7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V7, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 10:38 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Jul 5 2011, 10:37 AM)
bro i suggest u leave the yellow triangle lah since u flash rom so many times...just flash back the cf-root see if your wifi is working or not....if its working leave the triangle since u only see it less then 3 second during boot up....

a lot of cases got drop signal or not connecting is due to the cf-root...this info i got off xda forum...
He has already bought a JIG - easier just plug in to remove the yellow triangle. Some people just don't like it - is their choice

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 5 2011, 10:39 AM
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 10:42 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shopper86 @ Jul 5 2011, 10:40 AM)
Hi benny..add me to the user list..just got my samsung galaxy s2 frm directd...
Updated and you are now the 263rd user I have recorded
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 10:48 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jul 5 2011, 10:45 AM)
I followed the link you gave, its just that the download link pasted on the page is different.
OK noted. In Odin, you need not worry - if you put in a wrong format file, it will not accept. Even if it accepts, you will see a failure in flash
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 11:38 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rayzy22 @ Jul 5 2011, 11:31 AM)
Received my SGS2 on 29th June and ever since it start having emergency call syndrome (out of blue not receiving any network signal).only after reset, it regain signal and same story goes on till date.

To overcome this prob,i tried these:
- factory reset 3 times
- manually choose telco/network carrier
- update/flash firmware (stock XWKF1 -> XWKF3)

so for these only reduce problem's rate to occur.PLease,help anyone?my sgs2 still not rooted

this is my third time posting the same problem here.
Such basic issues, you should sent to claim a replacement
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 12:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(JusticeDeserves @ Jul 5 2011, 12:03 PM)
Hey..just a quick question..tried goggling but couldn't locate..i purchased the titanium backup..thinking that i can backup everything..and just restore if i dont like the new rom that i want to try..would everything be the way it is?and what does CMW do?

Any recommendations on Photo editors?

How is steinheill ultra crystal protectors?
CMW backsup and restore fully your phone rom/data/apps/settings as it was last backup. CWM will restore your phone if it crashes and cannot be reboot back. Titanium Backup only backup your apps and associated data - it does not backup your rom. Titanium can only function in a working phone not a dead phone

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 5 2011, 12:06 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 12:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(JusticeDeserves @ Jul 5 2011, 12:10 PM)
Ohk..so if im on litening 1.5 now..and if i want to backup all my settings for it..i use CMW?is the 1.8 version enough to do this?
Any CWM can do it - it is the basic core function of clockworkmod recovery
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 01:12 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 5 2011, 01:09 PM)
A quick question...what is the name of the power bank...yooboo something? Trying to find but can't remember the name. Start with yo... something >.<
Yoobao YB 602 ( 4800maH) . YB 613 ( 6600mAH ), YB 642 ( 11200 maH)

Energizer XP4001 4000maH is laso not bad - I have it too

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 5 2011, 01:14 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 01:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jul 5 2011, 01:06 PM)
I went to Maxis Batu Pahat branch, parit raja branch and even Maxis Center in BP Mall, no stock!! All say 1-2 weeks. damn need wait longer sad.gif
Just buy online garage sales you get it immediate
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 01:33 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jul 5 2011, 01:23 PM)
Got my JIG!

How to remove yellow triangle using it?
AiYoh - very simple. Switch off phone. Plug in JIG - you will see downloading and message flash records deleted etc. After message end, take off jig just switch off phone and switch back on

Added on July 5, 2011, 1:34 pm
QUOTE(karlbum @ Jul 5 2011, 01:27 PM)
cheapest that i've found so far is from this website, if anybody have another place that sells cheaper plz do share

http://www.moresales.com.my/catalog/entry/lqsrgnqk.shtml
This is the cheapest and very reliable. I bought both my yb602 and YB 642 from them

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 5 2011, 01:36 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 01:58 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

he is using same rom as me. it is defi
nitely not rom issue . his issue probably due to other factors. your suggestions is good
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 02:17 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jul 5 2011, 02:09 PM)
Can I reflash the ROM using CWM in recovery?
Definitely. Yes
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 03:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Frankie99 @ Jul 5 2011, 02:19 PM)
Uncle Benny, U had bought the Belkin car charger from apple store with 2.1A? Does it charger in car with the GPS navigation on? Planning to get one. Thanks for ur info ya:-)
I'd say ANY car charger with 2000mA output and above will charge it while using GPS ; even a 1000mA will though is very slow

Added on July 5, 2011, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(janbeat @ Jul 5 2011, 03:47 PM)
Hi I am new user,
I would like to ask, Is it  any problems if i didnt apply the screen protector on the screen?  hmm.gif

Thks~
Is entirely up to you ; if you want peace of mind and assurance of extra protection
As for me, I don't use - I like the screen naked

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 5 2011, 03:54 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 04:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

MUGEN battery for SGS !! now available - delivery start mid july : 1700 mAH at US $ 46.95 /unit. Airmail to Msia is Free ( 10 -15 days ) - if you need faster delivery speedpost ( 2-5 days ) add another US $13.60

http://www.mugen-power-batteries.com/mugen...-ii-si9100.html

Reliable and I have purchased several times from them
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 05:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Jul 5 2011, 04:57 PM)
Hmm will it make much difference since the original battery is only slightly lower in capacity?
I would just say is a very good alternative to the original battery which is hard to find. it is better than those cheap imitation costing us5 to 10 in ebay
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 05:33 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Jul 5 2011, 05:21 PM)
Thanks. Wish someone could come out with 2000mAH battery though..
mugen has too a 3200mah with cover. remember costs about us$90 check their website
mugen batteries I have been using many years their capacity is more than OEM batteries at least 20% for same Mah. consider them the BMW vs the Japanese accords of same capacity. that s why not cheap
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 05:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rayzy22 @ Jul 5 2011, 05:46 PM)
hard reset eh?will try later...now want to see whether by rooting the problem can go away (doubt it though)
rooting does not solve such issues. rooting only allow access to system files. it does not affect how phone perform
you have obviously a hardware issue which I doubt even flash alternative rom will solve
TSbenny888
post Jul 6 2011, 11:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(b787 @ Jul 6 2011, 10:34 AM)
I am having problems with 'flight mode'
when i press the power button, it shows its not in the flight mode, but the icon above shows a airplane icon and i cant make any call.
Then i try ti turn on the flight mode in the power option, but i cant turn it off afterwards, and in the wireless option either.
Tried to restart the phone but the problem is still there.
Anyone knows how to solve this ?
What rom are you on ?

Try also take out simcard and reinsert back

If you are using any auto taskkillers - remove all of them
TSbenny888
post Jul 6 2011, 11:19 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Jul 6 2011, 11:14 AM)
planning to get S2 - issues

1. phone gets hot easily
2. blue tinge over LCD
3....what else

pls advise how to check for good batch
These are not issues at all. If you think this is issue dont get the phone as you are bound to have it
TSbenny888
post Jul 6 2011, 12:03 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Jul 6 2011, 11:39 AM)
thks benny, how come i hear some say they have blue tinge and some don't.

as for the heat, u r right
the blue tinge appears only on certain angle and at certain light levels ; i see it once a while and as far as i am concern is not an issue at all. i'd say those users who said they have yellowish tint when display is on - that is a issue and a very minor one, as most said have to look for it

Let's fact the fact: there is no perfect phone with perfect construction - there will be quality issues. It does not mean just because somebody said it - it is an issue . Example recently at htc sensation thread big hooha about signal issue which is not an issue at all as one will never unlikely to hold the phone that particular way to have signals block.

for the sgs II recently i read some guys worried the home button will be an issue and think will get spoil easily !!!! so if more guys talk about it - another issue again arsing from a non-issue

I have recorded more than 260 users and how many users complains about phone quality , only a few. If there are serious issues with it, I am sure there will be tons of feedbacks from them. There will always be issues , only whether one wants to blow it up and make a mountain out of it

Another often raised issue is battery life - I always say the phone is dumb when it comes to battery life. The user must be smart to know how to configure his phone, his apps to improve battery usage. As far as the phone is concerned there are many apps that are always refreshing data without you knowing. Example if you have install newsfeed, RSS, tweeter apps by default is set to refresh data ranging from 5 mins to 15 mins as default. If you do not need it, deactivate it or set a longer period - all these eats into battery usage. Weather widgets default refresh every 1-2 hours - again you can set it off or set a longer period in between refresh. Many apps has auto setin continual self updates. Market is a very good example - itt continually check your apps against new releases - again you can disable all these. Email accounts similarly have their builtin mail checking periods ...I could go on. So is up to user to know the apps he has installed and to also understand default apps that are build in - if you don't use it, freeze it , if not it will regularly popup working in background, in a way the phone is smart cos it thinks you need to use it
You read of users agonizing their battery last few hours and also users saying it could last them 14-15 hours , one even said 2 days. I am a medium-heavy user using a lot of 3G data - my phone always 3G on and actively refreshing data and 12-14 hours on it is not a problem. If one always like to play games long hours on it, battery usage will suffer for any phone. I got a PM from an user today saying his phone overnight drop more than 80 % ?? - I cannot answer him as I do not know what is on his phone, what he has set it to run, etc - it is up to him to assess why his drain is so bad
I have put up several links on how one can control battery on page 1 - these are good guides to follow
TSbenny888
post Jul 6 2011, 12:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(T0mmytky @ Jul 6 2011, 12:21 PM)
Hey guys, I have a problem here...

My SGS2 media player cant read chinese where I have only symbols for those music files I transfered from windows. I transfered those files from my laptop via bluetooth.
SS:
\
Anyone know what's the solution for this?
Thanks!
Please refer page 1 FAQ for solution

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 6 2011, 12:38 PM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0399sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:11 AM