Headphones Headphones / Earphones Recommendation Corner V6, Useful links updated!! (3/6/2011)

g3n0c1d3
post Jun 10 2011, 11:56 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(Yoonazzang @ Jun 10 2011, 11:06 PM)
My rig- PC with wolfson dac
Usage - Listening songs
File format - Flac / 192/320kbps mp3
genre - all
Budget - rm500-rm550
Type - headphone
why dont u try Fischer Audio FA003? retailing a bit from ur budget around Rm650+- if my memory serve me right) but u can audition it at istudy at sunway pyramid if ure in KL

really good headphones from fischer audio

or

head down to jaben located at SS15 (opposite Asia Cafe). they have loads of headphone for you to choose from.

g3n0c1d3
post Jun 30 2011, 09:15 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 30 2011, 12:55 AM)
Comparing between which models and what are you looking for  hmm.gif  Sound quality  hmm.gif  Looks  hmm.gif
i know how u feel to answer this type of question.... brows.gif
g3n0c1d3
post Jul 9 2011, 08:49 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(nabzblitz @ Jul 9 2011, 01:49 AM)
hey guys, looking for an affordable dual-driver IEM. suggest me some please! Currently considering Brainwavz B2.

- My Rig: iPod Nano 4th gen+Fiio E11
- Type of usage: Music
- File format: FLAC/MP3
- Music genre: Mostly some Rock and Alternative (Radiohead Incubus Foo Fighters), with some Electronica (Steve Aoki, etc).
- Budget: Around RM500?
- Headphone/ earphone type: IEM
- Other requirements: Dual Driver! (Or single works as well, if it's better than cheap duals)
u sure u can play FLAC files on the ipod nano 4th gen? what software u using?

anyways.... u can try brainwavz B2 the cheap alternatives for fischer audio DBA - 02. its really great for rock since its a bit sparky but i dont think its going to suit electronica. and yes B2 is dual driver....
g3n0c1d3
post Jul 10 2011, 04:46 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(nabzblitz @ Jul 10 2011, 01:26 AM)
well i'm planning on upgrading my player soon to maybe a Cowon or Samsung haha. my laptop has a lot of flac so for now i'll be using the IEMs with my laptop.
anything other than B2 and DBA-02? those 2 seem quite similar, no?
they are quite similar in build and also sound signature... but i do feel B2 is a bit bassy (just a tad) than a sparkier DBA-02....
g3n0c1d3
post Jul 28 2011, 12:42 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(MrAvatar @ Jul 28 2011, 12:39 AM)
guys..juz wanna get some information..is iFrogz headphones good? i'm interested in never pipes, ronin and cs40..

*pls help me ya..
funky design but sound wise... u better off with other good headphones....

g3n0c1d3
post Jul 28 2011, 01:00 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(MrAvatar @ Jul 28 2011, 12:51 AM)
my budget is not more than rm170..so i found tat sony xb300 and iFrogz is within my budget..currently using sonic gear x1000(not tat good)..any idea?
if i were u, i'll take the sony xb300 and steer away from ifrogz or what ever kind of funky headphone thats now flooding the store....
u should also consider sennheiser HD202....

This post has been edited by g3n0c|d3: Jul 28 2011, 01:00 AM
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 4 2011, 02:48 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(hexion @ Aug 4 2011, 02:39 AM)
hi,
can someone tell me where can i try beats by dr.dre [studio] in KL?
hmm, if it quality = to the $$$ i will ask my friend to buy this in US.
or maybe i should get fanny wangs or DJ Over Ear wangs instead?
it would be much better if i could review both wangs and dr.dre..
i dont want regret after bought something that doesnt worth the bucks.

for me style and sound quality must be neat and nice.
i dont want bulky things as im using it mainly in the library and college others for traveling.
If u are concern about the sound quality and need the cool design as a beats, go for fanny wang. If u want to look cool with that "b" logo on the headphones, go for monster beats.
Ive test both headphones and i have give thumbs up to fanny wangs for its sound quality. Better and i mean much2 better than beats.
U decide...
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 16 2011, 10:49 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Aug 16 2011, 10:40 AM)
any good earphones from akg or atechnica? no budget
no budget means?

alrite... the best for Audio Technica is CK100. the sweetest female vocal i have ever heard on earphones PERIOD!
but seem u have unlimited budget... why dont go for a good portable amp too? say triad audio lisa III for added umph..

hmm.gif
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 16 2011, 10:55 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Aug 16 2011, 10:53 AM)
i was considering akg k330. but im  in korea now. the shops selling limited amount of akg and atechnica headphones and earphones
i think better let your ears decide... u can audition for earphones over there right?
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 16 2011, 11:41 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Aug 16 2011, 11:08 AM)
only beats can audition
oh ok...

so what range do they have? the ATs and AKGs?

g3n0c1d3
post Aug 16 2011, 11:59 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Aug 16 2011, 11:49 AM)
i got the ath sj55. there were the k430 but quite ex.
ATH sj55 is a good headphone non the less... most prefer this than ATH sj33

as for AKG k430....ive read that its not really well build...

anyways... if they're selling ATH M50, i would recommend it to u....
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 16 2011, 12:05 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Aug 16 2011, 12:03 PM)
yeah friends told me to get at m50, but not to be seen sad.gif oh well looks like i made a quite ok choice
ATH sj55 is no slouch. u got a very good ATH phones... enjoy it...
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 23 2011, 04:48 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 23 2011, 12:10 PM)
i heard and searched all over the net that the UE TF10 is really good.. anyone care to justify that? i prefer sound natural and wide soundstage IEM with balanced armature, and for universal fit, TF10 looks like the end of that road
ermm what i do hear is far from natural. its a v shape sound and its not that natural.... since ure craving for tf10 i suggest u tried 1st to see how it fits u... last time i tried, i was a perfect seal for me. not many are lucky thou....

QUOTE(silver01 @ Aug 23 2011, 12:33 PM)
- My Rig: Laptop & HP
- Type of usage: Casual
- File format: mp3
- Music genre: MIX
- Budget: Less than RM 100
- Headphone/ earphone type: Headphones
- Other requirements (if any):  Considering between HD681 & KSC75

Guys,

As above, pls help me choose between the two or are there any other suggestions beside the 2 listed. Currently using Philips SHP 1900 someone gave me as a present.

Many Thanks.

Rgds
top up a bit and go for the laid back sounds of Sennheiser Hd201 (if u can found any...) or HD202

QUOTE(telomasen88 @ Aug 23 2011, 04:30 PM)
need some serious recommendation on this:

- My Rig: ipod touch 4th gen
- Type of usage: totally for music
- Music genre: rnb/pop/instrumental and ballad
- Budget: not more than RM500
- Headphone/ earphone type: preferably IEM
- Other requirements (if any): Over ear also ok...

Can the sifu here help me? sad.gif
give brainwaz B2 a try... its bass light but the sub bass is good considering its a cheap IEM and using 2 armature drivers
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 23 2011, 07:08 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(Calvin789 @ Aug 23 2011, 05:55 PM)
hi sifu sifu ....i wan to find in ear canal earphones.....
budget rm50-100
i listen to loud bass,techno music,etc cool.gif  cool.gif  cool.gif  cool.gif  cool.gif
soundmagic PL21. trust me you wont regret getting it....
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 24 2011, 05:47 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(killer zone II @ Aug 24 2011, 12:19 AM)
- Your rig : Nexus s / using power amp
- What type of usage : music
- File format used in your source : mp3
- Genre of music you listen to : pop / jazz / r&b / ballads / slow rock / almost anything lah
- Headphone/ earphone type : IEM
- Other requirements (if any) : good sound isolating. not bass overshadow/excessive as im not basshead. prefer listen to beautiful singer vocal clearly with some smooth bass.

Im planing to buy dr dre tour as i test it with my friend. the sound was superb. but the bass is like excessive. and the price make me think twice and ask here. in your opinion, is there any brand that best bang buck and can fight with dr dre tour in every aspect? Thanks...
vocals??? if ur budget permits u... get urself audio techinca CK100 or CK10....
the vocals from CK100 is the best i heard be it from IEM or headphones..... the only thing that can beat its sweet vocals is AD2000 and its freaking expensive lol....

g3n0c1d3
post Sep 7 2011, 12:37 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Sep 4 2011, 11:34 PM)
My Rig: HTC DesireHD
- Type of usage: Music
- Music genre: NOT heavy metal
- Budget: -
- Headphone/ earphone type: Headphone
- Other requirements (if any): Compact design

I like the BoseĀ® OE audio headphones. I want something small.
Actually, I'm just looking to see what other options are there besides the 1 mentioned. smile.gif

No limitations on budget!
compact headphones with no budget limit?
ultrasone pro900
g3n0c1d3
post Sep 8 2011, 11:14 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(micdy @ Sep 8 2011, 09:33 AM)
Hi all,

I am in the market looking for a new IEM. My old IE8 just failed me after 3 years of good service. I am looking for something with good clarity, good bass(I found the IE8 to be too bassy and muddy sometimes making the music too boring.), and most importantly good ISOLATION. (The old IE8 was really really really really bad at this!)

My budget is about $200 - 250. I had a few models in mind:
1. Shure SE315
2. Etymotic HF3
3. Brainwavz B2
4. Ultimate Ears UE700 Ultimate ears triple fi.10

Please advise. Thank you.
the bold ones: is it USD or MYR?

are u sure ure going from IE8 to analytically iems? no offence thou brainwavz B2 is kindda bright and and a bit analytical and ety on the other hands are famous for their cold and analytical sounding (not a bad thing but it all comes to preferences)

i would say if u want UE IEMs, go for triple fi. 10 rather than UE700, ive heard both of it and i would say triple fi.10 exceeded UE700 WAAAAYYY behind, thou the price... sweat.gif

i cant say much about shure SE315 since i never heard it..
g3n0c1d3
post Sep 8 2011, 04:47 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(micdy @ Sep 8 2011, 11:25 AM)
Thanks for the reply. I am sorry, I just copy this from my question at Head-Fi. It is US dollars... I find the IE8 to be a bit boring (the sounds are kinda muddy). I am looking into the UE IEMs, but they all look so fragile. I think I am most likely going for either the Brainwavz B2 or Shure SE315.
i see u have MS1i. i bet u would love the sound of B2 since its kindda bright. but be warned, the soundstage is not as massive as IE8 and the bass is... well lets just say its opposite IE8....

and if u like the B2, u should save alot since B2 is really cheap...brows.gif

g3n0c1d3
post Sep 8 2011, 08:04 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(micdy @ Sep 8 2011, 04:52 PM)
Ya.. I love the sound of the MS1. In fact, it is because of the MS1 that I found the sound of IE8 sooo boring and muddy!  tongue.gif  So B2 is definately a good buy?
i would say so, even straight from iphone, it'll sound pretty good
g3n0c1d3
post Sep 12 2011, 11:18 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Sep 11 2011, 05:03 PM)
IEM less than RM90 and durable + clear sounds.

Recommendation? My Superlux HD IEM broke.
soundmagic PL20
now rm70 (save u some extra money... biggrin.gif)
PM this guy

dont go for ifrogz.... the quality build is really not that durable.... i bought it last time and my ifrogz earpollution only last me a couple of hours... and no returns also....
doh.gif

0.0386sec    1.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:52 AM