▐▐ ★HTC Desire Official Thread V11 ★▐▐, Brillante En Silencio

geniousboy
post Oct 11 2011, 08:57 PM

605 posts

guys,
what is the most easiet, safest way to flash recovery?
i want to change to 4extrecovery.. currently using the alpharev recovery..
i tried to install the 4ext apps, but failed coz i dont have enough memory (13mb left)..

ShinnKQ
post Oct 11 2011, 09:17 PM

I used to have a member title, until I took an arrow in the knee
1,242 posts

QUOTE(geniousboy @ Oct 11 2011, 08:57 PM)
guys,
what is the most easiet, safest way to flash recovery?
i want to change to 4extrecovery.. currently using the alpharev recovery..
i tried to install the 4ext apps, but failed coz i dont have enough memory (13mb left)..
Flash zip or .img (fastboot) of course only good way. 4ext app works too.
geniousboy
post Oct 11 2011, 09:22 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Oct 11 2011, 09:17 PM)
Flash zip or .img (fastboot) of course only good way. 4ext app works too.
n how do i do that? sorry, never flash recovery before.. huhu
noobandroid
post Oct 11 2011, 09:24 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(geniousboy @ Oct 11 2011, 09:22 PM)
n how do i do that? sorry, never flash recovery before.. huhu
have u done all the basics, like install driver for pc and all the stuff like root etc etc?
i will be uploading an app to help u shortly, so please ready up if u havent

Added on October 11, 2011, 9:26 pmAndroidFlasher

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Oct 11 2011, 09:26 PM
geniousboy
post Oct 11 2011, 09:28 PM

605 posts

yes. i've already rooted, S-OFF.
i wanted to try supernova rom and they recommended 4extrecovery.
that's why i want to change the recovery..
thanks noobandroid..

noobandroid
post Oct 11 2011, 09:32 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

and now a little question for Shinn, do you use HAVS or SVS, AXI or without, noop or sio or bfq or cfq scheduler for your kernel? haha, no nid answer de la, just give u a shockwave.

Added on October 11, 2011, 9:38 pmand oh ya btw i was thinking f creating an app that can control cpu / voltage (HAVS or SVS pick) / scheduler (all in 1) but dunno how to start rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Oct 11 2011, 09:38 PM
ShinnKQ
post Oct 11 2011, 09:50 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 11 2011, 09:32 PM)
and now a little question for Shinn, do you use HAVS or SVS, AXI or without, noop or sio or bfq or cfq scheduler for your kernel? haha, no nid answer de la, just give u a shockwave.
Honestly speaking there aren't many choices anymore as ROMs keep updating, Kernels aren't.

Nowadays I don't look into it anymore but back then, yes. I'm not a programmer so.. But I have read about all those before.

Not a shockwave for me, good memories. icon_rolleyes.gif But back then ah...I really don't remember. sad.gif I know I use AXI and SVS...

BFQ??? CFQ? You meant BFS CFS? I personally feel CFS is better. I'm not a Kernel genius. blush.gif

Never look into noop / sio but mostly noops I think..? Never came across those terms or usually overlooked upon.
SVS / HAVS in all honestly never showed me very impressive results if you maintain 998Mhz, unless you underclock a lot then yes, there is a slight difference over time. *subjective comment

P.S @ Bold: You ask me question but not to answer, what talk you?

Added on October 11, 2011, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 11 2011, 09:32 PM)

Added on October 11, 2011, 9:38 pmand oh ya btw i was thinking f creating an app that can control cpu / voltage (HAVS or SVS pick) / scheduler (all in 1) but dunno how to start rclxub.gif
Ya la ya la you pro lah.
Perhaps try PM-ing a Kernel developer. There's lots @ XDA.

Are you trying to make a settable kernel? I believe it's not advisable as diff ROMs require diff kernels so, bit troublesome don't you think? Unless you can maintain it of course..

P.S: Look @ Kernel Manager App (Most kernels are outdated and *may break with newer ROMs) [Only tried with AOSPs, confirm to break a couple of newer ROMs]

I blame you now for making me read up on Kernels. I'm supposed to reading about image >_>... cry.gif

This post has been edited by ShinnKQ: Oct 11 2011, 10:48 PM
geniousboy
post Oct 11 2011, 10:00 PM

605 posts

shoot.. cant open androidflasher. it says need to update .NET framework first.. currently downloading the updated framework..

@noobandroid
what should i do next?
ShinnKQ
post Oct 11 2011, 10:29 PM

1,242 posts

android flasher..? Isn't that the...@_@

You should use Fastboot Commander. But you need Java for it to run .jar

Anywho, run the .jar, your phone should be in Fastboot mode. You should have the recovery you want to flash, ready.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1154221

You can also try what as stated by them.
-> Download to flash through HBOOT. Put it onto your sdcard, rename it to "PB99IMG.zip" and boot into bootloader
It's quicker and does not need ext software but it never works for me idk why. Might work for you. smile.gif
geniousboy
post Oct 11 2011, 10:46 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Oct 11 2011, 10:29 PM)
android flasher..? Isn't that the...@_@

You should use Fastboot Commander. But you need Java for it to run .jar

Anywho, run the .jar, your phone should be in Fastboot mode. You should have the recovery you want to flash, ready.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1154221

You can also try what as stated by them.
-> Download to flash through HBOOT. Put it onto your sdcard, rename it to "PB99IMG.zip" and boot into bootloader
It's quicker and does not need ext software but it never works for me idk why. Might work for you. smile.gif
i already tried the last method u mentioned, but didnt work. it says CID error or something like that..
well, i've downloaded the fastboot commander n i already have the recovery image named 'recovery'. should i leave the filename as it is or change it into another proper name?

-edit-
I've flashed using fastboot commander.
it says "recovery" flash SUCCESsFUL.
now what's next? i can just close the software and boot my phone into recovery?

This post has been edited by geniousboy: Oct 11 2011, 10:50 PM
noobandroid
post Oct 11 2011, 10:53 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(geniousboy @ Oct 11 2011, 10:46 PM)
i already tried the last method u mentioned, but didnt work. it says CID error or something like that..
well, i've downloaded the fastboot commander n i already have the recovery image named 'recovery'. should i leave the filename as it is or change it into another proper name?

-edit-
I've flashed using fastboot commander.
it says "recovery" flash SUCCESsFUL.
now what's next? i can just close the software and boot my phone into recovery?
ya,by now the new recovery will be in place d

Added on October 11, 2011, 10:56 pmwooo.. fastboot commander looks even more complete, flash almost everything,including kernels and stuff, kudos shinn

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Oct 11 2011, 10:56 PM
ShinnKQ
post Oct 11 2011, 10:56 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 11 2011, 10:53 PM)
ya,by now the new recovery will be in place d

Added on October 11, 2011, 10:56 pmwooo.. fastboot commander looks even more complete, flash almost everything,including kernels and stuff, kudos shinn
So what's you think best kernel? brows.gif
noobandroid
post Oct 11 2011, 11:00 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

im using ManU HAVS-AXI-CFS 2.0
AhPang92
post Oct 11 2011, 11:04 PM

346 posts

may I ask~~ Is clockwokMod counted as stock hboot?

This post has been edited by AhPang92: Oct 11 2011, 11:13 PM
ShinnKQ
post Oct 11 2011, 11:14 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 11 2011, 11:00 PM)
im using ManU HAVS-AXI-CFS 2.0
Refer to tactical facepalm above but okay.
Conversation has just ended. hup hup.
That's my favourite kernel. All time.

QUOTE(AhPang92 @ Oct 11 2011, 11:04 PM)
may I ask~~ Is clockwokMod counted as stock hboot?

Added on October 11, 2011, 11:05 pmmay I ask~~ Is clockwokMod counted as stock hboot?
No, it's a recovery sigh... rclxlh.gif

Stock HBOOT means default HBOOT allocated space from HTC.

Kapish?

This post has been edited by ShinnKQ: Oct 11 2011, 11:16 PM
noobandroid
post Oct 11 2011, 11:23 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

hmm trying some bootanimations, but cant get it to work in fastboot commander, i think is using recovery flash right?
ShinnKQ
post Oct 11 2011, 11:25 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 11 2011, 11:23 PM)
hmm trying some bootanimations, but cant get it to work in fastboot commander, i think is using recovery flash right?
shocking.gif

What you doing man.

Use File Explorer, look for bootanimation.zip and replace it.

DONE. (Make sure set R/W mode - Need SU)
nick67
post Oct 11 2011, 11:51 PM

What?
1,501 posts

Wah today desire thread on fire ka?? suddenly damn a lot of posts!!
ShinnKQ
post Oct 11 2011, 11:56 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Oct 11 2011, 11:51 PM)
Wah today desire thread on fire ka?? suddenly damn a lot of posts!!
A lot of newbie questions ma...what to do... tongue.gif
rattan
post Oct 12 2011, 03:27 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Oct 11 2011, 11:56 PM)
A lot of newbie questions ma...what to do... tongue.gif
Bro just need some input (battery life related) :

How long your battery can last you ?

Take these scenario into account ;

1) Data always on
2) Push mail (GMAIL)
3) No FB / Twitter running in the background
4) No turning on WiFi (100% dependent on telco data package)
5) No gaming

Whats yr battery life ?

Im on Leedroid HD V3.3.3 GB R5
Kernel : SNQ 2.6.35
Radio : 32.56.0032U

126 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.4154sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:08 PM