121 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 1st Signing of The Summer - Phil Jones!

pyroboy1911
post Jun 13 2011, 04:36 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

How many good British keeper are there in the first place? Even the young Joe Hart makes 2 mistakes in england's recent game. Mistakes just can't seem to evade English goalies. Throw in Roy Carroll from Northen Ireland and you get the whole "British keepers" sweat.gif

At the very least we still have Ben Amos to give it a try smile.gif
Wan
post Jun 13 2011, 04:37 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Jun 12 2011, 10:48 PM)
If we sign Young, I think it's fine if we do not sign Modric or Sneijder. Giggs can move to centre while Nani and Young can fight for left side position. Cleverly can be used ala Anderson last season. Anderson needs to step up and become a prominent figure for our centre midfield next season. Carrick still can play.

So, we got Carrick, Giggs, Anderson, and Cleverly there. Rooney can drop deep as well. Not as good as what we all have been wishing for, but good enough for me.
Only problem is that Cleverley is not a CM. AM he's fine, but he's no natural CM, not yet anyways. Hardly plays there. Mostly used wide left. If we use 3 CMs, he'll okay. I think we'll sign a CM with us losing 3 guys playing there. But won't be surprised if SAF don't and put his trust in the likes of Morrison, Tuncliffe and Pogba to provide cover if he feels one of them is special enough. But it might be too soon for that.

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 12 2011, 11:08 PM)
fuhh closing the deal with £20m not sure what to say but were either that desperate, or weve couldnt care less or last but not least all is just press writing what they dont know.

the plot is yet to be fully exposed we will see what happens, and i doubt were paying the £20m..some how it doesnt feel like fergie.
Agree, I doubt we're paying 20m if the clause is 16m. SAF can be stubborn at times and once he wants a player, he will try at all cost as long as it doesn't reach the limit set by the club.

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Jun 13 2011, 12:31 AM)
before Glazer take over : 9.6M per season spending
after Glazer take over : 2.4M per season

shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
That is net spend or just buying figure?

It shows they've been shrewd in transfers considering the amount of success since then. biggrin.gif
1m VDS, 5m Evra, 7m Vidic, 7m Chicharito, 10m Smalling(expensive at the time, but his performance have been very good so far), the twins 2-3m..

QUOTE(roti-terbakar @ Jun 13 2011, 08:03 AM)
Easy, we're actually paying the extra 4 mil for vaselines, to keep other teams from butthurted. but i think they're butthurted already. hmm. rolleyes.gif
One red team already butthurt to the max. Hehehe.

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jun 13 2011, 04:24 PM)
How come no more news on charlie adams? Everyone give up dy? biggrin.gif
Liverpool got him in the bag already. SAF kesian we already hijack Young and Jones from them, so give chance lah.

--
As for P.Jones transfer.. last I heard was that Blackburn was trying hard to include Diouf into the deal as well but obviously SAF wanted to keep him so that Sheep will continue to help us jinx our opponents for the foreseeable future. Won't be surprised if he got the #9 jersey once we swap Berbatov for Modric!.

Added on June 13, 2011, 4:42 pmWe should break the bank for Wilshere. If that fails, get Ramsey. Throw Brown and O'Shea to Arsenal to plug their leaky defence. Tell them we would gladly take Almunia as well from them for free. I'm sure they can't wait to see the back of him. We could do with an experience backup to De Gea and would help De Gea settles into the club. Win win.

This post has been edited by Wan: Jun 13 2011, 04:42 PM
fronaldo
post Jun 13 2011, 04:47 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Jun 13 2011, 09:58 AM)

future twin tower for United at the center back? brows.gif  brows.gif
yeah another rio-vidic in da making...

rio,smalling= nike t90....vidic,jones=puma...coincidence.... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by fronaldo: Jun 13 2011, 04:52 PM
yhtan
post Jun 13 2011, 04:56 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jun 13 2011, 04:36 PM)
How many good British keeper are there in the first place? Even the young Joe Hart makes 2 mistakes in england's recent game. Mistakes just can't seem to evade English goalies. Throw in Roy Carroll from Northen Ireland and you get the whole "British keepers" sweat.gif

At the very least we still have Ben Amos to give it a try smile.gif
for the past 2 decades, only David Seaman fit the best GK for British, even through his blunder sometimes annoy the team laugh.gif
O-haiyo
post Jun 13 2011, 05:02 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Jun 13 2011, 04:37 PM)
Only problem is that Cleverley is not a CM. AM he's fine, but he's no natural CM, not yet anyways. Hardly plays there. Mostly used wide left. If we use 3 CMs, he'll okay. I think we'll sign a CM with us losing 3 guys playing there. But won't be surprised if SAF don't and put his trust in the likes of Morrison, Tuncliffe and Pogba to provide cover if he feels one of them is special enough. But it might be too soon for that.

Maybe, but game nowadays if you can play AM, you probably can play CM as well although you will need to adjust a little bit. But you are right that he needs more time. I hope he can play once a while next season and impress us. If you look at his goals for Wigan/reserve/Watford, they all came from middle of the penalty box. Plus his physical and body language looks like younger Scholes! thumbup.gif

Added on June 13, 2011, 5:07 pmI seriously hope that Cleverly, Welback, Macheda can make the grades alongside the twins and Smalling next 2 seasons. If this happen, we might see another Fergie Fledgling v2. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by O-haiyo: Jun 13 2011, 05:07 PM
Wan
post Jun 13 2011, 05:18 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Jun 13 2011, 05:02 PM)
Maybe, but game nowadays if you can play AM, you probably can play CM as well although you will need to adjust a little bit. But you are right that he needs more time. I hope he can play once a while next season and impress us. If you look at his goals for Wigan/reserve/Watford, they all came from middle of the penalty box. Plus his physical and body language looks like younger Scholes! thumbup.gif

Added on June 13, 2011, 5:07 pmI seriously hope that Cleverly, Welback, Macheda can make the grades alongside the twins and Smalling next 2 seasons. If this happen, we might see another Fergie Fledgling v2. biggrin.gif
In a 3 CM setup, probably, but in a 2 CM setup it will take more than just time. He's not your classic winger who hug the line, or run at the fullbacks with the ball.. but he's more like Park roam all over the place. His movement is very good, and his touch and passing is pretty good as well. He's not flashy, but he's gonna be really effective for whoever he plays. Always make something happens in the final third. In time he'll probably be converted there in CM, but in the meantime he'll be used more in an attacking position be it wing or in front of the CMs.

I have my doubts about Macheda, but Cleverley and Welbeck have a chance. Morrison and Pogba hopefully will play some part in the cup games. Morrison could go all the way.
pyroboy1911
post Jun 13 2011, 05:23 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

I think its the other way round la. CM back then like Scholes, can have no problem playing up front as AM, even as ST. Or CM like Butt and Keane, can move back and be DM. But nowadays i think too specialized. Younger AM, for example Ozil, if u try putting him in CM with the view to defend when opponent dont have the ball, i think he will have a tough time adjusting. But those are pure AM, someone like Kaka. Maybe Cleverley can play CM coz of the toughness of the English game.

nowadays very difficult to find a CM who can adjust to DM or AM depending on tactics, the best example would be Stevie G. Once quoted as the "both the best attacker and defender in the Liverpool squad" laugh.gif
Wan
post Jun 13 2011, 05:32 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

It didn't happen overnight for Scholes=CM. Started out as a striker/forward in his first season, and I guess only in his 3rd/4th season he played regularly in the middle.
nshady
post Jun 13 2011, 05:33 PM

354 posts

Actually Joe Hart has been really great despite his age. He was birmingham's key player and he has been fantastic for man city last season. He was also listed in the PFA team of the year(As GK of course). The two goals, obviously first one was rio's mistake and second one sort of blunder from hart. But if you compare him with the likes of Green, James and Robinson, I think he is much better.

I don't know how are we going to adjust with abundant of youngsters like welbeck, macheda, cleverley, obertan, and if you want to add diouf(not young of course). I guess we will only know when next season starts. We have a really huge squad, and we shall see how SAF handles the team. smile.gif

This post has been edited by nshady: Jun 13 2011, 05:37 PM
pyroboy1911
post Jun 13 2011, 05:45 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

yeah hart has been good over the years. But since Seaman, he's the most promising one, just shows that solid English keeper is a rare breed laugh.gif 2nd best would probably be Paul Robinson and Robert Green, while may be superb at times but i wouldnt count on their consistency. Regardless, VDS has set a very high standard for coming goalies.
Wan
post Jun 13 2011, 05:49 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jun 13 2011, 05:23 PM)
I think its the other way round la. CM back then like Scholes, can have no problem playing up front as AM, even as ST. Or CM like Butt and Keane, can move back and be DM. But nowadays i think too specialized. Younger AM, for example Ozil, if u try putting him in CM with the view to defend when opponent dont have the ball, i think he will have a tough time adjusting. But those are pure AM, someone like Kaka. Maybe Cleverley can play CM coz of the toughness of the English game.

nowadays very difficult to find a CM who can adjust to DM or AM depending on tactics, the best example would be Stevie G. Once quoted as the "both the best attacker and defender in the Liverpool squad" laugh.gif
I think we need to go Spanish finding that CM. Comfortable on the ball, good passer, but don't have to be an AM/DM. As we saw with Barca, none of their 3 CMs are what you call a pure DM, but we hardly trouble them. They showed us we don't have to go tackling everything in sight or rough teams up. They just work hard at closing spaces and defending as a team. And all of them are comfortable on the ball. Even if our players close them down, they always can find space to turn around and make a pass. Why oh why Hargreaves and Fletcher not available/fit enough at the same time twice now in different finals! Arrghh. Would have been interesting to see how SAF would have played if we got at least one of those guys fit and in form. Nobody else better at pressing aside from those two in the middle.

I wonder who we are targeting. I wish we know what SAF is thinking right now because honestly outside of Wilshere, Fabregas, those guys at Barca, not sure anybody else fits the description, aside from Modric probably. Sneijder got question mark in whether he would excel playing centrally having to defend as well. If he can do that, he'll be perfect.

nshady
post Jun 13 2011, 05:49 PM

354 posts

Lindegaard looks very good too. He won both Norwegian Goalkeeper Of The Year (1): 2010 and Danish Goalkeeper Of The Year (1): 2010. Wow, he looks like one low profile player here, but if someone can win both at the same year, definitely there's something inside him. I'm just afraid if De Gea becomes number 1 in the team, some other team will come and snap him up!

This post has been edited by nshady: Jun 13 2011, 05:50 PM
Wan
post Jun 13 2011, 06:00 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jun 13 2011, 05:45 PM)
yeah hart has been good over the years. But since Seaman, he's the most promising one, just shows that solid English keeper is a rare breed laugh.gif 2nd best would probably be Paul Robinson and Robert Green, while may be superb at times but i wouldnt count on their consistency. Regardless, VDS has set a very high standard for coming goalies.
It will be as hard as back then. Bosnich was okay for a while considering he was on a free shit kicking though, after that we spent big on Barthez.. and later on potential in Howard.. all didn't work out until we got VDS. Failure at Juve, and join the mini-rich club in Fulham and stayed under the radar for a while. Thank god that time he was available. 6 great seasons. I'd take another signing like that even for 5 years only.

QUOTE(nshady @ Jun 13 2011, 05:49 PM)
Lindegaard looks very good too. He won both Norwegian Goalkeeper Of The Year (1): 2010 and Danish Goalkeeper Of The Year (1): 2010. Wow, he looks like one low profile player here, but if someone can win both at the same year, definitely there's something inside him. I'm just afraid if De Gea becomes number 1 in the team, some other team will come and snap him up!
If SAF thought he's the #1, SAF will said so from the beginning. He's been brought in to be a backup sadly for him. Although if we end up with De Gea he has a chance since De Gea will likely make some mistakes at some point.
Reon
post Jun 13 2011, 06:18 PM

One Club Man
3,907 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Jun 13 2011, 05:49 PM)
I think we need to go Spanish finding that CM. Comfortable on the ball, good passer, but don't have to be an AM/DM. As we saw with Barca, none of their 3 CMs are what you call a pure DM, but we hardly trouble them. They showed us we don't have to go tackling everything in sight or rough teams up. They just work hard at closing spaces and defending as a team. And all of them are comfortable on the ball. Even if our players close them down, they always can find space to turn around and make a pass. Why oh why Hargreaves and Fletcher not available/fit enough at the same time twice now in different finals! Arrghh. Would have been interesting to see how SAF would have played if we got at least one of those guys fit and in form. Nobody else better at pressing aside from those two in the middle.

I wonder who we are targeting. I wish we know what SAF is  thinking right now because honestly outside of Wilshere, Fabregas, those guys at Barca, not sure anybody else fits the description, aside from Modric probably. Sneijder got question mark in whether he would excel playing centrally having to defend as well. If he can do that, he'll be perfect.
Like +1 biggrin.gif

Look at how many strong DM Madrid has? Yet, the Barca midfielders which compliments each other had successfully torn them apart, not once, not twice, but few occasions. Their passing game is just too hard to catch and easily drain up all the energy which leads to Barca always controlling the game with their tempo. Then, one spontaneous pass that leads to a Messi's goal. doh.gif

We definitely need a CM who is comfortable with the ball and can compose for attack. We always missed that space in the middle to feed the strikers. Other teams probably know that all the chances will be delivered from the sides since we lack the central force. We really need 1 or 2 CM to fill that gap! laugh.gif
nshady
post Jun 13 2011, 06:35 PM

354 posts

Actually Madrid's strategy worked quite well against barca. If you have watched their game, they used 3 DMs to counter barca. Until when 1 person got red-carded, everything changed.
fr4g*st3r
post Jun 13 2011, 06:43 PM

t(-.-t) D4rţĥ_fr4g5t3r t(-.-t)
1,911 posts

QUOTE(Reon @ Jun 13 2011, 06:18 PM)
Like +1  biggrin.gif

Look at how many strong DM Madrid has? Yet, the Barca midfielders which compliments each other had successfully torn them apart, not once, not twice, but few occasions. Their passing game is just too hard to catch and easily drain up all the energy which leads to Barca always controlling the game with their tempo. Then, one spontaneous pass that leads to a Messi's goal. doh.gif

We definitely need a CM who is comfortable with the ball and can compose for attack. We always missed that space in the middle to feed the strikers. Other teams probably know that all the chances will be delivered from the sides since we lack the central force. We really need 1 or 2 CM to fill that gap!  laugh.gif
Affermative +1 nod.gif

We are in need of a Scholesly Gen2, one which does all the "sat-nav" link ups between the back four and the front. Once this gap is filled, I consider the current team to be near to perfect. Well, if Mr De Gea is confirmed wearing a red Nike (ooppss... black for GK) kit by next season.

This post has been edited by fr4g*st3r: Jun 13 2011, 06:44 PM
mhyug
post Jun 13 2011, 07:09 PM

1,553 posts

he was forced from the field in the 84th minute when an off-the-ball incident left him nursing a black eye.

gla ka apa..the gaffer musti bengang....dah he had no rest, a sure candidate to miss the pre season....
dlct87
post Jun 13 2011, 07:16 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 13 2011, 07:09 PM)
gla ka apa..the gaffer musti bengang....dah he had no rest, a sure candidate to miss the pre season....
who? Chicharito?
nshady
post Jun 13 2011, 07:22 PM

354 posts

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...is-Sanchez.html

I think next season we will play like this

Young -- Rooney -- Sanchez--

Nani-----Fletcher --- Valencia

LOL
mhyug
post Jun 13 2011, 07:23 PM