8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Acer TimelineX 3820TG & 4820TG V2, Owners and visitors discussion

TSkizwan
post Sep 4 2011, 01:20 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

Yes, can choose any. I usually use Performance. If CPU temperature OK, no harm to the CPU.
TSkizwan
post Sep 5 2011, 08:40 PM

826 posts

Where is the pics? Can see it online?
TSkizwan
post Sep 6 2011, 12:25 PM

826 posts

Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6700: No need to tick both "Clock Modulation" & "Chipset Clock Mod". Usually only need to thick "Clock Modulation" but only if "CMod" goes lower than 100% when on heavy load (CMod lower than 100% means CPU is throttling). Other settings are correct to lock the CPU speed at highest multiplier.

N5010: Can you change TDP/TDC limits with ThrottleStop? Can you post screenshot? Usually no need to change TDP/TDC.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 6 2011, 12:27 PM
TSkizwan
post Sep 6 2011, 01:06 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(usopp @ Sep 6 2011, 12:32 PM)

Added on September 6, 2011, 12:37 pmhi kizwan, can i ask something about your dell studio? its quite weird when i see it.. how come your dell lappy got dual GPU?
I use desktop GPU on my Dell. It for playing games. It much better than ATI HD4570 on the Dell. Follow the link to see the game benchmarks.
QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 6 2011, 01:01 PM)
i just curious TDP/TDC. my head pain when reading the throttlestop & ur acer modded bios! thanks god u on9. i stick on my E6700, already disable EIST but it still grayed out is it i need modded my cmos bios?? Cmod is 100% so how i know the dual-IDA is enable a not??
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6700 doesn't support IDA.
TSkizwan
post Sep 6 2011, 02:47 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 6 2011, 02:37 PM)
but i dun have lah. lee u really like bot. r u gal? i just doubt bout ur gender!
I doubt your gender too. joanne = john?

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 6 2011, 02:48 PM
TSkizwan
post Sep 6 2011, 06:30 PM

826 posts

I ran Prime95 on my Dell@i7-720QM for 5 hours. CPU temp between 80C - 87C. At the beginning it spike to 98C for a couple of seconds, then it start to decreasing.
TSkizwan
post Sep 6 2011, 06:58 PM

826 posts

I ran ThrottleStop at the background. Doesn't seems throttling though. All 4 cores are running, so it stuck at 1.7GHz.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 6 2011, 06:58 PM
TSkizwan
post Sep 11 2011, 02:10 PM

826 posts

I think moderator deleted my post. LOL.
TSkizwan
post Sep 11 2011, 02:28 PM

826 posts

Discount at Steam for Need For Speed game. biggrin.gif
TSkizwan
post Sep 14 2011, 07:38 PM

826 posts

Just want to share a tip. If anyone of you already replaced the thermal paste but did not see any improvement on the temperature, try Shin-Etsu thermal paste.
TSkizwan
post Sep 14 2011, 10:03 PM

826 posts

Lowyat plaza can too OR Lowyat garage sales. Contact niclasteoh.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 14 2011, 10:05 PM
TSkizwan
post Sep 15 2011, 08:52 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Sep 15 2011, 04:59 PM)
keno con by the so-called Lowyat Crazy sales... there is no sales, u spent rm50, line up together with hundreds of people, get a form, fill it up, wait for lucky draw. if u lucky, u may get items on the promotion you want, but if u r not, well, you are not! i m not gonna spend RM450 for another Samsung Galaxy Ace! it's cheap, but it's not something i want!

there is not even a counter that offer you to buy those cheap RM1 mouse... the whole thing is a lie from the start.

i totally hate marketing lies like this. unacceptable.

i didn't buy anything and left. still has many clueless buyer trying to buy anything just to get a rm50 receipt.
You didn't get the thermal compound I recommended?
TSkizwan
post Sep 19 2011, 09:02 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Sep 19 2011, 05:22 PM)
i've never open my 3820tg before!!!!  sweat.gif
smile.gif Only change thermal paste when you really need it. In my case changing to Arctic MX-4 is bad idea. At least Arctic MX-4 doesn't perform well with Dell Studio 1557 notebook. Probably it need enough pressure to perform best, like ICD7. This is comparison between Arctic MX-4 & Shin-Etsu G751 (also posted in Dell Studio 15 thread).

(This is while browsing & checking email. The max temps are after running 3dMark06.)

Arctic MX-4

Shin-Etsu G751 (now when gaming core temps only up to 70C-74C)

I might need to reapply thermal paste on my Asus notebook too. But idle & light work temps are normal though (40C-45C & 50C-60C respectively). Only when gaming it easily goes up to 9X Celsius. I think only need to clean out the dust on the heatsink using compressed air can.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 19 2011, 09:04 PM
TSkizwan
post Sep 20 2011, 02:44 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Sep 20 2011, 08:38 AM)
driver update has never been a problem for me. i usually just install a new Catalyst over the old driver. but last night, while trying to install Cat 11.9 RCx, i lost ability to launch CCC and with that, the ability to display the switch graphic dialog box!

so, i do a clean remove from save mode using Driver Sweeper. try install it again, still fail. then, clean install again back to Cat 11.8 WHQL. but to my surprise, even Cat 11.8 WHQL no longer allow me to launch CCC!

to make matter worse, i have remove and re-install too many times that the automatic Restore Point before Cat 11.9 is gone!

dont really know what's going on... may be it's due to a DotNet update i install recently... cant tell... now, i m only using CCC 1... sad.gif but with 11.8 driver.
This is classic problem for me. I use to get the same problem, CCC won't run because corrupted MOM. Fixed it after several uninstall & reinstall, including manually delete the ATI files (spent a couple of hours). Never happen to me again after I reinstall windows earlier this year.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 20 2011, 02:45 PM
TSkizwan
post Sep 20 2011, 02:46 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 20 2011, 09:27 AM)
kizwan: y u din use vacuum? cos electric static? whr can i get air compressor can?
Currently, I don't have vacuum cleaner to use.

Added on September 20, 2011, 2:48 pm
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 20 2011, 02:46 PM)
@kizwan, shouldn't the MOM removed by DriverSweeper or AMD Uninstaller ?
Not all of them. Probably should be. I dunno but it got corrupted even after uninstall & reinstall. Can check the specific error in Event Viewer.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 20 2011, 02:48 PM
TSkizwan
post Sep 20 2011, 02:54 PM

826 posts

These are my posts regarding the CCC problem at AMD forum:-
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm...MVIEWTMP=Linear
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm...threadid=138106
TSkizwan
post Sep 20 2011, 03:25 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Sep 20 2011, 03:02 PM)
cannot pin point which is the error message in Event Manger, but I got something like this in the "Information"

0000000014: 2011-09-20 15:01:09:350    Exception <Killing CCC0 Process>: Process with an Id of 3996 is not running.
Exception  Called by: ATI.ACE.MOM.Implementation.StateMachineToolkit.Transition::PerformActions                        processID:03624 threadID:(MOM_STM_DelegateThread) domainName:(MOM.exe                    ) assemblyName:(MOM.Implementation, Version=3.5.4181.38838, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=90ba9c70f846762e)
************************************************************************************************************************

Added on September 20, 2011, 3:06 pmi check in C:\Windows\Assembly, do have 90ba9c70f846762e token sad.gif

ps: i also deleted everything in c:\program (x86)\ati , in fact, all ATI and AMD stuff in HDD and registry...
Did you checked in Task Manager for any ATI or MOM service(s) still running? This usually base on luck. Last time I got it fixed after countless uninstall, reinstall, uninstall in safe mode. Spent a couple of hours to fixed it.

I also usually upgrade driver by installing newer driver on top of older driver. After I got this problem, I'm no longer do like this. Now I uninstall old driver first & then install new driver.

Added on September 20, 2011, 3:26 pm
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 20 2011, 03:13 PM)
kizwan: where can i find air compressor can? a lot ppl dunno this shit.
You can find this in hardware store. Not PC hardware store but hardware store. It also known as "compressed air duster".

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 20 2011, 03:26 PM
TSkizwan
post Sep 29 2011, 11:01 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Sep 29 2011, 10:36 AM)
there is setting to hibernate after 360 minutes! but i can take off power after a few minutes it sleep. when turn back on, it will restore from hibernation file...
When you put laptop to sleep, it also copy the content from RAM to disk. So, when power loss, the content of RAM is lost but still got copy on disk. This way, in the event of power loss, your notebook can resume from hibernate. This is OS feature.
TSkizwan
post Sep 29 2011, 11:14 AM

826 posts

I don't have 3820 biggrin.gif

I got problem with this forum. I usually log-in & didn't log-out. Let say I log-in 27 Sept. When I want to read new post, it open old post dated 27 Sept. Why? It should open the first unread post. I use this URL to read new post:-
CODE
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1888568&view=getnewpost

Second time (in a row) visit the same URL, it will show the last message.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 29 2011, 11:15 AM
TSkizwan
post Sep 29 2011, 11:24 AM

826 posts

CODE
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1888568/last

CODE
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1888568/latest

What different between these two?

BTW, do you guys use Firefox 7? I'm still using Firefox 3 because last time I tried new version (4??) it very slow. Firefox 7 OK? M2U & Cimb Clicks OK with Firefox 7?

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0495sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:06 PM