bah, lost my abu tormentor lure. got snagged on the tree. wanted to cast under it but obviously i failed.
tree 1 : 0 inv
Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!
Apr 11 2012, 08:43 PM
1,218 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
bah, lost my abu tormentor lure. got snagged on the tree. wanted to cast under it but obviously i failed.
tree 1 : 0 inv |
Apr 11 2012, 08:48 PM
subang lake. the 3rd lake near holiday villa.
Apr 12 2012, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(kayent @ Apr 12 2012, 09:51 AM) Still gt fish at the lake meh? Which port u fish? I usually fish from the broken down arch. But never get anything also. Overfished no? I camped next to the crocodile farm restaurant. Baby fishes a lot, but nothing else. Gonna try again this weekend but will go for different spot. |
Apr 14 2012, 01:48 PM
Nice! I like!
Apr 15 2012, 03:02 PM
Fuyoh, somebody got new gear.
I'm thinking of going ultra light setup. Friend recommended shimano biomaster reel. Anyone use that reel before? Any thoughts? This post has been edited by inv: Apr 15 2012, 03:02 PM |
Apr 15 2012, 07:18 PM
Apr 15 2012, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(wai1460 @ Apr 15 2012, 07:41 PM) Since you're keen on Ultralight setup...if i not mistaken Biomaster series minimum series 2500, which i think are not suitable for ultralight application. nope. i have not used any ultralight setup before. i'm targetting PBs mostly in subang lake.U can look for those reels below 1000 series (perfect is 500 series). Why are you looking for ultralight tackle? What kind of fish are you targeting? Have you use any ultralight before? I've been using ultralight sometimes ago and im not use to it.....u have to really patience enough to use ultralight. What is your budget for your ultralight tackle? Different brand different price..... For your info...Biomaster reels price range is between RM600-Rm1000 ( upon ur model ), then how bout ur ultralight rod? i do have a second hand shimano sahara 750fb but my friend said something about the drag not being good enough if terkena bigger fish. it's paired with a lemax g7 6-12lbs rated rod atm (fished this out in bkt cerakah a few weeks ago). i have a ML setup, MajorCraft go.emotion 8-14lbs paired with curado 51e. thinking of getting light setup consisting of a MajorCraft basspara spinning setup rated 4-8lbs. |
Apr 15 2012, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Apr 15 2012, 10:14 PM) Syiok meh lightsetup, mayb different fetish..like my father in law ,his using ofmer baby reel with 6lbs ichiban flurocarbon,I see also headache different kind of fight i guess. i also headache when i see ppl bring sea jigging rod to subang lake to cast dedak. it's like bringing a cannon to a gun fight. worst thing is, they go bring home the fish that they catch...This post has been edited by inv: Apr 15 2012, 10:21 PM |
Apr 16 2012, 08:31 AM
any other cheaper 6foot UL rod to recommend?
Apr 16 2012, 06:00 PM
Apr 19 2012, 07:07 AM
the problem with BC with microlure is that the learning curve is high. i have a bc setup which i can cast lure with 7g no problem, only like 1 birdnest/cbh out of 20 cast, but switching to lure below 5g will give me like 3 birdnest/cbh out of 7, especially if i want to cast it far.
i go to the subang lake more often than any other lake, so a UL setup is good enough considering my target PBs is only like palm size, or slightly bigger. |
Apr 19 2012, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(rorytate @ Apr 19 2012, 10:20 AM) Hey bro~!! tq so much for your input. learnt a lot today. Have been extremely busy with works and life but fishing never ends. You should be able to see me in regular Rod N Line magazine mah... Just slowed down LYN for the past 3 years nia... Added on April 19, 2012, 10:28 amHi Fellas, Perhaps allow me to share my thoughts on BC and micro lures. Knowing the micro lures are light, therefore the composition of your rod, reel and line(plus a little skillset) is crucial. To the general caster, anything lesser than 4gram is considered finesse fishing. It does not matter if you are using a small spoon, a softplastic or even hard body lure. It's the weight talk now. Rod Use a lighter rod like 4~12lb. To successfully cast out a micro lure you need the flick of the rod tip to push the lure out. Reel Gotta use a slightly highend reel. It's the freespooling factor here. If the spool does not rotate freely and easily, it causes much CBH aka birdnest, as the line gonna be eaten back to the reel at higher RPM of the spool. The spool need to be easily reaching certain RPM, not those slow pickup RPM and reach high RPM at later stage. This causes blacklash. Line Use lighter line. Eg 4lb or anything below 10lb. Dont worry about busting the line, most of our braided lines are under-rated. It may state 10lb but the breaking strains will reach around 24lb!!! Unless the line are IGFA rated, where it will break before it reaches the mentioned poundage. I personally have landed a 5.2kg wild toman with 4lb IGFA rated line. Almost got into world IGFA record tho. Lastly, the skill set. Practise makes perfect. Hope this helps. |
Apr 20 2012, 07:12 AM
QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Apr 19 2012, 11:35 PM) Totally screw up, shit!! Was suppose to get d daiwa oceano 4500j yesterday but I had something urgent to do,I had to leave the tackle store with stuff to do.I called up to reserved the reel as ill be back the next day to get the reel, so the boss say okok.today I showed up at the store he told he drop the reel on the floor n he already sent the reel back for warranty.I personally think it's because he quoted me the wrong price so he gave me such digk reason.. fooocked!!! which shop did you go to? |
Apr 20 2012, 10:31 PM
de-barbing treble hooks. yay or nay?
Apr 21 2012, 06:12 AM
omg, you guys are early...
Apr 21 2012, 08:51 PM
so when r we going rawang?
This post has been edited by inv: Apr 21 2012, 09:28 PM |
Apr 22 2012, 08:46 PM
pacu are edible.
Apr 28 2012, 10:54 PM
May 7 2012, 07:58 PM
i'm interested in the jurassic outing as well!
what is the minimum line and rod spec recommended? i'm still a noob.. |
May 7 2012, 11:47 PM