i should have notice this thread earlier, else i wont be wasting 1year+ with some unwanted phd issues. sigh..
Academic Research Thread, MPhil/PhD candidate/holder welcome!
Jun 1 2015, 11:18 PM
15 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
i should have notice this thread earlier, else i wont be wasting 1year+ with some unwanted phd issues. sigh..
Jun 4 2015, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jun 2 2015, 12:37 AM) not to say a good experience to share, haha..it's the human factor la, when you are engaged with an unprofessional supervisor, you're doomed! it was the dark-est moment of my PhD life, so far. was thinking to give up once, but still holding on until now. |
Jun 24 2015, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jun 5 2015, 02:47 AM) What does a professional supervisor should look like? sorry that i missed the question earlier. Your story may help other to select a qualified research supervisor. well my story was rather peculiar. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i learnt my lesson well. sorry, never expected that long post. syok writing ady. This post has been edited by babyJab: Jun 25 2015, 02:18 PM |
Jun 25 2015, 02:17 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « true. i made a mistake by thinking that i personally knew the person, took it for granted and thus left a memorable scar in my phd journey. in fact, i was quite disappointed with the school. but damage had been done, no turning back now. i dont want to waste my 1.5 years for nothing. so keep struggling, keep the faith, & believe in myself that i can PHiniseD it! |
Jun 30 2015, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jun 26 2015, 03:49 PM) I'm sorry to hear that. wow, i wasn't aware of that (withdrawal). but considering the fact that i am taking MyPhd scholarship, it might not be a workable alternative. probably need to go thru with all sorts of paperwork, or worst might be terminated from the scholarship, haha! thanks for the info tho. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « about the publication with my ex-supervisor's name, i'm afraid i can't do so. =( i escaped far from her field, what i am doing now is totally non-related to hers. and with all the internal politics among lecturers in my school, i doubt my new supervisor would want the ex-supervisor's name on our paper. (although yes, its common that some people just 'tumpang nama' on other's paper) and just to share, recently there are few phd students in my school have the opportunity to go abroad for attachment. to my surprise, the school/management actually discouraged them! i am one of them lah. i thought the school/management should be proud when their students managed to explore deeper in the field and interacted globally, no?! and we never ask for any funding from the school, it's all from our pocket. one of the supervisor even told her supervisee, "i will not allow you to go for those oversea attachment, such a waste of time and you better stay here." the supervisee felt so heartbroken and cried in front of me, asking why does the supervisor stopping her from exploring while other supervisors are encouraging their students to go out. for my case, i had the opportunity to visit Vienna for 6months . i don't want to waste my time just holiday-ing there, so i discussed with my supervisor that i might be getting a phd attachment at Uni of Vienna. she told me if my attachment is giving her KPI, she will support my trip. (does that mean if she dont get any KPI, she will not let me go? i dare not ask further) when the news went to the school management, they told me to suspend my study for that particular semester because the school does not have any MOU with vienna/austria. why can't they see it as an opportunity? why can't they take me as an subject to create the initial contact? its comical when they told me to suspend my semester, or don't go at all. perhaps they are just too lazy for some extra works. and fyi, i'm with the prestigious UKM, one of the top universities in the country. with these type of mentality, macam mana nak maju?... |
| Change to: | 0.0181sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:47 AM |