11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Official Thread, 10.1" Android Honeycomb 3.1 tablet

CyberKewl
post Jun 11 2011, 05:51 PM

2,900 posts

yeah guys please be careful when collecting your dock, the customer next to me yesterday couldn't get his dock properly aligned. but to tell you the truth there is indeed some technique to get it properly aligned and you have to put a bit (not excessive) of force to get the latch to move to the right side (which means secured). at this rate that i'm seeing no less than 10 people who are going to collect their docks will have defective ones, i wonder will they get another set? or will they just say something like "take it or leave it" (which is very very bad). seriously, asus may have messed up the marketing and stuff and having a bad PR, but evernew is also doing a super-fantastic job at making things worse.

This in turn will cause us to lose confidence in their product and also the support that we're getting. we havent even reach the stage where we have to RMA already there's so many complaints about how we are treated as customer...really disappointed with the way not only asus malaysia handled this whole pre-order deal but also disappointed with evernew for not being that helpful either (and not being polite in a way).

This post has been edited by CyberKewl: Jun 11 2011, 06:54 PM
CyberKewl
post Jun 11 2011, 07:43 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(StormZ @ Jun 11 2011, 07:39 PM)
yupppp....bought at PC3 in Lowyat....couldnt bear with the lightbleed, brought it in today, they gave me a new TF, no questions asked....the new one, has one very small spot still bleeding, but not noticeable....now feel much better
damn you're lucky, we bought from evernew and our TS here tried to ask them they said have to send back to asus service centre to determine whether exchange is needed or not...

Added on June 11, 2011, 7:47 pmBTW Atsutane-Shirane > I remember you said you will call asus highpoint in USJ? Have you called? How did it go?

This post has been edited by CyberKewl: Jun 11 2011, 07:47 PM
CyberKewl
post Jun 11 2011, 08:35 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jun 11 2011, 08:31 PM)
Am i the only one here that finds that the dock is near impossible to use? its so unresponsive and many times i cant even get it to type. For example, using the standard android browser, i can,t freaking type in the comment box. Im now using Dolphin browser to enter this post. The keyboard is too small and the keys are placed too closed to each other. Man I miss my Macbook Air. Tried to use it as a netbook but its just too slow. Now I wonder what the dock is for?
i kinda like the dock. takes time to get used to the keyboard as it is smaller but it is fine with me. maybe u can giv it a try for another week, if still dun like it u can sell it off.
CyberKewl
post Jun 11 2011, 08:59 PM

2,900 posts

Now everyone is scared of evernew...actually it is during this kind of event is where you should do your best so you can get more customers in the future. now nobody in the 200 pre-order (or even those who are reading this) would ever want tobuy anything from evernew anymore. the way they handled the whole thing was unprofessional and if this is the apprentice,donald would have said "you know what, you guys are fired".

now everyone is once bitten twice shy already.
CyberKewl
post Jun 11 2011, 09:22 PM

2,900 posts

the stock browser seems to crash a llot..quite frustrating
CyberKewl
post Jun 11 2011, 10:55 PM

2,900 posts

wah all suddenly so quiet..playing with dock?
CyberKewl
post Jun 12 2011, 12:14 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(halow @ Jun 12 2011, 11:11 AM)
Guys,

is this call bleeding ? See the pics enclosed is it normal ?
wah really bad case of bleeding..makes mine look like a really small case

Added on June 12, 2011, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Jun 12 2011, 11:46 AM)
Well according to the report... most of US get it... Usually at the bottom part which is unnoticeable...
yeah mine is at the place near the docking port too, actually u will notice it if u set brightness around 75-100% and look on black backgrounds such as in the photo gallery, it is obvious. i guess yours also same area? bottom?

Added on June 12, 2011, 12:17 pm
QUOTE(shark7 @ Jun 12 2011, 12:12 PM)
how to check the light bleeding ?
and also i heard that there a problem with speaker .right is more louder than left
how to check ??
turn your brightness to max, open a black background image in gallery (you can google it) then see if there's any light coming through from the corners of your TF. if there is just a very tiny bit, is ok, but if a lot maybe need to consider bringing into service centre to have them check to determine if can do 1 to 1 exchange @ shop. Alternatively you can try to bring it to the shop and see if they allow to exchange (as long as it is not evernew, evernew requires you to check with service centre first).

This post has been edited by CyberKewl: Jun 12 2011, 12:17 PM
CyberKewl
post Jun 12 2011, 01:13 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 12 2011, 12:52 PM)
mine is also similar... *sigh*

guys... i'll be adding the new owners to the name list and updating Pg1 in 1-2 days time. Sorry for the delay....
yours as bad as his?? wah
CyberKewl
post Jun 12 2011, 01:43 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 12 2011, 01:40 PM)
ya... top a few spots... bottom a few spots...

but din really wanna bother making noise since its only apparent/ visible during bootup or when the screen is showing pitch black background. plus, worry if i return and get a new unit with dead pixels... lagi jialat.

from what i read in XDA forum, 'repair' is usually just tightening up and covering the gaps. so, to me... kinda pointless la. but see how... maybe i log a call next week and see how. it's probably too late for a 1-to-1 anyway.
i'm also thinking of same way...maybe asus can repair this easily at their service centre..hopefully..then no need to exchange
CyberKewl
post Jun 12 2011, 05:05 PM

2,900 posts

looks like everyone is pretty contented even with light bleed..i'm somewhat contented but i prefer if no bleeding...
CyberKewl
post Jun 12 2011, 06:04 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 12 2011, 05:46 PM)
Even the great iPad2 has bleeding problems and is in all units
yeah seems pretty normal for IPS panels it seems, but i think if its minor one then i guess still can live with it

Added on June 12, 2011, 6:05 pm
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 12 2011, 05:46 PM)
Even the great iPad2 has bleeding problems and is in all units
i take it that your unit has light bleed issues too (transformer)?

This post has been edited by CyberKewl: Jun 12 2011, 06:05 PM
CyberKewl
post Jun 12 2011, 06:31 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Jun 12 2011, 06:23 PM)
got my self a belkin bag which could fit TF on dock. Fit just nice.
[attachmentid=2269515]
[attachmentid=2269518]
[attachmentid=2269510]

using my TF on dockto add this reply.
nice how much did u buy this?
CyberKewl
post Jun 12 2011, 09:13 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Jun 12 2011, 09:09 PM)
android has office apps?or need to buy?
android doesnt have built in office apps but the eee pad transformer does come bundled with polaris office where u can use it to open/save office files. however do note that the format that it can save is office 2003 formats only but i've been told that it can open up office 2007 files (like .docx, .pptx, etc).
CyberKewl
post Jun 12 2011, 09:59 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(matmon @ Jun 12 2011, 09:57 PM)
Do we need screen protector?
I thought ours is gorilla glass?
not necessary but good to have because it is scratch rsistant not scratch proof. two different things. means still can scratch.
CyberKewl
post Jun 13 2011, 08:22 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 13 2011, 08:19 AM)
just checking... anyone with Honeycomb 3.1 before getting the dock... after you get the dock, any firmware updates? i dun have any updates yet until today.

also, added new owners to the list on Pg. if i missed out anyone, please PM me. added keyboard shortcuts as well. many thanks the CyberKewl for this. will do a 'known issues' section shortly.

Added on June 13, 2011, 8:21 amoh ya... how many showed off their TF during the angry birds thingy? smile.gif i din go...
nope i didnt get any updates either, most likely the updates came with 3.1 and it is already installed on the tablet. i guess it doesnt get installed on the dock actually but rather on the tablet regardless of whether we had the dock at the time of the update or not.
CyberKewl
post Jun 13 2011, 08:49 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Jun 13 2011, 08:42 AM)
the eee pad looks like my notebook  but the function is less than my notebook..i cant do office work efficiently with eee pad like my notebook.

i'm still looking for reason to get this
erm..if you're looking to work as efficiently as when you have a real notebook, dont buy the eee pad transformer. the transformer is more of a hybrid android 3 touchscreen OS + netbook when you dock it on the docking station. you can do some work, but it can never beat a standard windows OS. i'm not sure what your purpose of buying this device, if it is to replace your notebook you'd better get a real netbook (if you want a smaller size device that is) or stick with your existing notebook. but if what you want is a hybrid touchscreen android netbook, then you're looking at the right device.
CyberKewl
post Jun 13 2011, 11:26 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jun 13 2011, 10:23 AM)
i was wondering wat makes asus TF so special? i love it, but i was wondering wat is the different with TF compared to other tablet?i mean, if u say about it can attached to its keyboard, i thought most other tablets can do that is it n they hav their own physical keyboard am i right? soguys do explain why this TF is outstanding compared to others..  notworthy.gif  innocent.gif
why does it sound like you either have an ipad or other android tablet instead of the transformer? cos if you actually read reviews all over the world, you'd see that everyone is raving about this device until there's shortages everywhere especially the keyboard dock bundle. The keyboard dock is different than any other for the following reasons:

1) Transformer keyboard dock VS apple IPAD / IPAD 2's keyboard dock accessory : Transformer's dock allows you to dock the tablet directly with the dock in LANDSCAPE mode unlike IPAD / IPAD 2's (you're docking it wrong concept) which docks the device in PORTRAIT mode..i mean come on, if you want to type an email, isn't it better to type in landscape mode where you have mode real estate screen space?

2) Transformer's keyboard dock has an extra battery in it claiming to increase the battery life up to 16 hours together with the tablet when both are in full charge

3) Transformer's keyboard dock has 2 USB ports and a full sized SD. Sure, there are some tablets like the acer iconia already having USB ports on the tablet itself, but if you're ok with having just a tablet with no keyboard dock, go ahead and get the iconia if it serves your purpose well.

4) Did I mention that the transformer's keyboard dock has dedicated trackpad built into it, with a single button that can differentiate between left and right click? Right click functionality behaves like the android OS back button. Also, the transformer keyboard has dedicated shortcut keys to the android OS itself such as back button, wireless toggle, bluetooth toggle, brightness setting, screenshot (YES!), browser, media player controls, volume controls, screen lock..you get the picture..if you were to be getting a normal bluetooth keyboard or standard USB keyboard, i doubt the function keys on it would be able to interact with the OS as shortcut keys for the functions i just listed. What more could you ask for??

So there you have it. I've rolled out the great features about the dock. Its really something, not your average tablet + keyboard dock combo. For the price of the keyboard dock which is RM 300 (if you buy the bundle pack tablet + keyboard dock that is), it is a lot more worth it compared to ipad's RM 229 keyboard dock that doesnt have any extra battery pack, no extra usb ports for plugging in external storage/keyboard/mice, no SD card reader..how's that for special ? tongue.gif
CyberKewl
post Jun 13 2011, 11:50 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Jun 13 2011, 11:38 AM)
My TF will slowly replace my notebook for mobile usage. As specially when most of the old projector replace by HDMI supported model.

Now I still need to bring my notebook only "if" need to connect VGA projector and do some network testing/configuration with RJ45.

And 2 more things I want to find out are
  1. How to print  hmm.gif
  2. Ext USB DVD Supported or not

For me one of the main reason get Pad is reduce paper printing .. but still need to print once in a while  sweat.gif
for printing i think you can try to use the cloud print (beta) app in the market. havnt tried it yet but should work. basically it links with your google chrome if not mistaken. you still need a pc that links to your printer.
CyberKewl
post Jun 13 2011, 11:59 AM

2,900 posts

same here i turn off trackpad when i'm typing a lot, if its just simple typing lik login info or url i usually will leave the trackpad on.
CyberKewl
post Jun 13 2011, 05:48 PM

2,900 posts

Yeah what to do, early adopters always like this but remember, we get to experience the device first hand. anyway that's how things goes in tech world.

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0399sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:04 AM