Nokia N9 V1, Experience Perfect Fluidity

Andy214
post Oct 6 2011, 04:47 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Oct 6 2011, 04:20 PM)
lol, the store where I am collecting my N9 won't have ninja according to the page lol
Transfer booking to other store, can get BH-505 also tongue.gif

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Oct 6 2011, 04:39 PM)
other than selected outlet in KL, other states no ninja one lah,lol. Got the ninja have extra free gift meh?
Got SHURIKEN tongue.gif brows.gif
Andy214
post Oct 6 2011, 05:11 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Oct 6 2011, 04:50 PM)
they only have 2 branches, and ninjas won't be visiting either of them lol
but to get the sticker or whatever, one just need to play with the N9 on display right?
not too interested in that

+ they don't promise the headphones too
unless i give up my 100 bucks and make the booking elsewhere
What store is that? Is it under Nokia banner, official store, which only sells Nokia phones; Or some other shop?
If it's official Nokia store, the BH-505 is written there as free gift for 64GB.
If non nokia official store, I believe you can ask for cheaper price as these shops don't have to follow the RRP.
Last time I bought my N81 from official Nokia Store, then go downstairs..... another shop, selling almost RM200 cheaper... everything is same... I asked why, they said "We don't have to follow RRP" doh.gif
But yours is still NEW, they may not want to give you special price, especially it's pre-order units.

As for the Shuriken thingy, what I heard in Radio is, you need to spot and find these Ninja and get your shuriken, then go to Nokia Store and play with the N9; You will stand a CHANCE to win a Nokia N9, everyday.
Andy214
post Oct 7 2011, 12:01 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Oct 6 2011, 06:50 PM)
just go to any nokia store and play around with a real phone la lol
He already tried, including the N950, during the MeeGo Meetup brows.gif
Andy214
post Oct 7 2011, 10:21 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 7 2011, 09:50 AM)
The N9 camera will not be able to compare with N8. Here's 2 comparison shots I found online.

http://shootspeak.com/2011/10/06/2-camera-...n9-vs-nokia-n8/

However this is low light condition. In good light the difference may not be so noticeable.
In lowlight, N8 should do much better due to the larger sensor.

The comparison you showed, isnot a good comparison as the EXIF shows different. With Flash OFF, the N9 is using ISO800. For phone camera/point and shoot camera, usually they don't do well at such ISO.
The N9 could use slower shutter and shoot at lower ISO. The N8 is shooting at 1/8 sec, while N9 is shooting at 1/15 sec. The higher ISO will cause impact on image quality, color, detail, etc.

For outdoor, mostly you may not notice the difference maybe even with DSLR with normal lens, normal shoot, unless you check into detail or pixel-peep.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 7 2011, 10:24 AM
Andy214
post Oct 7 2011, 10:51 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 7 2011, 10:29 AM)
i just wonder n9's in outdoor will get washout white(?) in photo or not...even n8 is good in daylight but in some condition i also kena haha  sweat.gif

eg: this... not so sharp haha  sweat.gif

Maybe need to adjust settings (e.g. contrast, EV, etc.)
Can check with Sifu Aspire. Seldom play around with N8 camera also tongue.gif

Andy214
post Oct 7 2011, 11:19 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 7 2011, 11:08 AM)
i use custom set which i always use in default one ....
but then i think that time kena the light shoot thought lens...i mean direct one...maybe it cause washout.  hmm.gif

same "default" custom setting also

oh well back to n9, waiting aspire to show off some photo comes from n9  brows.gif
Nice shot; What part was that?

Definitely. Maybe he already collected and playing with it now; He should be meeting Calvin today at MidValley. They might be "very" busy now tongue.gif
Andy214
post Oct 7 2011, 11:49 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Oct 7 2011, 11:38 AM)
erm, why the bag says "delighting you always" one?
Got 2 bag. You can see the blue box in another bag.
Maybe he also get a "deligthing you always" product at the same time. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 7 2011, 11:49 AM
Andy214
post Oct 7 2011, 12:28 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 7 2011, 12:18 PM)
@Andy
Not buying N9? biggrin.gif
Buying, but not now... very tight budget, year end, many things happen and many events (weddings (kena saman), etc)...
Argh.... NFC BH-505.... See the picture makes me sad.

Although, already have the BH-505 non-NFC...

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 7 2011, 12:29 PM
Andy214
post Oct 7 2011, 12:54 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nmt170 @ Oct 7 2011, 12:35 PM)

No 64GB?

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 7 2011, 12:37 PM)
We bulk together later this year biggrin.gif
Price could be lower...
SGS II with contract is same price if I'm not mistaken
I might want to get from Telco since I'm using the data plan.
Andy214
post Oct 8 2011, 11:33 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 8 2011, 09:45 AM)
Just tested the GPS indoor near a window. It's fast, locks in less than 20 sec for a first time  cold lock.
darn, lol, my wasn't locking at all even after 5 minutes, and I'm using data (A-GPS)...
Andy214
post Oct 8 2011, 01:04 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Jo@NJS @ Oct 8 2011, 12:27 PM)
Thx, still cant find one yet. Sigh, didnt read the post and i charged my phone overnight  sweat.gif
Nothing wrong with that, there is power cut off when it's full, and it won't recharge until the battery drop below certain level (e.g. 85%).

Modern batteries (e.g. li-ion or li-poly), you can charge it ANYTIME, just don't let your battery drain until phone shutdown. The battery will not be empty, it still keep some charge, that's why you can still turn on, if you keep doing that, eventually your battery will go earlier. These modern batteries is charge happy, they need to keep it charge at least above certain level. If you drain it always, it may damage the battery.

Try google and you'll find more information and also comparison with those seldom charge, wait until low bar only charge. You'll see which actually performs better, you'd be surprised.
Andy214
post Oct 9 2011, 02:36 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 9 2011, 02:21 PM)
qwerty keyboard

Lacking the control pad ("<" and ">" specifically, up and down will be nice as well), kind annoying when you need to correct certain letters without it, and in web, the input text is like meant for hw keyboard, it doesn't pop up the screen with the full text, so if the search text is long and overfill the input, it won't show up when you're editing.

Having same problem like andrekua... No Network Available. Seems this happen when I activate developer mode, but after soft reset and hard reset, seems still same.
When I insert the sim, it detects and ask to enter sim pass code, if enter wrongly, it can detect. After enter correctly, it's not able to obtain network.

Andy214
post Oct 9 2011, 03:24 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 9 2011, 02:48 PM)
Well, if you guys are having sim error like me, you can either try flexing your sim back and forth till you feel its straight again, and try again. Otherwise just get a new one. Thanks to Digi Center @ SoHoKL for helping me. Somemore I only got it last week and only insert once to S2 and once to N9. Anyway, why micro sim when all they did was attach it to a bigger adapter, just a bit tiny than standard sim? Digi consultant said Nokia also using micro sim? Cool... but I wasted few hours troubleshooting without any solution.
Tried flexing before, no avail, it looks straight though. Will go to DiGi center later, if they have other micro sim, then maybe can try.

Yours also able to detect the sim when you insert it?
Mine was able to detect and it ask for the SIM Pass Code, can also detect wrong pass code.
But after input the correct pass code, it just cannot get any network.

Andy214
post Oct 10 2011, 11:07 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(N900user @ Oct 10 2011, 10:44 AM)
one quick question...
does n9 support whatsapp now? if not, will it be considered in the future?
tell me more about the apps, as i hear that myriad will consider to port the android apps to meego.. how true is this?
N900user? Why you want whatsApp if you were N900 user?

If you really want what's app, then go for Android, don't bet your luck if that app is so important like it means everything.
Andy214
post Oct 10 2011, 11:38 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 10 2011, 11:34 AM)
For those looking for Whatsapp, can't Skype replace Whatsapp? Skype has chat mode too. All the platforms which have Whatsapp also have Skype.

Whatsapp is a real battery killer, btw.
The social network integration is so well done on the N9 MeeGo Harmattan already.
Once you added your FB account, all the feeds will flood one of the so called "homescreen" and it will pull all your FB contacts including their profile information (mobile, website, etc). You can initiate FB Chat from there. Same goes for others, like Skype, Google Talk, etc.

There's no need to install any app.

No Yahoo or MSN though. N900/Maemo also doesn't have it, need to install 3rd party plugins for it. Hope Nokia can work this out and provide it officially.
Andy214
post Oct 10 2011, 04:03 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Oct 10 2011, 03:45 PM)
to logout from facebook, just go to the accounts app and remove the fb account?
Wah, logout only wor, why "remove", so serious tongue.gif

Just go to Accounts --> Availability --> set "offline" for the account, if you're still connected to WiFi/3G and want to maintain other account to online. If you want to set all offline, on top got "All online" and "All offline".

Andy214
post Oct 10 2011, 04:33 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Oct 10 2011, 04:16 PM)
that actually depends, if the user wants to log in as another user, deleting and recreating an account is probably the only option?! N9 only allows one facebook account registered (yea, just tried it).

btw, I just saw it is actually possible to just temporary disable the account instead of deleting it
Log in as another user, I think it'll be better to use separate device or use the browser instead. Not nice to have two accounts conflict issue in the Chat and Contact book?
I personally wouldn't want that.
Andy214
post Oct 10 2011, 07:40 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 10 2011, 07:30 PM)
^Same case with all the rangers?
Yes, only 10 will get to keep. They made it like a competition. Long story.

It's 16gb units btw.

Seems like telco not offering 64gb, even Nokia seems unsure.
Andy214
post Oct 10 2011, 11:11 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 10 2011, 08:32 PM)
Outsiders cannot join the competition? biggrin.gif
Not that I know of tongue.gif
Outsiders can try catch the Ninjas tongue.gif

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 10 2011, 09:40 PM)
BTW it'll be good if the rangers can provide written full review
We need to provide a full review (with criteria, which let us gain points), so you'll eventually see it.
The competition is not really based on our review,... but how many people we can get to write good review... which comes with "points" (e.g. photos, videos, etc). So, you might also see many reviews by end of this month, lol tongue.gif

Andy214
post Oct 11 2011, 11:46 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 11 2011, 11:20 AM)
that explains... mine also facing weak wifi signal issue, i got only one bar where my iPhone can get 2 bars... also, andre how exactly did u solve the battery sucking issue? mine still seems pretty bad, offline mode, 45%, few pictures and a video, 3 hours later it dropped to power saving mode(i set it to 20%) after light browsing...

also i find the touch detection a bit too sensitive? often when i was scrolling gently, it detects as touch. facebook app also hangs and buggy to me most the time. Message facebook chat also sometimes unable to send out messages and there are no way of telling why...  >.<
Battery life usually improves overtime from new, depending how you use and charge.

Yup, sensitive, but same like iPhone, also sensitive; maybe this more sensitive due to the screen.
FB App is kinda buggy and laggy, it usually lags when you switch as it's loading.

FB Chat so far OK, but "dislike" the pop up VKB which disrupt the view, ESPECIALLY in portrait mode, which can hardly read the previous message. Already used to hardware keyboard...

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0605sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:44 PM