71 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Renovation Extreme Work In Progress, Sharing my house renovation journey.

TSphoenix69
post Dec 10 2011, 04:51 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Dec 10 2011, 01:37 AM)
wow bro, ur kitchen very grand man
Thank you for your compliment. biggrin.gif
My kitchen is mainly made up with concrete and tiles but will have no cabinet. sad.gif
Kena wait for a while as now, wayyyy over budget. cry.gif
Maybe 1 year later (maybe by then lazy to get cabinet) tongue.gif

Added on December 13, 2011, 9:26 am

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Dec 13 2011, 09:26 AM
TSphoenix69
post Dec 13 2011, 09:27 AM

1,836 posts

Renovation Updates

My Cat 5e cable. "Brand recommended by 2 IT professionals" brows.gif

Finally bought my Downlights after a lot of research (ask ask ask), choosing (ask ask ask) and thought (ask ask ask). blush.gif

My 4" round PLC vertical downlight with JKR (loss 6w) + Sirim certified Ballast and Sandblast +Stripes combi reflectors.
All Made In Malaysia thumbup.gif
Toshiba Daylight Energy Savings Bulb 18Watt (not shown). -- 60 sets liao rclxm9.gif
user posted imageuser posted image
coconutzz
post Dec 13 2011, 09:52 AM

1,109 posts

Bro..sorry very noob question. Your UTP cable (Cat5e), the contractors will know what to do is it? as in they will know how to pull it and conceal?

Concealing into concrete?

Cos mine is gonna be Unifi cable..i wonder if they know what to do..
weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 09:59 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 13 2011, 09:27 AM)
Renovation Updates

My Cat 5e cable. "Brand recommended by 2 IT professionals"  brows.gif
Ok lah this cable. I use this for my house, and still got about 1/2 box left. Tested all the network port, and terminated it. So far so good. Will wait for patch panel and do some cable management later when I have time.

Added on December 13, 2011, 10:00 am
QUOTE(coconutzz @ Dec 13 2011, 09:52 AM)
Bro..sorry very noob question. Your UTP cable (Cat5e), the contractors will know what to do is it? as in they will know how to pull it and conceal?

Concealing into concrete?

Cos mine is gonna be Unifi cable..i wonder if they know what to do..
Unifi is Fiber, your contractor won't be able to pull the cable. If you search this forum is been discuss before the recommendation.

This post has been edited by weikee: Dec 13 2011, 10:00 AM
adrianjc
post Dec 13 2011, 10:02 AM

898 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 13 2011, 09:27 AM)
Renovation Updates

My Cat 5e cable. "Brand recommended by 2 IT professionals"  brows.gif
Why didn't go for Cat 6 cables bro? I've laid Maxwell Cat 6 cables for my place. wink.gif
TSphoenix69
post Dec 13 2011, 10:53 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 13 2011, 10:02 AM)
Why didn't go for Cat 6 cables bro? I've laid Maxwell Cat 6 cables for my place. wink.gif
CAT 6 cable damm pricey .

After discussion with my 2 IT professional friends, hmm.gif

My Personal Conclusion (and self justification) sweat.gif
Good to have but you I will not be able to utilize the full capacity currently.
In future maybe... a BIG "MAYBE", yes, "BUT" by then maybe CAT 7 or above will supercede this. tongue.gif
So CAT 5e is more than sufficient. icon_rolleyes.gif
weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 11:03 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 13 2011, 10:02 AM)
For me it does not served the purpose of using Cat6, justify the price of the terminations equipments. For proper installation of Cat6, it can only bend to some degree, and good quality high bendable cable is not cheap (spline-less). After installation it need a full Flux testing before it can go up to 200Mhz with no/minimal CRC. For 1Gbps speed 100Mhz , a Cat 5e can also be achieved without problem.

But well, is personal preference.

Added on December 13, 2011, 11:08 am
QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 13 2011, 10:53 AM)
CAT 6 cable damm pricey .

After discussion with my 2 IT professional friends,  hmm.gif

My Personal Conclusion (and self justification) sweat.gif
Good to have but you I will not be able to utilize the full capacity currently.
In future maybe... a BIG "MAYBE",  yes, "BUT" by then maybe CAT 7 or above will supercede this. tongue.gif
So CAT 5e is more than sufficient.  icon_rolleyes.gif
For future proof, get Fiber lah biggrin.gif

I have some empty conduit that can run Single mode Fiber all the way up to the roof. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by weikee: Dec 13 2011, 11:08 AM
adrianjc
post Dec 13 2011, 11:21 AM

898 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 13 2011, 11:03 AM)
For me it does not served the purpose of using Cat6, justify the price of the terminations equipments. For proper installation of Cat6, it can only bend to some degree, and good quality high bendable cable is not cheap (spline-less). After installation it need a full Flux testing before it can go up to 200Mhz with no/minimal CRC. For 1Gbps speed 100Mhz , a Cat 5e can also be achieved without problem.

But well, is personal preference.
Yup, heard that from my friend too. Am getting my friend who's a network engineer to troubleshoot and do the flux testing for me.
Am planning more for network usage with network TV for future once the price has dropped somewhat to capitalize on OTT and console VOD streaming capabilities in future.

These items usually puts a heavy load on the network and rather get higher rated cables to support this. Otherwise potong stim only when everything has been set up then the video streaming stalls.

weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 11:34 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 13 2011, 11:21 AM)
Yup, heard that from my friend too. Am getting my friend who's a network engineer to troubleshoot and do the flux testing for me.
Am planning more for network usage with network TV for future once the price has dropped somewhat to capitalize on OTT and console VOD streaming capabilities in future.

These items usually puts a heavy load on the network and rather get higher rated cables to support this. Otherwise potong stim only when everything has been set up then the video streaming stalls.
I wonder what streaming can you get with 10Gbps? I can't hardly find anything capable of 1 Gbps.

Bottleneck is not always the cables Be it Cat5e, or Cat6. If the speed have reach 1Gbps, the bottleneck is on equipment throughput like H.disk read write, switching capability on your switch(es), router and noise. That is where the equipments like Cisco, 3Com, HP come in place.

Getting Cat6 is like having a high speed tires, but the engine, car design, road and traffic is many other factors.
coconutzz
post Dec 13 2011, 11:39 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 13 2011, 11:34 AM)
I wonder what streaming can you get with 10Gbps? I can't hardly find anything capable of 1 Gbps.

Bottleneck is not always the cables Be it Cat5e, or Cat6. If the speed have reach 1Gbps, the bottleneck is on equipment throughput like H.disk read write, switching capability on your switch(es), router and noise.  That is where the equipments like Cisco, 3Com, HP come in place.

Getting Cat6 is like having a high speed tires, but the engine, car design, road and traffic is many other factors.
Agree bro..and most of the bottle neck comes from ISPs ... , that what ever it is, be it Copper (eg Streamyx) or Fibre-to-the Home (e.g Unifi, Maxis HOME)

These are all "Shared Bandwidth"....hence if usage is High within you area, especially if there are a lot of P2Ps going on...habis la..your performance will be affected...at the mo, Unifi's subscription rate is still low..hence the performance is good.

This post has been edited by coconutzz: Dec 13 2011, 11:40 AM
adrianjc
post Dec 13 2011, 04:16 PM

898 posts

Bottleneck is not always the cables Be it Cat5e, or Cat6. If the speed have reach 1Gbps, the bottleneck is on equipment throughput like H.disk read write, switching capability on your switch(es), router and noise.  That is where the equipments like Cisco, 3Com, HP come in place.

Agreed. Logic is since it's going in together with my wiring my as well go for Cat 6.
Malaysian ISP speeds are far from desirable... but much better than dial-up days.

I remember the days of wanting to use MIRC past bedtime during school days and having to muffle the sound of the modem connecting. Hahahahaha... how times have changed.
weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 04:33 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 13 2011, 04:16 PM)
Agreed. Logic is since it's going in together with my wiring my as well go for Cat 6.
Malaysian ISP speeds are far from desirable... but much better than dial-up days.

I remember the days of wanting to use MIRC past bedtime during school days and having to muffle the sound of the modem connecting. Hahahahaha... how times have changed.
Last time when i use jaring dial-up, the local call number is per call, not per-min. And I can go online from 10pm till 5am smile.gif

Than came this Stupid TM making call charged per min. There go my BBS.
ozak
post Dec 13 2011, 05:53 PM

17,018 posts

Streaming HD movie file? Specially bluray file. If you stream from your server somewhere to your media in the hall, I guess Cat6 is require.
adrianjc
post Dec 13 2011, 06:09 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 13 2011, 05:53 PM)
Streaming HD movie file? Specially bluray file. If you stream from your server somewhere to your media in the hall, I guess Cat6 is require.
Definitely blu-ray quality streaming mar... thats why we all want Unifi, no?
My incoming for Unifi sits under my staircase but my desktop/server sits upstairs in the study. Am planning to stream through LAN.
ozak
post Dec 13 2011, 06:16 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 13 2011, 06:09 PM)
Definitely blu-ray quality streaming mar... thats why we all want Unifi, no?
My incoming for Unifi sits under my staircase but my desktop/server sits upstairs in the study. Am planning to stream through LAN.
Unifi also not fast enough to stream bluray.

I mean stream from your PC or NAS in your room to your big TV in the hall. That probaly require CAT6 cable.
weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 06:40 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 13 2011, 06:16 PM)

I mean stream from your PC or NAS in your room to your big TV in the hall. That probaly require CAT6 cable.
You sure about this? I don't think you can find any high transmission and throughput device that can take about 5 gigabyte of data per mins, and that is running on 1gbps which cat5e are capable of. To utilized cat6 is on 10gbps. You won't get any affordable 10gbps equipment for residential use. And most nas for residential is only 1gbps speed. Better invest on high throughput switc you see much better result. Network and IT is my bread and butter. Anything faster most industry use fiber between equipment and SAN some do use iscsi via LAN but that all on commercial use. Nas is just for low throughput usage.

Added on December 13, 2011, 6:43 pm
QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 13 2011, 06:16 PM)

Talk about fast, in Tokyo office we have 100mbps line. I can download a 4 gig DVD in just less than 8 mins, but the equipment hang for another few mins because the h.disk write speed just can't take it.

This post has been edited by weikee: Dec 13 2011, 06:43 PM
coconutzz
post Dec 13 2011, 06:54 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 13 2011, 06:40 PM)
You sure about this? I don't think you can find any high transmission and throughput device that can take about 5 gigabyte of data per mins, and that is running on 1gbps which cat5e are capable of. To utilized cat6 is on 10gbps. You won't get any affordable 10gbps equipment for residential use. And most nas for residential is only 1gbps speed. Better invest on high throughput switc you see much better result. Network and IT is my bread and butter. Anything faster most industry use fiber between equipment and SAN some do use iscsi via LAN but that all on commercial use. Nas is just for low throughput usage.

Added on December 13, 2011, 6:43 pm

Talk about fast, in Tokyo office we have 100mbps line. I can download a 4 gig DVD in just less than 8 mins, but the equipment hang for another  few mins because the h.disk write speed just can't take it.
Bro..no need tokyo wei..at my office...I m getting about 80-100Mbps average...did try a 2Gb file...i think done in 3-4 mins if I remembered correctly...legitimate demo file tongue.gif
weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 07:31 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Dec 13 2011, 06:54 PM)
Bro..no need tokyo wei..at my office...I m getting about 80-100Mbps average...did try a 2Gb file...i think done in 3-4 mins if I remembered correctly...legitimate demo file  tongue.gif
Not to showoff la. But to explain high speed is just speed but bottomneck is on equipment to. I rather have dedicated 2mbps line than so call fiber speed.

We don't know what is streamyx or unify share ratio and the never publish.

Hmm I think we oot too far.
ozak
post Dec 13 2011, 11:00 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 13 2011, 06:40 PM)
I have some bluray file in my NAS. But my player can't play it. So I can't confirm it. But my stream equipment is just cat5 and N. Thaught cat6 should be ok.

Anyway I did try some movie file similiar to bluray which is 25-45gb also. Stream ok, but my player running at max with some jerk. Old player. sad.gif
weikee
post Dec 13 2011, 11:05 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 13 2011, 11:00 PM)
I have some bluray file in my NAS. But my player can't play it. So I can't confirm it. But my stream equipment is just cat5 and N. Thaught cat6 should be ok.

Anyway I did try some movie file similiar to bluray which is 25-45gb also. Stream ok, but my player running at max with some jerk. Old player. sad.gif
That is not network problem, is processing.

71 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:52 PM