9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Renovation Extreme Work In Progress, Sharing my house renovation journey.

weikee
post Aug 9 2011, 12:01 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:39 AM)
My proposal, change to monopitch roof inclined at 5 Degree should be ok...

Minimize re-design and rectification works....
monopitch roof is more expensive right?
weikee
post Aug 9 2011, 01:33 PM

12,019 posts

Mine is flat concrete roof. So far look good. The bottom of the RC slab (parking porch ceiling) i did not put plaster ceiling, my contractor do plastering for me.

His worker take 3 days do it. Ceiling plastering is really hard work.
weikee
post Aug 11 2011, 10:58 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 11 2011, 10:36 AM)
Thanks but I already engaged a window supplier as I have already moved past this stage in my renovations.nod.gif
I am looking for a good grill supplier now, any contacts?
You want mine? price is standard lah not the cheapest. But standard.
Autogate also i just found. My wife colleague use this Autogate installer for few of this house, and her other colleague too.

This post has been edited by weikee: Aug 11 2011, 11:00 AM
weikee
post Aug 11 2011, 07:20 PM

12,019 posts

When you want to install? Cause i have not use him, If you can wait, maybe in 1 month time. Or I can give you now, you call him to compare price.
weikee
post Aug 11 2011, 10:24 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 11 2011, 07:24 PM)
I can wait. You are ahead of me in renovation progress. You go ahead. blush.gif
I am still rethinking about the gate any many other fittings. Budgetary woes. sigh... cry.gif
Hehe, my renovation is slow, i think is more like hotel for the indo. Yours maybe faster. biggrin.gif

Anyway he quote me 1.4k local arm + standby battery, with 1 year warranty. Wiring excluded.

In case your electric contractor don't know, ask him lay 11 cores cable before the parking slab. Better still Armored. (Mine is 11 core armored). 3 for power, 4 for auto switch, 1 (some use 2) for light so you only have 2 to 3 core spare. Each end of the gate pillar, lay 4 core armored cable, terminate to where you terminate the the 11 core.

weikee
post Aug 11 2011, 11:28 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Aug 11 2011, 11:24 PM)
Bro, my new house comes with 7 core cable, was told its suffice if i wanna wired to the lamp post, meaning light will ON when the gate is activated. Is this true??
Depend your autogate use how many cores, some autogate use only 6 core, so you have one more for switching on/off inside the house. If use all 7 cores sure you don't have anymore wire for lamp post loh.

weikee
post Aug 12 2011, 10:39 PM

12,019 posts

After hacking so many of the floor slab, i don't see the original developer did that in my house. Think they only raised the rebar above the soil.
weikee
post Aug 27 2011, 02:30 PM

12,019 posts

For glass, it need special opening.
weikee
post Aug 27 2011, 03:05 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 27 2011, 03:02 PM)
"opening ? you mean bracket ? or what can just lay the glass on the roofing beams what since the glass is the last item on roof decking
Yes bracket, you cannot put glass just like putting roof, All glass will expand and contract, and need special bracket and silicon to hold.
weikee
post Sep 29 2011, 11:47 AM

12,019 posts

All ballast i use are made in Malaysia, from North, think is Kedah. Don't get from China unless is good brand like GE / Osram (usually cost more than Malaysia made). The China unbrand usually make noise after few hundred hours of usage.

Top Ten lighting price are cheap, but i find most of the downlight quality are shoby quality. You ask them change to better ballast when you get light with ballast.

T5 have 5', but only have one selection of light 820. This mean only yellow for 5'. Other length you can get 830, and 865 daylight, and also white light.

You may want to try Wong Lighting at Pasar road, they bring in few model i can't find in some other light shop i went. And the downlight quality is much better, thicker metal casing and much solid build. Of course price are much more expensive. Range about RM 4+per downlight.

I brought all my downlight, T5 from Wong lighting. Got myself 36 downlight, and 16 x 4' T5, 4 x 2' T5, and 2 x 1' T5. All bulb are Osram, and T5 casing are Osram except for 1' casing.
weikee
post Sep 30 2011, 11:01 PM

12,019 posts

You did not check out the brand "eluminuz"? Think is their own brand and quality much better than most downlight.
weikee
post Sep 30 2011, 11:34 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Sep 30 2011, 11:07 PM)
The Sales Lady did not intro to me lah.  doh.gif
Maybe she thought my face not "Ong" enough.  tongue.gif
Check it out, try the PJ branch too. They have one in Seapark / Paramount.
weikee
post Oct 12 2011, 10:44 AM

12,019 posts

Piping and Wiring -> Plaster -> Wall tiles -> Plaster ceiling -> Floor water proofing -> Floor tiles
weikee
post Oct 13 2011, 01:57 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 13 2011, 10:41 AM)
It is against the MPSJ's regulation to brick them up.
Anyway, it will block off ventilation as well
Is it, for entire stretch or can brick up like 5 feet?
weikee
post Oct 13 2011, 06:57 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kamion @ Oct 13 2011, 05:34 PM)
So good of your contractor to advise you. Mine just reused the old hinge......... I hope my gate don't start to sag after a while as I have lengthened each side by 2 feet.
The contract maybe using a thicker and longer hinge that look like the old hinge. Mine replace with a 1' length install in the left and right pillar.
weikee
post Oct 19 2011, 11:07 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Oct 19 2011, 08:56 AM)
Generally Around the same.
Of course it depends on the grade tiles vs the grade of laminated floorboards.
So far laminated flooring can cost from RM3.50/sq feet (boards only) to RM10/sq feet.
Tiles can cost from RM4.00/sq feet to RM10.00/sq feet

Installation cost is another matter wink.gif
Not actually gotten quotation yet but I think tiles installation are pricier.
You need to add in floor leveling. Laminated required good flat base.
weikee
post Oct 27 2011, 12:18 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Oct 26 2011, 10:12 PM)
Could any sifu's please here tell me if the quote i got below is reasonable, cheap, or parang?  hmm.gif

1. Floor & Porch  Tiling using 2ft X 2ft tiles 2728sq ft X RM7.50 psf  RM 21,800.00
        or, RM4.50 just for materials + labour n without tiles
2. Toilet Tiling 12” X 12” tiles X 2 toilet                    RM  2,400.00
3. Kitchen top & Wall Tiling 12” X 12” tiles      RM  2,000.00
4. Plaster Ceiling for entire house 2728 sq ft @ RM3.50 psf
(Not including corniche)                                    RM  9,500.00

5. Drains along house (about 80 feet)      RM  1,500.00
7. Painting entire house                              RM  3,500.00

Thanks in advance.
Plaster ceiling price is on the high side.

weikee
post Oct 27 2011, 12:57 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Oct 27 2011, 12:42 PM)
Sorry, i  dont know the correct term for this. But its the metal that is hanging down from roof strusses to plaaster ceiling. Not sre if its steel or aluminum  blush.gif
That one is normal aluminum support (maybe a GI metal) very thin. For plaster ceiling.
weikee
post Oct 27 2011, 02:09 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Oct 27 2011, 01:51 PM)
yes, that is the one. Does it cost extra if the metal support is longer?
Longer as in from slab to ceiling? Unless length go from 1' to 2' maybe cost some extra. How much more you need to pay? My contractor did not ask for extra.
weikee
post Oct 27 2011, 06:48 PM

12,019 posts

All my contractor busy now. Don't know they have time do your's. Maybe you source around.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:15 AM