Bodybuilding Thread V9, Discussion and disputes

mikehuan
post Jun 29 2011, 12:20 PM

6,160 posts

hrm lets see,
68kg to 78kg and still wearing the same jeans. reached 80kgs a while ago and it felt tight. now back to normal.
mikehuan
post Jul 11 2011, 05:19 PM

6,160 posts

proving bodybuilders are athletic too. of course the second video is way more recent.

mikehuan
post Jul 16 2011, 12:22 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(van_takawa @ Jul 15 2011, 09:47 PM)
I don't do any bulking/cutting thing. But I'll say that playing football/rugby/jogging ka whatsoever definitely is not a reason why you are not working out your legs. You may not want to "enlarge" (if you able to) legs with workouts, but for whatever reasons if you said cutting/bulking, leg day shouldn't be out. Because that's one of the large muscle group to work, and working quadriceps secrete 2-3 times more growth hormone than working the tris.So if you want cutting, you hope you burn more fat (by exercise a large muscle group,yes you burn fat) and pack up some mass (by the growth hormone,you do). So why you will sacrifice your leg day? In fact if you really want to CUT, instead of alternating day with cardio/weight training, why don't you do a 15-20 mins of cardio post workout everyday. And then made it a 5/6 training day with 1/0 cardio day a week?
he DID say he squats twice a week.
mikehuan
post Jul 16 2011, 08:42 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Jul 16 2011, 07:38 AM)
i do triceps with chest...
a normal routine would be : chest dips, bench press, inclined bench press, dumbbells pullovers,flyes, push-ups, bench dips...
all in 4 setsx 8-10 reps
i do tri's with chest as well, only reason is to spare bi's for back day. imo you're not doing enough for tri's ijnek. try throwing in some skullcrushers/rope pulldowns?
ftr, my chest day is db incline, bb flat, db or cable flyes, HS Chest press, skullcrushers, CGBP, rope pulldowns. also 4-5 sets per exercise. reps depends, usually 4 - 12 depending if its volume or heavy day.
mikehuan
post Jul 16 2011, 03:00 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(van_takawa @ Jul 16 2011, 02:53 PM)
Good figures. I see. Mind to share some pic on the calves and quads. Interested to see.
me too. thats some serious numbers you're posting up. your weight/height/bf% also shows some serious mass there. im only slightly taller than you, though i think im at lower bf%(refer avatar pic) but you're at least 15kilos heavier than me! sad.gif
mikehuan
post Jul 17 2011, 01:10 PM

6,160 posts

3. going as heavy as you can on the basic curl does it for me. without sacrificing too much form of course
mikehuan
post Jul 18 2011, 07:08 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Jul 18 2011, 05:44 PM)
Thanks!! i started doing concentration curl and concentrate on the 'peak', i can really feel the pressure on my biceps haha.

By the way, i saw some video comments on youtube saying about 'strong' and 'endurance' style for the same exercise. when doing strong, more weight and lesser reps; when doing endurance, lesser weight but more reps. would anyone care to clarify and explain this?

Thanks!
http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_articl...an_powerlifters

related article
mikehuan
post Jul 26 2011, 09:43 AM

6,160 posts

you're in a cutting phase, of course you're getting smaller. losing 1.5 kg per week to me is quite okay i think, since you'll lose water weight as well. are you doing cardio? dont cut carbs off totally too, you still need carbs even though you're in a cutting phase
mikehuan
post Jul 26 2011, 10:38 AM

6,160 posts

you're still lifting weights too right?
mikehuan
post Jul 26 2011, 07:34 PM

6,160 posts

http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_articl...olution_phase_5

a must read. the DL and squat videos are gems! will be trying box squats next leg day and gonna improve on technique for conventional DL tomorrow!
mikehuan
post Jul 26 2011, 11:55 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(van_takawa @ Jul 26 2011, 08:36 PM)
Good thing! But it's more on powerlifting?

for the bench yes its more powerlifting style, theres no BB style to squat and DL

and ive tried benching powerlifting style, definitely could lift more lol

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Jul 26 2011, 11:56 PM
mikehuan
post Jul 28 2011, 12:37 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jul 28 2011, 12:04 PM)
It's quite simple. Want to look like a bodybuilder train like one. Want to look like a powerlifter, train like one. Cause and effect. Some idiots will say train like a powerlifter eat like a bodybuilder. Meh... A powerlifter will still look like a powerlifter no matter how much he diets down. Sure some will use examples like Ronnie Coleman and Johnny Jackson as bodybuilders who came from powerlifting backgrounds but for every one of those, there is a successful bodybuilder who did a bodybuilding split from day 1 of training.
And even if they came from powerlifting, they still used splits when they switched to bodybuilding. However we can't really compare ourselves to pros. There just too many varriables to consider. Do what you think its best for YOU.

I do agree starting strength is great for beginners. Ain't gonna do much if you're benching 20 kilos for months on end
mikehuan
post Aug 2 2011, 08:21 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Aug 2 2011, 08:17 PM)
Leave them be. I don't know you well enough to comment but a lot of young punks seem to get this elitist I'm better than thou kind of mentality when they start weightlifting for a few years and are far, far, far from getting huge. Not targeting you, just sayin. Take a look at big guys like Kmaru, angrydog, free_enuf... and professionals like Wong Hong and Terry Gallyot.

They rarely diss people or act condescending. They educate, not humiliate. Some people need a lesson in humility. Is this why there's never a big attendance in a H & F meetup? =)
Will definitely join a h&f meetup if I could make it!
mikehuan
post Aug 4 2011, 03:59 PM

6,160 posts

excerpt from a t-nation article;

I'm going to assume that most of the males reading this can do at least 7-8 bodyweight pull-ups, with whatever grip you prefer. If you can't, and have been training for more than a few years, take this as a wake-up call that you seriously need to reconsider your training, nutrition, or both. Read this article from T NATON contributor Tim Henriques and get to work. If you can already do 7-8 reps, keep reading.

http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_articl..._the_next_level

i love reading their articles. i swear the site is the only thing stopping me from thinking whatever weight im lifting is heavy.
mikehuan
post Aug 4 2011, 05:28 PM

6,160 posts

I'm a firm believer that strength gains = great physique.

Yea its more powerlifting oriented for sure, but its still knowledge. I just generally browse through these sites for their articles and bodybuilding threads. To date other than trying to change my benching style I still have not tried any powerlifting techniques and routines there.

The posters there are very informative, and are huge mofos. Can't hurt to see what they write
mikehuan
post Aug 8 2011, 12:54 PM

6,160 posts

yeap, chinese chiro and/or thai massages though. approx maybe once in 2 months or so, whenever im experiencing any pain to the joints. has been beneficial so far
mikehuan
post Aug 9 2011, 12:39 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Aug 9 2011, 11:06 AM)
Lots of volume! I like! biggrin.gif

I did back yesterday, later today'll be chest!
Jeez that's a lot of sets. Doin shoulders/abs today and back tomorrow. My routine:

Bent over bb rows
V grip pulldowns
Seated rows - two warmups sets followed by full stack sets of 12 reps until I fail the last set at 8 reps
HS plate machine pulldowns or db rows depending on availability
Deadlift - heavy, failing at 3 or 4 reps on the last set

The rest is usually 4 sets of pyramiding reps from 12 to 8 as weight increases.
mikehuan
post Aug 9 2011, 01:41 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Alphaproject @ Aug 9 2011, 01:31 PM)
you should wear a shirt with "Shut Up and Train" written on it... any wise uncle(s) come give advise, just point at your shirt...
Lol that shirt is the bomb! Too chicken to wear that shirt though haha. Makes you appear very elitist, especially for me at beginner / intermediate lvl. My sets all pyramid ones le bro, urs probably 12 reps for all sets. Tried it before and totally couldn't make it zzz
mikehuan
post Aug 9 2011, 04:27 PM

6,160 posts

2 incline fly exercises?
mikehuan
post Aug 9 2011, 06:04 PM

6,160 posts

i guess its because HIT is more associated to powerlifting, strength gains than bodybuilding. tons of articles out there saying the same thing. im still kinda exploring though, my reps hit from 12 to 4 reps in some exercises.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:17 PM