LYN Official Proton Persona Owners Club and support thread V15
PPLYNC
Persona celebrating one dozen +3 threads of awesomeness!!

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT!!
TO ALL FELLOW PPLYNC MEMBERS WHO ARE DRIVING PERSONA ELEGANCE:
If you have ever experienced sounds (tak tak tak tak tak) coming from your engine during cold start in the morning, then it MAY BE one of the infamous Proton's manufacturing defect: the IAFM problem. IAFM noise is most noticeable during cold start, and you may hear the frequency of the noise going up or down depending on the RPM that the engine is running at. The noise is identical to a diesel truck or lorry's engine idling noise. Once the engine has warmed up, the noise will become softer or totally eliminated. This is because the plastic components on one of the valves on IAFM expands with heat.
So far the problems that may be associated with IAFM noise are nothing major, but in certain cases it may cause severe throttle lag, and the noise may get louder over time. Some owners have even experienced increase in fuel consumption and bad engine response.
If you visit the service centre and the mechanic or service attendant tells you that the noise is not caused by IAFM as our Persona Elegance comes with new batch of IAFM modules, DO NOT believe what they said.
You may:
1.) Ask them to diagnose and tell you what exactly is the problem since they insisted that it's not IAFM module noise.
2.) If the mechanics at CoSE tell you that the noise is not caused by IAFM, go to a few different SCs, have them to check your IAFM module for imperfections on the valve, then get them to write a report each. Compile these reports & bring it to CoSE's customer service and file a complaint, give it to their higher authority.
Now, do remember that they may not be able to figure the noise out if you send your car to SC as the engine has already warmed up. Park your car and leave it there for an hour or so for the engine to cool down, then get the service attendant or mechanic to listen to the noise as you start the engine.
Again, I would like to stress on this main point as I've experienced this myself and wasted almost a month plus before sending it to a different SC just to have the noise diagnosed as IAFM problem; If the guys at CoSE tells you that it's not IAFM problem but your guts and 13 other SCs tell u that it is, then it IS IAFM problem. In my case they never even bothered to check as the engine has already warmed up and the sound was gone by the time the mechanic laid his hands on my car.
This serves as an important announcement to all Persona Elegance (PE) owners as to not overlook this small issue that may lead to greater problems in the future. The price of IAFM modules has dropped since year 2009 (from RM 1200+ in late 2008 to RM 2xx in 2011) because of the frequency of Campro IAFM engines having this problem. Still, it's our right to claim the IAFM modules as they are covered under warranty and malfunctioned units are manufacturing defects. We should not wait till the warranty period is over and then pay them RM300+ including labour to fix a defect that is there from day 1 of ownership of the car itself.
I hope all the Persona Elegance owners out there take note of this issue and do not keep an eye closed.
Salam 1 Malaysia, & Harap Maklum.
BULK ORDER V4
Dyno chart y u shd get Denso instead of other brands. Lesser misfires and higher power gain.
DYNO CHART
Price RM160/set of 4. Includes postage.
Each plugs can last 100,000 KM lifespan compared to OEM NGK only 20k KM.
DENSO IRIDIUM 0.4mm Spark Plugs
Please PM me to join the bulk.
1) tepungtalam
2) selangorclay
3) samwongjyhhorng
4) saiful_azhar
5) vccy
6) pupumaru
7) fenrir0402
8) saddient
2 more seat left!!
BULK ORDER V5
Rapid Stop 550'C Brake Pads. Front only, RM 130. For H-Line owners with rear disc brakes, if you want the rear brake pads as well I'll have to ask for a different quotation from the dealer. For now the bulk is for front brake pads only.

Pros of RS:
1. Higher working temp.
2. Doesn't need to warm up first every time u start ur car to provide immense braking power.
3. Less fading, lasts longer.
4. Less brake dust than OEM pads.
5. Price.
Cons of RS:
1. Needs bedding in.
2. Not so well known like MKT.
3. Can be spongy if not bed in correctly.
If possible, a TT will be held where buyers will be given their brake pads and will be taught on how to bed in the brake pads accordingly & evenly.
RM 130 only, need at least 10 members here to get bulk price. Might be able to get cheaper if more people join the bulk.
1. ZengTMM
2. K.Lee
3. onijoseph
4. RokXIII
5. pupumaru
6. fenrir0402
7. selangorclay
8. MjMax15
Photos From Recent TTs
TT 4.0 - Genting Highlands.
Studio shots of the New Persona Elegance (PE)
Proton Persona Promotional Video
Previous Threads V1-V14
Proudly a Proton Persona Owner
215 Members and Growing!!! Mega TT will be fun if all 215 Members show up!!
For those who just received their Persona, Congratulations & Welcome to PPLYNC!! Please PM ME or POST in this thread stating that u are a new owner to update you name into the list.
PPLYNC
Persona celebrating one dozen +3 threads of awesomeness!!

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT!!
TO ALL FELLOW PPLYNC MEMBERS WHO ARE DRIVING PERSONA ELEGANCE:
If you have ever experienced sounds (tak tak tak tak tak) coming from your engine during cold start in the morning, then it MAY BE one of the infamous Proton's manufacturing defect: the IAFM problem. IAFM noise is most noticeable during cold start, and you may hear the frequency of the noise going up or down depending on the RPM that the engine is running at. The noise is identical to a diesel truck or lorry's engine idling noise. Once the engine has warmed up, the noise will become softer or totally eliminated. This is because the plastic components on one of the valves on IAFM expands with heat.
So far the problems that may be associated with IAFM noise are nothing major, but in certain cases it may cause severe throttle lag, and the noise may get louder over time. Some owners have even experienced increase in fuel consumption and bad engine response.
If you visit the service centre and the mechanic or service attendant tells you that the noise is not caused by IAFM as our Persona Elegance comes with new batch of IAFM modules, DO NOT believe what they said.
You may:
1.) Ask them to diagnose and tell you what exactly is the problem since they insisted that it's not IAFM module noise.
2.) If the mechanics at CoSE tell you that the noise is not caused by IAFM, go to a few different SCs, have them to check your IAFM module for imperfections on the valve, then get them to write a report each. Compile these reports & bring it to CoSE's customer service and file a complaint, give it to their higher authority.
Now, do remember that they may not be able to figure the noise out if you send your car to SC as the engine has already warmed up. Park your car and leave it there for an hour or so for the engine to cool down, then get the service attendant or mechanic to listen to the noise as you start the engine.
Again, I would like to stress on this main point as I've experienced this myself and wasted almost a month plus before sending it to a different SC just to have the noise diagnosed as IAFM problem; If the guys at CoSE tells you that it's not IAFM problem but your guts and 13 other SCs tell u that it is, then it IS IAFM problem. In my case they never even bothered to check as the engine has already warmed up and the sound was gone by the time the mechanic laid his hands on my car.
This serves as an important announcement to all Persona Elegance (PE) owners as to not overlook this small issue that may lead to greater problems in the future. The price of IAFM modules has dropped since year 2009 (from RM 1200+ in late 2008 to RM 2xx in 2011) because of the frequency of Campro IAFM engines having this problem. Still, it's our right to claim the IAFM modules as they are covered under warranty and malfunctioned units are manufacturing defects. We should not wait till the warranty period is over and then pay them RM300+ including labour to fix a defect that is there from day 1 of ownership of the car itself.
I hope all the Persona Elegance owners out there take note of this issue and do not keep an eye closed.
Salam 1 Malaysia, & Harap Maklum.
BULK ORDER V4
Dyno chart y u shd get Denso instead of other brands. Lesser misfires and higher power gain.
DYNO CHART
Price RM160/set of 4. Includes postage.
Each plugs can last 100,000 KM lifespan compared to OEM NGK only 20k KM.
DENSO IRIDIUM 0.4mm Spark Plugs
Please PM me to join the bulk.
1) tepungtalam
2) selangorclay
3) samwongjyhhorng
4) saiful_azhar
5) vccy
6) pupumaru
7) fenrir0402
8) saddient
2 more seat left!!
BULK ORDER V5
Rapid Stop 550'C Brake Pads. Front only, RM 130. For H-Line owners with rear disc brakes, if you want the rear brake pads as well I'll have to ask for a different quotation from the dealer. For now the bulk is for front brake pads only.

Pros of RS:
1. Higher working temp.
2. Doesn't need to warm up first every time u start ur car to provide immense braking power.
3. Less fading, lasts longer.
4. Less brake dust than OEM pads.
5. Price.
Cons of RS:
1. Needs bedding in.
2. Not so well known like MKT.
3. Can be spongy if not bed in correctly.
If possible, a TT will be held where buyers will be given their brake pads and will be taught on how to bed in the brake pads accordingly & evenly.
RM 130 only, need at least 10 members here to get bulk price. Might be able to get cheaper if more people join the bulk.
1. ZengTMM
2. K.Lee
3. onijoseph
4. RokXIII
5. pupumaru
6. fenrir0402
7. selangorclay
8. MjMax15
Photos From Recent TTs
TT 4.0 - Genting Highlands.
Studio shots of the New Persona Elegance (PE)
Proton Persona Promotional Video
Previous Threads V1-V14
Proudly a Proton Persona Owner
215 Members and Growing!!! Mega TT will be fun if all 215 Members show up!!
For those who just received their Persona, Congratulations & Welcome to PPLYNC!! Please PM ME or POST in this thread stating that u are a new owner to update you name into the list.
Car Service & Preventive Maintenance Schedule and Pricing
Price of Proton Parts
Proton Parts Cost
Recommended SC
1)Serdang SC - http://worldcarcare.com.my/WorldCarCare.html
Reasons: Best customer service in all reviews, allows you to bring own lube.
2) CoSE (beside Kesas) - Head towards Klang on Kesas and you will pass by the biggest Proton billboard you'll ever see. Thats the place.
Proton Center of Excellence (CoSE),
Jalan TP 5, Taman Perindustrian Sime Uep, 47600 Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
+60 3-8026 9999
HQ, easy to claim warranty and reflash ECU. Have to make appointment b4 going there. Can bring own Lube
3) Juru SC (Penang) - Can bring own lube.
4) Trend point - Along Jalan Tun Razak. (Still under review, first review was bad, but a warranty claim experience after that shows that they're quite efficient and able to detect problems that even CoSE denies.)
Unrecommended SC (TRY TO AVOID AT ALL COST!)
1) Sin Siang Hin sdn. bhd. at genting klang n gombak - bad service and they whack ur car like they pay for petrol
Common Problem in Persona
Tips for Persona Users (To be Updated)
Jokes and Funny Remarks Made By PPLYNC Members
This post has been edited by xandras: Apr 26 2011, 06:26 PM
Apr 17 2011, 01:33 AM, updated 15y ago

0.0294sec