124 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

v7.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, Theres more to the city than meets the i

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Aug 27 2011, 01:52 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,755 posts

Ultimate Honda City fanboy... Worse than prataboy.... Oh my..!! Call ppl boy also..... Tsk tsk smile.gif
SUSkevin23
post Aug 27 2011, 01:58 PM

1,803 posts

Lol arb is not stabilizer bar lah. If it is, how come when i installed my arb, they dint take out any bars from my car? They just screwed the new arb onto the car.

Get ur facts right la dude

Added on August 27, 2011, 2:02 pm
QUOTE(shunryu @ Aug 27 2011, 09:52 AM)
Here's some of the specifications of our NHC
http://honda.com.pk/city/specifications/index.html

I didn't know that it comes with 11mm rear antiroll bar
until I confirmed by crawling under the car, it's hidden in the torsion beam  brows.gif
And besides thats the 1.3 l version of honda city.

Most of the jap cars come with stabilizer bars as stock standard but they dont come with antirollbars... Haih, this one oso need to teach

This post has been edited by kevin23: Aug 27 2011, 02:02 PM
shunryu
post Aug 27 2011, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(xin @ Aug 27 2011, 01:37 PM)
ok thanks for the info. Stabilization is general and ARB is part of stabilization, ok got you.

so where is ur ori rear arb when u installed your UR arb ? Did you got yours back from the mechanic ?
NHC DO NOT have lower arms, so the larger UR antiroll bar have to be mounted onto the base of the torsion beam

The original bar will be kept within the torsion beam

Added on August 27, 2011, 2:30 pm
QUOTE(kevin23 @ Aug 27 2011, 01:58 PM)
Lol arb is not stabilizer bar lah. If it is, how come when i installed my arb, they dint take out any bars from my car? They just screwed the new arb onto the car.

Get ur facts right la dude

Added on August 27, 2011, 2:02 pm

And besides thats the 1.3 l version of honda city.

Most of the jap cars come with stabilizer bars as stock standard but they dont come with antirollbars... Haih, this one oso need to teach
Definition of stabilizer bars
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/question432.htm
Many japanese cars come with antiroll bars both rear and front
honda civic, accord, toyota camry for example

Climb down your car and see for yourself, be humble
our NHC comes with 19mm front antiroll bar(stabilizer bar) and 11mm rear antiroll bar (stabilizer bar)
just the rear one is implemented into the torsion beam and not removable

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twist_beam
Go read this, this is the same technology used by many of the makers that fully utilize the torsion beam design

This post has been edited by shunryu: Aug 27 2011, 02:43 PM
xin
post Aug 27 2011, 03:05 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

The New City has torsion beam axle with stabilizer, coil spring setup at the rear. The torsion beam axle itself which is connected to both ends of trailling arms aka lower arms acts as a stabilizer. The torsion beam functions both as wheel locating arm and doubles as an antiroll bar to resist lateral motion of the wheels as the body leans in turns. which in turn become a cut cost for makers to omit the actual ARB. There is always a reason why it was not given the name ARB but stabilizer. Cuz as YES, stabilization is general and ARB is part of it. Cuz it never got to perform like an actual ARB, ever wonder why you install ur UR rear ARB in the first place ? Why not just remove it since you have one in the torsion beam already ?

Like i said, you are right. Stabilization is general and ARB is a part of it. The so called ARB or Stabilizer bar in the torsion beam axle is just a stabilizer. It will never achive what an actual ARB can do.

Ah yes, twist beam is virtually the torsion beam axle. And mind you that most compact cars adapts torsion beam axle for cost cutting. Yet with the twist beam theory, every compact car virtually has a stabilizer bar embeded cuz the axle acts as one. Does this mean they do not need actual ARBs ?

Added on August 27, 2011, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(shunryu @ Aug 27 2011, 02:24 PM)
NHC DO NOT have lower arms, so the larger UR antiroll bar have to be mounted onto the base of the torsion beam

The original bar will be kept within the torsion beam
common sense la. trailing arm=lower arm=torsion beam base ,else why we got the term torsion axle ?

from your own quote

It's common sense, there are more than one terms to describe a thing

This post has been edited by xin: Aug 27 2011, 03:09 PM
shunryu
post Aug 27 2011, 04:14 PM

Yes in most torsion beam design, additional antiroll bar may not be necessary for ordinary drivers

To those enthusiasts though, may seek for further reinforcements
Since the stock 'stabilizer bar' cannot be removed /swapped from the beam itself, additional UR bar serves as one of the option to further increase the torsional stiffness / resist bodyroll, no?

Even WITHOUT the UR bars, the torsion beam works dependantly to an extend that it actually decreases ride comfort...
But it is not to say torsion beam is not good at all, some of the high performance cars like Golf GTI mark V, Euro spec Civic Type R are using it and still yields satisfiable results..

Some of the people couldn't get rid of the thinking that installing aftermarket antiroll bar must swap out the old one, those are mostly done in cars with seperate lower arms like CRV, Civic (to name a few) NOT torsion beam..

Torsion axle may be "lower arms" but it is still inferior compare to those seperate lower arms found in double wishbones / multilink suspension
Nowadays both torsion beam and multilink suspension comes with antiroll bars, just that they're mounted in different form:
Torsion beam - hidden in beam (doesn't mean it doesn't exist)
Multilink / Double-wishbone - mounted on lower arms

Stabilizer bar IS antiroll bar
but aftermarket antiroll bars FURTHER refine the torsion stiffness / alter understeer & oversteer characteristics / resist bodyroll (which is why I install UR antiroll bar to fine tune handling, original size simply not enough)

Added on August 27, 2011, 4:21 pmIf you insist that stabilizer bar is not antiroll bar
Then are you calling the front antiroll bar "front stabilizer bar"? Be my guess
They work the same no matter what you call them rolleyes.gif

Added on August 27, 2011, 6:15 pmWell, there are people who are so full of themselves but I don't see any of them give a reasonable answer
I backup my points clearly with fact

Explain to me what is that piece of bar running across the torsion beam laugh.gif

This post has been edited by shunryu: Aug 27 2011, 06:15 PM
post Aug 28 2011, 10:44 PM

4,230 posts

Didn't know this until now ... wink.gif

mokhzaini
post Aug 29 2011, 12:04 AM

278 posts

I guess it has more to do with the proudness of a new car. But never mind keep them coming, the information are good as far as getting urself/everyone to know their ride better is concern
Christopher7
post Aug 29 2011, 10:56 AM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

Guys my HC steering vibrate when the car pick up :/
calvin_gsc
post Aug 29 2011, 03:25 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Aug 29 2011, 10:56 AM)
Guys my HC steering vibrate when the car pick up :/
When you say pick up, do you mean accelerating?

Usually vibrations at high speed is caused by wheel alignment/balancing issue.
mcliong1
post Aug 29 2011, 04:44 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Aug 26 2011, 11:33 PM)
i read somewhere it is Alpine sound system..

yup, stock sound is already superb.. bass 4 treble 6, energy mode..  rclxm9.gif
Maybe other countries are Alpine. if u take it out the player, U will see Mitsubishi..... biggrin.gif
secondrate
post Aug 29 2011, 09:31 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Really enjoy driving this car... a lot of good comments given by my passengers. My family proud owner of one PMM E-spec, BKY plate.

So far only felt floating feeling at 130+km/h but I don't drive that speed most of the time. Just wanted to go PJ from Klang in <10 mins.
siaukia
post Aug 30 2011, 11:21 AM

1,491 posts

How to use radio as speedometer:

First, switch off the radio.

Next, hold down both the up and down arrow on the radio controls.

While still holding down on the up/down arrow, switch on your radio.

You will notice that the display has the word DIAG on it. Press on the right arrow to initiate the speedometer mode.

And you’re done!

via http://oneduasan.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/...ometer-display/
choohooi808
post Aug 31 2011, 05:11 PM

36 posts

Any news on the new Honda City facelift?
gagak_84
post Sep 1 2011, 08:52 PM

132 posts

please comments this post

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2018173
miragers
post Sep 1 2011, 09:44 PM

677 posts

Hello fellow City owners, i'm really2 sorry that i need to disturb your thread but i really2 need some help for my university's final year project about online car forums( it's a survey!)

It's a 10 question survey which probably take you around 2 minutes.

THIS IS NOT SPAM, VIRUS OR SPYWARE~!

My Survey

Please don't report me, i'm doing it for the sake of my studies sad.gif

Thanks a lot in advance!
miragers
post Sep 1 2011, 10:49 PM

677 posts

sorry2 .. small error . it's open now.. sorrry~!
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Sep 2 2011, 01:10 AM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,755 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ Sep 1 2011, 08:52 PM)
please comments this post

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2018173
It's true what... Inspira / Forte is a better buy than Honda City... If can afford any of these 2 cars, I would change my City.. tongue.gif Test drove the Forte... Good car and accessories are A-1.. smile.gif

/me waiting for the ultimate num 1 Honda City fanboy to comment in that thread tongue.gif
shunryu
post Sep 2 2011, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Sep 2 2011, 01:10 AM)
It's true what... Inspira / Forte is a better buy than Honda City... If can afford any of these 2 cars, I would change my City.. tongue.gif Test drove the Forte... Good car and accessories are A-1.. smile.gif

/me waiting for the ultimate num 1 Honda City fanboy to comment in that thread tongue.gif
Oh yeah baby, I bought city way before inspira is even out
Test driven the 2.0P inspira, the torque rapes your old city inside out rclxms.gif
But too bad, H.Civic is even more powerful with its K20Z
Was in need of a daily drive a.s.a.p so 1.5 liter engine is just about right

Sometimes with reverse psychology in effect, people tend to label other as what they actually are laugh.gif

Mooneyes
post Sep 2 2011, 11:00 AM

Time heals
2,731 posts

did my 1 year service just now...cost me rm312.50..is the price okay? service adviser oso heran to see my mileage oni 4500km after 1 year laugh.gif
DaBestOne
post Sep 2 2011, 11:09 AM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Sep 2 2011, 11:00 AM)
did my 1 year service just now...cost me rm312.50..is the price okay? service adviser oso heran to see my mileage oni 4500km after 1 year laugh.gif
Why mileage so low one??? Weekend car kah? laugh.gif

124 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:23 PM