14,813 posts

The boost seems to Witcher 2 ?
SUSngkhanmein
post May 27 2011, 04:38 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

no need test lah no much improvement at all.. waste ur time nia.. but i think AA got increase 2bad we use liau will lag not smooth at all dun have this performance.. low entry card sigh~~
cowithgun
post May 27 2011, 05:10 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

oh ya, have not test Witcher 2. should be a good game... but right now, guess my focus will be on Fable 3 blush.gif

my initial impression is that... after playing Dragon Age 2, all other games, simply not that 'beautiful'. Fable 3 graphic is not bad, but by comparison, it just look really plain...

am i the only one think so? will post some screen shot once i have time...

@ngkhanmein: you pay for what you get... so far, i m pretty satisfy with my 5650... brows.gif
SUSngkhanmein
post May 27 2011, 05:23 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

i x satisfied.. i think 540 for me also the same.. my expectation too high.. mean like.. wanna cheap, wanna fresh, wanna 'tua liap ni"

This post has been edited by ngkhanmein: May 27 2011, 05:23 PM
lee_what2004
post May 27 2011, 05:31 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Change your resolution to 640x480, should be able to play high settings tongue.gif
cowithgun
post May 27 2011, 07:22 PM

2,248 posts

Here is some recording about Fable 3. I can only use mostly Normal / High setting at 1366x768 with V-Syn on. I am getting a cap of 30 FPS. ohmy.gif Here is my setting:

Gameplay are mostly smooth but again, cap at 30 FPS! And too much blurring. Will research into this.

Some video:

Some action:

cowithgun
post May 27 2011, 07:31 PM

2,248 posts

Wow, apparently, Fable 3 has loads of problem.

http://geekmontage.com/texts/game-fixes-fa...h-black-screen/

I disable the V-Sync and now get past 30 FPS cap. Still the graphic is not very impressive...
wilsonphua
post May 27 2011, 07:47 PM

Gear Up. Game On.
2,152 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ May 27 2011, 04:38 PM)
no need test lah no much improvement at all.. waste ur time nia.. but i think AA got increase 2bad we use liau will lag not smooth at all dun have this performance.. low entry card sigh~~
Just wondering whats ur graphic card?

QUOTE(cowithgun @ May 27 2011, 05:10 PM)
oh ya, have not test Witcher 2. should be a good game... but right now, guess my focus will be on Fable 3  blush.gif

my initial impression is that... after playing Dragon Age 2, all other games, simply not that 'beautiful'. Fable 3 graphic is not bad, but by comparison, it just look really plain...

am i the only one think so? will post some screen shot once i have time...

@ngkhanmein: you pay for what you get... so far, i m pretty satisfy with my 5650...  brows.gif
Witcher 2 graphic nice man. I think its a lot better and more detailed than Dragon Age 2.

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ May 27 2011, 05:23 PM)
i x satisfied.. i think 540 for me also the same.. my expectation too high.. mean like.. wanna cheap, wanna fresh, wanna 'tua liap ni"
Same like me la bro!! My expectation super high. Whenever I play a game, I wanna play it at highest settings, without shadows and AA (cause i find them useless)

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ May 27 2011, 05:31 PM)
Change your resolution to 640x480, should be able to play high settings tongue.gif
i always do that also, but the game looks quite bad...better play at 800x600

tech_frix
post May 27 2011, 08:42 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

sigh...went to Evernew to change my adapter..
they said need 1 whole week..
or i can RMA it myself...great service...
miriel10
post May 28 2011, 01:36 AM

376 posts

I have a problem updating the GPU driver. I always encounter BSOD while trying to update 11.5a/b. No problems with 11.3 though. I tried jedi_dc's method but the screen went blank after the install. But GPU-Z shows that my driver is updated.

Tried The Witcher 2, game crashed and BSOD because driver failed again. Do I need to reformat or what?
cowithgun
post May 28 2011, 08:34 AM

2,248 posts

Most graphic driver can be solved by cleaning existing driver and reinstall a new one. This may work:

1. Uninstall ATI Catalyst Install Manager (Important)
- Chose to uninstall ALL component
2. Install Driver Sweeper (http://downloads.guru3d.com/Guru3D---Driver-Sweeper-(Setup)_d1655.html)
3. Reboot into Safe Mode (Spam F8 before Windows logo show)
4. Run Driver Sweeper and select to clean all ATI driver (dont do this if you have not uninstall ATI in step 1 or else BSOD)
5. Reboot
6. Install Acer latest driver for your card 8.752.0.0 for 5650.
7. Reboot into Discrete - Dont be alarm if screen is on low resolution
8. Go to device manager, select ATI graphic card (if exist), press "del" to uninstall it
9. Install Catalyst 11.5 (http://www2.ati.com/DRIVERS/mobile/11-5_mobility_vista_win7_64_dd_ccc_ocl.exe)
- Chose Custom installation
- Make sure select all component
- Make sure "Success" in view log
10. Reboot back to Switchable
- Make sure Driver is updated in CCC

This post has been edited by cowithgun: May 28 2011, 08:52 AM
SUSngkhanmein
post May 28 2011, 08:42 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ May 28 2011, 08:34 AM)
Most graphic driver can be solved by cleaning existing driver and reinstall a new one. This may work:

1. Uninstall ATI Catalyst Install Manager (Important)
- Chose to uninstall ALL component
2. Install Driver Sweeper (http://downloads.guru3d.com/Guru3D---Driver-Sweeper-(Setup)_d1655.html)
3. Reboot into Safe Mode (Spam F8 before Windows logo show)
4. Run Driver Sweeper and select to clean all ATI driver (dont do this if you have not uninstall ATI in step 1 or else BSOD)
5. Reboot
6. Install Acer latest driver for your card 8.752.0.0 for 5650.
7. Reboot into Discrete - Dont be alarm if screen is on low resolution
8. Go to device manager, select ATI graphic card (if exist), press "del" to uninstall it
9. Install Catalyst 11.5
- Chose Custom installation
- Make sure select all component
- Make sure "Success" in view log
10. Reboot back to Switchable
- Make sure Driver is updated in CCC
so leceh! so the guy must always update his ati driver like 10.3 > 11.1 > 11.2 > 11.3 > so on.. etc!

y i dun have kensington lock? the list said is there but i can't find it.. damn! wilson till now u dunno i use wat card meh? i kpkb at lyn so long.. 5650 lah!
cowithgun
post May 28 2011, 08:56 AM

2,248 posts

no need install in sequence. just install the latest.

those steps may help if got BSOD. normally, i just install Catalyst in Discrete mode to overwrite the existing driver.

your 5650 already can play all game without AA at 1366x768, still complain?

will try Witcher 2... emm... should i play Witcher 1 too?
SUSngkhanmein
post May 28 2011, 09:21 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

witcher nice ah? good meh?
miriel10
post May 28 2011, 12:09 PM

376 posts

cowithgun, that's the method I always use when updating my drivers. Again, no problems with 11.3. Just 11.5. I have no idea why. Anyway, I got The Witcher 2 running using Medium settings. Game looks awesome so far. I can't wait to test it on my PC. However my CPU temp shot up to 95c. LOL

Added on May 28, 2011, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ May 28 2011, 09:21 AM)
witcher nice ah? good meh?
The first Witcher was good if not saddled with bugs. If you do get it, remember to download the Enhanced Edition for free. Bugs are gone and the game gets better.

This post has been edited by miriel10: May 28 2011, 12:13 PM
SUSngkhanmein
post May 28 2011, 12:22 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

did u edit the setting to CCC? cos defaults setting got enable the aa for 4x!
cowithgun
post May 28 2011, 12:57 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(miriel10 @ May 28 2011, 12:09 PM)
cowithgun, that's the method I always use when updating my drivers. Again, no problems with 11.3. Just 11.5. I have no idea why. Anyway, I got The Witcher 2 running using Medium settings. Game looks awesome so far.  I can't wait to test it on my PC. However my CPU temp shot up to 95c. LOL

Added on May 28, 2011, 12:13 pm

The first Witcher was good if not saddled with bugs. If you do get it, remember to download the Enhanced Edition for free. Bugs are gone and the game gets better.
May be it's because of the Hotfix? Not really sure, but may be the official WHQL driver 11.5 from the link above will work better than hotfix such as 11.5a and 11.5b...

Thanks for the tips for Witcher... will keep that in mind.

I have good news for your CPU temperature! I was having a same problem playing Portal 2 without cooler, CPU soars to 90C, but someone created a Custom Fan Profile that will make my fan operate higher than the default profile! It works on my 3820tg. But I have totally no idea if this will work with 4820tg... hmm.. i recommend you try to ask/read more here:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/acer/56257...tml#post7467467

cowithgun
post May 28 2011, 04:19 PM

2,248 posts

Witcher 2 graphic is impressive! Proven to be more difficult for older card like 5650 without OC. Thanks to the thoughtful Polish developers, there is Advance graphic setting that allow me to tweak it into my liking and still running at acceptable performance.

A resolution of 1366x768.

For comparison, this is a screen shot of Witcher 2 in Ultra mode (cut-scene is like below 10 FPS doh.gif):

After a couple of tweak, my preferred setting (cut-scence around 30 FPS icon_rolleyes.gif )

SUSngkhanmein
post May 28 2011, 04:44 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

kensington lock y i dun have? list got but i din receive.. call dell?
TSkizwan
post May 28 2011, 04:59 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ May 28 2011, 04:44 PM)
kensington lock y i dun have? list got but i din receive.. call dell?
You don't really know what is Kensington lock looks like do you? It should be at the rear side, just near the LAN port.

128 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:08 AM