98 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 >Bottom

The iPad 1/2 Jailbreak Discussion Thread, iPad 2 5.0.1 untethered out!

azraeil
post Jan 23 2012, 06:36 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Wan fareez @ Jan 23 2012, 01:27 PM)
izit ipad 2 ios5 already jailbroken?
Ohh dear. Yes. Please read Original Post (Post #1) of this thread.
Wan fareez
post Jan 23 2012, 06:46 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 23 2012, 06:36 PM)
Ohh dear. Yes. Please read Original Post (Post #1) of this thread.
ohh ya sorry and thx btw..
gocke55014
post Jan 23 2012, 07:13 PM

287 posts

after jailbreak my 16gb ipad storage is not enuff,,, dengg..
fox_shinoda
post Jan 23 2012, 07:18 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(gocke55014 @ Jan 23 2012, 07:13 PM)
after jailbreak my 16gb ipad storage is not enuff,,, dengg..
how about iCloud? got free 5gb of storage...
Boy96
post Jan 23 2012, 08:44 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 23 2012, 06:14 PM)
Shift + restore and choose the firmware file that you have downloaded will wipe clean your iPad (Clean restore) and re-install the iOS

There is no Shifit + Update

Restore (without pressing Shift) does the same thing (Clean Restore) but iTunes will download the firmware file (which is prone to disconnection) that is why people recommend you do a Shift + restore as you download the firmware file outside of iTunes so you don't need to worry about iTunes failing to download the file.

Supposedly you don't have to do a clean restore with Absinthe but as I mentioned, a lot of users are reporting long wait times due to the fact that Absinthe uses the Backup/Restore exploit so the bigger your existing Backup, the longer it will take for the jailbreak process to finish.
Alamak, need to download 5.0.1 which the file is very huge..

But when iOS 5 first came out, I downloaded iOS 5 from Apple website, then hit Shift+Update to update my iPad from 4.3.5 to 5.0
r34
post Jan 23 2012, 10:04 PM

169 posts

bro azraeil,

whats the best step to upgrade from ios 4.3.3 jb to ios 5.0.1 ?

backup > update to 5.0.1 ( my pc already have 5.0.1 ) > use Absinthe v0.2 to jb > restore back the file

issit the correct step?

thx
XiuKeong
post Jan 23 2012, 11:25 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(r34 @ Jan 23 2012, 10:04 PM)
bro azraeil,

backup > update to 5.0.1 ( my pc already have 5.0.1 ) > use Absinthe v0.2 to jb > restore back the file

issit the correct step?

thx
Yes nod.gif
Boy96
post Jan 24 2012, 12:01 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Anyone here lost their photo roll? I am scared that I will lose it, I have around 3GB's of photo's and videos, somehow iTunes backed says its backed up, but I dont know where did it save to.. and I manually backup cannot..
azraeil
post Jan 24 2012, 01:16 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(r34 @ Jan 23 2012, 05:04 PM)
bro azraeil,

issit the correct step?

thx
Yes. Make sure after you update you setup the iPad as a new iPad. Then you jailbreak using Absinthe. Then after the jailbreak is successful, restore your backup.

I manage to restore my settings (Mail etc etc) but I had to re-sync all my apps. Dunno what happened. Did not have that problem with my iPhone.
shark7
post Jan 24 2012, 03:19 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 23 2012, 02:31 PM)
Go to your iTunes Preferences and under the Devices Tab, it should have a list of your Backup. Check the time of the backup before your restore and that's the one you should choose when you are restoring your backup.

Absinthe will create a backup of your iPad 2 and it will be an empty Backup so choose an earlier backup file.

Added on January 23, 2012, 2:31 pm

You don't restore from backup, your restore the Firmware which will wipe clean your iPad 2 (including the jailbreak) and re-install the OS.
i saw the bckup
on left it says 1pm but on right its 2am ..why/???

Added on January 24, 2012, 3:41 amok done..but all my apps gone ..but photos,safari,evrything was there except for the apps..

This post has been edited by shark7: Jan 24 2012, 03:41 AM
jiant
post Jan 24 2012, 08:19 AM

1,785 posts

1. I m currently using iPad 2 with iOS 4.3.5 do i need to upgrade to iOS 5.0.1?
in order to jail break?
And
Pls: need to backup all the apps before upgrade?

2. Can I upgrade and jb in pc1 using itunes then install the app from another pc tru iTunes
Or need to use same pc?

Joelles
post Jan 24 2012, 09:10 AM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Jan 24 2012, 08:19 AM)
1. I m currently using iPad 2 with iOS 4.3.5  do i need to upgrade to iOS 5.0.1?
in order to jail break?
And
Pls: need to backup all the apps before upgrade?

2. Can I upgrade and jb in pc1 using itunes then install the app from another pc tru iTunes
Or need to use same pc?
1. Yes

2. Since you're updating your iPad means your backup will saved in the pc/Mac which you performing the task, therefore if you change to another pc you will lose your backup.
SUSadvocado
post Jan 24 2012, 09:48 AM

2,948 posts

How do we scroll a page within a page? For example u search a user posts and if the post shown is long I need to scroll down, I know it's possible as I accidentally did it but kept trying just zoom, unzoom.

Also how do I remove the spelling recommendation function, it's annoying.
chienx
post Jan 24 2012, 09:50 AM

205 posts

change to another pc Will lost the backup? How if i let other back up and jb my ipad from their pc . Thn restore there after jb. The apps Will be still there or not? Later stage if i to syn with my itune, can i still keep wat ever i have from my own pc? Or after jb we cannot syn with itune adi?
clon12
post Jan 24 2012, 09:56 AM

let's learn together!
2,916 posts

Apparently the battery life for ios 5.0.1 is not as good as when it is in 4.3.3... Battery drain pretty quick with just wifi on.
toyol
post Jan 24 2012, 10:15 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(chienx @ Jan 24 2012, 09:50 AM)
change to another pc Will lost the backup? How if i let other back up and jb my ipad from their pc . Thn restore there after jb. The apps Will be still there or not? Later stage if i to syn with my itune, can i still keep wat ever i have from my own pc? Or after jb we cannot syn with itune adi?
No problem syncing back from itunes after jb. make sure you're using itunes 10.5.3. to restore your data. right click on device (left panel) and select "Restore from backup" can liao. use on PC ok smile.gif

if you want to have multiple users for itunes on same pc, just create new user in control panel for windows

This post has been edited by toyol: Jan 24 2012, 10:20 AM
jiant
post Jan 24 2012, 10:31 AM

1,785 posts

QUOTE(Joelles @ Jan 24 2012, 09:10 AM)
1. Yes

2. Since you're updating your iPad means your backup will saved in the pc/Mac which you performing the task, therefore  if you change to another pc you will lose your backup.
Are u mean the IPad will automatic backup when connect with pc?or need to manually backup?
ywkwy
post Jan 24 2012, 11:39 AM

868 posts

Hi, I already jb my ipad2 iOS 5.0.1, can I perform a reset to "erase all content and settings" ?
munak991
post Jan 24 2012, 12:32 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Jan 24 2012, 09:56 AM)
Apparently the battery life for ios 5.0.1 is not as good as when it is in 4.3.3... Battery drain pretty quick with just wifi on.
I feel no matter how iPad 2 battery still epicly strong compare to handphone
azraeil
post Jan 24 2012, 12:36 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jan 23 2012, 10:19 PM)
i saw the bckup
on left it says 1pm but on right its 2am ..why/???

Added on January 24, 2012, 3:41 amok done..but all my apps gone ..but photos,safari,evrything was there except for the apps..
Happens to me too. I had to re-sync my apps but all the data for the Apps were there.

Added on January 24, 2012, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(ywkwy @ Jan 24 2012, 06:39 AM)
Hi, I already jb my ipad2 iOS 5.0.1, can I perform a reset to "erase all content and settings" ?
NO. If your iPad 2 is already jailbroken, the system files would have been moved by the process. If you do the erase all content and settings, the iPad 2 will be stuck in the Apple Loop.

If you need to erase everything in the iPad, do a Shift + restore.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Jan 24 2012, 12:38 PM

98 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 >Top

0.0205sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:39 PM