Headphones Headphones / Earphones Recommendation Corner V6, Useful links updated!! (3/6/2011)
killer zone II
Aug 24 2011, 12:19 AM
- Your rig : Nexus s / using power amp - What type of usage : music - File format used in your source : mp3 - Genre of music you listen to : pop / jazz / r&b / ballads / slow rock / almost anything lah - Headphone/ earphone type : IEM - Other requirements (if any) : good sound isolating. not bass overshadow/excessive as im not basshead. prefer listen to beautiful singer vocal clearly with some smooth bass.
Im planing to buy dr dre tour as i test it with my friend. the sound was superb. but the bass is like excessive. and the price make me think twice and ask here. in your opinion, is there any brand that best bang buck and can fight with dr dre tour in every aspect? Thanks...
g3n0c1d3
Aug 24 2011, 05:47 AM
QUOTE(killer zone II @ Aug 24 2011, 12:19 AM) - Your rig : Nexus s / using power amp - What type of usage : music - File format used in your source : mp3 - Genre of music you listen to : pop / jazz / r&b / ballads / slow rock / almost anything lah - Headphone/ earphone type : IEM - Other requirements (if any) : good sound isolating. not bass overshadow/excessive as im not basshead. prefer listen to beautiful singer vocal clearly with some smooth bass. Im planing to buy dr dre tour as i test it with my friend. the sound was superb. but the bass is like excessive. and the price make me think twice and ask here. in your opinion, is there any brand that best bang buck and can fight with dr dre tour in every aspect? Thanks... vocals??? if ur budget permits u... get urself audio techinca CK100 or CK10.... the vocals from CK100 is the best i heard be it from IEM or headphones..... the only thing that can beat its sweet vocals is AD2000 and its freaking expensive lol....
E1 - AKG
Aug 24 2011, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(job173 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:50 PM) - My Rig: Iphone,laptop,ps3 - Type of usage: Mainly for iphone & laptop on the go (words,surfing,movie,not gaming) - File format: usually less 320kbs - Music genre: everything from muse to adele to easy listening songs - Budget: 300-400 max - Headphone/ earphone type: my previous earphone was sennheiser cx300 and I kinda like those since since it's quite discreet & didn't attract too much attention - Other requirements (if any): earphone must be able to really isolate outside sounds as i frequently use my earphone to help me study (without any music turned on).I also like to listen to mp3s in buses or train,so the sound coming from my rig should not be heard by my neighbours. Is shure se215 & ultimate ear 600 any good?they look damn fine i must say.if there's any other recommended model feel free to suggest. Much thanks,bros! As below ... Added on August 24, 2011, 9:29 amQUOTE(killer zone II @ Aug 24 2011, 12:19 AM) - Your rig : Nexus s / using power amp - What type of usage : music - File format used in your source : mp3 - Genre of music you listen to : pop / jazz / r&b / ballads / slow rock / almost anything lah - Headphone/ earphone type : IEM - Other requirements (if any) : good sound isolating. not bass overshadow/excessive as im not basshead. prefer listen to beautiful singer vocal clearly with some smooth bass. Im planing to buy dr dre tour as i test it with my friend. the sound was superb. but the bass is like excessive. and the price make me think twice and ask here. in your opinion, is there any brand that best bang buck and can fight with dr dre tour in every aspect? Thanks... AKG K340. Review: http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/reviews/e...anal-earphones/ This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: Aug 24 2011, 09:29 AM
xcen
Aug 24 2011, 10:28 AM
- My Rig: HTC HD2, Dell m102z Windows 7 laptop - Type of usage: Music and movies. More on music, might consider buying headphones for movies. - File format: 320kbps or less. - Music genre: Everything. But I really prefer voice clarity over bass, I'm not a fan of bass. - Budget: Around RM70 - Headphone/ earphone type: I'm looking for an earphone. I want one that is most comfortable possible, as I found those earphones included with phones very uncomfortable for my ears, causes itch after using them. Conclusion: I need a budget earphone at the price range of RM70. Most important aspect is voice clarity and comfortable design. How is Meelectronics? Thank you very much in advance! This post has been edited by xcen: Aug 24 2011, 10:28 AM
calmshot
Aug 24 2011, 06:55 PM
if ur budget is lessthan 100, try to look at superlux iem, or f1pro from cube c30 also not bad, the prixe is about rm40-50 only.
This post has been edited by calmshot: Aug 24 2011, 06:56 PM
Flo_2010
Aug 24 2011, 08:23 PM

My Rig: Asus Notebook Type of usage: Music File format: Mainly MP3 and bits of others Music genre: Alternative rock, upbeat.. Budget: Max RM300 Headphone/ earphone type: IEM Other requirements (if any): Isolate external sounds. Need to focus on bass without damaging the music quality.
Might need to buy an MP3 player. If you suggest an earphone, it would be helpful if you also suggest an MP3 player to go with it. Otherwise, its fine. TQ.
Fischer Audio
Aug 24 2011, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(Flo_2010 @ Aug 24 2011, 08:23 PM) My Rig: Asus Notebook Type of usage: Music File format: Mainly MP3 and bits of others Music genre: Alternative rock, upbeat.. Budget: Max RM300 Headphone/ earphone type: IEM Other requirements (if any): Isolate external sounds. Need to focus on bass without damaging the music quality. Might need to buy an MP3 player. If you suggest an earphone, it would be helpful if you also suggest an MP3 player to go with it. Otherwise, its fine. TQ. Isolate external sounds. Need to focus on bass without damaging the music quality. Eterna : REVIEW
vernon91
Aug 24 2011, 09:15 PM
- My rig = iPad2, Nokia 5800 and lappy(mainly on the iPad and hp) - What type of usage = Music - File format used in your source = Mostly 320kbps mp3 format - Genre of music you listen to = Mostly Jpop or anime songs - Headphone/ earphone type = IEM - Other requirements -= Good bass and clear
I was looking at Sonic Gear earpump series...
Budget ranging rm 50 to rm100
At least able to find it in lowyat...
E1 - AKG
Aug 24 2011, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(Flo_2010 @ Aug 24 2011, 08:23 PM) My Rig: Asus Notebook Type of usage: Music File format: Mainly MP3 and bits of others Music genre: Alternative rock, upbeat.. Budget: Max RM300 Headphone/ earphone type: IEM Other requirements (if any): Isolate external sounds. Need to focus on bass without damaging the music quality. Might need to buy an MP3 player. If you suggest an earphone, it would be helpful if you also suggest an MP3 player to go with it. Otherwise, its fine. TQ. AKG K340. Review: http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/reviews/e...anal-earphones/ Added on August 24, 2011, 9:41 pmQUOTE(vernon91 @ Aug 24 2011, 09:15 PM) - My rig = iPad2, Nokia 5800 and lappy(mainly on the iPad and hp) - What type of usage = Music - File format used in your source = Mostly 320kbps mp3 format - Genre of music you listen to = Mostly Jpop or anime songs - Headphone/ earphone type = IEM - Other requirements -= Good bass and clear I was looking at Sonic Gear earpump series... Budget ranging rm 50 to rm100 At least able to find it in lowyat... Koss SparkPlug This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: Aug 24 2011, 09:41 PM
vernon91
Aug 24 2011, 10:05 PM
more recommendation plz and thx...lolz
E1 - AKG
Aug 24 2011, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(vernon91 @ Aug 24 2011, 10:05 PM) more recommendation plz and thx...lolz Increase your budget and more recommendation will follow.
Flo_2010
Aug 24 2011, 10:42 PM

QUOTE(Fischer Audio @ Aug 24 2011, 08:49 PM) QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Aug 24 2011, 09:37 PM) Thanks for suggestion. Appreciate more in here. Will read up and head to Jaben this weekend. This post has been edited by Flo_2010: Aug 24 2011, 10:42 PM
xcen
Aug 24 2011, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(calmshot @ Aug 24 2011, 06:55 PM) if ur budget is lessthan 100, try to look at superlux iem, or f1pro from cube c30 also not bad, the prixe is about rm40-50 only. Thanks! I'm looking at the Superlux 381F now!
vernon91
Aug 25 2011, 12:33 PM
Superlux HD381 Series looks promising
anyone can tell me which one is better for anime songs...
sakatsu
Aug 25 2011, 06:13 PM
hello, Need recommendation for running purposes - preferably sweat resistant and must not drop out. I run middle distance. Budget RM100 or less. Sound quality must be able to take pounding electronic bass tracks so that leaves out all the cheap ones. I prefer open type so i can hear the traffic and nature but i think many of you will recommend IEMs. Open to ideas and whats available within Malaysia or through LYN.
E1 - AKG
Aug 25 2011, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(sakatsu @ Aug 25 2011, 06:13 PM) hello, Need recommendation for running purposes - preferably sweat resistant and must not drop out. I run middle distance. Budget RM100 or less. Sound quality must be able to take pounding electronic bass tracks so that leaves out all the cheap ones. I prefer open type so i can hear the traffic and nature but i think many of you will recommend IEMs. Open to ideas and whats available within Malaysia or through LYN. Checkout the AKG K316 earbuds with earclip, semi-open.
sakatsu
Aug 25 2011, 07:15 PM
Thanks for recommendation. Some simple research yielded these akg k316 to have lack of bass output and they cost way more than RM100. I don't expect huge bass output and ultra low frequencies - just as long as it puts some thump and doesn't give crackling sounds. I have a pair of stock Samsung earbuds which came with a mp3 player which gives better sounds than many other costlier earbuds albeit enhanced sounds. Unfortunately its not suitable for running as it drops out with sweat. QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Aug 25 2011, 06:56 PM) Checkout the AKG K316 earbuds with earclip, semi-open.
TOROBO
Aug 25 2011, 08:19 PM
Hi guys I have seen some Panasonic headphones being sold at rm30 around town lately is it original because I dont think brands like panasonic will sell it at that price. there is a superaural type headphone by Panasonic at rm30 being sold and I still dont know whether to grab it or not
ryuxeen
Aug 25 2011, 10:51 PM
- My Rig: Iphone, Ipod Touch, ASUS M50V Laptop, Samsung Galaxy Tab - Type of usage:Music and Movies - File format:Mostly 320kbps mp3 format, - Music genre: Hard Rock, Alternative, Pop Rock, Melodic hardcore - Budget:Below RM400 - Headphone/ earphone type: IEM - Other requirements (if any): Good bass and voice clarity.l I'm looking for a more balanced yet still bass strong performance since I'm a basshead.
Ive searched in internet and found out these IEM : -Audio-Technica ATH-CKS70 -Sheerwood SE777 -Shure se215 -Meelectronics m31
Which one is okay based on my preferences? or you can suggest any IEMs that is suitable for me.
Thank you
Agnaem
Aug 25 2011, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(vernon91 @ Aug 25 2011, 12:33 PM) Superlux HD381 Series looks promising anyone can tell me which one is better for anime songs... This review mentioned some anime songs. Though I'm guessing that 381F would've a wider genre bandwidth than the other 2.