9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

V3 Volkswagen Cars Discussion ..Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

Mavik
post Jun 10 2011, 12:08 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Jun 10 2011, 12:02 AM)
Hello hello bro wink.gif Yeah seriously considering the Golf.. My WMW 6 years old already, so now in the market for new car and thinkin WVW would be a great match tongue.gif

The TSi is within reach but after test-driving the GTi kena racun already. So gotta really think before making the plunge. Mind & wallet says TSi, heart says GTi. Sigh!!

Anyone has any idea where to get/how much it would cost to get bluetooth phone connectivity installed on RCD310/510?? I find it a bit *meh* that BT doesn't come standard with the Golf :-/
Trust me, just go with your heart! Yan and I will attest to that tongue.gif

The Bluetooth thing can cost from RM2k-2.5k depending on where you go.
Mavik
post Jun 10 2011, 04:35 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Guys when you send your VW babies to the VW Service Centers for servicing, make sure they don't put in too much engine oil smile.gif

The fellas put too much in that my engine was sluggish. Brought the car to Exquisite Marques and they removed the extra oil out. About 1 litre extra.
Mavik
post Jun 10 2011, 08:56 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(mavric @ Jun 10 2011, 06:53 PM)
15k already bro?

yeah how much is just nice? and how much did the VW SC pour in?
There was about a little bit under a litre extra. Made the car sluggish a bit. After I removed about almost a litre, can feel the engine perking up again.
Mavik
post Jun 11 2011, 01:02 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Jun 10 2011, 11:54 PM)
Mavik, did the people at EM asked you to top up the DSG oil?
Nopes didn't because I am using a dry clutch tongue.gif
Mavik
post Jun 11 2011, 02:25 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Jun 11 2011, 02:06 AM)
You can't.

Unless you've installed a Bluetooth module from brands like Fiscon.

That alone will set you back another RM2k+.
Another option is to get the original bluetooth module from VW itself, that would be around RM2.5k
Mavik
post Jun 13 2011, 11:21 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I was with some friends at their Audi TT group gathering on Saturday and I was talking to one of their tuners in Glenmarie and he even says that GT Auto is a feel good dyno (his opinion not mine because I feel even sad now coz my figures from the GT auto isn't that great already tongue.gif).

Will try to do a comparison with his other dyno fella in Glenmarie and hopefully do a full back to back comparison smile.gif

Saw the other night the guy with a Golf TSI pushing 195whp as well (figures from GT Auto). Insane!
Mavik
post Jun 13 2011, 07:40 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Jun 13 2011, 07:37 PM)
wah v quiet today .. boring lah ...
luckily later we having a mini TT with some of the rocco bros at spicy sri hartamas... anybod wanna join ? hehe... 9pm.
Cant make it la, playing badminton tonight tongue.gif
Mavik
post Jun 14 2011, 10:58 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Broleo @ Jun 14 2011, 10:41 AM)
got some updates on the ori mudflaps

according to the official VW accessories, set of both front and back will cost RM634.

what do you guys think? it is worth buying?

also, just to share the toll free number on the road assist VW

(save it on the phone for those has yet to know the number)

cheers
Hey bro, personally I think it is quite expensive tongue.gif

Just for a set of mudflaps.
Mavik
post Jun 14 2011, 06:29 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Gti23 @ Jun 14 2011, 01:13 PM)
"If VW are to be responsible for this kinda stuff, then Apple should be responsible towards me as well as I bought the Ipad and the Ipad2 was launched a week later. Or Michelin should be held liable cos I bought PS2s and PS3s were released shortly after that. There is simply no end to it"

I am afraid that your analogies are not accurate. The added features on the new GTI's are merely added features and not a change in model like your Apple and Michelin analogies. Responsible companies like Apple will normally launch a new product several weeks or months before the availability of the new product. In that time, the consumers are well informed of the model change and current generation products will normally be heavily discounted. All Apple retailers gave a BIG discount on the ori IPad upon the announcement of the Ipad2.

I believe VWM should have informed their customers of the new features at no price revision so that we could make an informed decision. The added features are too hush-hush and not at all well communicated or publicized. Those who bought the earlier batch of GTIs without the upgrades will naturally feel cheated due to the way VW handled the issue.
As much as I feel your pain but being in the same line previously with digital products (in my previous job), as well as from my friends who work at Apple stores here (Machines, Mac City, etc), it is very hard for a company to launch a new product, whilst trying to clear off existing stock and then keep everyone happy. Its a very simple chicken and egg.

Coming from a manufacturing environment, trying to make products to suit everyone's needs is a real nightmare but it can be done and it has been done a lot. But the fact that is, Malaysia is such a small market, we don't really get a say in terms of what we want and because of our useless status of a developing nation and not a developed nation, we usually don't get first pick.

Gti23, you mentioned you are a photography buff. But let me tell you why in terms of camera manufacturing, it is a lot easier compared to a car.

1) When Canon or Nikon announces the 5D MkIII or D4 (hehehe I wish it would come out sooner!), both Canon and Nikon ONLY manufacture a single type. There is no 5D MkIII with leather grips or 5D MkIII with various ranges of sensors to choose from or one that caters for a CF card and a SD card slot or double SD card. The cameras come in a single specification and that the customers get those specs.

2) Because of these single spec cameras, it is a lot easier on the supply chain. You look at a country/region, expected sales and you plan your manufacturing cycle to meet that demand.

3) For cars its a heck of a difference. You can plan all of that but because cars come with such a huge range of specs, the supply chain is a heck tougher and a lot more complicated.

To be really honest, even with the GTI SE version, the reason could even be that the standard stock GTI were out of stock and they had only these versions to deliver hence they delivered it. Trust me, even the cars delivered to Malaysia, not all of them are without any issues. Some even had some minor issues like having the GTD grill instead of the GTI grill.

At the end of the day like what jwrx mentioned, at the point in time we pay for what we get. There will always be a better model, specs version coming up.
Mavik
post Jun 15 2011, 04:11 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(cyanyde @ Jun 15 2011, 02:32 PM)
Funny you mentioned that... I sacrificed my GTI Grill for the GTD one to correct that situation... But I love it to bits!!.. Looks so much sleeker IMO.
Hahaha it does look sleeker. It's not uncommon in the UK where they had the wrong grills but yours is a rare case coz we don't have the GTD here! Would love to drive the GTD ad mod it. Sat in my friend's 3.0 Audi A4 diesel in the UK, insane amount of torque, 0-100 in 5secs plus and 280whp when dynoed. We need those diesel cars here!
Mavik
post Jun 15 2011, 04:45 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Kilang Kimpalan @ Jun 15 2011, 04:43 PM)
Guys,

Thought of sharing a nice info. [url=http://www.volkspage.net/technik/ssp/ssp/SSP_359.pdf[/url]
Thats not the engine that we have in our cars at the moment, its the other spec one. Let me see if I can host the one for the 1.4L twincharger engine wink.gif

Found it in the link below biggrin.gif
http://www.scribd.com/110106-VW-1-4L-TSI-E...-359/d/49513807

This post has been edited by Mavik: Jun 15 2011, 04:46 PM
Mavik
post Jun 15 2011, 05:00 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Going for the test drive will poison us kau kau kau! drool.gif

But damn, the Audi A1 really does look fantastic!
http://vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51743
Mavik
post Jun 16 2011, 10:41 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jun 16 2011, 10:31 AM)
The WALD GTI was brought  in by WALD back in 2005. its basicly same spec as the later VW GTI SE with 18" rims, fabric seats, sunroof etc. Some WALD units have the wald tuning, which some sorhais paid up to Rm30k, i have seen the so called tuning and its horrible, its a welded on piggyback unit.

If your budget only allows for a 2005 WALD unit, get a stock unit WITHOUT the Wald power upgrade
What?? They actually welded on the piggyback tuning box to the car?
Mavik
post Jun 16 2011, 11:00 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jun 16 2011, 10:52 AM)
aiya....u ppl all english teachers lar...ok ok...word should be soldered happy?  smile.gif
hahaha I don't think that we are laughing at the english la bro tongue.gif

Just that I never expected them to actually permanently fix it there. Interesting way of them to sell cars.
Mavik
post Jun 16 2011, 01:17 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jun 16 2011, 12:48 PM)
yes..thats how RON works...50:50 97/95 means you get a tank of Ron96  biggrin.gif ...i used to do that actually..hahaha
Keyword is "used to" hahahaha, now pumping diesel powa!
Mavik
post Jun 16 2011, 06:00 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(ultimax5 @ Jun 16 2011, 04:54 PM)
aerotec brought up a very good point.  This is a quality issue, not from abuse, not wear and tear, it's just poor quality and they should fix it at no cost to us.  In fact, it's already costing us alot of time since we'd have to bring our cars in and probably leave it there for half a day or more.  And on top of that they wanna charge us RM200??  That's a rip-off!
Really? When I brought it to my SC and got it waxed without any charge.
Mavik
post Jun 16 2011, 06:16 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Time to switch to Merc and BMW already biggrin.gif
Mavik
post Jun 16 2011, 07:12 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Frankly, you will get better service from Proton and Perodua tongue.gif
Mavik
post Jun 17 2011, 01:27 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Looks like the Razorsport vented carbon fibre hood.
Mavik
post Jun 20 2011, 01:34 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Damn, Ampang is like a foreign country to me man tongue.gif

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled