Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

TSstimix
post Nov 14 2011, 03:56 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For temperature not less than 10C, no need scarf & glove-lah. Only if below 10c or even lower, you need a scarf. Glove if below 5C

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Nov 10 2011, 09:00 AM)
Wa..need scarf n gloves too? Didn't intend to get that cuz i'm a person who can stand cold but then again, its possible to buy it there right if i do need. Going there for 6 nights

Added on November 14, 2011, 4:03 pmIf strong wind, the 17C can drop to 13C and will be hily but still no need scarf & glove-lah...Anyway, at 17C without wind is actualy nice temperature and almost similar to ~ 21C in CH/Genting not the other way round.. Over there it is dry but Genting is wet & cool.

I just came back from Beijing.. on avg Afternoon- Evening temperature avg 14C and nite & early Morning ~ 6- 10C. Still no need scarf & glove even Nite & early Morning.. OK only.. but once temp drop to 5C, yes need scarf liao. normal glove also can at 5C & below
QUOTE(storm88 @ Nov 13 2011, 11:11 PM)
sorry. can't help you much as i seldom stay at that area.

I think 17C is somehow even COLDER than genting highlands. So don't try challenge the weather.
and yes, you should get yourself at least jacket, scarf and glove

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 14 2011, 04:03 PM
TSstimix
post Nov 15 2011, 09:11 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I was there mid Dec 2009, and temperature is not as cold as what I expected lor. Yes really yoyo. On the day I arrived.. I was shocked bcos it was not cool but hot temp at 26C. Only on nxt day temp dropped to 20C and the 3rd day avg 18-20C wth nite & early Morning temperature ~ 15C. Only in Jan & Feb Taiwan temp will drop further to ~ 10C. Infact I dunno why but comparing Hong Kong & Macau which is having lower latitude than Taiwan, That area is much colder.

Anyway, as you say, probably personal lor..but also you must see the overall Taipeis folks style of winter wear.. If they dun wear glove and you go and wear abit odd lor haha.. Just like last week when I arrived at Beijing and Temperature that day Evening ~ 14C. Well I feel more like CH nite time nia..~17C CH. just wear a sweater.. I can see few M'sian on plane wearing thick witer clothing which is odd compare wth overall folks in Tianjin and Beijing wearing only sweater just like me. Only Early Morning & nit when temperature drop to ~ 8C and sometime as low as 6C (Well reported as 2C in weather underground??)..I just wear a down jacket wth a tee-shirt inside. no scarf & even glove..so do most Beijing folks. If I wear glove & scarf, it will very odd in Beijing haha..Probably by nxt mth when Beijing temp drop below 0C - yes. you need additional tee/ long John wth down jacket + scarf + glove for sure.. esp when temperature below -10C as what I experienced in Seoul last dec
QUOTE(storm88 @ Nov 14 2011, 11:10 PM)
scarf or glove anot, i think it's quite personal. Let say if you can tahan 1 hour 16C aircond, you might have no problem staying out there at Taiwan. If not, trust me, dont try...

Taiwan's climate is dry at Dec/Jan...
TSstimix
post Nov 15 2011, 11:26 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I din visit the Gold ecological park but straight to Jiufen via Keelung after Morning till afternoon visit to Yehliu geopark.

I think posible if you dun cover Yehliu.
TSstimix
post Nov 16 2011, 07:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

BTW, talking about weather in Taiwan esp Taipei, I hv been following closely the weather pattern for weeks after my last trip back to M'sia 2 yrs ago and still can't understand it..Taipei of having higher latitude than Hong Kong but from my observation & comparison on same mth & almost same date, Hong Kong having colder or almost similar weather as Taipei.. rclxub.gif

Just check the current weather of both cities from days now and you will understand what I'm talking about biggrin.gif

1) Hong Kong: http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findwe...query=hong+kong

2) Taipei: http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findwe...st?query=taipei
TSstimix
post Nov 16 2011, 10:25 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well, probably due to maritime monsoon as you said really kenot brain it haha.

Anyway, trust that weather website data-lah...pretty accurate wth +- 3C. Now only 24C what where got 17C haha. Infact those weather website reporting abit lower than actual wan..Just like my last week Beijing trip. Website mentioned 2C but my own thermometer that I carried wth me showing 6C nia...and daytime website mentioned 12C my thermometer showing 16C nia.

TSstimix
post Nov 16 2011, 12:11 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I normally put outside the open window edge wan haha..for eg..this was taken last week and I put my thermometer outside the edge of the window overnite.. Well, not the coldest Morning as I recorded ~ 6C on one Morning last week but temperature on weatherunderground that time reported much colder at 3C.. hmm.gif ..

Similar reading recorded when I was in Seoul last yr. For eg, one cold Morning, I recorded minus -10C but weatherunderground showing minus-15C.. probably they took the wind effect kua haha

QUOTE(aiyume @ Nov 16 2011, 10:35 AM)
maybe the thermometer placed at different location XD
TSstimix
post Nov 16 2011, 12:35 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just check the history pg of weather underground or any other weather website can dy. Depending on early, mid or end Feb lor. Early Feb probably still cold ~ 10-12C, Mid Feb ~ 15C & late Feb ~ 18C for eg:

Or check the chart on pg1

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 16 2011, 11:20 AM)
hello,

want to ask, how's the weather look like in Taiwan on Feb?
This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 16 2011, 12:36 PM
TSstimix
post Nov 16 2011, 03:32 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I'm not sure about that website bcos I cant read chinese & probably showing area ~ Mountaneous region/ ALishan?

but FYI, that temp I posted earlier by me in Beijing last week...and on arrival the bullet train outside temperature showing 14-15C and I still wearing normal sweater and feeling just like CH nite time nia haha.. So it will not be really cold in Taipei lah. except closer to end of Dec & Jan. when temperature probably similar to Beijing/Seoul end Oct- Early Nov Temperature

Weatherunderground & lotsa wether website kenot be wrong

Added on November 16, 2011, 3:38 pmOr on your website...I just saw temp ~ 25-26C just about right wth those weatherunderground what...nothing diff what?

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 16 2011, 03:38 PM
TSstimix
post Nov 16 2011, 04:20 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes I know esp those mountaneous areas like Alishan & Mt Huanshan ..Well Mt Huanshan even slow in Jan what haha

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 16 2011, 04:24 PM
TSstimix
post Nov 17 2011, 09:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just take it the sunrise & sunset almost similar to Sabah/Sarawak timing lor haha. BTW, Pen M'sia is probably the only rebelion country wth weird/odd sunrise & sunset hours..all tnx to our Govt (inc Singapore) suka-suka go and change our timing to conform wth Hong Kong & Sabah & Sarawak timing.. Other visitors elsewhere will feel odd when they experience sunset at 7pm haha

QUOTE(ukiya @ Nov 17 2011, 12:31 AM)
Wondering what time shopping complex/night market in Taiwan close? Since their sunset around 5:30pm, so i m assume its "evening period" around 4pm, closed same time with us 10pm?

Also wondering what time they usually wake up, eg work n so on!?
TSstimix
post Nov 17 2011, 11:40 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

You will not feel odd or weird when you visited more countries and most of them also sunset ~ 5:30 to 6pm...haha..Pen M'sia is the one really odd having sunset at 7pm
TSstimix
post Nov 17 2011, 08:47 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

nice try but this is not kopitiam biggrin.gif
QUOTE(k8118k @ Nov 17 2011, 08:35 PM)
taiwan midnight 3-4am the sun already very bright
This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 17 2011, 08:47 PM
TSstimix
post Nov 22 2011, 10:01 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wawasan already out of business since early Oct till now. So right now there is actually no online money changer rate references liao till wawasan get the licensing matter settled.

Anyway, from past experiences, changing to US$ 1st & thereafter to NT$ will save you ~ RM30 for every RM1000 converted to US comparing to direct conversion. If you willing to absorb this losses, just change direct.

And anothe rgood option is to withdraw from ATM. you will be charged ~ RM12 to (?) per transaction (Depending on banks)..and the rate is better than Money changers for sure.
TSstimix
post Nov 23 2011, 06:59 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I went to Taroko during winter but DIY.. i.e bought own train ticket & hire a day taxi there.

QUOTE(bleachzrockz @ Nov 23 2011, 12:20 AM)
Hi guys, will be going to taiwan on this coming year end december..just wondering if i should include taroko into our itinerary..i mean can we visit taroko in winter...and has anyone followed this bus tour thingy before??http://www2.taiwantourbus.com.tw//Schdule/Content/?id=99

thx a lot!!
This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 23 2011, 07:00 AM
TSstimix
post Nov 23 2011, 12:36 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well I went there in a group of 4. If I refer to my earlier posting..the return train ticket ~ RM80/pax, hiring taxi - RM200/4 =RM50/pax & food very negligible-lah same like KL..~RM5/pax/lunch. So total = RM135/pax
TSstimix
post Nov 28 2011, 12:39 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Better book online or once u are in Taipei, 1st thing, goto main station and prebook 2 days earlier.. Even I bought a day earlier at the ticket counter, most of the express seat for Tomorrow trip almost full dy..I was lucky that day but too bad on return trip, no more Taroko express seat & even no seat ticket - I was on standby normal train meaning.. if the seat already prebooked, I hv to vacate for others...My family hv to switch few times during the return journey to give way sad.gif Once I hv to sit on the floor! cry.gif
QUOTE(bleachzrockz @ Nov 27 2011, 11:35 PM)
hey stimix..got a ques here..the train to taroko gorge..do we need to book online 1st or straight away buy there on the spot??/can get or not???thx bro..

Added on November 28, 2011, 12:40 amThe front pg link is to the lateast online rate at Taipei airport liao smile.gif
QUOTE(Bkboy @ Nov 28 2011, 12:11 AM)
hallo...2 more days to go...change all to usd liao folo stimix advice...anyone who just back from taiwan...what is the rate 1USD to NT$ at taoyuan airport money changer.... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  thx....lol 2night need kaotim my assignment ...panda eye liao haha
This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 28 2011, 12:40 AM
TSstimix
post Nov 30 2011, 10:38 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No need deposit but you need to pay full upon check-in.
TSstimix
post Dec 5 2011, 07:37 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If no more seat tickets, you still can take the "Stanby ticket" which mean standing-lah haha.
TSstimix
post Dec 6 2011, 08:25 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ringgit Malaysia is even worst if you change in Taiwan if I'm not mistaken. If you do not want to change to USD & thereafter to NT$, might as well change all RM to NT$ in KL. Anyway by switching to RM>USD>NT$ only will save you RM30-RM40 for every RM1000 you change. So if you do not want to be troublesome, change all RM to NT$ locally. RM is very rare in Taiwan..well except in Taoyuen airport
TSstimix
post Dec 9 2011, 02:24 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If u dun spend a lot, Taipei is just like KL and if all hotels already paid for or you going to pay via Credt card..Just budget the same as though you're in KL. well...If KL, 1 week ~ RM200...inc of tranport & food..even RM200 also can dy. but if you want to spend, than..budget another RM500 to RM1k lor.

Da'an area is ~ Taipei 101..abit pricey kua and the food court food in Taipei 101 probably just like the price or slightly expensive than KLCC food court..budget the same lor..I can't think of any nice food in Taipei bcos none of the food ther really good compare to M'sia haha..

Just eat what you can find lah..famous one probably Ah Chong mee sua in Ximending or shihlin nite food market - fried chicken & lousy ocien..or stinky tofu?..All within the reach of MRT from any stations in Da'an

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1768sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:47 PM