feel like taking phd but dunno which uni to go to
You need to let us know what field you are interested in, then we can recommend.
TSalexkos
post Apr 7 2015, 10:41 AM

2,275 posts

Hi everybody, I've been missing for x years from this forum...
Good to be back. I passed everything =D
jonoave
post Apr 8 2015, 08:16 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 7 2015, 05:41 AM)
Hi everybody, I've been missing for x years from this forum...
Good to be back. I passed everything =D
Congratulations! rclxm9.gif
v1n0d
post Apr 14 2015, 01:04 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

Just found out about this thread. alexkos do you mind adding me to the list on the first post? Details are in the form.
TSalexkos
post Apr 15 2015, 11:00 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Apr 14 2015, 01:04 PM)
Just found out about this thread. alexkos do you mind adding me to the list on the first post? Details are in the form.
yes will add you. In the form? biggrin.gif
v1n0d
post Apr 16 2015, 07:45 AM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 15 2015, 11:00 PM)
yes will add you. In the form? biggrin.gif
Err, I'm referring to the Google Docs spreadsheet that's linked in the first post.
babyJab
post Jun 1 2015, 11:18 PM

15 posts

i should have notice this thread earlier, else i wont be wasting 1year+ with some unwanted phd issues. sigh..
Critical_Fallacy
post Jun 2 2015, 12:37 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(babyJab @ Jun 1 2015, 11:18 PM)
i should have notice this thread earlier, else i wont be wasting 1year+ with some unwanted phd issues. sigh..
Welcome to the Powerhouse District (PhD)! thumbup.gif

Would you mind sharing your experience with us, please?
TSalexkos
post Jun 3 2015, 08:44 PM

2,275 posts

signing up for phd....wanting to do 'system of systems', it's a ICT topic. I would like to bridge it in business context.

Well, erm...nvm....play anno 2070 first, then come back =)
Critical_Fallacy
post Jun 4 2015, 01:46 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 3 2015, 08:44 PM)
signing up for phd....wanting to do 'system of systems', it's a ICT topic. I would like to bridge it in business context.
An interesting field! happy.gif

A System of Systems is like the facets of a many-sided diamond, where a set of independently useful systems is integrated together to provide an enhanced capability beyond that of the sum of the individual systems’ capabilities. As an example, a telephone-switching substation can well be considered as a system, with the national communications network considered as a “Supersystem”. Others include City power grid, Integrated distributed Automated Enforcement System (AES), Air traffic control system, as well as the Supply chain management systems.
babyJab
post Jun 4 2015, 02:36 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jun 2 2015, 12:37 AM)
Welcome to the Powerhouse District (PhD)! thumbup.gif

Would you mind sharing your experience with us, please?
not to say a good experience to share, haha..

it's the human factor la, when you are engaged with an unprofessional supervisor, you're doomed!

it was the dark-est moment of my PhD life, so far.

was thinking to give up once, but still holding on until now. sweat.gif
Critical_Fallacy
post Jun 5 2015, 02:47 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(babyJab @ Jun 4 2015, 02:36 PM)
it's the human factor la, when you are engaged with an unprofessional supervisor, you're doomed!
What does a professional supervisor should look like? sweat.gif

Your story may help other to select a qualified research supervisor.
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 5 2015, 12:30 PM

24,193 posts

Wah, its been awhile laugh.gif Good to see that the thread has progressed healthily; good job TS laugh.gif

Just updated my research field and details in the first post icon_rolleyes.gif

Now working as Assistant Prof. in UTAR (Kampar) rclxub.gif Applied for some grants and research projects, will post here when there are updates thumbup.gif

Victoriaa
post Jun 5 2015, 05:49 PM

A few years ago it was possible to apply for a great scholarship in Taiwan, to do your PHD in English in a foreign university in I think 3 years.. Unfortunately I forgot the name of the program sad.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jun 6 2015, 12:38 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Guys,

I have a full-time job and I have just completed my MBA. I am contemplating taking the final leap towards a PhD. Could you assist with the following noob questions?

1) How did you know you were ready for it in spite of all the challenges ?
2) Research topic - where do you find your inspiration? Many-a-time you may wanna answer a research question but various factors will dictate that that question may not be the one you end up doing.
2a) How often is it that you would have to find a compromise between what you want to research and other factors (supervisors' direction etc)?
3) Is everyone taking it full-time/scholarship recipients?
4) Is everyone planning to be a lecturer full-time after your PhD?
5) I am interested in doing a PhD related to business studies, any idea where I can find resources for good research topics? =)

Cheers.

Hope to hear from you guys!

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Jun 6 2015, 12:39 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 6 2015, 09:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 6 2015, 12:38 AM)
Guys,

I have a full-time job and I have just completed my MBA. I am contemplating taking the final leap towards a PhD. Could you assist with the following noob questions?

1) How did you know you were ready for it in spite of all the challenges ?
2) Research topic - where do you find your inspiration? Many-a-time you may wanna answer a research question but various factors will dictate that that question may not be the one you end up doing.
2a) How often is it that you would have to find a compromise between what you want to research and other factors (supervisors' direction etc)?
3) Is everyone taking it full-time/scholarship recipients?
4) Is everyone planning to be a lecturer full-time after your PhD?
5) I am interested in doing a PhD related to business studies, any idea where I can find resources for good research topics? =)

Cheers.

Hope to hear from you guys!
Unfortunately I am from the field of science, which may be very different from what you experience in the field of business sad.gif However, I would like to leave my comments here to help those who may be in the same field laugh.gif

babyJab
post Jun 24 2015, 07:53 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jun 5 2015, 02:47 AM)
What does a professional supervisor should look like? sweat.gif

Your story may help other to select a qualified research supervisor.
sorry that i missed the question earlier. tongue.gif

well my story was rather peculiar.

i learnt my lesson well.

sorry, never expected that long post. syok writing ady. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by babyJab: Jun 25 2015, 02:18 PM
Critical_Fallacy
post Jun 25 2015, 04:42 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(babyJab @ Jun 24 2015, 07:53 PM)
sorry, never expected that long post. syok writing ady.  tongue.gif
And the lesson to be learned here is to pick a well-regarded supervisor who does not spend too much time leaving the campus and missing supervisory meetings. Most PhD students prefer to be supervised by professors with a good reputation whose name carries weight when they write references. Before selecting a supervisor, be sure to do research on the available staff or talk directly with individual academics and other PhD students to measure the prudence, responsibility, and diligence that is expected from the prospective supervisor. icon_idea.gif
babyJab
post Jun 25 2015, 02:17 PM

15 posts

true.
i made a mistake by thinking that i personally knew the person, took it for granted and thus left a memorable scar in my phd journey.
in fact, i was quite disappointed with the school. but damage had been done, no turning back now. i dont want to waste my 1.5 years for nothing.
so keep struggling, keep the faith, & believe in myself that i can PHiniseD it! icon_rolleyes.gif
Critical_Fallacy
post Jun 26 2015, 05:27 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(babyJab @ Jun 25 2015, 02:17 PM)
i don't want to waste my 1.5 years for nothing.
so keep struggling, keep the faith, & believe in myself that i can PHiniseD it!  icon_rolleyes.gif
A faint clap of thunder;
Clouded skies;
Perhaps rain comes – if so, will you stay here with me?

28 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:13 AM