how do u beat MMM and drop?, as a protoss

TSpepsi89
post May 13 2011, 04:28 AM, updated 15y ago

56 posts

I cannot advance to master becuz i keep on losing to MMM and drop, what should i do? if you are terran, please tell me how a protoss would beat your MMM and drop, if you are protoss who can counter this quite easily, tell me what do u to the MMM and drop

I was going for 3 gate robo, -> expand, 1 forge upgrade -> stalker with blink (to catch drop and chase up) try to counter the MMM and drop, but it didnt work out so well, maybe becuz i dont focus on the mini map a lot when a drop comes. Most of my armies consist of stalkers, a few sentries and colossi, not much on zealot unless i have not enuf gas to pump units. Any suggestion anyone? sad.gif
westley0214
post May 13 2011, 04:36 AM

860 posts

1) Put observers around your bases like Zerg would put their Overlords to spot for incoming drops. Observers are cheap anyway. Pay attention to minimap often.

2) Some cannons near mineral line will be good to snipe that dropship.

3) Mid to late game, DT deny drop quite efficiently. Warp in some DTs when a drop is coming.

4) You need Zealots to counter Marauders and tank damage. Treat them as compulsory unit in your army. Good FF + Zealots + few colo rape MMM easily.
TSpepsi89
post May 13 2011, 07:04 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ May 13 2011, 04:36 AM)
1) Put observers around your bases like Zerg would put their Overlords to spot for incoming drops. Observers are cheap anyway. Pay attention to minimap often.

2) Some cannons near mineral line will be good to snipe that dropship.

3) Mid to late game, DT deny drop quite efficiently. Warp in some DTs when a drop is coming.

4) You need Zealots to counter Marauders and tank damage. Treat them as compulsory unit in your army. Good FF + Zealots + few colo rape MMM easily.
good observer cannot be spotted like overload, so it can lure the terran drop without him knowing i knew he is coming, and i snipe his dropship before he even drops a single marine biggrin.gif
jeffvip
post May 13 2011, 08:09 AM

134 posts

my exp. zealot heavy, stalker + colossus is alot better than zealot, heavy stalker and colossus. Type1 is more effective in dealing MMM. Zealot just cannot die to Marauder. IF Terran go Marine heavy (which I doubt), Colossus roast them like BBQ. Stalker heavy unit usually die to Marauder heavy MMM. and ya. DT, mix it inside. U will be amaze the effect of them. Sometime I need to use 1 EMP just to reveal them and that might change the tide of battle.

This post has been edited by jeffvip: May 13 2011, 08:09 AM
quest_5692
post May 13 2011, 08:20 AM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

you should post this at protoss discussion section and the most effective way to counter is good observer placements OR spotting pylons. you need to know the path medivac is coming on each map and its pretty easy.

another thing is know drop timings, i can think of only 1 drop timing via 1 base, which is blue flame hellion drop. all other drops will only occur after having 2 base income. because starport tech will not come so fast. if not, he is 1 basing hardcore and you should be able to roll over him if you can defend it.

if you have observers spotting him, warp in stalkers and snipe the medivac. problem solved.

Added on May 13, 2011, 8:22 amfor direct engagement, upgrade protoss defend +1....you dont know how effective it is combined with guardian shield. chaohai.....same supply of food almost confirms a decisive win on protoss side. early game just gateway + immo, late game collosus HT gateway....protoss units are so cost effective in a ball.

Added on May 13, 2011, 8:23 amdont get pure stalker or stalker collo only tho....they are so weak against marauder. you need zealots.

This post has been edited by quest_5692: May 13 2011, 08:23 AM
SiewKaiz
post May 13 2011, 09:33 AM

304 posts

just kill them b4 they can do anything easy
Quazacolt
post May 13 2011, 09:56 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1511775

please post in appropriate thread.

Added on May 13, 2011, 9:58 amfunnily, why everyone is advocating the use on zealot when a while back then on the protoss thread i've heard they are useless?

wwwwwwwwwww

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 13 2011, 09:58 AM
SiewKaiz
post May 13 2011, 10:13 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 13 2011, 09:56 AM)
funnily, why everyone is advocating the use on zealot when a while back then on the protoss thread i've heard they are useless?

wwwwwwwwwww
zealots is useless against MMM but chargelots is useful got different between zealots n chargelots

This post has been edited by SiewKaiz: May 13 2011, 10:13 AM
jeffvip
post May 13 2011, 10:33 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ May 13 2011, 10:13 AM)
zealots is useless against MMM but chargelots is useful got different between zealots n chargelots
lol, why somebody dont wanna upgrade charge? When i play toss, I always chrono that out. Very useful thumbup.gif
quest_5692
post May 13 2011, 10:45 AM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

but not chargelot rush.....its pretty darn awful. it would definitely help in mid to late game.

Added on May 13, 2011, 10:46 amas we had seen alot of PvT in GSL now, P are always waiting charge to finish then push into terran tank line

This post has been edited by quest_5692: May 13 2011, 10:46 AM
westley0214
post May 13 2011, 12:17 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 13 2011, 09:56 AM)

Added on May 13, 2011, 9:58 amfunnily, why everyone is advocating the use on zealot when a while back then on the protoss thread i've heard they are useless?

wwwwwwwwwww
IIRC the thing you all were arguing on was the usefulness of Zealots in PvZ, not PvT.
Quazacolt
post May 13 2011, 01:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ May 13 2011, 12:17 PM)
IIRC the thing you all were arguing on was the usefulness of Zealots in PvZ, not PvT.
general usefulness. though, now people are bending it to be "zealots" and "chargelots"

i mean, i thought chargelots are also zealots, and not an evolution ala pokemon and they suddenly became NOT zealots.
westley0214
post May 13 2011, 01:09 PM

860 posts

There are surely differences as in the case of "slowlings" and "speedlings" in that you can get to your enemy faster without having to spend all the stupid time of chasing while your attack cooldown already completes like 10 seconds ago.

Speed doesn't just mean moving faster. It indirectly increases the DPS.
evofantasy
post May 13 2011, 01:29 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

1. vision and map awareness (xelnaga, pylons, obs)
2. phoenix (need lots of apm to be active with it, a unit compo for the colossus-phoenix ball)
3. DT (force a scan when they drop, 1 shot marines if u upgrade right to counter the medic heals during drop, kill terran outright if they are greedy, map control, slow their tempo when u snipe addons which are my fav to do lol). With archon buff, u wont mind turning them to archons at times...
Quazacolt
post May 13 2011, 04:27 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ May 13 2011, 01:09 PM)
There are surely differences as in the case of "slowlings" and "speedlings" in that you can get to your enemy faster without having to spend all the stupid time of chasing while your attack cooldown already completes like 10 seconds ago.

Speed doesn't just mean moving faster. It indirectly increases the DPS.
point: speedlings and slowlings are both, yes, zerglings.
westley0214
post May 13 2011, 04:35 PM

860 posts

I thought you are talking about general usefulness. And now you are talking about their origin form.

I know, boys and girls were, yes, monkeys.
quest_5692
post May 13 2011, 04:48 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

is this argument even necessary?
westley0214
post May 13 2011, 04:51 PM

860 posts

As necessary as "Would MC haters hate Nestea too?".
jeffvip
post May 13 2011, 04:52 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 13 2011, 01:29 PM)
1. vision and map awareness (xelnaga, pylons, obs)
2. phoenix (need lots of apm to be active with it, a unit compo for the colossus-phoenix ball)
3. DT (force a scan when they drop, 1 shot marines if u upgrade right to counter the medic heals during drop, kill terran outright if they are greedy, map control, slow their tempo when u snipe addons which are my fav to do lol). With archon buff, u wont mind turning them to archons at times...
I hate DT as a Terran. Pls don't mention their name. I m gonna faint if I see them wacko.gif

Added on May 13, 2011, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(westley0214 @ May 13 2011, 04:51 PM)

LOL... Let's hate MC but not Nestea

This post has been edited by jeffvip: May 13 2011, 04:59 PM
evofantasy
post May 13 2011, 05:08 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ May 13 2011, 04:51 PM)
dun be so petty icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0155sec    1.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:57 AM