27 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

joshhd
post Jan 4 2018, 06:32 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 4 2018, 11:35 AM)
Well one famous reason why they broadcast more 4:3 instead of 16:9 is because many households still uses CRT TV 😊  that's why even HD channel is less (another reason is HD consumed more bandwidth).. And also the famous lowest cost possible...
For today, I don't really think that there are still many households still using CRT TVs. I believe most Malaysians already have a flat screen TV and it is in 16:9.
joshhd
post Jan 4 2018, 07:04 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 4 2018, 06:37 PM)
u know what..

I did say the same thing previously

what happen later.. got "attack" left right from some fellow saying I live in rich bubble.. didn't see the overall situation especially in those kampong house / rural area etc.  go out to real world and see yourself..  mad.gif
Chill bro... I'm just saying out my opinion only... My opinion could be wrong and/or inaccurate sometimes...
It is not my intention say you're wrong or whatsoever...
Hope you understand... I don't mean to offend anyone here... sad.gif
joshhd
post Jan 6 2018, 05:10 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 6 2018, 01:17 PM)
-.- Well, for one....mytv reduced broadcast transmission power after switching to DVB-T2....so......good luck?
What? Where did you get that info? Why they do that?
joshhd
post Jan 6 2018, 09:28 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 6 2018, 07:39 PM)
-.-?
DVB-T2 standard allows reduction in the peak to average power used in the transmitter station around 25 - 30 % compared to DVB-T.
He was saying his TV DVB-T was able to receive the trial signal before DVB-T2 is selected.
Ohh... Didn't know that. My bad.....
Thanks for sharing. biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Jan 6 2018, 09:40 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Jan 6 2018, 01:12 PM)
Hey guys, i bought a dvb-t2 decoder with JP-5e antenna.
House in Bandar Bukit Tinggi Klang, so need to use Bukit Sungai Besi Tower.

My existing (analog) need antenna booster only can view 8TV & etc. So my area here reception very very bad.

So for this digital decoder, i run another new RG6 cable, didn't use the existing analog cable which installed booster.

I have set my decoder to channel 45, frequency 666 but still cannot get the signal.
However, the signal "Strength" and "Quality" can get 80% or more when i move around the antenna, but 1-2 second only, then both become 0 again, means no signal.

I have also double check the connector but still like that, not sure is antenna, decoder or my area poor signal problems.

Fyi, before government switched to DVB-T2, my LG tv last time can received DVB-T signal, DTV & Radio.

Appreciate sifu here can share some ideas. TQ
From what I see, it looks that you got intermittent and unstable signal. Cuz at least you can still get marginal signal:
However, the signal "Strength" and "Quality" can get 80% or more when i move around the antenna, but 1-2 second only, then both become 0 again, means no signal.

Where did you place your 5e outdoor antenna that you receive digital TV signal? Ground level or rooftop? If it's ground level, have you tried placing on the rooftop or anywhere highest that you can reach in your house?

Have you tried connecting to your existing antenna that you use to receive analogue TV to your digital TV box? Yes, existing cable and booster with it.
Basically, just unplug the "ANT IN" cable from the back of your TV, then connect to your digital TV box. Then, perform Auto Scan.
If no signal, power off your booster, and try again.

Btw, could you share with us on what DVB-T2 digital TV box are you using now?
joshhd
post Jan 6 2018, 10:51 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 6 2018, 10:40 PM)
I get extreme great quality in DVB-T2 in my Panasonic EX600 TV than my previous TV Box. Previously it keep breaking and no signal especially in Singapore channel  but now different story. I believe it is due to the quality of the DVB-T2.

My antenna still same outside 2nd floor window only and didn't make any movement to the antenna. I still get similar signal strenght but now is 10/10 of signal quality. Never ever happen no signal or image breaking like last time when using TV Box.

I think you should invest a better box or change your current tv as Plasma is not good to environment.
deleted

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 6 2018, 11:00 PM
joshhd
post Jan 7 2018, 06:20 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Jan 7 2018, 06:05 PM)
If buy a new TV sure won’t have so much headache.
Alot of things built in already
Well, that's true...
Perhaps, new year, new TV? biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Feb 22 2018, 09:26 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Feb 20 2018, 05:50 PM)
One question, in Lazada you'd be able to find those Freesat V7 Max DVB S2 boxes for under $150.

Can i connect this to the RG6 cable (currently unused but working xtro dish) to get the MYTV channels without installing the UHF antennas?
DTT = Digital Terrestrial Television

Using an Astro dish to receive DTT cannels? Of course not possible.
Satellite dish are meant to receive satellite signal, not terrestrial signals. Don't get confuse....

DVB-S2, the "S" means Satellite. Freesat V7 Max is a universal satellite receiver, for receiving satellite TV channels, not for DTT.

You should look for set-top-boxes that supports DVB-T2 standards. The "T" means Terrestrial. The "2" means second generation (in terms of its technology advancement). Malaysia's DTT uses DVB-T2, so your receiver must be able to support DVB-T2 standard.

Yes, you can use RG6 cable type for DTT reception, but you still need an UHF antenna to enjoy terrestrial digital TV channels.
joshhd
post Feb 22 2018, 09:28 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Pujun @ Feb 22 2018, 07:05 PM)
I assume that all digital tv transmitters in Malayaisa are transmitting on UHF band with horizontal polarization, am I correct?

[attachmentid=9610921]
Yes. Like many other countries around the world, Malaysia uses only horizontal polarisation for DTT.
joshhd
post Feb 23 2018, 05:09 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Feb 23 2018, 12:01 PM)
Thanks for this clarity rclxms.gif

Separately think there's boxes that able to manage DVB T2/S2, has anyone actually managed to watch both free satelite and terrestrial TV?
"Combo" type of set-top-boxes (STB) where both S2/T2 are supported can be purchased (usually online) in Malaysia, although such receivers are considered illegal by Malaysian law (somewhat related to politics, also to protect Astro and MYTV). There are people out there using such receiver, and able to toggle between satellite (watch foreign TV channels from other satellite/countries) and terrestrial (if you feel like watching TV1-TV9 channels), so that no need 2 separate boxes (one for satellite TV, another for DTT).

But then, why bother explore much of those, where you can enjoy more content from Internet? Unless you're interested in the technology itself....

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 23 2018, 05:11 PM
joshhd
post Feb 24 2018, 10:57 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Fred_Shortwave @ Feb 24 2018, 08:29 PM)
All these are received in Segamat, north Johore.. Featured are Mediacorp Ch5, Ch8, Vasantham & Suria from Bukit Batok while TV1 and TV3 from Gn. Ledang. Kinda hate the siaran MYTV watermark though.. Hopefully MYTV will remove it since it's very annoying. Btw There is a problem with my MYTV box that it tends to say 'No Signal' whenever i tune to Okto or ChU. But other Singapore channels are fine and crystal clear.
You use outdoor antenna to receive it, right? Did you put your antenna high, high up (just like houses in Muar areas)? And, do you use any signal boosters?
joshhd
post Feb 24 2018, 11:51 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 24 2018, 11:03 PM)
[attachmentid=9616095]

long ass EPG is long.
They'll be like:
"If description too short, later viewer complain. I better copy paste some sentences to make it look longer. " biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Feb 25 2018, 02:04 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Feb 25 2018, 02:05 AM)
Channel U (HD) on Ch35 is blocked by Analogue NTV7 from Gunung Ledang though. Not sure about Channel 33 (maybe the signal is too weak to receive in your location.)
Signal from Gunung Ledang famously interfere some channels/services from Singapore since the plan on Malaysian side is they assume viewers (especially North Johor) cannot receive any services from Singapore on a standard rooftop aerial placed on 10m height. Nevertheless, viewers mount high aerial poles and fringe area antenna for slightly improved choice. However on Johor Bahru, MYTV planned the transmitter approximately to the antenna direction to Bukit Batok Singapore/Gunung Pulai for whole of Johor Bahru to boost digital TV coverage.
So that could mean, once analogue TV is shutdown in Malaysia, Johoreans shall be able to can receive Ch U (HD) then?

There's 3 transmitters in Johor Bahru... The one that is nearest (repeater, I suppose) to Singapore is called "Pelangi" It is only approx 4km away from Singapore's Woodlands Customs Checkpoint.

Perhaps, it is just meant to make Johor Bahru viewers to be able to receive Malaysian digital TV signals easily. But in my opinion, at the same time, this seems to be quite obvious that MYTV (or our government) are trying their very best to make sure our Malaysian digital TV coverage can go all the way to Singapore, so that Malaysians residing in Singapore or Singaporeans able to receive Malaysian TV channels easily. From what I see, entire Singapore island seems to be able to receive it, but I'm not sure if it is receivable from ground level, but since Singapore has a lot of HDB blocks (flats/apartment), most likely they can receive adequate/strong signal if they're staying at high level floors.
joshhd
post Mar 5 2018, 10:56 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 17 2017, 11:01 AM)
Seriously, still not many Malaysians know about digital TV, and still stuck on analogue TV especially the ones that don't have Astro/Njoi/Hypp TV.

All I see from the way MYTV Broadcasting market myFreeview branding and the way they convey the message isn't very straightforward and clear cut enough. In the news, they mention analogue TV will shut down in June 2018. But seriously, many people don't even know what exactly is "analogue TV". Most of us see before the "use antenna to receive TV1 to TV9 channels and can see a lot of white ants on TV screen, otherwise subscribe to Astro or Njoi then you won't see the white ants anymore and very clear", but they don't know that this is actually call analogue TV. *facepalm*

It is less than 12 months before analogue switch off, and I wonder what will really happens on June 2018 where many Malaysians especially the not so educated ones and properly inform ones, suddenly can't watch any channels? I guess the first thing they'll suspect is the antenna is broken. *another facepalm*

I see those MYTV "testimonials" from those very kampung (rural) areas, especially those Malay uncle aunties (no offense or stereotypes involved), when they see the picture quality so clear with digital TV (cuz they don't subscribe to Astro or Njoi), it is like a heaven to them and very surprised, as if like digital TV is a very groundbreaking technology like that. And then, they hold the MYTV packaging box, gives a thumbs up, and then make picture, then I'm like..... Mmhmmm....

Sometimes, I really kesian them lah. We're already in 2017 and I can't believe that I can still see that. Damn.

If worst case scenario where many Malaysians still rely on analogue TV still haven't or not ready to migrate to digital TV, the analogue TV switch off MIGHT get delay, and i won't be surprised if that happens. If that happens, MYTV Broadcasting will be the first to be blamed for not publicise this info even more than now. This also happens in some other countries too, especially if their digital TV rollout is not yet full nationwide. But then, you can say that it has lesser chance that the delay will happen in Malaysia because the coverage now is nearly 90% coverage already, and will reach 98% before analogue switch off.

Or, they can close eye and proceed to switch analogue TV off, let those many existing analogue TV viewers figure out what to do next.
As what I expected since last year..... Eventually Malaysia's ASO date really got delayed, although I do hope ASO to happen sooner than 30 June 2018. Now, they (MCMC) do not announce any confirmed ASO date (They don't seem to confident on announcing the next ASO date anymore? hmm.gif) But from what I see, the next ASO date shall not beyond 2019, bcuz it is announced that the spectrum assignment for 700MHz LTE (Band 28) will be effective on 1 Jan 2019 (Source: https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...um-for-tender/)

Since there are few Malaysia analogue channels do broadcast over 700MHz frequency range in some states/tower, so I would guess, the next ASO date to be announced by MCMC would be/shall not beyond 31 Dec 2018, which is the same as Singapore. Currently the spectrum assignment for Analogue/Digital TV of Malaysia is 470-798MHz (UHF band). After ASO, it will become 470-698MHz, while 698-806MHz will be allocated for 700MHz LTE (Band 28).

This post has been edited by joshhd: Mar 5 2018, 10:59 PM
joshhd
post Mar 15 2018, 11:47 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Mar 15 2018, 04:25 PM)
Personal recordings recorded OTA across few days using Digital set top box and then calculated using bitrate calculator on laptop.
The picture quality Singapore HDTV is definitely better than Malaysian HDTV. I don't have Astro/NJOI in my house so I make no comment for Astro PQ quality. Note that the trial for TV3 HD uses only 4xxxkbps average bitrate, which although look sharp but mediocre. (looks like Youtube HD video)

Unless bandwidth based charging for MYTV is in force then Media Prima may use higher bitrate and the picture quality gets better? As I know their own Tonton HD stream in 1800kbps breaks up very frequently.

For HE-AAC V2 issue, I assume all are using HE-AAC V2 because of 32kbps.

However, there are cases when the bitrate for Singapore DTT is insufficient, worst case is like the picture shown below. (The particular programme. which has a lot of intense scenes, just breakup almost all the time.) In normal settings (like drama) it just look fine.
Singapore DTT channel quality got that terrible meh? I thought their average bitrate is quite high?
Is this footage are screenshot from Singapore DTT? Not from Toggle, right?
joshhd
post Mar 20 2018, 12:48 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Mar 16 2018, 11:35 PM)
https://apb-news.com/4k-uhd-broadcasting-ga...mentum-in-asia/

Below is the last para extract of the full article above. MP GM of Engineering talking abt existing struggles with HD:

While 4K/UHD broadcasting has gained momentum in countries like South Korea, Japan and Vietnam, other countries such as Malaysia, which is still predominately engaged in analogue broadcast, 4K/UHD is still too early for terrestrial broadcasters, said Dr Ahmad Zaki Mohd Salleh, group general manager, engineering, Media Prima.

“Although broadcasters in Malay­sia will be asked to migrate to digital TV in July this year, many fundamentals issues have yet to be discussed and agreed upon,” he explained.

“Media Prima will continue its investments into HD facilities because 4K/UHD is still beyond our horizon for now. Keep in mind that going 4K/UHD is not merely about cameras, it involves back-end ope­rations — such as networks, servers, editing systems — that are all required to be upgraded.”
Media Prima is experiencing financial difficulties now.... Where got time to think about 4K/UHD content?
If you say a pay TV service like Astro wants to have 4K/UHD broadcast, then it is possible, only if they really want to.
joshhd
post Apr 11 2018, 10:15 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Wobblyblob @ Apr 11 2018, 02:50 AM)
Any news about:-

Green Packet's (P1) three new Chinese channels?

RTM and Media Prima's 10 new channels?

The other 19 unconfirmed channels from long ago?

And whether Long TV can be received on both official and unofficial MYTV decoders (Digital Terrestrial Decoders)?
No updates about that. Until analogue TV is shut down in Malaysia, very likely that we won't be seeing any of these newly created channels on digital TV platform, or get any updates about it.
joshhd
post Apr 15 2018, 09:48 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Pujun @ Apr 15 2018, 08:51 AM)
on the 19th floor of a residential building here in Hanoi
i can receive over 200 channels with an indoor antenna

some of them are repeated signal from surrounding cities.

total channels available in Hanoi should be around 164.

more than half are encryted channels that required special decorder with pay subscription

therefore, total number of channels available free to air are actually around 70 including few sound only channels (radio)

UHF Ch29(538 MHz)(64-QAM):
Info: 13 channels(SD)

151 VTC1
152 VTC2
153 VTC3
154 VTC4
155 VTC5
156 VTC6
163 VTC13
UHF Ch31(554 MHz)(256-QAM):
Info: 10 channels(9 HD + 1 SD)

201 VTC1HD
203 VTC3HD
207 VTC7HD
209 VTC9HD
213 VTC13HD
214 VTC14HD
220 HAIPHONG HD
221 THAIBINH HD
222 THANHHOA HD
223 DN1

UHF Ch34(578 MHz)(64-QAM):
Info: 14 channels(1 HD + 12 SD + 1 radio)

164 VTC14
165 VTC16
166 SCJ SHOPPING
167 VOV3 SLIDE HD
168 QPVN
169 VGS
170 HN1
171 SCTV10
172 HN2
173 DN9-AZSHOP
174 VOV
175 VNEWS
176 QH
250 VOV-1 radio

UHF Ch49(698 MHz)(256-QAM):
Info: 18 channels(1 HD + 16 SD + 1 Radio)

800 RTB - HA NOI 1 HD
801 Hanoi TV2
802 RTB - HAI PHONG TV
803 RTB - SCTV5
804 RTB - VTC7
805 RTB - VNK - Mus Sam
806 RTB - HTV2
807 RTB - YOU TV
808 RTB - GIAI TRI TV
809 RTB - LOTTE
810 RTB - HA NAM TV
811 RTB - THAI NGUYEN TV
812 RTB - QUANG NINH 1 TV
813 RTB - QUANG NINH TV3
814 RTB - THAI BINH TV
815 RTB - PHU THO
816 RTB - HiTV
800 RTB - JOY FM radio

UHF Ch51(714 MHz)(64-QAM):
Info: 11 channels(5 HD + 6 SD)
(Note: LCN start from 800, if LCN occupied by RTB MUX, then following LCN just add up)

800 VTV1 HD DB (5.1)
801 VTV2 HD
802 VTV3 HD DB (5.1)
803 VTV4
804 VTV5
805 VTV6 HD DB (5.1)
806 VTV7
807 VTV8
808 VTV9 HD
809 Vinh Phuc
810 Hung Yen

MUXs beyond 722MHz are mostly encryted channels although they carry few free to air channels.

[attachmentid=9733770]

[attachmentid=9733771]

[attachmentid=9733772]

[attachmentid=9733773]

[attachmentid=9733774]

[attachmentid=9733775]
Ohh thanks for sharing these info about DTV in Vietnam... Was pretty surprised that they have so many HD channels for free....
Just wondering, their channels that has 5.1 audio track, is it in Dolby Digital AC3, or Dolby Digital Plus E-AC3, or HE-AAC?

Btw, since Vietnam uses 700MHz and above, then 700MHz LTE is not possible in Vietnam then hmm.gif unless if they retune to other frequencies that is under 700MHz...
joshhd
post Apr 16 2018, 10:30 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Apr 16 2018, 10:25 AM)
Hello, anybody can give their thought? Thanks..
If your TV's user manual did not mention anything about "digital TV", or "DVB-T2", that means your TV does not support digital TV feature.
You will need a DVB-T2 digital TV set-top-box to watch digital TV channels, which you can easily purchase it online.
joshhd
post Apr 16 2018, 10:33 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Pujun @ Apr 15 2018, 11:55 PM)
not sure about the DB format, but probably 5.1 AC3
in addition to those I listed, here are the rest
UHF Ch56(754 MHz)(64-QAM):
Info: 27 channels(5 free to air + 22 encryted)

UHF Ch57(762 MHz)(64-QAM):
Info: 22 channels(1 free to air + 21 encryted)

UHF Ch58(770 MHz)(64-QAM):
Info: 23 channels(Encryted)

UHF Ch59(778 MHz)(64-QAM):
Info: 28 channels(1 free to air + 27 encryted)

All these MUXs are run by MobiFone, a mobile phone operator.

I'm surprise to see Malaysia's DTV lags behind Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia when I visit KL last year.
No need to feel surprised. Because of monopoly and politics, many Malaysians would pay money on Astro to watch better quality content, or watch shows online (either legally or illegally), which makes Malaysian FTA TV channels dying, making the target audiences are towards the elderly, not for youths. Many people says Malaysian FTA TV channels are sucks for a reason.

27 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.2355sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:52 AM