112 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Comics Thread V2, DC, Marvel, Image

TomChu
post May 29 2012, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(sil3nC3_10 @ May 29 2012, 12:03 PM)
Oh really? Thats a bit sad to hear. I think Marvel's epic summer events nowadays are lots of hype but the quality might be diminishing.

I heard Fear Itself wasn't a satisfactory read as well. AvsX  has a nice premise to me but i think 12 issues is a bit too long. I mean how long can u stretch the coming of the Phoenix?  hmm.gif

I have heard many good things about Wolvie & the X-men, might pick it up if my allowance permit it.  biggrin.gif

I think Marvel should really distinguish their characters a bit more like not making 1 hero be in so many teams. It dilutes the character & can lead to inconsistency among books. Team books are hard to manage as it is especially if each has their own solo book. the answer is just crowd control.

But these are my humble opinions. I am also a Marvel fan so now i collect based on the quality of the writer. Dan Slott & Rick Remender are 2 of my favourite writers at the House of Ideas.  rclxms.gif
Marvel keeps on shouting out how good their events are going to be, but it ends up being dissapointing. Fear Itself was borderline decent, if not bad. AvX is just hilarious because everyone is so out of character. Its funny how I see people complain about AvX, but i still pick it up every month tongue.gif

Wolvie is definitely a worthy read. Picking up back issues might be hard, especially issue 1 which can whip up RM50 off ebay. yawn.gif

Remender's Venom and Uncanny X-Force (well, everything except issue 20-23) were really good. Remender's work is definitely top quality.

The last few titles I can really suggest before it reaches reading just because of fanboyism is Hickman's Fantastic Four and Waid's Daredevil.
marky_dormy2
post May 29 2012, 09:54 PM

25 posts

i dont know is it me or john romita jr art sucks in AVsX

BTW, have u all read Hardcore by Rob. Kirkman?I liked itt

This post has been edited by marky_dormy2: May 30 2012, 05:21 PM
hadijalil
post Jun 4 2012, 09:53 PM

Short Link to other of my comic link (Sorry if this is illegal) LOL

Selling some of my stuff
Found i have a few Batman Vengeance of Bane II left at my house LOL...Selling Cheap RM25 for LowYat Comic Fans.. Also have a rare spare of Batman:Bane Special... Link :

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2373722

CHeap Omnibus (Marvel Secret Wars, X-Men Omnibus Classic & Jim Lee (Selling for a friend) :
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2373630

Cheap Batman TOys (Harley Quinn) , Return of Bruce Wayne & Yamato Batman
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2373679

A bit quiet at the Comic Thread nowadays post MGCC LOL smile.gif
Cherasman
post Jun 7 2012, 10:39 PM

Quick Ad - minta maaf moderators smile.gif

Looking to buy Avengers vs X-men and looking to sell Avengers: X-sanction mini #1-4

pls pm me smile.gif
keropok_jojo
post Jun 8 2012, 04:01 PM

QUOTE(Cherasman @ Jun 7 2012, 10:39 PM)
Quick Ad - minta maaf moderators smile.gif

Looking to buy Avengers vs X-men and looking to sell Avengers: X-sanction mini #1-4

pls pm me smile.gif
You can call "Comics Corner" Damansara Jaya and check whether they still have the AVX from issue 0. Last week they are still selling it but at a "premier" price laaa.
I was also like you before, calling/going here and there to find the AVX comic & stop looking after i deal with Comics Corner Damansara Jaya :-)

keropok_jojo
post Jun 8 2012, 04:06 PM

Another comic that i can recommend is "Batman Incorporated". Find it very interesting and cater to my taste plus i'm having the "dark knight rises" fever and is psych on any batman related items. ehehe

http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=user_review&id=4775

Loto
post Jun 8 2012, 07:22 PM

114 posts

Aku nak recommend ni, gak

Supes landed in Ukraine, USSR in the '30s in a collective farm instead of Smallville, turned into a superhuman weapon/miracle worker, lacks several of canon Supes' weaknesses yet still retains his noble personality, abandoned personal his life and how that impacts his 'life' aaaand Lex Luthor grew hair. Yes, HAIR.

Definately worth a read and it's some of the best Elseworlds comic available. Dunno if it's here in Malaysia but seriously, this is excellent

Edit: Also, Mouse Guard
Memang mahal (RM80+ satu buku) but worth it.

This post has been edited by Loto: Jun 8 2012, 07:31 PM
kneok
post Jun 11 2012, 04:23 PM

323 posts

How's scarlet spider so far? was thinking of picking it up in trade
Jeyanj
post Jun 14 2012, 05:21 PM

57 posts

Greetings,

I've just started a comic group on facebook called Comicholic, which is solely intended for the comic collector in mind.

It's main objectives are to provide Comic Collectors to request comics that they want or need, in order to complete their own collections ... postings would then be viewed by other collectors or retailers, that would then contact you to sell you what you want.

I've already listed down a couple of comics that I am looking for in the group, hopefully would be able to find someone that is willing to sell it to me.

By the way, i'm more of a American Comic collector, and my comic collections are, and not limited to ... Alien Vs Predator, PREDATOR, Batman, Spawn, JLA, Sandman, Transformers and a whole lot more. Prefer collecting singles though, but at times i'll get the Tradepaperbacks as it's much cheaper smile.gif

Regards.

TSevoHahn
post Jun 15 2012, 11:03 AM

Mika !
1,711 posts

QUOTE(kneok @ Jun 11 2012, 04:23 PM)
How's scarlet spider so far? was thinking of picking it up in trade
Its been great. I like Yost writing. Kaine is portrayed as a reluctant super hero.
TSevoHahn
post Jun 17 2012, 09:46 PM

Mika !
1,711 posts

Todays hauls

Batman Inc looks like its status quo like pre DC reboots. I still have stack of comics from last two weeks still unread lol
Sauron76
post Jun 17 2012, 09:58 PM

32 posts

I would recommend the new Greg Capullo's Batman & surely, Geoff Johns Green Lantern.
maah
post Jun 18 2012, 04:25 AM

Hi

I'm currently living in US, I'll be back to Malaysia this August
How is the comic scene in Malaysia, will I be able to get the comics the day they release them

I'm currently reading:
DC New 52 Batman
DC New 52 Nightwing
ASM
AvX and all the tie in

TSevoHahn
post Jun 18 2012, 10:44 AM

Mika !
1,711 posts

hi there maah. Its virtually impossible to get the comics here the same day as US release date. We usually get them one week later. I'll already listed some of the comics shop in kl on the first page
marky_dormy2
post Jun 23 2012, 02:47 PM

25 posts

which comics shop is the cheapest one?coz i want to cut down my expenses on comics la.sikit pun jadi la
TSevoHahn
post Jun 23 2012, 11:55 PM

Mika !
1,711 posts

QUOTE(marky_dormy2 @ Jun 23 2012, 02:47 PM)
which comics shop is the cheapest one?coz i want to cut down my expenses on comics la.sikit pun jadi la
i think they all have standard prices, but certain shops offer discounts if you have membership of the shop
Sauron76
post Jun 24 2012, 07:26 PM

32 posts

New haul. Now only Green Lantern & Capullo's Batman in my buying list.

sil3nC3_10
post Jun 24 2012, 07:36 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Sauron76 @ Jun 24 2012, 07:26 PM)
New haul. Now only Green Lantern & Capullo's Batman in my buying list.

Not giving Aquaman a shot? It's really good. Geoff Johns gives his magic touch to revive another Silver Age hero into being a Modern day A list.
gunblade99
post Jun 26 2012, 12:40 AM

146 posts

My variants hauls! After a long time sweat.gif
TSevoHahn
post Jun 26 2012, 11:41 AM

Mika !
1,711 posts

nice variant ! I love the ASM variant

112 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top