71 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

Renovation Extreme Work In Progress, Sharing my house renovation journey.

Titan_Gunners
post Jan 5 2013, 07:00 PM

1,573 posts

Nice wardrobe. How much does it cost?
TSphoenix69
post Jan 6 2013, 10:55 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Titan_Gunners @ Jan 5 2013, 07:00 PM)
Nice wardrobe. How much does it cost?
Approx 10k sweat.gif
orientaliew
post Jan 6 2013, 12:05 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jan 6 2013, 10:55 AM)
Approx 10k  sweat.gif
nowadays good thing never cheap. rclxms.gif
i notice that you used semangok ply (or sold wood?). my bookcase also used the same material. when the wood age, colour will turn darker and its very nice.

leeyung
post Jan 6 2013, 07:42 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jan 1 2013, 05:02 PM)
Renovation Extreme Work In Progress - Second Stage  tongue.gif

Happy New Year 2013 !!  rclxm9.gif
This Topic Continues To Another New Year.  tongue.gif

Kitchen Cabinet

After living with a cabinet-less kitchen, finally decided to cabinat-lize it.
A kitchen without cabinet is damm messy.. shakehead.gif

As for the design of the cabinet placing, initially I had my own design with all the cabinet types all figured out.
My design top and bottom cabinets are syncronized with a space for a built in oven (I even prepared a power point for it).
But with input from my boss lady and the cabinet supplier, my design was totally disregarded.  shakehead.gif

The top and bottom cabinet are not syncronized as my cabinet supplier advised that it serves no practical and in my case asthestic purpose. Furthermore it will make some of the cabinets too narrow.
My built in oven plans was totally removed as my boss lady says that she does not use oven for everyday cooking. Will only use (if ever) to bake cookies during CNY once a year. (Cabinet supplier advised that oven/electrical product not used often will get damaged or malfunction)
Furthermore the oven will limit her drawer width and take up more cabinet space.
I just surrender at this point and console myself that I will be saving some $$$ from not buying an oven  tongue.gif

Decided to use a white glass surface as I want to reflect as much light as possible in my relatively narrow kitchen.

Finally the kitchen cabinet design turned out as below.

Install the bottom cabinet carcase first.

user posted imageuser posted image
Then install the top cabinet carcase.

Fitting on the cabinet doors, drawers and fittings.

The Finished result  rclxms.gif

Surprisingly the kitchen feels wider and bigger after the cabinets are installed.  thumbup.gif
Next ... The Wardobe ....(To be continues again  tongue.gif ) .....
Very nice KC you have there. I personally prefer white glass surface for my KC as well. Good job! The finished results are great. By the way, your kitchen is not narrow at all bro tongue.gif
Titan_Gunners
post Jan 7 2013, 08:21 AM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jan 6 2013, 10:55 AM)
Approx 10k  sweat.gif
Wow...Good thing not cheap.. biggrin.gif
dialdoor
post Jan 7 2013, 07:56 PM

Dear friend, first check your budget and then work according to that. Otherwise you will have to suffer in future. And one thing more,do something for the security of your home. It is highly required to make the home secure and safe. Best of luck!!!!
TSphoenix69
post Jan 8 2013, 02:12 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jan 6 2013, 12:05 PM)
i notice that you used semangok ply (or sold wood?). my bookcase also used the same material. when the wood age, colour will turn darker and its very nice.
I used plywood, the surface is actually laminated with the layer I choose from a catalogue tongue.gif
I see you have a very nice bookcase, I am sure that is for the man of the house wan. thumbup.gif
Mine is clothes wardrobe, for the boss lady. blush.gif
The man of this house hope to have a more harmonious life .. tongue.gif
TSphoenix69
post Jan 8 2013, 02:13 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(dialdoor @ Jan 7 2013, 07:56 PM)
Dear friend, first check your budget and then work according to that. Otherwise you will have to suffer in future.  And one thing more,do something for the security of your home. It is highly required to make the home secure and safe. Best of luck!!!!
Good advise. smile.gif
TSphoenix69
post Jan 8 2013, 02:17 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Jan 6 2013, 07:42 PM)
Very nice KC you have there. I personally prefer white glass surface for my KC as well. Good job! The finished results are great. By the way, your kitchen is not narrow at all bro tongue.gif
Tq for the compliment. notworthy.gif
Photo angle makes my kitchen looks bigger than it really is but I guess its OK. biggrin.gif
TSphoenix69
post Jan 8 2013, 02:29 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Titan_Gunners @ Jan 7 2013, 08:21 AM)
Wow...Good thing not cheap.. biggrin.gif
This is something 'built in" (part of the house permanant structure) which I hope will last a long time (until day I am gone - after that: no eye see).
So as long as it last a loo....ong time I guess its money well spent. blush.gif
(Do not ever want to spend on existing cabinet again.....ever!) shakehead.gif
maguro
post Jan 8 2013, 03:23 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jan 6 2013, 12:05 PM)
your bookcase is solid wood or what again?

seems very solid. how long did the carpenter take to make it?
Kelv
post Jan 9 2013, 09:34 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Nice walk in wardrobe. How big is it? Your master bedroom must be big.
I like the glass door with middle covered to prevent outside seeing all the messy stuff inside when the door is close.

orientaliew
post Jan 10 2013, 10:23 AM

331 posts

QUOTE(maguro @ Jan 8 2013, 03:23 AM)
your bookcase is solid wood or what again?

seems very solid. how long did the carpenter take to make it?
its a mix of solid wood and ply, local species called semangok. its yellowish and i ask the carpenter to apply wax instead of paint.

assembly only takes few hours. how long to make it will depend on the carpenter schedule i think.
alyem
post Jan 10 2013, 11:29 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jan 1 2013, 05:02 PM)
Renovation Extreme Work In Progress - Second Stage  tongue.gif

Kitchen Cabinet

Next ... The Wardobe ....(To be continues again  tongue.gif ) .....
Question -

Can you give me more detail on the
1- Slope tile on the of Sink.
2- What is the width or depth of you counter top? 600mm as per the tiles or 620mm (24") ?
3- Is the depth of 600 mm good enough for Stove?

4- Since you have tile for the wall and base of cabinet, why still install cabinet based and backing? Would that save some money? And any problem if water seeping tro it?

TSphoenix69
post Jan 10 2013, 05:13 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Jan 9 2013, 09:34 AM)
Nice walk in wardrobe. How big is it? Your master bedroom must be big.
I like the glass door with middle covered to prevent outside seeing all the messy stuff inside when the door is close.
Approx 12'X5'. Its relatively big as I closed off the balcony.
As for the glass door, initially wanted to do 3 even portion (33%Clear 33%Frosted 33%Clear)
But the cabinet supplier advised Approx 25%Clear 30%Frosted 35%Clear).
Turned out to be a good advise thumbup.gif Just nice asthestically.
TSphoenix69
post Jan 10 2013, 05:24 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(alyem @ Jan 10 2013, 11:29 AM)
Question -

Can you give me more detail on the
1- Slope tile on the of Sink.
2- What is the width or depth of you counter top? 600mm as per the tiles or 620mm (24") ?
3- Is the depth of 600 mm good enough for Stove?

4- Since you have tile for the wall and base of cabinet, why still install cabinet based and backing? Would that save some money? And any problem if water seeping tro it?
1. The slope tile is a "gift" from the tiler who is a relative. A very experienced sifu. No spec is given as he just did it up to his experience and skills. Good for water splash and clean up. thumbup.gif
2. Follow tile width (600mm). Never heard of 620 mm tiles before.
3. Yup. Almost everyone do it this way. nod.gif
4. Install cabinet without backing?!? Never thought of it. shakehead.gif Do not think it can save much, . Anyway if you think about it, a tiled wall may not be as even as you think..

alyem
post Jan 10 2013, 08:53 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jan 10 2013, 05:24 PM)
1. The slope tile is a "gift" from the tiler who is a relative. A very experienced sifu. No spec is given as he just did it up to his experience and skills. Good for water splash and clean up. thumbup.gif
2. Follow tile width (600mm). Never heard of 620 mm tiles before.
3. Yup. Almost everyone do it this way. nod.gif
4. Install cabinet without backing?!? Never thought of it.  shakehead.gif Do not think it can save much, . Anyway if you think about it, a tiled wall may not be as even as you think..
After 6 months of renovating my house, now planning for concrete top for wet kitchen.
1- The slope was in my planning but again the Feng Shui was saying stove have to be lower than the sink. vmad.gif mad.gif . So.. If I did the slope, then the stove is higher than the sink. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
2- Yes, you can't find 620 mm tiles. But if I do the slope, it will be 600 tiles + 50 slope = 650mm.
Side wall 600mm and base 575mm. (my planning)
3- I find 600mm for stove is bit small. Having 600mm top, the wok edge to the wall left between 25-50mm. The wall will be very hot.
4- Wall eveness is not a big issue here, cos u will put silicon to the join. And it so easy to clean even if it is wet.
As for saving may be not much.

I'm planning to order the panels and install DIY. tongue.gif tongue.gif
TSphoenix69
post Jan 11 2013, 01:55 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(alyem @ Jan 10 2013, 08:53 PM)
After 6 months of renovating my house, now planning for concrete top for wet kitchen.
1- The slope was in my planning but again the Feng Shui was saying stove have to be lower than the sink.  vmad.gif  mad.gif . So.. If I did the slope, then the stove is higher than the sink. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
2- Yes, you can't find 620 mm tiles. But if I do the slope, it will be 600 tiles + 50 slope = 650mm.
Side wall 600mm and base 575mm. (my planning)
3- I find 600mm for stove is bit small. Having 600mm top,  the wok edge to the wall left between 25-50mm. The wall will be very hot.
4- Wall eveness is not a big issue here, cos u will put silicon to the join. And it so easy to clean even if it is wet.
As for saving may be not much.

I'm planning to order the panels and install DIY.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Ahh .. Fung Shui, the more you know, the more rclxub.gif you get.
If you want to do a concrete tiles table top with more than 600mm tile you have to accept joints unless you willing to pay big bucks Get those 800x800 tiles and cut to size .
Hot wall is not an issue if the wall can withstand the heat, anyway, do not think you are doing "Tai Chow" at home all the time.
As for silicone for the gaps, here is something for you to think about - silicone is soft and with the humid and hot condition in the kitchen can cause the silicone to get fungus.
DIY ah . . . wahhh... share your result lah. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Jan 11 2013, 02:22 PM
alyem
post Jan 11 2013, 02:20 PM

303 posts

Big table top still thinking. But as for the joint not a problem la.
the silicon joint is at the bottom of table top. Where your side panel meet again the wall.
Pennbattle
post Jan 11 2013, 02:26 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jan 11 2013, 01:55 PM)
Ahh .. Fung Shui, the more you know, the more  rclxub.gif you get. 
If you want to do a concrete tiles table top with more than 600mm tile you have to accept joints unless you willing to pay big bucks Get those 800x800 tiles and cut to size .
Hot wall is not an issue if the wall can withstand the heat, anyway, do not think you are doing "Tai Chow" at home all the time.
As for silicone for the gaps, here is something for you to think about - silicone is soft and with the humid and hot condition in the kitchen can cause the silicone to get fungus. 
DIY ah .  . . wahhh... share your result lah.  rclxm9.gif
agreed! the more u know about feng shui the more rclxub.gif u get....i first oso look at feng shui but now i follow my ownself better......hahaha......

71 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:51 AM