Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?
truelife
Mar 26 2017, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(liquidsny @ Mar 25 2017, 04:09 PM) It depends on how far your location from the nearest transmitter and how high your place is. I have tested this similar indoor antenna on a high floor (20th floor) at a place located some 15km away from the transmitter, both signal quality and strength are above 70%. But I cannot receive any channels using the same antenna in a landed house located in the same area. For landed properties further away from the nearest transmitter, it is still better to install outdoor antenna. This post has been edited by truelife: Mar 26 2017, 02:22 PM
truelife
Apr 19 2017, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(luotang @ Apr 19 2017, 11:20 AM) KL Taman desa I used to received very good signal previously Digital TV reception is very sensitive. Any movement of human, furniture, wires and object will affect the signal. Lately my TV (built-in digital tuner) and DVB-T2 set top box lose the signal after I unplugged the indoor antenna and plugged it back. No matter how I adjusted the antenna, I could not get back the strong signal (>80% signal strength and >70% signal quality) my TV used to have.
truelife
Apr 22 2017, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 22 2017, 07:07 PM) Which channel is that?  I don't have much expectation for additional channels in mytv. It could be useless like TVi. I should be pleased if all the 9 existing SD channels could be broadcasted in HD, but I doubt so.
truelife
Apr 23 2017, 05:51 AM
QUOTE(munchoong @ Apr 23 2017, 02:25 AM) so i just got myself a new TV (LG OLED65E6) with built in DVB-T2 receiver as I live in a condo, do I just connect the RF coaxial cable directly to the wall, or do I still require an external antenna like this --> https://www.lelong.com.my/digital-18dbi-boo...7-01-Sale-I.htmalso, does anyone know if Segambut even receives these digital transmissions? If your condo is newer and it has a centralised antenna, just connect coaxial cable to the antenna slot provided on the wall. Segambut area is close to the nearest transmitter, it should be able to receive digital TV channels. If not, then buy an indoor antenna.
truelife
Apr 23 2017, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(munchoong @ Apr 23 2017, 09:28 AM) thanks 😊 the condo I am living in is almost 15 years old, so I'll just buy the indoor antenna. also, my older TV has a DVB-T (not DVB-T2), is it still compatible? Malaysia digital TV adopts DVB-T2, no longer DVB-T. You need a DVB-T2 set top box for your old TV. Also, your condo is old, I doubt the old centralised antenna could support digital TV reception. You can try coaxial cable first. If not, then buy a cheap indoor antenna from hypermarket or hardware store to try it out as your area is near transmitter. This post has been edited by truelife: Apr 23 2017, 11:37 AM
truelife
Apr 25 2017, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(munchoong @ Apr 25 2017, 07:34 PM) You don't actually need to spend so much for a TV antenna if you stay in high-rise building and close to transmitter. My area is within 15km from the nearest transmitter. I just use a coaxial aerial cable to connect to the wall (centralised antenna provided by condo) and manage to receive 60%-80% signal strength and quality. I also bought a cheap indoor rabbit antenna from Aeon Big (below RM10). It can receive 70%-90% signal.
truelife
Apr 25 2017, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(munchoong @ Apr 25 2017, 10:28 PM) thanks! will test the quality by plugging in to the wall first  Another tip. I tried just now, using Astro coaxial cable connecting from wall (condo centralised Astro antenna port) to TV. Wow...I could get signal strength 90% and signal quality 60% and manage to get all 9 channels without pixelation.
truelife
Apr 28 2017, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(izz70 @ Apr 28 2017, 08:08 PM) I am not sure about you guys but I think they are testing HD channels for both RTM & MPB. My box now sometimes is displaying HD for some the channels. I will get some screenshots later. No. Definitely not HD.
truelife
Apr 28 2017, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 28 2017, 01:36 PM) Anyone here able to receive Malaysian digital TV channels from Singapore, whether it's indoor or outdoor antenna? In Singapore digital TV forum, a lot of forumers did mention they receive Malaysian digital TV channels using indoor antenna.
truelife
Apr 29 2017, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(GBH @ Apr 29 2017, 10:54 AM) live at permaisuri... got 2 tower 1 at kl 1 at sungai besi.sg.besi 1 nearear....wonder wat happen to the tower ni The 2 transmitters at 666 MHz and 698 MHz work fine. Only 682 MHz has no signal now. Attached thumbnail(s)
truelife
Apr 29 2017, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 29 2017, 02:23 PM) If I'm not mistaken for Klang Valley towers: 666MHz Gunung Ulu Kali (at Genting Highlands) 682MHz Bukit Sg. Besi 698MHz KL Tower All the 3 transmitters use same frequencies. MUX1 @ 666mhz, MUX2 @ 698mhz and MUX3 @ 682mhz. http://www.mynewshub.cc/utama-sensasi/mytv...r-masih-rahsia/
truelife
May 3 2017, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(arimii @ May 3 2017, 05:08 PM) Hi is there any recommendations for good indoor antenna? If you are not staying in a high-rise building or your location is not very near the transmitter, it is better to install outdoor antenna. No matter how expensive an indoor antenna is, it still cannot beat an outdoor antenna.
truelife
May 5 2017, 04:30 PM
Well, Malaysian DTT trial run started since 2011 and it is still in the testing phase. The launch has been delayed so many times. Really speechless on this.
Just take a look at MYTV Broadcasting and myFreeview facebook page, we can hear a lot of unhappy voices.
truelife
May 7 2017, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(pAndaKillerZ @ May 7 2017, 06:12 PM) Tried manual search 666Mhz 8M, still can't find. Gonna wait for a while  666mhz is working fine. 682mhz and 698mhz are still down.
truelife
May 7 2017, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 7 2017, 08:13 PM) Crony profit from the projects The initial box is paid by gomen right? I think around 100k box to BR1M recipient  Majority of BR1M recipients who are qualified for the free mytv set top box have not received the decoder yet. So many people complain in facebook. This post has been edited by truelife: May 7 2017, 11:25 PM
truelife
May 15 2017, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(lonewalker @ May 15 2017, 07:30 AM) Annoyingly: There IS NO  over the air EIT/EPG data present from ALL media prima (TV3, ntv7, 8TV) channels. A user in this thread, has shown screenshots of DVBT in action on an approved device (dTV with a built in tuner) with a working EPG for those channels. If the info isn't in the OTA broadcast it must be retrieved through other means, ie. Internet. this: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Point is: I'm asking because its easier to make a EPG work with an official feed/api rather than writing a program to scrap the TV station's websites for epg data. It must be from internet, where the smart TV connecting to wifi. I can confirm both my TV (with built-in digital tuner) and DVB-T2 set top box do not show EPG for Media Prima channels at this moment.
truelife
May 29 2017, 10:47 PM
TV dramas from Media Prima channels these few days look terrible - poor resolution and no more 16:9. They have rectified slowly today, but some dramas still look terrible and unwatchable.
This post has been edited by truelife: May 29 2017, 11:05 PM
truelife
Jun 1 2017, 11:53 AM
Really cannot stand the super blurry images from NTV7 and 8TV these few days. The resolution is really bad and worse than 360p. It looks like Media Prima is having some technical problems, as announced in their facebook. Attached thumbnail(s)
truelife
Jun 3 2017, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(izz70 @ Jun 3 2017, 12:34 AM) At least we know they are making some progress Don't expect too much. The so called HD channel has no different from SD. Currently NTV7, 8TV and TV9 resolution quality is worse than normal SD. Radio channels used to be included on and off a few years back.
truelife
Jun 4 2017, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 4 2017, 01:03 AM) I had done a full range scan and no channel can be found. There are so many bolehland free air channels available, it is not possible to miss at all. My house has no issue. I can receive both. Only m parent house has this issue. Therefore, I am suspecting is it due to the antenna. Perhaps you have to look into the signal quality of your digital TV receiver. I have experience many times where a situation with nearly 100% signal strength but <60% signal quality could not receive any channels. Signal quality is subject to obstruction from other electrical devices, wires, furniture, movement of human, position of cables, etc. So keep doing trial and error experiement until getting signal quality of 65% and above. This post has been edited by truelife: Jun 4 2017, 10:48 AM