125 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

Doreamon10
post Feb 4 2012, 12:17 PM

88 posts

Sorry to rant but i need an emotional outlet.

I think my P2 lecturer found my answer very dull and boring, he crossed out substantial amount of my answer when he marked. Too much theories, too rigid, he said.

Sigh....my arguement is P2 is truly dull and boring compared to P1 and P3 with interesting case study. And P2 is all about standards and what the companies in the case did correctly or incorrectly, am I wrong?

How else can I make my answers interesting for the ACCA markers to read when the examiner's questions are really boring?

Feeling pretty much dishearted at this moment and the thought of results releasing in about 10 days time made me feel worse...

Very sian....
caillech
post Feb 4 2012, 12:50 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Feb 4 2012, 12:17 PM)

I think my P2 lecturer found my answer very dull and boring, he crossed out substantial amount of my answer when he marked. Too much theories, too rigid, he said.

Sigh....my arguement is P2 is truly dull and boring compared to P1 and P3 with interesting case study. And P2 is all about standards and what the companies in the case did correctly or incorrectly, am I wrong?

How else can I make my answers interesting for the ACCA markers to read when the examiner's questions are really boring?

Feeling pretty much dishearted at this moment and the thought of results releasing in about 10 days time made me feel worse...

Very sian....
ur answer copy from textbook?

dude, the beauty in p level paper is u can express answer in ur own way, don memorize the whole thing from textbook..

try to bullshit to make it more interesting, u will earn marks as long ur answer make sense..
noonies_naruto
post Feb 4 2012, 12:52 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Feb 4 2012, 01:17 PM)

Very sian....
aiyaaa why u go check so early wan?? its like past year paper for dec 2011 keluar already and then go check answer.. see now i also takut takut already... only one thing that could make me feel a bit better..

i heard papers for december are a lot more merciful when it comes to marks. because christmas is near and people are emotional about christmas to the point it affects their answers so examiners assume a much more merciful stance in marking.. however, thats just a pretty lame excuse for myself, and a few other friends of mine who would LOVE to think of it that way.. sweat.gif

if wan interesting must be answers like sth examiners dont expect you to write la i think.. ya know, like think out of the box, out of syllabus kinda stuff.. we always come up with those kind of answers when we goreng2 ya know.. try to find some logical reasonable answers which cannot find in text books.. those kind of stuff.. or maybe add in a bit of general knowledge like recession ka, etc..

but why talk about this NOW? tunggu result lah! shocking.gif if i had to rant as well it would be for work. I only hav acca and nothing else, if i screw this one up... my butt konfem really hurt one cry.gif susah la carik keje ini mcm unsure.gif
Doreamon10
post Feb 4 2012, 04:12 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Feb 4 2012, 01:50 PM)
ur answer copy from textbook?

dude, the beauty in p level paper is u can express answer in ur own way, don memorize the whole thing from textbook..

try to bullshit to make it more interesting, u will earn marks as long ur answer make sense..
I did not copy for textbook. I just merely quoted relevant part of the IFRS standards, thinking that is is a MUST. I stated the standard requires this and that..which i think it is relevant to the case...that chunk was crossed out by my lecturer because he thought it was boring?? : (

And i guess one of my pitfalls is I did not mention the name of the company in my answer, making it looks so much like re-copying from textbook which i swear i wasn't. : ( Do u think that was one of my biggest mistake?

He said the marker will not read the whole script which he thinks i am wasting my time. I don't know how true....should i listen to him?

Added on February 4, 2012, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Feb 4 2012, 01:52 PM)
aiyaaa why u go check so early wan?? its like past year paper for dec 2011 keluar already and then go check answer..  see now i also takut takut already... only one thing that could make me feel a bit better..

i heard papers for december are a lot more merciful when it comes to marks. because christmas is near and people are emotional about christmas to the point it affects their answers so examiners assume a much more merciful stance in marking.. however, thats just a pretty lame excuse for myself, and a few other friends of mine who would LOVE to think of it that way..  sweat.gif

if wan interesting must be answers like sth examiners dont expect you to write la i think.. ya know, like think out of the box, out of syllabus kinda stuff.. we always come up with those kind of answers when we goreng2 ya know.. try to find some logical reasonable answers which cannot find in text books.. those kind of stuff.. or maybe add in a bit of general knowledge like recession ka, etc..

but why talk about this NOW? tunggu result lah!  shocking.gif if i had to rant as well it would be for work. I only hav acca and nothing else, if i screw this one up... my butt konfem really hurt one  cry.gif susah la carik keje ini mcm  unsure.gif
Hi there, i am referring to my current P2 homework....kena crossed here and there by my lecturer lah..LOL

This post has been edited by Doreamon10: Feb 4 2012, 04:18 PM
caillech
post Feb 4 2012, 05:19 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Feb 4 2012, 04:12 PM)
I did not copy for textbook. I just merely quoted relevant part of the IFRS standards,  thinking that is is a MUST. I stated the standard requires this and that..which i think it is relevant to the case...that chunk was crossed out by my lecturer because he thought it was boring?? : (

And i guess one of my pitfalls is I did not mention the name of the company in my answer, making it looks so much like re-copying from textbook which i swear i wasn't. : (  Do u think that was one of my biggest mistake?

He said the marker will not read the whole script which he thinks i am wasting my time. I don't know how true....should i listen to him?
lols i dunno.. i haven done any of my P2 homework yet.. doh.gif

wait..let me help u summon tzxsean, nothingz, YH90 to reply ur question..

*summoning*.....

This post has been edited by caillech: Feb 4 2012, 05:21 PM
YH90
post Feb 4 2012, 05:28 PM

606 posts

I did not copy for textbook. I just merely quoted relevant part of the IFRS standards,  thinking that is is a MUST. I stated the standard requires this and that..which i think it is relevant to the case...that chunk was crossed out by my lecturer because he thought it was boring?? : (

And i guess one of my pitfalls is I did not mention the name of the company in my answer, making it looks so much like re-copying from textbook which i swear i wasn't. : (  Do u think that was one of my biggest mistake?

Hi there, i am referring to my current P2 homework....kena crossed here and there by my lecturer lah..LOL
I've never really looked at the model answers for P2 before (since I know that I won't be able to produce such answers).

The format I used to follow is
1. state what are the standards applicable for the question
2. which part of the question is not in comply with the standard
3. state the correction and the effect to the financial statement

I think quoting is the best way since you won't go wrong with the standard, that is if your memory is that good with so many standards being examinable in the exams.

If you look at the recognition criteria's, measurement, etc for every standard, you will actually see a trend that 2-3 criteria are always there in all the standards. That is how I memorized it anyway.

And when you answer the question, don't use dodgy answers even though you are not that sure with the standards. Write precise answers like you own the standard.

This post has been edited by YH90: Feb 4 2012, 05:29 PM
caillech
post Feb 4 2012, 05:34 PM

247 posts

LOL...it works!!
noonies_naruto
post Feb 4 2012, 05:44 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Feb 4 2012, 05:12 PM)

ehh... i thought u already jawab the paper liao sweat.gif sorry my bad..

I sat 2nd time p2 already.. id say first round my biggest mistake was, ignoring theory questions, like standards.. i went like an f7 method, juz dooo all calculation (consol+ group + cashflow) and theory skit2 i goreng2 only.. habis hancur that p2 paper..

however, 2nd seating which i just sat, i prepare myself already... u know come out calculation really little, account for 30 marks only (asuming u ignore the optional Q2 full of calculations!) and the rest represent theoretical answering!

I'd say, ur lecturer can simply say ur answer boring and all, because he got too much high expectation. If u wan to really impress everybody, take your whole time and answer with a 5 hour worth of answers la. where got that kind of time in exam??

we need to be precise and straight to the point. if got factual come from textbook answers, u settle that first la. wanna add some more can but make sure u already settle all other questions la, then you'll find out you have about 40mins extra!

unless you going for world prize... ehem.. please ignore my rant.. sweat.gif
tzxsean
post Feb 4 2012, 06:02 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

been summoned hence I'm here

1) when you do such questions, try to identify the relevant standards ( there can be multiple standards hidden inside the question)
2) when u read it, try to highlight places that u think have been done wrong by the accountant
3) recall to the requirements set by the standards and match indivdual error to the corresponding standards' requirement
4) when u wan to answer the questions, pls start with a header. example below:

TL;DR

p/s: when you try to relate to the standards, pls do it accordance to the most important requirement because if the most important 1 is not fulfilled

then you can save ur time by not explaining the less important requirement. eg. intangible asset- identifiable separately from company (KFC) rather

than cost

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Feb 4 2012, 06:11 PM
Doreamon10
post Feb 4 2012, 06:28 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Feb 4 2012, 06:19 PM)
lols i dunno.. i haven done any of my P2 homework yet.. doh.gif

wait..let me help u summon tzxsean, nothingz, YH90 to reply ur question..

*summoning*.....
Hi! You are really helpful! thumbup.gif Thanks!

Added on February 4, 2012, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(YH90 @ Feb 4 2012, 06:28 PM)
I've never really looked at the model answers for P2 before (since I know that I won't be able to produce such answers).

The format I used to follow is
1. state what are the standards applicable for the question
2. which part of the question is not in comply with the standard
3. state the correction and the effect to the financial statement

I think quoting is the best way since you won't go wrong with the standard, that is if your memory is that good with so many standards being examinable in the exams.

If you look at the recognition criteria's, measurement, etc for every standard, you will actually see a trend that 2-3 criteria are always there in all the standards. That is how I memorized it anyway.

And when you answer the question, don't use dodgy answers even though you are not that sure with the standards. Write precise answers like you own the standard.
Thank you for your advice. Actually my memory isn't great, it is just that I did that question right after the lecture on the same topic/IFRS so i remembered what was taught. LOL. However, i believe if practise these questions a few more time, the standards (50%?) will stay in our brain. Fingers crossed.

Added on February 4, 2012, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Feb 4 2012, 06:44 PM)
ehh... i thought u already jawab the paper liao  sweat.gif  sorry my bad..

I sat 2nd time p2 already.. id say first round my biggest mistake was, ignoring theory questions, like standards.. i went like an f7 method, juz dooo all calculation (consol+ group + cashflow) and theory skit2 i goreng2 only.. habis hancur that p2 paper..

however, 2nd seating which i just sat, i prepare myself already... u know come out calculation really little, account for 30 marks only (asuming u ignore the optional Q2 full of calculations!) and the rest represent theoretical answering!

I'd say, ur lecturer can simply say ur answer boring and all, because he got too much high expectation. If u wan to really impress everybody, take your whole time and answer with a 5 hour worth of answers la. where got that kind of time in exam??

we need to be precise and straight to the point. if got factual come from textbook answers, u settle that first la. wanna add some more can but make sure u already settle all other questions la, then you'll find out you have about 40mins extra!

unless you going for world prize... ehem.. please ignore my rant..  sweat.gif
It is ok. I think this forum allows us to rant since it is a emotional period of the year...waiting for results mah...LOL

Added on February 4, 2012, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 4 2012, 07:02 PM)
been summoned hence I'm here

1) when you do such questions, try to identify the relevant standards ( there can be multiple standards hidden inside the question)
2) when u read it, try to highlight places that u think have been done wrong by the accountant
3) recall to the requirements set by the standards and match indivdual error to the corresponding standards' requirement
4) when u wan to answer the questions, pls start with a header. example below:

TL;DR

p/s: when you try to relate to the standards, pls do it accordance to the most important requirement because if the most important 1 is not fulfilled

then you can save ur time by not explaining the less important requirement. eg. intangible asset- identifiable separately from company (KFC) rather

than cost
Thanks tzxsean. I will work on that. A good pointer indeed. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Doreamon10: Feb 4 2012, 06:34 PM
tzxsean
post Feb 4 2012, 06:36 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Feb 4 2012, 06:28 PM)
Hi! You are really helpful!  thumbup.gif  Thanks!

Added on February 4, 2012, 6:31 pm

Thank you for your advice. Actually my memory isn't great, it is just that I did that question right after the lecture on the same topic/IFRS so i remembered what was taught. LOL. However, i believe if practise these questions a few more time, the standards (50%?) will stay in our brain. Fingers crossed.

Added on February 4, 2012, 6:32 pm

It is ok. I think this forum allows us to rant since it is a emotional period of the year...waiting for results mah...LOL

Added on February 4, 2012, 6:34 pm

Thanks tzxsean. I will work on that. A good pointer indeed.  nod.gif
standard is dead question is twistable

read more standard while getting use to the way the question is ask is better

doing more doesnt mean u can remember

but it will create a false sense that you are already prepared for the exam

pls read the exam technique for section B in the acca web page
Doreamon10
post Feb 4 2012, 06:45 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 4 2012, 07:36 PM)
standard is dead question is twistable

read more standard while getting use to the way the question is ask is better

doing more doesnt mean u can remember

but it will create a false sense that you are already prepared for the exam

pls read the exam technique for section B in the acca web page
Roger that! Thanks again tzxsean. By the way the website seems to have heavy traffic now, for the past few days, i have been trying to access answers for some older exam questions (before Dec07), cannot do so! LOL
tzxsean
post Feb 4 2012, 06:47 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Feb 4 2012, 06:45 PM)
Roger that! Thanks again tzxsean. By the way the website seems to have heavy traffic now, for the past few days, i have been trying to access answers for some older exam questions (before Dec07), cannot do so! LOL
now still early...relax bro

http://www2.accaglobal.com/students/studen...010/112/3370610

read it

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Feb 4 2012, 06:50 PM
caillech
post Feb 4 2012, 08:17 PM

247 posts

nothingz.. where are u?

left u haven comment only laugh.gif

btw, 9 more days to go whistling.gif
tzxsean
post Feb 4 2012, 08:20 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Feb 4 2012, 08:17 PM)
nothingz.. where are u?

left u haven comment only  laugh.gif

btw, 9 more days to go  whistling.gif
eh u should pay me my appearance fee

since u summoned me
caillech
post Feb 4 2012, 08:26 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 4 2012, 08:20 PM)
eh u should pay me my appearance fee

since u summoned me
wah..u tis bloody greed accountant..

so u working rite now?
tzxsean
post Feb 4 2012, 08:35 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

^ nope...waiting for result...been no life for 2 months since p3 exam
caillech
post Feb 4 2012, 08:49 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 4 2012, 08:35 PM)
^ nope...waiting for result...been no life for 2 months since p3 exam

tzxsean
post Feb 4 2012, 08:50 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(caillech @ Feb 4 2012, 08:49 PM)

Lol..wad does it means?
caillech
post Feb 4 2012, 08:56 PM

247 posts

^lols u said no life means like shin chan looking at the sunset, then i am the doraemon lightly tap ur head to console u...

125 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:57 AM