7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V7, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 10:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 4 2011, 10:07 PM)
He is selling  biggrin.gif
Ok..from 8pm I charge from 0..until now still haven't finish  wink.gif
From live AC direct charge, from near empty to 100 % should take maximum 4 hours only
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 10:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 4 2011, 10:00 PM)
What you guys used to do nandroid backup? For me I use ClockWorkMod... and everytime i do a backup it will create a folder name with date and time (accurate to seconds) so it will not overwrite the old one no matter how. So I have multiple backups each in different folders smile.gif

If you're using clockworkmod then the nandroid backup will be located in /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup folder
And is a good practice after backup, manually rename the backup files meaningfully so that you can select restore better , eg 2605Litening15, 2706AndegoM103
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 10:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(fuadfadz @ Jul 4 2011, 10:43 PM)
how to change from device memory to usb storage/ guyss
No one is answering you cos you are thinking wrongly how to use your phone. Forget the old thinking of memory . This is not Froyo or Eclair where you have to worry about external SD card apps2SD. Read page 1 FAQ section Q8, 9, 9a to understand your phone memory and you will not be asking such questions anymore
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 10:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Jul 4 2011, 10:48 PM)
silly me, didnt notice there's a backup folder create in there blush.gif
so if i do another backup, it will not overwrite the old ones rite?
if like that when restoring, is there going to be option of backup files that we can choose in the cwm?
During restore, you will be shown a list of all your backups
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 10:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 4 2011, 10:45 PM)
Thanks Benny..hope my battery life getting better after this full charge  biggrin.gif

By the way, how to connect to internal memory by connecting USB without going to the setting? now once I plug in my PC, it auto go to MTP..lol..What I want is when plug in, it straight go USB storage mode, so I can browse the directory of my internal memory  laugh.gif
You CANNOT access data/files on internal memory for obvious reasons. Even if you can, you can only see and not edit or do any file management. Use root explorer app in phone if you want to manage files in internal memory - just be careful - make one simple mistake your phone will just freeze and do backup of whatever stuffs you want to change
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 11:16 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(wkwong77 @ Jul 4 2011, 11:12 PM)
I use the package come along charger output 700mA, it take around 4 hours. However I used my old old Nokia N85 charger which output 1200mA, it only take about 2 hours.

My question is will it harm my battery?
No it will not and I have always being using a 2100mA charger to charge all my stuffs for the past 5 years. As long as you are using original and good branded batteries. I have bought very cheap US$ 5-8 only type generic, these types spoilt within months as I believe these cheap stuffs doesn't have a good builtin voltage control chip, maybe none

Added on July 4, 2011, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(HEERO @ Jul 4 2011, 10:59 PM)
Izit this SGS2 support chinese writing and view chinese character?
YES , definitely all Msian sets and most of the UK based sets too except input you need install the free app Google Pin Yin as Chinese keyboard

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 4 2011, 11:18 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 11:21 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 4 2011, 10:35 PM)
I don't even do NANDBackups, afraid the stuff I modified is gonna result in botched restores later (manual substitution of themed unsigned system apks tend to do this). I usually just go clean wipes with TB data backups and manual backups.

Maybe I should do one next time I clean wipe, just in case.
It is always good to have at least ONE nandroid backup. In case your phone fail to boot/crash for unknown reasons - you can access this backup from recovery and restore a full working rom with all your data/settings/app etc exactly as in same state during backup. As saying goes " accidents can happen and it can happen to you too..don't assume you will always be safe"
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 11:23 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jul 4 2011, 11:00 PM)
so mnany version of backup?
Let say if you're running litening rom now, if you recover it with Villian rom backup, will it reflash back to VR?
Your restore will be exactly as what you backup. Your current rom /kernel etc will be replaced fully by the other rom backup
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 11:30 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(wkwong77 @ Jul 4 2011, 11:20 PM)
Thanks Benny, clear my doubts. By the way, for car charger what kind of output is good? I use those RM10 car charger and switch on Papago. The battery continue dropping instead of charging.
I use my ipad ( 2100mA) USB charger to charge my phone. I'd say minimum get a 1000mA - buy Mckay or Belkin. RM 10 type of charger is those cheap unreliable types - really suspect the voltage input - if it is less than 1000mA type - unlikely it will fried your phone. I read several posts back some guys selling Mugen for RM 15 , which I highly doubt is original as genuine Mugen will not cost less than RM 80. Anyway nowaduys plenty of fakes/imitations/copy brands in market
Papago /GPS consumes and draws a lot of power - if you are using those normal 500-700mA charger, the consumption is higher than the charging. So best solution, get the 2100mA type ( easiest get those can charge Galaxy Tab/iPad with output 2100mA)
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 11:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jul 4 2011, 11:30 PM)
Wao!!! That's nice... so if I flash to other rom and don't feel like to use it then can restore it to reverse to previous rom.
Depending on roms, the most you will lose is the widgets you have place on homescreen - these you just need to set it again
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 11:46 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Jul 4 2011, 11:36 PM)
what brand of incar charger that have 2100mA?
i only found belkin mini incar charger 1000mA, thinking of getting that,
but after i read ur post, might as well i buy the 2100mA one, can charge faster,
care to share what brand uncle benny...
I buy from Apple store - either Griffin or Kensington, cost about RM80+ - specify can charge iPad. These are just USB port car charger - so just plug in your microUSB cable to charge
Just google in Apple store for these stuffs

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 4 2011, 11:47 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 4 2011, 11:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 4 2011, 11:51 PM)
Can we change to Chinese menu in SGS2?
Change the rom to HK rom
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 07:51 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jul 5 2011, 06:50 AM)
OK Thanks. As for KF1 is my Original Stock Kernel, but TK ROM is using KF2

Hope some SIFU will help me on this
since you say wifi is OK on kf1 kernel than just use it. flash back stock kernel kf1 to remove triangle
it doesn't matter to use different kernel. I have no issues with kf2 dunno why you have problem. anyway I never keep those kernel offer by the developer. I always change it to chainfire cf4.
actually easier get a jig so simple just plugin n yellow triangle gone. jig useful for emergency cost rm30 only. see page 1 accessories for Lowyat forumer sales link
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 08:10 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(spekitam @ Jul 5 2011, 07:40 AM)
Some noob question..

My phone already rooted. So how to remove the shutter sound when taking picture? It says that I have to renamed the filename rite? but when i trying to renamed it using Astro File Manager, its says that I dont have correct permission..

So how do I give AFM that permission?
use root explorer to amend system files
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 08:16 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(duttway @ Jul 5 2011, 08:03 AM)
hi there,
anyone tried batista70 1.1 rom from XDA?
i'm nt too sure of the flashing instructions..do we need to be rooted before flashing the ROM? or is it pre-rooted like litening rom?
if you have read features of rom listed, he already mention he use cf kernel with root n busybox
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 08:58 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(duttway @ Jul 5 2011, 08:24 AM)
hi benny
thanks for your reply. yea i saw those in the rom feature listing
but we need to flash with CWM - so need to root first?
Have you tried it? is the battery life ok?
you just flash chainfire cf4 you get recovery plus root same time
yes I tried it short while only. so cannot advice you on battery life. it is just another one of those nondescript rom.
suggest you look for rom based on xxkf2 and flash baseband xxke4 as alternative for good combo in battery life. some rom comes with both search at xda or just flash xxke4 separately

TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 09:47 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jul 5 2011, 08:14 AM)
Benny

Here is my situation now:-

Baseband Version I9100XXKF2

Kernel Version 2.6.5.7XWKF1-CL265340 root@DELL106 #2 (Original Stock)

How do I change the baseband version to KF1? Do I need to or advisable to do it?

I have also ordered the JIG which is expected to arrive later today.
If you plan to change baseband I suggest change to XXKE4. Download link and flash using odin as phone

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1131950
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 10:05 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Jul 5 2011, 09:59 AM)
Uncle benny, what rom are u using now? Interested to know
I am using TK 0.37 - it is based on XXKF2 but I have change the baseband to XXKE4 ( got it from Villian link)
This is one of the understated relatively quiet rom but I find it to be very stable and efficient. Till now yet to see any bugs with it. I have absolutely no problems using it and is kind to battery life. As saying goes, you need not be well known to be a good performer. I do not play games on my phone , so I cannot comment on its performance when comes to gaming

Added on July 5, 2011, 10:06 am
QUOTE(tyss @ Jul 5 2011, 10:02 AM)
Anyone experience no response from the phone when connecting to car charger?
Most car chargers are only 500mA output. This phone needs minimum 700mA - so check your charger output - suggest change to those at least 1000mA

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 5 2011, 10:06 AM
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 10:15 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Jul 5 2011, 10:11 AM)
Found this one on lelong believe this would be a good charger for our SGS2

uncle benny also mentioned something about 2.1 being faster smile.gif

http://www.lelong.com.my/kensington-powerb...2-04-Sale-P.htm
This is a good top quality one. I bought mine from Apple store, just slightly more than RM80+. You can even use it to charge your ipads, galaxy tab, htc flyer
TSbenny888
post Jul 5 2011, 10:36 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jul 5 2011, 10:34 AM)
Benny

So, I just download XXKE4 Modem as used by XWKF1 "Frankenstein" ROM by Intratech (VillainROM 1.2) (as above), open ODIN, Boot into download mode, select the file and flash, right? Its in .md5 format, do we have to rename it to .tar?
I have given you the link, why don't you use it and instead want to use another one ??
Many phone files are in .md5 format - just use it as it is

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 5 2011, 10:37 AM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0381sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:47 PM