b00n
post Jun 4 2011, 02:18 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jun 4 2011, 02:17 AM)
yes maybank cant but airasia can.

my personal experience (posted in previous CC thread - go search if u want to sweat.gif) with RHB, RHB ask me to pay full amount 1st and they refund later. the process to refund took about 6 months!

i did lodge police report and send to BNM.

and, till now i still dont know the culprit!!! vmad.gif

Don't think they would release the name of the culprit to you. Because most of the time, it involve syndicate Fraud.
But for our dear friend bata's case; I think it's an amateur job.

erry-
post Jun 4 2011, 02:19 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Jun 4 2011, 02:15 AM)
I just wondering why maybank never call CC holder to verify the CC purchase?
As far as I know, HSBC got implement this service.
depends on bank and the way u spend.

i never received call from HSBC when doing onl transaction sweat.gif

bata
post Jun 4 2011, 02:21 AM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Jun 4 2011, 02:13 AM)
There are a lot of unethical people fishing for victims in the forum.
Transfer to paypal? Do you mean someone buying something at online merchant through paypal?
i am not sure buying something or funds his Paypal account.

Maybank did call me, thats why i know the transactions just now.

QUOTE(b00n @ Jun 4 2011, 02:15 AM)
What did Maybank told you?
He told you PayPal transaction had went through?

Anyway, just write an email to PayPal; as well as did MayBank gives you a "report number"? If there is, attached that "report number" to PayPal so in case they want to verify with the bank; they can.
MBB did not give me the report number. I shouldn't told him its my fault though, if not it will go into fraud case.

Chow
Human Nature
post Jun 4 2011, 02:22 AM

- student of human nature -
26,509 posts

https://www.paypal.com/my/cgi-bin/webscr?cm...contact-general

You can use the template to email to paypal. Unable to find a proper email address.
nairud
post Jun 4 2011, 02:22 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

So did you cancel the transaction?
ahbooboo
post Jun 4 2011, 02:24 AM

14 posts

Good luck in tracing the culprit..hopefully, you are able to cancel the transactions..
erry-

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jun 4 2011, 02:18 AM)
Don't think they would release the name of the culprit to you. Because most of the time, it involve syndicate Fraud.
But for our dear friend bata's case; I think it's an amateur job.
nvm lah since i got back all my money sweat.gif

i'm afraid the culprit who purchase AA ticket using fake name coz plan to change it later (just pay change name fee?)

QUOTE(bata @ Jun 4 2011, 02:21 AM)
MBB did not give me the report number. I shouldn't told him its my fault though, if not it will go into fraud case.
oh oh. u shouldnt~! doh.gif

ck3lam

172 posts

I believe the fraud transaction is definitely using Amex. Wonder when Amex is going to have something like 3D secure or TAC which can definitely help to reduce fraud cases even if the card is exposed.

Be careful to answer those phones also, it might be a fraud call from the same person to dig even more your personal information. Always call back.
uhlaw
post Jun 4 2011, 02:25 AM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

Is it mean that culprit use bata's amex card to register as new paypal account. After that, transfer fund from new account to other paypal account?

If I not mistaken, paypal will reverse the transaction when they suspect since the amount transfered from new account is not small.
aeiou228
post Jun 4 2011, 02:26 AM

5,867 posts

Rm2900 AA ticket ? That's pretty long haul
b00n
post Jun 4 2011, 02:26 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

@bata,
Had you really deleted the photo from photobucket?
Because just now when I acted on that post, I saw the pic stating that it had been removed. But now I can see it already sweat.gif

erry-
post Jun 4 2011, 02:27 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Jun 4 2011, 02:24 AM)
I believe the fraud transaction is definitely using Amex. Wonder when Amex is going to have something like 3D secure or TAC which can definitely help to reduce fraud cases even if the card is exposed.

Be careful to answer those phones also, it might be a fraud call from the same person to dig even more your personal information. Always call back.
err... how the culprit know the card's owner phone num? sweat.gif

Added on June 4, 2011, 2:29 am
QUOTE(b00n @ Jun 4 2011, 02:26 AM)
@bata,
Had you really deleted the photo from photobucket?
Because just now when I acted on that post, I saw the pic stating that it had been removed. But now I can see it already sweat.gif
he did mentioned he delete it already. its the cache

This post has been edited by erry-: Jun 4 2011, 02:29 AM
uhlaw
post Jun 4 2011, 02:30 AM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jun 4 2011, 02:27 AM)
I believe bata is seller in lowyat forum. Sure he do provide or written phone number to buyer for further deal
b00n
post Jun 4 2011, 02:31 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

Added on June 4, 2011, 2:29 amhe did mentioned he delete it already. its the cache
If it's the cache in user's PC then understandable.
But I only got to know of this topic because of the report.
So when I first acted on it, the pic is already gone; i.e. photobucket gif stating that "photo/video had been removed/moved". That is why I'm surprised that I can see it now although I never had the cache before. rclxub.gif
aeiou228
post Jun 4 2011, 02:31 AM

5,867 posts

Added on June 4, 2011, 2:29 amhe did mentioned he delete it already. its the cache
AA no need phone number to buy.
erry-
post Jun 4 2011, 02:32 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Jun 4 2011, 02:30 AM)
I believe bata is seller in lowyat forum. Sure he do provide or written phone number to buyer for further deal
oh! never thought about that. hopefully its the real call from maybank

ck3lam
post Jun 4 2011, 02:33 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Jun 4 2011, 02:25 AM)
Is it mean that culprit use bata's amex card to register as new paypal account. After that, transfer fund from new account to other paypal account?

If I not mistaken, paypal will reverse the transaction when they suspect since the amount transfered from new account is not small.
Mm...if you add a card to paypal, you will need a 3 digit code that stated on the transaction for verification before it can be used by right. So I'm just wondering how can it be that fast.

Because AMEX doesn't have TAC verification, so no need to know the phone num.
b00n
post Jun 4 2011, 02:34 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 4 2011, 02:31 AM)
I thikn what they meant is fraudsters usually pretend to be people with authority to call the victim and pretending to ask for personal information. Then used it for identity theft. So the advise is to call back the bank even if it's the bank whom called.
bata
post Jun 4 2011, 02:34 AM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 4 2011, 02:26 AM)
Rm2900 AA ticket ? That's pretty long haul
not sure where he want to run away sad.gif

QUOTE(b00n @ Jun 4 2011, 02:31 AM)
So when I first acted on it, the pic is already gone; i.e. photobucket gif stating that "photo/video had been removed/moved". That is why I'm surprised that I can see it now although I never had the cache before.  rclxub.gif
im not sure but yes already deleted it

Chow
erry-
post Jun 4 2011, 02:35 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jun 4 2011, 02:31 AM)
So when I first acted on it, the pic is already gone; i.e. photobucket gif stating that "photo/video had been removed/moved". That is why I'm surprised that I can see it now although I never had the cache before.  rclxub.gif
this is weird ~

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 4 2011, 02:31 AM)
this:
QUOTE(b00n @ Jun 4 2011, 02:34 AM)
I think what they meant is fraudsters usually pretend to be people with authority to call the victim and pretending to ask for personal information. Then used it for identity theft. So the advise is to call back the bank even if it's the bank whom called.

This post has been edited by erry-: Jun 4 2011, 02:37 AM

126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1023sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:42 AM