9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V2, Sony NEX 5N & NEX7 Unveil

axii
post Dec 14 2011, 08:06 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(shahibbul @ Dec 14 2011, 04:28 PM)
Where can I get those Nikon 35mm Sir?  drool.gif  drool.gif
For the Nikon lenses, you'll need to look for the old Nikon Ai-S lenses with aperture rings. At least, that's whats being normally used by legacy lens fans. eBay is a good place to start. Most of these lenses are very cheap anyways.

50s are pretty alright for non-stabilized shooting... a shutter speed of 1/60 hand-held is fine most of the time, and if you need to go faster, the ISO abilities of the NEX more than compensates for it.
axii
post Dec 15 2011, 12:56 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Dec 14 2011, 10:45 PM)
Plan to buy 18-200mm lens, which one better? E mount or lens with adaptor? As E mount selling at RM2,399 now in sony web
If you use a 3rd party lens or a Sony A-Mount lens w/LA-EA2, you won't get stabilization / OSS. Unless you use a A-Mount Sigma OS lens. Focal length beyond ~100MM will be hard to handhold.

If you have the money for the SEL18200, it's a great lens. Good quality, pleasant bokeh, and great OSS.

Added on December 15, 2011, 12:58 am
QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 14 2011, 10:39 PM)
The Zeiss 24mm is now available at a crazy price here in Malaysia - why should it cost more here?

http://www.sony.com.my/product/sel24f18z

Street price around rm3350
As usual, Sony Malaysia jacks up the price sad.gif *cue SEL30M35...* Street price of 3350 sounds reasonable (USD1000, conversion rate now 3.2). Fantastic thing, out of my budget though.

Added on December 15, 2011, 12:59 am
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 14 2011, 10:04 PM)
talking about aperture ring,
my current 35mm f2d having sticky aperture blade.. sometimes it wont close at all. have to take it for cleaning.  doh.gif
Damn, that sucks sad.gif Hope your cleaning service gets rid of all that oil. One of the inherent problems with legacy lenses... thankfully, I've yet to experience that with the legacy lenses I have bought and used before.

This post has been edited by axii: Dec 15 2011, 12:59 AM
axii
post Dec 15 2011, 01:50 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(chuchow @ Dec 15 2011, 01:27 PM)
anyone know how Sony SC fix our NEX 5N clicking issue?
hardware replacement ?
or firmware upgrade?
US users reported that the fix is just application of some lubricant on the loose offending piece.

Added on December 15, 2011, 1:55 pm
QUOTE(fansoption @ Dec 15 2011, 09:30 AM)
i waiting 50mm f1. 8 e-mount lens. when will arrive?
I guess it'll only be available here in January. Sony Malaysia doesn't even have the SEL50210 listed on their web! Strange that they would put up the Zeiss 24/1.8 first. Maybe they think it will appeal to more people...?

This post has been edited by axii: Dec 15 2011, 01:55 PM
axii
post Dec 15 2011, 01:59 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(molly88 @ Dec 15 2011, 10:48 AM)
Hi All,

Recently just bought a NEX5N cam..that day go out drop on the floor..the body casing crack..
Can any1 let me noe can it be fix and wat is the best price to fix the body casing crack?
That's so sad sad.gif Best bet is to bring it back to Sony. The Sony Service Center is now located at The Curve. They'll let you know how much it is to fix it, if there is a charge.

Added on December 15, 2011, 2:00 pm
QUOTE(hianz86 @ Dec 15 2011, 01:59 PM)
The approximate price will be almost like the SEL1855? RM8xx++
Judging by the trend of Sony Malaysia where they increased the price of the SEL30M35 macro to be MORE expensive than the kit lens compared to other countries, I think the SEL50F18 is going to be RM999 or more. Street price will be much cheaper, hopefully.

This post has been edited by axii: Dec 15 2011, 02:00 PM
axii
post Dec 16 2011, 12:32 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 16 2011, 12:12 AM)
great image.
without reading you were in bali i can recognise the first photo already  laugh.gif
I don't get how a rack of lamb connects to Bali. All I know is it makes me damn hungry!

Added on December 16, 2011, 12:33 am
QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Dec 15 2011, 11:19 PM)

some small DIY project, turns out to be quite good .
The problem with this DIY bounce is it's only usable in small, low ceiling spaces. Power of the F7S is so low already, getting it to bounce will suck up even more light. Great job anyways! Much better than stock direct flash.

This post has been edited by axii: Dec 16 2011, 12:33 AM
axii
post Dec 16 2011, 02:07 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(hianz86 @ Dec 16 2011, 09:58 AM)
any recommendation for the E-mount lens adapter for PK mount and F-mount?

got some lens in hand just dun have the adapter, do you guys buy those expensive adapter? or just the cheapo adapter?
Difference between the cheap adapters and the expensive ones:

1) Focus on Infinity - Cheap ones normally focus beyond inifinity. Will generally require some modification / shaving to fix.
2) Quality - Cheap ones could be plastic mounts.

If you can test the adapters before buying, do so.

Added on December 16, 2011, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 15 2011, 04:11 PM)

btw how much is the LA-EA2 market price ??? the best offer on street  whistling.gif ?
Boeing / Tarita offered it to me at RM1,100. MSRP is RM1,199. I bought mine from Studio Zaloon - RM980. Maybe because I bought with a 5N Body.

This post has been edited by axii: Dec 16 2011, 02:09 PM
axii
post Dec 16 2011, 04:45 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Dec 16 2011, 03:39 PM)
i've updated my firmware to v5 .... macam no difference .

Added on December 16, 2011, 3:40 pm
yeap yeap . i am going to DIY anohter diffuser . will use pingpong ball to do it .
The V5 firmware only adds support for the LA-EA2 adapter.

Careful with the pingpong ball diffuser: because most pingpong balls are not pure white, you will get a color cast on your shots. It might come out slightly warmer.
axii
post Dec 16 2011, 08:10 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(mtandyx @ Dec 16 2011, 06:11 PM)
Bought 5ND Black at Lowyat today at RM2,650. After added 2 UV filters and ori Sony battery (50% off) RM2,980. Tested got clicking sound but to me it's not an issue at all and won't bother to fix it. Cos the sound will be audible only when you shake it rather hard, nobody will take video with such shaking. Charging battery now and can't wait to play with it  biggrin.gif

Anyway do you normally leave the lens hood on or off? It's blocking MF if you leave it on facing inward though.

One more thing... I've registered online but I don't see additional 3 months warranty... any idea?
My hood is always on. I look at it this way; if anything happens, and i drop my lens, the hood is the first thing shielding the front lens element.

Give a call to Sony, and they will up it. Grain of salt though; heard this from elsewhere.
axii
post Dec 17 2011, 11:56 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(mtandyx @ Dec 17 2011, 12:27 AM)
It's a good idea about protecting the lens, not just about dropping but against accidental knocking into something. Anyway, after meddling with the 5N for the past 5 hours continuously haha, I'm more fond of the pancake rather than the zoom. Not that the zoom isn't good but it feels "head/ front heavy" as the body is too small and light. On the other hand, with the pancake on the camera feels so small and light and portable! Most likely I'll use the zoom for holidays/ traveling and I foresee that my 16mm will stay on most of the time for everyday fun shooting.

I also tried out quite extensively the so called precision digital zoom when the pancake is on and I found that it's rather useful, giving you the option to zoom with the fixed focal pancake (at least you have the option if you're too lazy to feet zoom). But the caveat is don't use it for more than 3x and the PQ will be decent enough (it also depends on the shooting condition as the pancake is without OSS).

Bottomline... a very enjoyable camera we have here  rclxm9.gif
If you have lightroom/photoshop/any gfx editor with crop, you can just crop out the equivalent area. That's what the PDzoom is doing anyways, in-camera: cropping out a smaller area. It takes a bit more work, but it'll be more flexible, if in the end, you wanted a wider shot.
axii
post Dec 18 2011, 09:52 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 18 2011, 07:26 PM)
i noticed on my Nex 3 after update have that Micro Adjust setting in Setup menu. but not working on SEL16f2.8 pancake. probably for the 1855 or lenses on LA-EA2 and those supported by the a77/a65 nod.gif
The AF Microadjust only applies to A-mount lenses using the LA-EA2 adapter. It's currently a bug on the NEX-5/3/C3 that you can select it. Normally, on NEX-5N, without the LA-EA2 adapter, the Microfocus Adjust setting is not available.

Added on December 18, 2011, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Dec 18 2011, 08:07 AM)
what you mentioned about the uneven weight distribution is indeed quite a hassle. i only have the 18-55mm lens so i dont know what is it like with the prime lens but i would think that it would be much better. thats the only complain i have when using the nex-5n. besides that, the image quality etc is comparable to dslr standards. thumbup.gif
Balance wise, when you have larger lenses / adapters, you no longer support the camera by the body, but by the lens barrels itself. Personally, I feel much comfortable holding the camera by the lens adapter (LA-EA2), than the body itself. Still much lighter than a DSLR! The pancake balances perfectly with the body, and feels very much like a compact P&S. One hand hold, point, shoot.

This post has been edited by axii: Dec 18 2011, 09:55 PM
axii
post Dec 19 2011, 05:45 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Dec 19 2011, 02:58 PM)
nope, just stick a bouncer / card like thingy to bounce the flash to the top my friend tried it on their canon and nikon and it works.
Nice job! Another thing I dislike about the bounce card... you will go blind after some use, since you are technically bouncing the flash back into your eyes! I'll post pics of my own DIY bounce / diffuser later. It's a small plastic container, lined with foil inside, and a hole cut on top.
axii
post Dec 20 2011, 11:33 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(LoBil @ Dec 20 2011, 02:33 AM)
Can anyone show the pin pong ball photo after construct?
Need to know how your guys do it...thanks smile.gif
Hey Thompson! The ping pong ball is easy.. just cut a hole that fits the flash!

Added on December 20, 2011, 11:35 am
QUOTE(bdunn @ Dec 20 2011, 10:13 AM)
Anyone has the latest news on NEX-7 from Sony Malaysia?

Studio Zaloon has started pre-orders, availability in end January. RM4,499, body only.

This post has been edited by axii: Dec 20 2011, 11:35 AM
axii
post Dec 20 2011, 02:49 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(LoBil @ Dec 20 2011, 01:43 PM)
Thanks bro, will try to construct it later.. nod.gif
you changing to NEX-7 next Jan?
Highly likely! Getting some better glass first to complement the sensor. Kit lens does not do it justice!
axii
post Dec 23 2011, 02:46 AM

75 posts

Full-frame Hybrid NEX rumor incoming:
http://www.sonyalpharumors.com/sr4-sony-ap...nex-7/#comments

A NEX that fits both A-mount and E-mount with adjustable sensor flange? Looks damn interesting if it's true. Feels damn bad if its true too! (LA-EA2)

From xitek, for those that read Chinese:
http://forum.xitek.com/showthread.php?threadid=950656
axii
post Dec 29 2011, 12:31 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Dec 28 2011, 08:17 PM)
I just took a couple of photographs using my nex-5n coupled with the 30 macro lens.
The 1st problem that I encountered is the camera does not seem to focus on what I want... sometimes, when the autofocus is adjusting, it will focus to the reflection on the sapphire crystal... which is my wall paper... wierd...
Anyway, even if it focuses of the details, it only seems to focus at one tiny area...

Some samples.
Do keep in mind that I am a noob in photography... and I do mean "noob"... still playing around with the settings to see if it can get any better. Be gentle yeah guys...

Hello hanz,

When it comes to Macro photography, it's very normal to use Manual Focus instead of AF. With AF at such close distances, it is very difficult to focus exactly on the point that you want, which you have already discovered. It'll be hit and miss. Switch to Manual, or better, DMF mode, and from there, adjust it.

Menu > Camera > AF/MF Select > DMF or MF

With DMF selected, the camera will attempt to AF first; when it has focus confirmation, you can then turn the focus ring to adjust your focus, while still holding half-shutter. Once you have decided on your focus, full depress the shutter.

On your issues with the small and thin depth of field (only center is in focus, rest blurry), this is a common factor in macrography. The closer you are to the subject, the less depth of field there is, hence creating the slice of sharpness across the center. To overcome this, you will need to use a larger Aperture setting. I presume you have shot all of this pictures with the Aperture wide open (3.5). Try going beyond F8, till F13 to get better results. The larger the aperture number, the more depth of field you will get.

To easily control the Aperture, switch to Aperture Priority Mode. With this mode, you can manually adjust the Aperture size, while the camera determines the Shutter Speed.

Menu > Mode > Aperture Priority

Do note, that with a larger Aperture, you will need more available light. If there is not enough light, the camera will compensate by increasing the ISO or slowing the Shutter Speed, hence making it harder to hand-hold and shoot your objects. I recommend a Tripod, to keep your camera still while the camera dials in a long, slow shutter speed. The flash will not help here, as being this close to your subject, the lens itself will obscure the path of light from the flash.

So in short:
More Depth of Field = Larger Aperture = Higher ISO / Slower Shutter Speed

Another thing to keep in mind: The NEX prefers to up ISO levels first before increasing anything else. If your ISO is set to Auto, more likely than not that the camera will increase it all the way to 3200, before actually decreasing shutter speed.

Hope I helped.
axii
post Dec 29 2011, 01:43 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(frantic912 @ Dec 29 2011, 09:48 AM)
using kit lens and Raynox...save bajet maa....but really tired on focusing....

crop to eye

Nice shot smile.gif The Raynox really does wonders for RM200~250. For all those who want to try some macrography and don't want to spend RM1k on a dedicated macro lens, the Raynox is a cheap and high quality alternative. Don't bother with Close-up filters, go for the Raynox I say. You pay RM50~150 for a set of + Closeup filters, doesn't really justify it, especially when you have to stack the filters and get all the nastiness out of that (CA, PF)

Added on December 29, 2011, 1:51 pm
QUOTE(sugaring @ Dec 29 2011, 12:35 PM)
hanz079 - try DMF with focus peaking. should be easier. agree with Axii, set your f number to >8

frantic912 - self preference, prefer to have the whole 'body' in focus
That would be tough to do! With the Raynox, depth of field really shrinks down. I have a Raynox, and I can attest to that. Even stopped down to F22, you barely get anymore DOF than F13. This coupled with the kit lens, he was really close to the subject. Any closer and I'm sure the dragonfly would have been frightened away. A limitation of the lens, not the user.

Of course, some bugs really love to be part-time models smile.gif

/Edit
Just remembered after hitting post: One tedious technique to get everything in focus is by using "Focus Stacking". This is achieved by taking a few shots at different focus areas, and later stacking all the images together to get one picture with the subject completely in focus. Not very viable in insect macros though, as this requires a tripod, and quite a few shots to get right. Hand-holding will be very, very difficult.

Tamron SP90

Added on December 29, 2011, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Dec 29 2011, 09:15 AM)
the lady boss is very lansi . some of the workers are ok ...
I must have caught her at good times then! Of the two times I met her, she was very friendly and helpful to me.

Added on December 29, 2011, 2:12 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 29 2011, 12:24 PM)
It's a Zeiss! ZEISSSSSSSSS
I second that. ITS A ZEISS, goddamnit, ZEISSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Comparatively, it's cheaper than other brands:

Sony Zeiss Distagon T* 24/2.0 RM38xx
Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED RM6xxx
Canon EF24mm f/1.4L II USM RM6xxx

Used the 1.4s from Nikon and Canon. Those are full frame lenses, so on crop sensor, it would be 1.8/2.0 equivalent. Correct me if I'm wrong, which I may very well be.

This post has been edited by axii: Dec 29 2011, 02:12 PM
axii
post Jan 3 2012, 12:21 AM

75 posts

Nice shot
axii
post Jan 3 2012, 03:36 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Jan 3 2012, 01:24 PM)
Hey there, any recomendation on cpl filter n price?
Marumi DHG, RM150~
axii
post Jan 4 2012, 03:44 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(LinaLHY @ Jan 3 2012, 04:50 PM)
alright thanks! oh and another question;

im aware that the NEX-3 doesn't have a receiver (for wireless triggers,remotes etc.) but is there a shutter release cord for NEX-3?
Nope, nothing of that sort, even for NEX-5 / 7.
axii
post Jan 4 2012, 04:45 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(kurudo @ Jan 4 2012, 02:31 PM)
Sharing my 2cents... there is a work around for wireless off-camera flash which I'm using successfully.

SYK-5 seagull wireless optical trigger... must be syk-5 cuz it has adjustable timer delay. No option to off Sony's TTL, therefore any other optical trigger system will trigger to early.

Works well in doors & night shots. For outdoors I mount the syk-5 directly on my sony's tiny flash with a rubber band. Add a diffuser & wire directly using a pc sync cable to my flash.

Yeah.. lot of stuff & not so ideally nice looking physically... but I'd rather have have an ugly camera than an ugly picture using on camera flash.
YN-460s will fire by optical slave via S2.

Sonia wireless trigger can be activated through optical as well. Will skip pre-flash by learning mode.

There are lots of workarounds to fire flashes optically.

This post has been edited by axii: Jan 4 2012, 04:49 PM

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0376sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:32 AM