5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V5, It is coming to Malaysia 22 June !!

TSbenny888
post Jun 17 2011, 09:15 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mikahakkinen @ Jun 17 2011, 08:51 AM)
Here..i attached it together...darn..makes me nuts
That is the alarm showing recurring event.Just disable it.
TSbenny888
post Jun 17 2011, 09:33 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Well, AngeloM has just released a new rom THUNDERBOLT 1.0, an update of XWKF1 1.2

note the ROM performs a total wipe, then back up the apps with Titanium

Flashabile recovery with CWM

Features:

This version is taken from the last EU Roma XWKF1 for Galaxy SII

Thunderbolt 1.0 changelog:

- All features of the old XWKF1 1.2
- Move in / data / app so many applications that can easily be uninstalled
- Theme Based on GB Remix 1.1 Mod
- Changed lockscreen
- Changed background home
- Added Backup Titanium
- Added Italian APN
- Removed Winamp and Laucherpro
- Access Files flashabili apart to mod Sharing and User Agent
- Removed sound battery

http://www.batista70phone.net/xwke7-1-1-de...-me-t15459.html

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 17 2011, 09:34 AM
TSbenny888
post Jun 17 2011, 09:45 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mikahakkinen @ Jun 17 2011, 09:35 AM)
Seriously, i just flashed yesterday. But do u know what's changed in the lockscreen? Dont really like SGS2..sometimes hard to unlock
Now downloading
You can change the unlocking to pattern if you don't like the default swiping up. Do it at settings/location security/setup screenlock
TSbenny888
post Jun 17 2011, 11:10 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Update on angeloM thunderbot 1.0
Most obvious is the substantial change in icons design. Some are nice, some not sothe whole UI is more colorful, again is either you like it or you don't
Whole UI is much more slicker even better than 1.2
Will change background n lockscreen wallpaper to me is awful
Remember this update will wipe clean phone. But all data on internal SD card remain
TSbenny888
post Jun 17 2011, 10:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(StopSpamming @ Jun 17 2011, 10:26 PM)
A naughty bird just flew in and told me this...

We need to pay...

1st month : RM2,099 + [Value plan] + [3GB data] - [rebate RM58]
2nd month onwards :  [Value plan] + [3GB data] - [rebate RM54]

So total rebate is RM58 + [RM54*23] = RM1300, hence making the phone : RM2,099-RM1,300 = RM799

Now, if your Value plan is RM30, 3GB data is  RM88 (-RM10), then...

1st month, you pay RM2,099 + RM30 + RM78 - RM58 = RM2,149
Subsequently, you pay RM 30 + RM78 - RM54 = RM54

So, Maxis collects your money upfront and earn interest...hehehe!!!  brows.gif
Make sense, anyone??  sweat.gif  rolleyes.gif  whistling.gif
Yes . I agree this buy plan sounds more realistic knowing Maxis . In principle similar to HTC flyer. You pay full first and over 2 years slowly rebate back to you. Anyway if you consume that lot of data is still worth it. Paying outright rm799 for phone is incredibly unbelievable from Maxis
TSbenny888
post Jun 17 2011, 10:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Jun 17 2011, 10:48 PM)
If im alredi on value plan, i just want to pay RM799, can?
definitely no ; maxis not stupid. they want new accounts
TSbenny888
post Jun 17 2011, 11:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 17 2011, 11:23 PM)
found a great guide at xda forum..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1125282

newbie friendly~!

Thanks for the headsup. COMPULSORY reading for all new users especially if they have intention to root and flash kernels and roms. Have posted it at page 1 FAQ section
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 12:50 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jcst83 @ Jun 18 2011, 12:44 AM)
yes not suitable for handphone due to...it din't have sim card for u ....XD...
It is very suitable for handphone - why not suitable ??? You use YES as a wireless point ; you don't need simcard for YES services
Especially in areas of coverage, download speeds is extremely fast. Just use your phone , search for wireless - connect to it. It is about at least 4-5X faster than normal wireless and 6-8X faster than 3G. Minimum is RM 30/month - if you need lots of data can subscribe to their various plans
I was in KL few days using it - excellent ; use it and you do not wish to use your 3G or connect to any of those free WiFI hotspots anymore
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 10:35 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jun 18 2011, 01:26 AM)
benny : Worth the upgrade from AngeloRom 1.2 to 1.0 Thunderbolt beside the minor changes ?
Not worth as it will need a clean wipe of phone. I have taken it off - as I don't like his new icon changes and some of his theme changes . Performance wise slightly slicker

Added on June 18, 2011, 10:36 am
QUOTE(shymx @ Jun 18 2011, 02:02 AM)
How do i activated swype ?
Settings/Language Keyboard : Select (Tick) the box and change any of its default settings if you wish

Added on June 18, 2011, 10:38 am
QUOTE(h11g @ Jun 18 2011, 02:06 AM)
Uncle benny, yes 4g depend on coverage right?
YES definately. In areas of good coverage it is about 4-5X faster than normal wifi hotspot. Check whether your area is covered at their website : http://yes.com.my

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 18 2011, 10:38 AM
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 01:22 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(frey88 @ Jun 18 2011, 01:17 PM)
May i know the RM799 on the launch day does it have any term and conditions or cash and carry?
Please do a search or go to page 14/15 start from there'
. I don't think is necessary to talk about this anymore and carry it over another few pages. Whatever you need to know and the plans etc are already covered
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 06:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 18 2011, 06:37 PM)
Bro, i don't know u are really don't know how to use Google or what???  sweat.gif  doh.gif

AMS Mobility
Some people just need the spoon to be directed straight to the mouth-lah !!! I have seen many of such type of people
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 06:43 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasonbourne222 @ Jun 18 2011, 05:08 PM)
http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s2...problem-s2.html

Guys please advise on this,any of this is true??  Anybody experiencing the same issue? Please giv ur honest review and opinion..yes smartphones are hot,its normal...but to the extend where u cant put it to ur ear and make calls, then it wont be applicable for ME..dnt get me wrong..i love the phone..planning to sell my sensation for one. Just need ur opinion on this..

If its true that you cant even use the phone to make calls due to heating issues,  then i dnt see the sgs2 as a phone anymore..
Is this a joke ??? Where you hear such crap ? You are using a Sensation and you should know what level of hot or warm . I have even posted in Sensation thread the common temperatures on modern smartphones esp above 1 Ghz. You think Samsung or HTC is so dumb to make a phone that people cannot even use to call and will burn your ears ?? Simply put, be ready to accept operating temperatures 35 to 50 degree Centigrade

Added on June 18, 2011, 6:45 pm
QUOTE(xenon_aniki @ Jun 18 2011, 06:43 PM)
any issue on the GPS? thanks!
If you have read page 1 and reviews it is EXCELLENT >>>>EXCELLENT
GPS lockup 2-5 secs generally

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 18 2011, 06:45 PM
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 06:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ryanzc @ Jun 18 2011, 04:30 PM)
i heard from ppl that digi line are not as stable as maxis.digi connection is oso not as strong as maxis. is that true?
blink.gif
May I know how long have you being using a mobile phone to ask such questions ? First timer ? This is all dependent on area coverage.

Simple logic will tell you if Digi is so bad, the company would have closed down by now. Digi has now the fastest growing base of customers
How about now I tell you Maxis is worse than Digi cos I only use Digi and Celcom. I have given up Maxis 5 years already . And I have been using mobile phones since the 1980 when is available - so am I convincing enough to you that Maxis is worse
Please don't listen to such crap

Added on June 18, 2011, 6:57 pm
QUOTE(Teng N @ Jun 18 2011, 03:39 PM)
@Eiraku: thanks for recommending but I think too expensive. I read garage sales quoted RM150 for 4800 mah power bank yoobao. Getting this one bundled with a solid case still cheaper than org battery pack
Dont buy battery packs from Garage sales - those guys are JAWS big white sharks. Get from lelong.com eg I pay only RM 109 for it while garage sales 3 months ago was quoting RM 250 to RM 290. Now these sellers are wiser have drop prices but still more expensive. You can get the 6600 mAH YB613 for RM 135 at lelong now

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 18 2011, 06:57 PM
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 08:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Jun 18 2011, 07:50 PM)
haiya check with 1 utama laa..  here's the number for u... 0377288299

taken from
http://www.1utama.com.my/Directory.aspx?by=name&by2=S

if me all the way from kelantan can check u should be better tongue.gif pity me writing to u in a black out sad.gif
Just call 100 ask telephone operator will do too
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 08:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

[quote=sparrowed,Jun 18 2011, 08:36 PM]For those owning Galaxy S II here, can let us know what's the model number under Settings>About Phone there?

More info of two variant of Galaxy S II here.

http://ausdroid.net/2011/03/18/samsung-gal...red-by-tegra-2/

[/quote]
All of us who bought from UK n garage sales are eynos/superamoledplus i9100. So far no user at least here has reportedtegra i9103 model

Added on June 18, 2011, 8:56 pm[quote=ryanzc,Jun 18 2011, 08:13 PM]
[quote=benny888,Jun 18 2011, 06:50 PM]
May I know how long have you being using a mobile phone to ask such questions ? First timer ? This is all dependent on area coverage.

Simple logic will tell you if Digi is so bad, the company would have closed down by now. Digi has now the fastest growing base of customers
How about now I tell you Maxis is worse than Digi cos I only use Digi and Celcom. I have given up Maxis 5 years already . And I have been using mobile phones since the 1980 when is available - so am I convincing enough to you that Maxis is worse
Please don't listen to such crap
1st of all, sorry that i'm not as rich as you are, and im here to ask for opinions and to clear my doubts. Dont hope to make any ridiculous/regret move.
if you're unhappy with my post ,you can just ignore it ,let those who willing to tell and humble-kind to answer the question. yes, so what if i'm a 1st timer for mobile phone/smart phone?
thanks alot for your advice uncle benny. smile.gif

[/quote]
What are you saying now
What has rich or poor has to do with your question of phone signal reception
I m just correcting your perception of illogical understnding.

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 18 2011, 08:56 PM
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 09:14 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

We will all know on 22jun just few days away the exactspecs
However i met a forumer lastweek who is among few others are tester for samsung msia and given is a exynos, superamoled
Pointless also to talk about the exact buy plans , going on and on several pages

TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 09:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Frankie99 @ Jun 18 2011, 09:25 PM)
I was thinking is it possible to buy the phone with RM2099 without any plan on 22nd june? Do u still have to pay anything like tax or something equivalent or just can pay that amount and get the phone from maxis without getting any stupid data plan from them? thanks:-)
Read back 1 to 2 pages back the discussion esp post#384
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 10:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(chitchat @ Jun 18 2011, 10:29 PM)
Guys can i use GALAXY S2 with prepaid instead of post paid ? I am currently on prepaid and my calling is low maybe less than RM50 per month so signing a contract will be expensive base on my usage.

Since there is WIFI i can surf without the data plan also but will it cause any other problem if is not postpaid and no dataplan ? like downloading firmware ? android market place ? etc ?

This will be my first smartphone, my current phone is dying i hope i can continue using prepaid with this phone. Please advice thanks.  notworthy.gif  icon_question.gif
Of course no problem using prepaid. Only is more expensive data charge.
TSbenny888
post Jun 18 2011, 11:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jun 18 2011, 11:34 PM)
i am curious
wanna ask that most of all user here are using what plan for sgs2
so far know uncle benny is celcom n digi
maxis i worry over charge
not sure umobile 68 unlimited internet and digi smart plan 68 got what difference lol
I use Celcom postpaid unlimited data plan on my SGS II while the Digi is prepaid on my Tab
At my place the Maxis service/coverage is not good - even Digi on Edge download is faster than Maxis 3G
I gave up Maxis finally because on the highway from Johor up to Ipoh, I face constant disconnection on 3G ; same problem after changing simcard. Digi was excellent and best of all is so much cheaper than Maxis
Maxis overcharge stories are quite common - just need to be careful and monitor your data usage using apps - my favorite 3G Watchdog and Data Counter Widget : it is quite accurate as I always compare it with my monthly Celcom bills
TSbenny888
post Jun 19 2011, 10:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

REMINDER please DO NOT
discuss piracy , warez, crack apps
Ask where to find such apps
Post links to sites offering such apps

All these are against forum rules. As TS I need to enforce these
Please support developer buy the apps else there will be no more development