71 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Renovation Extreme Work In Progress, Sharing my house renovation journey.

Gary1981
post Aug 11 2011, 12:06 PM

1,610 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 11 2011, 10:36 AM)
Thanks but I already engaged a window supplier as I have already moved past this stage in my renovations.nod.gif
I am looking for a good grill supplier now, any contacts?
I used Three Kim, you can try to call ..Ivy, 0122149382
kamion
post Aug 11 2011, 06:02 PM

327 posts

I'm also looking for grille. Have contacted Ivy of Three Kim. Awaiting her quotation. smile.gif

Are you changing your doors, phoenix69?
TSphoenix69
post Aug 11 2011, 07:01 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 11 2011, 10:58 AM)
You want mine? price is standard lah not the cheapest. But standard.
Autogate also i just found. My wife colleague use this Autogate installer for few of this house, and her other colleague too.
Interested in your autogate supplier, please pm me. Thanks smile.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:06 PM)
I used Three Kim, you can try to call ..Ivy, 0122149382
Thanks Gary1981. heard a lot from the forum about them. Going to call, Thanks smile.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(kamion @ Aug 11 2011, 06:02 PM)
I'm also looking for grille. Have contacted Ivy of Three Kim. Awaiting her quotation. smile.gif

Are you changing your doors, phoenix69?
Yes, changing all doors, biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 11 2011, 07:03 PM
weikee
post Aug 11 2011, 07:20 PM

12,019 posts

When you want to install? Cause i have not use him, If you can wait, maybe in 1 month time. Or I can give you now, you call him to compare price.
TSphoenix69
post Aug 11 2011, 07:24 PM

1,836 posts

This is the plastic film that I am going to use as a vapor barrier for my car porch concrete bottom. biggrin.gif

Don't really need it but, I actually work in the plastic industry.
So thought it is appropriate that I use some of the things my company produce myself. hee hee tongue.gif

The specification for this plastic (me waxing lyrical..)

LLDPE Metallocene Film. -
1.LLDPE is Low Linear Density Polyethylene - Virgin grade (Those avalaible in the hardware shop all using recycled resin)
2.Metallocene - A high grade of plastic resin that provides exceotional tensile strenght.

Dimension
4400mm X 120micron
1.4400mm width (!4 feet) - The widest film that I can find at the moment. (Hardware shop usually 9 feet wide)
2. Thickness 120 micron = 0.12mm (Hardware shop ranges from 80 - 200 micron)

Actually this film was produced to be used as a liquid bulk bag inner liner, I taken some to use in my house. icon_idea.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 11 2011, 07:20 PM)
When you want to install? Cause i have not use him, If you can wait, maybe in 1 month time. Or I can give you now, you call him to compare price.
I can wait. You are ahead of me in renovation progress. You go ahead. blush.gif
I am still rethinking about the gate any many other fittings. Budgetary woes. sigh... cry.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 11 2011, 07:27 PM
kelvyn
post Aug 11 2011, 09:16 PM

3,173 posts

Nobody will tell you that renovation is cheap and in most instances, there will be cost overrun. cry.gif
Just exercise some constraint, don't go over board else will need to dig out the piggy banks sweat.gif
bteoh
post Aug 11 2011, 10:13 PM

158 posts

mind to tell why need to lay plaster before concrete ar? whats the purpose?

weikee
post Aug 11 2011, 10:24 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 11 2011, 07:24 PM)
I am still rethinking about the gate any many other fittings. Budgetary woes. sigh... cry.gif
Hehe, my renovation is slow, i think is more like hotel for the indo. Yours maybe faster. biggrin.gif

Anyway he quote me 1.4k local arm + standby battery, with 1 year warranty. Wiring excluded.

In case your electric contractor don't know, ask him lay 11 cores cable before the parking slab. Better still Armored. (Mine is 11 core armored). 3 for power, 4 for auto switch, 1 (some use 2) for light so you only have 2 to 3 core spare. Each end of the gate pillar, lay 4 core armored cable, terminate to where you terminate the the 11 core.

StevenL
post Aug 11 2011, 11:24 PM

732 posts

Bro, my new house comes with 7 core cable, was told its suffice if i wanna wired to the lamp post, meaning light will ON when the gate is activated. Is this true??
weikee
post Aug 11 2011, 11:28 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Aug 11 2011, 11:24 PM)
Bro, my new house comes with 7 core cable, was told its suffice if i wanna wired to the lamp post, meaning light will ON when the gate is activated. Is this true??
Depend your autogate use how many cores, some autogate use only 6 core, so you have one more for switching on/off inside the house. If use all 7 cores sure you don't have anymore wire for lamp post loh.

sl2007
post Aug 11 2011, 11:42 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 11 2011, 07:24 PM)
This is the plastic film that I am going to use as a vapor barrier for my car porch concrete bottom.  biggrin.gif

Don't really need it but, I actually work in the plastic industry.
So thought it is appropriate that I use some of the things my company produce myself. hee hee  tongue.gif

The specification for this plastic (me waxing lyrical..)

LLDPE Metallocene Film. -
1.LLDPE is Low Linear Density Polyethylene - Virgin grade (Those avalaible in the hardware shop all using recycled resin)
2.Metallocene - A high grade of plastic resin that provides exceotional tensile strenght.

Dimension
4400mm X 120micron
1.4400mm width (!4 feet) - The widest film that I can find at the moment. (Hardware shop usually 9 feet wide)
2. Thickness 120 micron = 0.12mm (Hardware shop ranges from 80 - 200 micron)

Actually this film was produced to be used as a liquid bulk bag inner liner, I taken some to use in my house.  icon_idea.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 7:27 pm

Bro,

Why not get thicker PE Sheet. Usually for big project, people use 0.25mm 250micron... Anyhow difficult to get la... Just use 200 micron ok oredy le...
TSphoenix69
post Aug 12 2011, 11:38 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 11 2011, 09:16 PM)
Nobody will tell you that renovation is cheap and in most instances, there will be cost overrun.  cry.gif
Just exercise some constraint, don't go over board else will need to dig out the piggy banks  sweat.gif
Piggy bank also not enough sad.gif
When think of constrain, its like getting a rolls royce but use cheapo plastic wheel rims cry.gif cry.gif

Added on August 12, 2011, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 11 2011, 10:24 PM)
Hehe, my renovation is slow, i think is more like hotel for the indo. Yours maybe faster. biggrin.gif

Anyway he quote me 1.4k local arm + standby battery, with 1 year warranty. Wiring excluded.

In case your electric contractor don't know, ask him lay 11 cores cable before the parking slab.  Better still Armored. (Mine is 11 core armored). 3 for power, 4 for auto switch, 1 (some use 2) for light so you only have 2 to 3 core spare.  Each end of the gate pillar, lay 4 core armored cable, terminate to where you terminate the the 11 core.
Err, what I am getting is a 9 core armored cable. The contractor broke it down like this:-
1- Doorbell. 4- autogate. 1-light. 1 power. 2 - extra just in case.

- Why you use 3 for power? 4 armored cable at each end of the gate pillar ??? Can enlighten me..

Added on August 12, 2011, 12:24 pm
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Aug 11 2011, 11:42 PM)
Bro,

Why not get thicker PE Sheet. Usually for big project, people use 0.25mm 250micron... Anyhow difficult to get la... Just use 200 micron ok oredy le...
Hee hee, mine small project mahh....
Anyway, here is the properties comparison:-

Water Vapor Transmission Rate - ASTM F - 1249 cry.gif

120 micron LLDPE Film, Approx - 2.5 g/m2/day @ 37.8oC, 90% RH
250 micron LLDPE Film, Approx - 2.0 g/m2/day @ 37.8oC, 90% RH
(110% increase in film thickness - based on 120 micron thickness - provide an incremental 25% in WVTR)

Tensile strenght - A recycle grade 250 micron LLDPE film has approx. the same tensile strenght as a 120 micron LLDPE Metallocene film. flex.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 12 2011, 12:24 PM
bteoh
post Aug 12 2011, 09:40 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(bteoh @ Aug 11 2011, 10:13 PM)
i mean plastic sheet

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:40 pm
QUOTE(bteoh @ Aug 11 2011, 10:13 PM)
i mean plastic sheet

This post has been edited by bteoh: Aug 12 2011, 09:40 PM
sl2007
post Aug 12 2011, 09:48 PM

285 posts

to prevent moisture from the ground effect the concrete.....
TSphoenix69
post Aug 12 2011, 09:51 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(bteoh @ Aug 12 2011, 09:40 PM)
i mean plastic sheet

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:40 pm
i mean plastic sheet
It is supposed to provide a barrier against water vapor rising from the ground wor.... blink.gif

Actually there should already be a piece below ground from the developer when they first started this housing project but as I mentioned earlier, I add this extra piece just because I can. tongue.gif
sl2007
post Aug 12 2011, 10:16 PM

285 posts

Friend, who told you that developer has inserted the Plastic Sheet?

weikee
post Aug 12 2011, 10:39 PM

12,019 posts

After hacking so many of the floor slab, i don't see the original developer did that in my house. Think they only raised the rebar above the soil.
TSphoenix69
post Aug 13 2011, 08:49 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Aug 12 2011, 10:16 PM)
Friend, who told you that developer has inserted the Plastic Sheet?
I was told that by my hardware suppliers customers that buy PE sheet from me that the developers/contractors use PE sheet as part of house foundation. smile.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 13 2011, 08:50 AM
sl2007
post Aug 13 2011, 09:27 AM

285 posts

PE only used in area where concrete is poured (genuine developer).. For any earth filled area, confirmed no PE sheet is laid..

TSphoenix69
post Aug 13 2011, 10:36 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 12 2011, 10:39 PM)
After hacking so many of the floor slab, i don't see the original developer did that in my house. Think they only raised the rebar above the soil.
Same here . blink.gif

71 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:04 PM