Only 2weeks++, breastmilk getting lesser

TSHan89
post May 7 2011, 10:06 PM, updated 15y ago

Just gave birth to a baby boy last 19 April.
I only tried to breastfeed him after 4 or 5 days.
He doesn't want. And I just have to pump and give him through milk bottle.
Is it because he's used to the milk bottle's teat or because of my flat nipple ?

Need help !
I want to breastfeed him directly tho sad.gif
bladebreaker
post May 7 2011, 10:12 PM

109 posts

eat more asparagus... (increase milking capability)
and see a doctor... the doctor should be able to give more tips at hand...

Added on May 7, 2011, 10:13 pmone more thing....
try increase your food intake cuz maybe not enough nutrients to make milk

This post has been edited by bladebreaker: May 7 2011, 10:13 PM
nicKit
post May 7 2011, 10:14 PM

374 posts

Han89, u can try taking fenugreek... n drink lots of water n dun let urself get hungry smile.gif keep trying n dun give up... gambateh... if u need more info u can get it on the other bf thread tongue.gif
TSHan89
post May 7 2011, 10:19 PM

Thanks for the advises smile.gif
phythia79
post May 7 2011, 11:41 PM

398 posts

Yes..just like nickit said...drink lots of fluids, take fenugreek and don't forget to eat. If u can't bf directly or coz ur baby can't latch on properly, try scheduling extra pumping sessions while trying to coax your baby to bf directly. If u want, I'll suggest u to see a lactation consultant. Are u in KL? If u r...I can pm u Gina Yong's number. Alternatively u can join the breastfeeding advocates network on Facebook. She can be contacted thru there.

During these first few weeks or months are the toughest especially when trying to establish milk. Hang in there.
henryhing
post May 10 2011, 08:21 PM

512 posts

There's nothing u can do now since u screwed it up by feeding ur baby with bottle. No way ur baby wanna suck ur breast after the luxury of feeding via bottle. With less suction on ur nipple, less stimulation to produce oxytocin & prolactin thus less and less milk and eventually none.
Congrats..

This post has been edited by henryhing: May 19 2011, 08:04 AM
phythia79
post May 11 2011, 09:48 AM

398 posts

henryhing..don't lar be so harsh. Yes..it was her mistake for not direct feeding at first. It could be that she didn't know beforehand what is required in order to bf successfully.

In fact, most ladies I know..thinks that bf is just as simple as feeding milk via bottle; and milk just flows easily too. They don't realise they need to gain knowledge abt bf prior to bf. They also don't know that it takes hardwork to bf too. They don't know the repercussions if they feed via bottle or even pump during the first month.
Oriental
post May 11 2011, 11:08 AM

81 posts

Most likely your baby has gotten used to the bottle. Bottle sucking takes much less effort than at the breast.

I'd suggest for you to latch your baby on as much as you can now. Try to do it before he gets hungry because he may be too impatient and refuse to suck if he is. The aim of this practice now is not so much to feed him but to get him to like and get used to your breast now. It may be difficult at the beginning but just persevere as much as you can unless you want him to refuse your breast permanently. With him latching on so frequently, you can also build up your milk supply again.

Also do pump out milk from your breast as often as you can to keep your supply going. It's tough but there are many mums who end up having to do exclusive pumping because their babies just refuse to suck. Remember to drink lots of water (at least 3 litres per day) or soup and latch on baby or pump frequently.
henryhing
post May 11 2011, 02:17 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ May 11 2011, 09:48 AM)
henryhing..don't lar be so harsh.  Yes..it was her mistake for not direct feeding at first.  It could be that she didn't know beforehand what is required in order to bf successfully. 

In fact, most ladies I know..thinks that bf is just as simple as feeding milk via bottle; and milk just flows easily too.  They don't realise they need to gain knowledge abt bf prior to bf.  They also don't know that it takes hardwork to bf too.  They don't know the repercussions if they feed via bottle or even pump during the first month.
Sorry la Phythia79, sometimes got to be harsh and tell the truth openly without sugar coating to benefit others. I dont want her compromise her own childs health..My intention is always good but my words memang no license one. I apologize...
phythia79
post May 11 2011, 02:53 PM

398 posts

I'm sure you meant well..just censor a bit lor in future..kekekeek..
henryhing
post May 11 2011, 03:05 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ May 11 2011, 02:53 PM)
I'm sure you meant well..just censor a bit lor in future..kekekeek..
Sure Phythia79. For u I will la. cheers
shikuzika
post May 12 2011, 01:06 PM

148 posts

Han89, i'm having the same problem sad.gif
gave birth about 3 weeks ago, but didn't breastfeed straightaway. Only started on the forth day. He was fine for about a week, but now he refuses to latch on properly and gets angry and cries if I make him try...
But I'm trying everyday, he latched on and suckled twice yesterday morning, but not today...
I guess we just have to keep trying, and not let people like henryhing bring us down...
Good luck to us! smile.gif
henryhing
post May 12 2011, 06:46 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(shikuzika @ May 12 2011, 01:06 PM)
Han89, i'm having the same problem sad.gif
didn't breastfeed straightaway. Only started on the forth day.
\
Congrats as ur a gr8 mum...
nicKit
post May 12 2011, 10:13 PM

374 posts

henryhing, i tot u said u'll censor a bit...
henryhing
post May 13 2011, 08:23 AM

512 posts

Aiyo..wah u all making it difficult for me to express myself wei.
Ok la will not open this thread edi coz I am sensitve to child's wellbeing as their initial part of life is totally helpless on their own and they r totally dependant on others particularly their own parents to give them a good start in life.
If a mother cant even do the few things nature intended them to do like breast feeding then I think they should re think of getting pregnant in the 1st place.
I was not fortunate as a child to have the luxury of consuming breast milk and untill today I am pissed off..The bond between mother and child is definitely affected. Not sure is it fair to say this is the reason why u can see many chinese send their parents to old folks home.

This post has been edited by henryhing: May 19 2011, 08:04 AM
Oriental
post May 13 2011, 10:28 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(henryhing @ May 13 2011, 08:23 AM)
Aiyo..wah u all making it difficult for me to express myself wei. no more 4 letter words wat..
Ok la will not open this thread edi coz I am sensitve to child's wellbeing as their initial part of life is totally helpless on their own and they r totally dependant on others particularly their own parents to give them a good start in life.
If a mother cant even do the few things nature intended them to do like breast feeding then I think they should re think of getting pregnant in the 1st place.
I was not fortunate as a child to have the luxury of consuming breast milk and untill today I am pissed off..The bond between mother and child is definitely affected. Not sure is it fair to say this is the reason why u can see many chinese send their parents to old folks home.
I actually feel sorry for your mum after reading the above statement. Don't you think it's too superficial to blame your bonding between mum and yourself on the inability to gain breastmilk?? blink.gif grumble.gif I sincerely hope you're just joking.
nicKit
post May 13 2011, 10:29 AM

374 posts

henryhing, wah... chill... i tot the point is to encourage ppl who needs help in bf not to pinpoint or magnify their mistakes... i was a fm feed bb but i dun blame my mum... then there was this concept of fm is better than bm... mayb that's y the gov require certain rules for fm like a warning that fm can nv ever take the place of bm... n advertisement too... if a mum needs help in bf or has a prob, should encourage ma... else she'll give up... i know some give up coz it's just too hard n there's no support coz ppl around them say "u just dun have enuf supply" "fm is easier" etc... i've been thru that n i hope to encourage more mummies to bf...

Han89, at first the road is rocky but when u get thru it then u'll b fine... if at starting point already give up then no point pushing anymore... just like u race 100meter... will u give up running if u r just run off from starting point? u haven't reach the finishing line so u dunno whether u'll finish the race... it's up to the mum of coz... if she decides to give fm then we should respect her... if she decides to bf then she needs all the support n encouragement she can get... to u n other mummies that r trying or still bf, gambateh~!
Weelar
post May 13 2011, 10:34 AM

128 posts

eat fish...

seriously, my wife eat fish for alternate day, then she can produce more milk. you can keep the extra milk in milk bag and keep in freezer. you can keep milk up to 3 months in freezer (the ice area of fridge).
phythia79
post May 13 2011, 10:36 AM

398 posts

well said nicKit.

besides knowledge abt bf..at the end of the day...it's the determination and support that pulls the mother thru bf.

Added on May 13, 2011, 10:56 amI was a fm baby too (mom said she bf only a month)..but I don't blame her for not fully bf me. It's all about the choices that each of us make and respect it.

these 2 ladies are trying their very best to bf...they want to give the best to their babies too. Like I said earlier...they didn't know what are needed in order to bf. I bet..these 2 ladies don't have support or other lady friends who bf..hence no one to tell them.

I was lucky that I have a gf and a cousin who successfully bf who actually gave me a some knowledge before i delivered. But once I delivered...i realised..it's not that easy as i thought it would be. At that time too..i didn't know there's support group on bf until about after 5 or 6 months into bf. However, I did my research on the internet and persevered throughout even though there are times that i was on the verge on quitting (during the first few months) as I didn't get enough sleep...and I was worried that i had not enough supply.

I was also lucky that my son could switch from bottle and direct as my hubby took the midnight shift and fed my son ebm.

This post has been edited by phythia79: May 13 2011, 10:56 AM
henryhing
post May 13 2011, 11:03 AM

512 posts

Ok there are usually no short cut in life. To be frank, on the whole BF is much more convenient than giving formula milk. The problem is in the 1st 1-2weeks where u think ur baby not getting enough milk or ur not producing enough milk. Thats where many ignorant mum gives up. Do u think god is not perfect?? everything got reason.
1. ur little milk has more than enough nutrient.

2. ur baby should not be taking so much milk right after birth so as to get use to feeding.

3. ur milk will gradually become more if u patiently breast feed without giving any other milk ( exclusive BF !! ) estimate around 1-2weeks

4. For some reason if u must degil degil give other milk ( eg if ur milk is infected in case of mastitis-even that u should BF, then use a spoon or a syringe to feed. Absolutely no bottle in the first 2-4 months )

5.why BF easier than FM? When ur breast ( tiny or huge ) starts producing alot of milk, u dont have to get up often to go bancuh the milk. Just plug and play only. No need to boil water and keep in vast. No need to worry too hot or too cold.

6. BF is proven to not only strenghtened ur childs jaw but also helps to establish a stronger bond between the child and mother. I am not joking.

0.0211sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:58 AM