27 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

joshhd
post Aug 6 2019, 11:40 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Aug 6 2019, 07:21 PM)

Restacking to be happen soon for some or all multiplexes on 22 sites. Tender notices had been released. Hope that there will be some simulcast or notification for a small period during restacking or there will be another fiasco for MYTV, like when RTM moved to other MUX.

Hmm.. This is some technical stuff that I'm not so sure with...
What does it means by tender is needed to restack multiplexes? Assign which frequency to use?

Why they need tender out to someone to assist them to carry out frequency restacking activities? I thought MYTV already know how to do those stuff, since they are infrastructure provider?
joshhd
post Aug 7 2019, 01:42 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(fairx @ Aug 7 2019, 12:17 AM)
I think my situation is difficult. My last effort is booster + diy high gain antenna. If still can't get signal I'll have to suck up to njoi.

Also if sat box can get tv1 and tv3 SD also good enough for my mother. I don't watch TV.

Using booster to receive digital TV is not recommended, and very likely you'll get "No Signal" (not able to watch at all).
For digital TV, receive "too much" signals can make it become "No Signal" due to signal overload on the TV tuner. Don't worry, it won't cause damage, but you can't watch it though.

Consider these options:
1) Change and lay new cabling that connects from antenna to your TV, especially if the cable is very old already (e.g. more than 10+ years).
If your old cable type is 3C2V (as shown on picture), then you seriously should get it changed. It's very old already.
Make sure use RG6 coaxial cable, which is the same cable type used for Astro.

make sure the cable is connected directly from antenna's output port straight to your TV's antenna input, without any cable splitter or signal booster connected in between.

2) If lay new cable still can't receive, can take photo of your outdoor antenna? See how it looks like.
It depends, you might consider buy new UHF antenna.

Btw how's your DIY high gain antenna look like?

Anyhow, any inquires on receiving digital TV signals, you may call myFreeview customer service at 1800-18-1088. It is a toll free number.
joshhd
post Aug 8 2019, 10:09 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Aug 8 2019, 01:28 PM)
those who ask for help from MYTV, becareful, KNOCK, KNOCK. MCMC raid party is here. laugh.gif

CODE
Sila hantar nombor siri dekoder serta gambar antenna kegunaan Encik ke pihak Facebook kami di mesej peribadi untuk bantuan selanjutnya.

Aiyoo.. Just get a third party installer to help..... as well as use MYTV STB if you prefer to do so.
Don't have to contact MYTV unless your technical difficulties is only can be solved by MYTV themselves, especially activating MYTV Hybrid STB (supports S2+T2, satellite and terrestrial combo) for that particular STB for that particular customer.
joshhd
post Aug 8 2019, 10:11 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Aug 8 2019, 09:29 PM)
Does anyone here know if the official MYTV dvbt2 basic box have auto tunning built in ?

Every DVB-T2 boxes (even cheap ones) do come with auto tuning/auto search. And MYTV official one are not an exception.
Why? You encounter any DVB-T2 box that doesn't have auto tune/auto search feature?
joshhd
post Aug 9 2019, 08:04 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Aug 8 2019, 11:23 PM)
No, what I mean is the auto channel list update function because I want to simplify it, instead of every time MYTV updates channel list/ frequency the dvb t2 box would auto update it

Channel auto update, as what I know is only official MYTV box does the job.

Simplify? Usually is Installation>Auto Search, it's not that hard also mah... Plus, MYTV don't update their channel list often... So it shouldn't be a big issue.
joshhd
post Aug 9 2019, 12:14 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Aug 9 2019, 09:30 AM)
Well for me it’s easy but for my aunt, it’s not. Plus I live 2hrs away from her house and only go back during festive season

Oh, if that's the case, MYTV customer service would just advise you to buy and use the MYTV box. Install then forget it, so no need to bother those installation settings stuff.
joshhd
post Aug 9 2019, 10:05 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Aug 9 2019, 02:21 PM)
The channel list would auto update by itself during operation/ instantly under standby mode or in standby mode and need to wait ?

Same like Astro, put it to standby mode, then it'll do it in the background automatically.
joshhd
post Aug 11 2019, 02:37 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 10 2019, 09:40 PM)
got cheaper than RM40? share link la  thumbup.gif

Is there such digital TV bos that is cheaper than RM40?
If you found one, share the link here.
I don't think you can get it at that low price.
If you are eligible for Bantuan Sara Hidup (BSH), you may be eligible for free digital TV box from MYTV.
Ask around your family relatives or friends. If they got one and they don't use it, ask them to give it to you.
joshhd
post Aug 14 2019, 02:50 PM

7,799 posts

Apparently, TV3 channel on analogue is now showing TV squeeze-back on analogue shut down message.
Kuala Lumpur area. (according to the user posted this photo)
*Picture not taken by me. Photo taken from Facebook user.

Anyone else here has access to analogue TV now in Central and Southern region (incl. Klang Valley, Negeri Sembilan, Melacca and Johor)?
If you can, do share some screenshots on all analogue channels biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Aug 14 2019, 02:54 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Aug 14 2019, 02:49 PM)
Video shrinking has been started on Analogue TV3 (511.25 MHz) on Gunung Pulai transmitter. Other channels does not currently shrink at this moment.

Thanks for the clearer image. Can I use your photo to post in somewhere else too?
Apparently they decided to show "TV squeeze-back" 5 days before ASO. sweat.gif
The TV squeeze-back is shown there at all times, or the picture would revert back to original after some time?
I wonder why only TV3 is being squeeze-back...
joshhd
post Aug 14 2019, 04:20 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Aug 14 2019, 03:02 PM)
Yes, you may do so.

Did not understand the non standard practice. Maybe because TV3 is the most watched channel in the country. Interestingly, they only shrink during regular programming and not during advertising.

I got the info that for Klang Valley area:
TV3's ASO squeeze-back is only shown on channel from Bukit Sungai Besi transmitter (VHF 224.25MHz)
Gunung Ulu Kali's TV3 analogue (535MHz) does not show any squeeze back and it is still in full image as usual.

Anyone here in Central and Southern region tried watching analogue TV today?

For my area (somewhere in Selangor), I can receive clear to decent reception on all UHF analogue channels from Gunung Ulu Kali transmitter, including TV3 analogue (535.25MHz).

Does that mean analogue channels is still available for me to watch until around 17 September 2019 as Gunung Ulu Kali shuts down on Eastern regions (Pahang, Kelantan and Terrenganu)?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Aug 14 2019, 05:00 PM
joshhd
post Aug 17 2019, 10:24 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Aug 17 2019, 09:57 PM)
while watching 8tv just now I just realised they going to cancel the analog and move to fully digital... I have absolutely no idea the easiest way to convert without need to spend a few hundred ringgit just to watch that few local channel. I usually just left the tv running (watching news, etc) not serious chasing any movies. So don't ask me go subscribe astro...

I check my Sony TV, which is bought around 2012-2013... cant find any label with "DTTV Malaysia".  It is a so called "internet-tv" by that time. I checked it has digital autotune... running through it , result in 0 channel.

Do I just need to buy the UHF aerial antenna, or must I buy the decoder as well? If I need to buy the few hundred decorder, i might as well buy a android tv box?

Yes, all analogue channels will cease transmission in Klang Valley, and entire Negeri Sembilan, Melacca and Johor on this coming 19 Aug 2019.
Full analogue shutdown will be done 17 Sept 2019 for entire Peninsular Malaysia, and 30 Sept 2019 for Sabah and Sarawak.

Analogue TV viewers have to switch to digital TV to continue watching free-to-air channels.
No worries, there are ways to not subscribe Astro...

IDTV, stands for "integrated digital television"

As long your TV supports DVB-T2, then you can watch digital TV without using any digital TV set-top-box.

Make sure the antenna is only UHF type. If you're using VHF antenna, you got to shop for new UHF antenna then.

1) What's your location? State and city? Any mountain or hills nearby that could be blocking the TV signal?
2) Using indoor or outdoor antenna?
3) Did you use any signal booster?

If you are certain that your TV do support digital TV DVB-T2 standard, but still unable to receive digital TV channels and you're using outdoor rooftop antenna, try these troubleshooting steps:

- Please disconnect and remove any signal boosters (masthead amplifier).
Signal boosters is not needed to receive digital TV, unlike receiving analogue TV channels. Connect directly from outdoor antenna to TV will do.
If you insist to use signal booster (even if you power it off), you're likely to not able to receive any signal, and only "No Signal".

- Check the cable connecting from antenna to TV.
Make sure the cable type used from antenna to your TV is RG-6 coaxial cable (also the same cable type used for Astro). If you notice that the cable is 3C-2V type, that type of cable is unreliable to receive digital TV and it's very likely that the cable is few decades old already. It's time to replace it with new one, and make sure it is RG-6.

joshhd
post Aug 17 2019, 10:30 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Aug 17 2019, 10:12 PM)
8tv is on UHF frequency, since you are able to watch it means you already have UHF antenna install on your rooftop. if you still cannot tune to digital TV means either you tv is not equip with the right decoder version or don't have one inside your tv.

you need to purchase one new dvb-t2 decoder if you intend to watch tv in the future.

Not necessary confirm is UHF antenna.
Technically, you can still try to receive 8TV UHF frequency channel on a VHF antenna, but of course definitely the reception will be poor and lots of static.
VHF antenna wasn't meant to receive UHF TV frequencies, and vice versa.

If use VHF antenna to receive digital TV, the reception are not guaranteed, just if anyone here curious about it.
Meh, just get a new UHF antenna if you don't have one.
joshhd
post Aug 17 2019, 10:34 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Aug 17 2019, 10:24 PM)
Im watching 8tv now the analog way...  I am not sure if my condo has the UHF antenna installed on the condo rooftop. but i wasnt able to get any channel from the digital autotune... I am thinking if getting the UHF antenna will fix the problem.. as if dvb-t2 decoder is needed, I may just go for android tv box instead.

Oh, since you're connected to centralised TV antenna (MATV), then you got to contact your building management to see if the centralise antenna can support digital TV or not.

But then, is your TV supports DVB-T2 standard? Check your user manual, or you can Google search your TV model number, or you share with us your TV model number to help u check.
joshhd
post Aug 17 2019, 10:36 PM

7,799 posts

Still watching analogue TV? Don't wait. Switch to digital TV now.

joshhd
post Aug 17 2019, 11:11 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Aug 17 2019, 10:49 PM)
My TV model is SONY KDL-46EX65A (May 2012), I checked online and do not find anything related to IDTV or DDTV.  sad.gif

I just checked with my building management, and got confirmation they are upgrading from analogue to digital tv reception in few days time.. Now just the matter if I need to get a separate decorder to watch them.

Your TV supports the older DVB-T standard.
Malaysia uses the newer DVB-T2 digital TV broadcast standard, which is also the same standard being used in many other countries around the world.

Like it or not, it is confirmed that you need to get a digital TV STB (set-top-box) to continue watching free-to-air channels using TV antenna.

Alternatively, you can watch Media Prima channels (TV3, NTV7, 8TV and TV9) online on Tonton. And, it is in HD.
https://www.tonton.com.my/liveChannel?titleId=tv3

as well as RTM channels (TV1 and TV2) on My Klik. Also in HD.
https://myklik.rtm.gov.my/live.php?ch=1
joshhd
post Aug 18 2019, 09:22 AM

7,799 posts

Anyone here has the answers on the analogue switch off for Central and Southern Region on 19 Aug for the questions below:

1) What is the exact time is the analogue switch off? Is it all analogue channels will cease simultaneously, or in a particular order?

2) Which are the analogue TV transmitters are confirmed to be shut down? Does it include these particular 3 transmitters, which are:
Gunung Ulu Kali, Bukit Sungai Besi and KL tower

3) Why only the VHF version of TV3 (224.25MHz) has TV squeeze back of showing analogue switch off message, while the UHF version (535.25MHz) doesn't have any message on analogue switch off?

Does that mean Bukit Sungai Besi will be switch off first, while Gunung Ulu Kali would be switch off at a later date?

*All questions above applies to analogue TV reception within Puchong area.
joshhd
post Aug 18 2019, 11:00 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(hurtedheart @ Aug 18 2019, 10:24 PM)
Hi, means astro subscribers can just ignore the free decoder given? Regardless of what type of astro subscription package? I just realised the 19 Aug notice and immediately rushed to connect my TV to the decoder. I noticed I have 2 cables that can fit into the "ANT IN" port and removing either of this cable from my existing device (do not know what is the correct term) to put into the free decoder will result in no image or blur image. So I didn't use the free decoder but afraid tomorrow I can't watch the TV ...

It affects to those who is still watching analogue TV broadcasts. Once analogue switches off, you can no longer watch TV1 until TV9 channels using your TV antenna, unless you switch to digital TV broadcast, either by your IDTV or connect a DVB-T2 digital TV box to your TV set.

Pay TV viewers like Astro, Njoi, Unifi TV, are not affected, and able to view the channels as per usual.
joshhd
post Aug 18 2019, 11:03 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 18 2019, 10:52 PM)
but the TV channels are not in HD under Astro/Unifi platform vs MyFreeView tongue.gif

must consider that too

On the bright side, they wanna make digital TV something special that pay TV users can't enjoy, which is not in HD quality...

This could somehow encourage people to watch terrestrial channels via digital TV. And same goes to the RTM HD Sports and Saluran Berita RTM, which is available only on digital TV and RTM online streaming.
joshhd
post Aug 19 2019, 12:43 AM

7,799 posts

Now I'm confused... According to TV2 Facebook page, the initial analogue switch off date of 19 Aug 12.30am will be postponed to 20 Aug 12.30am for Central and Southern Region. Here's the photo posted on the Facebook page:

Source: https://www.facebook.com/275449345833846/po...27285/?sfnsn=mo
https://www.facebook.com/275449345833846/po...28167/?sfnsn=mo

So, should I believe TV2 or MYTV myFreeview now? Lol.

27 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.2466sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:37 AM