Samsung Galaxy TAB Official Thread V2, Best and most portable 7" Android tablet

kmrdeva
post Jun 16 2011, 09:55 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Jun 16 2011, 09:46 AM)
If relating android to windows OS, it's like installing windows7 on non-dualcore pc.... slow?  blush.gif

Or maybe android OS is different from windows OS ... dun require better hardware.  blush.gif
Honeycomb on single core is probably more like Win7 on single core P4 PC with 512MB RAM, not as smooth as WinXP.

Froyo/Gingerbread on dual core tablet with 1GB RAM (if even possible), is like running Win2K (not as optimized for multicore as Win7) on a new dual core PC with gigs of RAM..

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jun 16 2011, 09:56 AM
kmrdeva
post Jun 17 2011, 09:47 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 17 2011, 08:35 AM)
Hopefully true
My gunsight was swayed towards the upcoming 8.9 model
Interesting news more choices for buyers
Me too, buddy. Am looking forward to the upcoming 8.9 model, as I've had to stop reading PDF e-mags after getting the Tab. 1024x600 on 7" is just a teeny bit too small for comfortable reading of e-magazines. whistling.gif
kmrdeva
post Jun 17 2011, 09:59 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 17 2011, 09:51 AM)
I have stop reading mags even on iPad . Didn't even bother trying on my iconia
It is tiring too much hassle having to pinch n zoom, scrolling left right, top n bottom
Just not practical. It is supposed to be best experience on iPad which I find it just sucks. Only a novelty I say. Reading few articles maybe definitely not the whole mag
True, on my iPad previously, reading PDF emags was not a pleasure but still possible (a slight bit of pinchzooming and panning needed sometimes). Actually, emags are hard to read on any platform, I think, even on a laptop (due to its landscape screen).
kmrdeva
post Jun 17 2011, 10:18 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Jun 17 2011, 10:16 AM)
i just convert all my pdf to epub format and read on tab... no problem so far...
Let me try with my emags.. not sure if the conversion will be ok or not. All my ebooks are in epub format which show up nice on iPad and Tab.
kmrdeva
post Jun 21 2011, 10:40 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Lan3 @ Jun 21 2011, 10:36 AM)
hi guys, i'm back with Overcome Gold with Hermes. so far ok lah, but ada lagging at gallery while loading thumbnail, yg lain terbaik...
I removed the gallery using titanium backup and am happily using quickpic now. fast!.
kmrdeva
post Jun 23 2011, 06:33 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Jun 23 2011, 05:19 PM)
anyone bricked their galaxy tabs before here???
Bricked as in totally cannot power on, no la. But bricked in the sense that the device cannot boot to the OS (i.e. bootloop) and cannot enter download (the yellow android construction logo) or recovery mode (the recovery or CWM menu) - yes, I experienced this many times.

Recently, while flashing with ODIN, I had 3 Tabs (mine and 2 belonging to my colleagues) fail and die at the funny looking phone <-> computer logo. Tried different USB ports on my laptop, rebooted the laptop many times, reinstalled drivers for the Tab, all no go.

Finally found the cause - the Momax cable that I was using seemed to be only working for charging and usb data transfers, not flashing firmwares. Had to use my other cable bought locally for RM25. All good now smile.gif

So your definition of bricked is what, exactly?
kmrdeva
post Jun 23 2011, 06:40 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Jun 23 2011, 06:36 PM)
@kmrdeva
dunno bro. my fren told me now cannot on, even with volume down+power or not.

he said usbcable accidentally disconnected during ODIN.
Maybe try leaving the device alone for an hour then try again or plug it into the AC charger (not PC USB port) and try powering it on like normal (i.e. just power button) to see what happens?
kmrdeva
post Jun 27 2011, 10:12 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(nkl7877 @ Jun 27 2011, 09:39 PM)
If there is a dual core galaxy tab 7 then is really an ipad killer already.mayb can kill iphone as well
IMHO, the current single core tab7 already kills ipad1 and ipad2 by virtue of being smaller, lighter, almost as long batt life and being able to make/take calls..
kmrdeva
post Jun 28 2011, 11:08 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(kidd0 @ Jun 28 2011, 10:55 PM)
hi all..
i wud like to ask if there anyone facing same prob with me after using hermes..
b4 dis my gmail always gave me a notification when received new email..
no need to refresh everytime..but right now i have to refresh  few times to get all email to received in my sgt..i've already check gmail setting but there don have any option to set the frequency to refresh email..dis option u only can see in default email app..n not in gmail app..
so my big Q is,how i can set my gmail app to work just like b4?
Don't have this issue, gmail notifications working fine for me here (I'm on 3G and wifi all the time). BTW gmail is using true push notification so I don't think there is any place to set mail-check or refresh interval. Maybe try clearing gmail data and cache first?
kmrdeva
post Jun 28 2011, 11:42 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Jun 28 2011, 11:13 PM)
setting -> Account and Syn -> active
you mean auto-sync and background-sync need to be enabled, right?
kmrdeva
post Jun 28 2011, 11:57 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Jun 28 2011, 11:45 PM)
yah .....
It seem like overcome like to play with our auto syn smile.gif
for some reason, I had no issue on my Hermes setup (safe restock v3 then wipe install).
kmrdeva
post Jun 30 2011, 04:12 PM

4,776 posts

Looking at the last few pages of posts, I always wondered why there is so much fascination with using Kies to update the Tab's firmware. I had thought that ODIN was a simpler tool for this with a higher success rate. Using ODIN, I have flashed European GB (P1000XXJMQ) and Malaysian GB (P1000DXJPC) without problems..

I've never installed or used Kies before, so maybe I will just keep wondering.. smile.gif
kmrdeva
post Jun 30 2011, 06:10 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Piccolo @ Jun 30 2011, 06:06 PM)
Wow i just kantoi'd my tab flashing using Odin 1.3. Must use 1.7 and pit from KM3 to JPD is it?
Yeah, if I remember correctly, I used Odin 1.7 with PIT to go up to JPC some weeks back. Wasn't too special compared to JQ1 which I also tried before. I've never heard of JPD firmware, though.

Now happily using Overcome 2.0.1 custom ROM.
kmrdeva
post Jun 30 2011, 06:25 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Piccolo @ Jun 30 2011, 06:11 PM)
What is the pit file to use?
For which firmware?
kmrdeva
post Jun 30 2011, 06:30 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Piccolo @ Jun 30 2011, 06:28 PM)
Edited above lol.

For JPC that you mentioned of course. Also I need dbdata.tar or something right?

Is there an instruction link I can follow?
I don't remember using dbdata.tar (as advised by chainfire in his JQ1 stock flash thread @ xda-dev).

Anyway, if I am not wrong, I followed the setup as shown at http://samsungbbs.cnmo.com/thread-396707-1-1.html for JPC.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0575sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:49 PM