71 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Renovation Extreme Work In Progress, Sharing my house renovation journey.

sl2007
post Aug 13 2011, 10:46 AM

285 posts

I have prepared more than 100 of BQ and PE sheet only applicable to Concrete Slab area... smile.gif

TSphoenix69
post Aug 15 2011, 06:55 PM

1,836 posts

Renovation Update

The ground floor front wall is totally taken down, Waiting for new windows, similar to the master bedroom.
The North wind is blowing straight in liao... tongue.gif

user posted imageuser posted image

The new RC roof structure is up "again"- with the correct "longkang" cool2.gif

New Doors and Window frames installation.

13 Amp Power Point Installation

kelvyn
post Aug 15 2011, 09:33 PM

3,173 posts

Hi phoenix69,

A bit curious on what did you do as replacement when you removed the 2 RC columns in your living room?
Did you construct any alternative supports?
TSphoenix69
post Aug 15 2011, 09:41 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 15 2011, 09:33 PM)
Hi phoenix69,

A bit curious on what did you do as replacement when you removed the 2 RC columns in your living room?
Did you construct any alternative supports?
Going to construct 2 additional corner RC column at the extreme edge.
Then will join them across via a RC beam joining the single column you see in the middle.

kelvyn
post Aug 15 2011, 09:51 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 15 2011, 10:41 PM)
Going to construct 2 additional corner RC column at the extreme edge.
Then will join them across via a RC beam joining the single column you see in the middle.
Hope you you don't mind me saying this.
I suggest that you quickly get your contractor to temporary prop up the bottom of the beams (at the 2 columns location)
Did you get any qualified person to look at the structures where you have removed the 2 columns.
Don't mean to frighten you... Better to be safe then sorry.
TSphoenix69
post Aug 16 2011, 11:52 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 15 2011, 09:51 PM)
Hope you you don't mind me saying this.
I suggest that you quickly get your contractor to temporary prop up the bottom of the beams (at the 2 columns location)
Did you get any qualified person to look at the structures where you have removed the 2 columns.
Don't mean to frighten you... Better to be safe then sorry.
Hmmm... thanks. hmm.gif
Will talk to the contractor later about this..... nod.gif

Added on August 16, 2011, 11:45 pmI am currently getting the place all wired up.

This leads to the questions - where do I want my light and fan to be. blink.gif

I plan to put plaster ceiling. With cove light (from L-Box) in the living room and a fan with the down lights located under the L-Box.

Worried about Strobing (fan blades causing lights to flash) and Insufficient Light source/brightness due to down light location. rclxub.gif

There is the issue of low ceiling height 9.5' and multiple zig zagging overhead beams 1" (height) X 6"(width). doh.gif

Any pointers ?? sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Aug 16 2011, 11:45 PM
TSphoenix69
post Aug 26 2011, 10:07 PM

1,836 posts

Updates

Finally get my new roof up rclxms.gif

The Back extension is nearly there...

My Laundry area.

My Security Doors arrived flex.gif

Front + Back (the back door is overly grand ) sweat.gif

eclipse-space
post Aug 26 2011, 11:27 PM

174 posts

hey the see thru roof, how much does it cost you?
kelvyn
post Aug 27 2011, 10:51 AM

3,173 posts

There are two different types of these clear/ coloured roofing sheets. There are polycarbonate corrugated sheets and Acrylic corrugated sheets in the market. From what I know the polycarbonate ones are longer lasting against yellowing. It pays to get the better quality ones to avoid the unsightliness of yellowing after a few years due to the sun.
JinXXX
post Aug 27 2011, 11:57 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 27 2011, 10:51 AM)
There are two different types of these clear/ coloured roofing sheets. There are polycarbonate corrugated sheets and Acrylic corrugated sheets in the market. From what I know the polycarbonate ones are longer lasting against yellowing. It pays to get the better quality ones to avoid the unsightliness of yellowing after a few years due to the sun.
not opting for a layer of tempered glass ?
kelvyn
post Aug 27 2011, 02:07 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 27 2011, 12:57 PM)
not opting for a layer of tempered glass ?
tempered glass is a good option if cost is not an issue tongue.gif
weikee
post Aug 27 2011, 02:30 PM

12,019 posts

For glass, it need special opening.
JinXXX
post Aug 27 2011, 03:02 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 27 2011, 02:30 PM)
For glass, it need special opening.
"opening ? you mean bracket ? or what can just lay the glass on the roofing beams what since the glass is the last item on roof decking
weikee
post Aug 27 2011, 03:05 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 27 2011, 03:02 PM)
"opening ? you mean bracket ? or what can just lay the glass on the roofing beams what since the glass is the last item on roof decking
Yes bracket, you cannot put glass just like putting roof, All glass will expand and contract, and need special bracket and silicon to hold.
TSphoenix69
post Aug 27 2011, 04:21 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(eclipse-space @ Aug 26 2011, 11:27 PM)
hey the see thru roof, how much does it cost you?
My contractor says it is termed as transparent zinc (cheapo item) made of a type of plastic (dunno what)
Price per piece 1' X 8' = RM 60-70/pc. smile.gif
Jo_da48
post Aug 29 2011, 12:03 AM

1,529 posts

Is your design still follow the Approvel diagram by MP?

jaycee1
post Aug 29 2011, 09:36 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

wow..thats really some grand looking doors for your back door. No grills??
TSphoenix69
post Aug 29 2011, 09:42 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 29 2011, 12:03 AM)
Is your design still follow the Approvel diagram by MP?
Yup. Follow up to at least 90% so far .
In fact the re-done car porch roof is the original design in the layout drawing. biggrin.gif
The initial design that was taken down was a blooper tongue.gif

Added on September 5, 2011, 9:25 amNeed to make another big decision this week.
Its time to finalize on the autogate.
My contractor is chasing me as he need to build the front gate wall.

Going for folding type autogate.

There is 2 type or arm (I am going for the folding gate with tracks type).
1. The one with thick arm
2. The one with thin flat bars that goes underneath the gate.

Which one to choose?

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Sep 14 2011, 08:44 PM
TSphoenix69
post Sep 14 2011, 08:45 PM

1,836 posts

Renovation Update..

My Front Car Porch Totally demolished .
Waiting for Auto gate Hinge and I am delaying cause still negotiating with Gate Suppliers.. tongue.gif

My new spare 250 Liter PE Water Storage Tank

zheilwane
post Sep 14 2011, 09:31 PM

4,184 posts

yo phoenix, your contractor came to collect the Hansgrohe mixer and Grundfos water pump d. Cant wait to c your post after installing everything ekke.

71 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:20 PM