QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Feb 17 2014, 09:49 PM)
2wd oso wait until april?Mitsubishi asx, This car doesnt seem to be popular here.
Mitsubishi asx, This car doesnt seem to be popular here.
Feb 17 2014, 09:53 PM
7,948 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Soviet Sarawak |
Feb 18 2014, 12:19 AM
2,496 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 17 2014, 06:35 PM) A CVT can slip? I thought CVT is always locked to the engine after the initial start no? The feeling in a CVT car is as if it doesn't move though. Should be "slip".QUOTE(ivanpei @ Feb 17 2014, 07:07 PM) Actually I'm not sure why everyone is so anti-cvt. Imo you are paying for better tech than a conventional auto. Firstly you save fuel because you maintain an optimum gear ratio and high rpm throughout. Also it's only sluggish early on because when you floor it you don't climb up the rpm fast. Sorry if I came out like I'm anti CVT. However in 0-100 times cvt transmission is as fast if not faster than an auto because you get no rpm drop off when you move up the "gears". So for normal driving where you step on the pedal lightly or medium, you climb up the rpm smoothly and more efficiently than an auto. It's only when you want to get the immediate burst of acceleration like an ah beng, then the auto can give you that. For normal driving and normal speeding up for highway speeds, the cvt Imo is better. If you really want speed and the gforce pushed into seat feeling, get a manual lar and red line all the way. Like somebody already mentioned, it takes away the fun in driving and it's no fun that some drivers feel as if the control to cog at a certain gear is robbed from them. Enjoyment of driving does not need to be revving to red line or the feeling of being pushed into the seat. Yeah, on paper it's the best technology to optimise gear ratio and harness engine power. |
Feb 18 2014, 07:59 AM
2,776 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Feb 18 2014, 10:28 AM
639 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
As a Drivers car conventional auto better lar I assume. But I think in compact suv segment, cvt was the right call since asx customers mainly buy it for the high riding height, interior space and value for money.
Yea agree cx5 especially the 2.5 would be very fun to drive! Ai ya 165k wor, 47k more than the 2wd asx. |
Feb 18 2014, 10:47 AM
2,276 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: subang, sunway, puchong, pj -- does_this_annoy_you? |
Feb 18 2014, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(sootienann @ Feb 18 2014, 10:47 AM) That's correct. Just like any auto gearbox with manual override.But for the CVT in the ASX, you have 6 fixed forward ratios available on the paddle shift with final drive ratio of 6.12. 2.349 1.465 1.126 0.873 0.661 0.543 In Australia and especially in UK, you can find 2.2L diesel variant (110kW @3,500rpm / 360Nm @1,500-2,750rpm 4.199 2.405 1.583 1.161 0.855 0.685 |
Feb 18 2014, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 18 2014, 02:43 PM) That's correct. Just like any auto gearbox with manual override. because of the torqueBut for the CVT in the ASX, you have 6 fixed forward ratios available on the paddle shift with final drive ratio of 6.12. 2.349 1.465 1.126 0.873 0.661 0.543 In Australia and especially in UK, you can find 2.2L diesel variant (110kW @3,500rpm / 360Nm @1,500-2,750rpm 4.199 2.405 1.583 1.161 0.855 0.685 CVT can only handle about 200 - 220 Nm of torque so far i think only Nissan developed a CVT that can handle 300+ Nm |
Feb 18 2014, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 18 2014, 05:17 PM) because of the torque I was just being silly... Of course it's the torque. CVT can only handle about 200 - 220 Nm of torque so far i think only Nissan developed a CVT that can handle 300+ Nm Don't think it's just Nissan's CVT that can handle 300+ Nm torque. What about Subaru Forester XT? Or perhaps the the Forester's CVT is from Nissan? |
Feb 18 2014, 05:28 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
Feb 18 2014, 08:34 PM
649 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 17 2014, 11:30 AM) The CVT rubberband type transmission needs to be driven differently. Press gao gao and the transmission slips. The trick is NOT to slam the accelerator gao gao. Providing enough just for the CVT to catch on and not slip. And slowly increase the accelerator when you accelerate. haha...if slip then gone already la the cvt..read before posting |
Feb 18 2014, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 18 2014, 02:43 PM) That's correct. Just like any auto gearbox with manual override. cuz the torque is too much for the cvt to handle. there are many version of cvt, some for normal cars and some for more powerful ones, like the nissan murano. the bigger ones are less efficient, the ones on our cars are the ones optimised for fc and comfort. have a look at jatco transmission, all cvt from mitsu are from jatco, which is owned by nissan.. have a look at nissan taena, the cvt ratio and final drive is exactly the same as the asxBut for the CVT in the ASX, you have 6 fixed forward ratios available on the paddle shift with final drive ratio of 6.12. 2.349 1.465 1.126 0.873 0.661 0.543 In Australia and especially in UK, you can find 2.2L diesel variant (110kW @3,500rpm / 360Nm @1,500-2,750rpm 4.199 2.405 1.583 1.161 0.855 0.685 |
Feb 18 2014, 08:47 PM
83 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 17 2014, 11:30 AM) The CVT rubberband type transmission needs to be driven differently. Press gao gao and the transmission slips. The trick is NOT to slam the accelerator gao gao. Providing enough just for the CVT to catch on and not slip. And slowly increase the accelerator when you accelerate. Please, now cvt all metal belt driven, people said rubberband effect on those gearbox, u think really driven by rubber belt? you dont feel the pulling force because the gear box keep changing it's gear ratio, and combo with torque converter it's really SMOOTH. This post has been edited by nzh0920: Feb 18 2014, 08:50 PM |
Feb 18 2014, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 18 2014, 05:28 PM) That's true. Should read this... CVT-equipped WRX triggers mass suicidesQUOTE(ckk125 @ Feb 18 2014, 08:34 PM) QUOTE(nzh0920 @ Feb 18 2014, 08:47 PM) Please, now cvt all metal belt driven, people said rubberband effect on those gearbox, u think really driven by rubber belt? Aiyoh... Kena clubbed by the smarter guys. you dont feel the pulling force because the gear box keep changing it's gear ratio, and combo with torque converter it's really SMOOTH. Chill guys. Ever hear figure of speech? QUOTE(ckk125 @ Feb 18 2014, 08:38 PM) cuz the torque is too much for the cvt to handle. there are many version of cvt, some for normal cars and some for more powerful ones, like the nissan murano. the bigger ones are less efficient, the ones on our cars are the ones optimised for fc and comfort. have a look at jatco transmission, all cvt from mitsu are from jatco, which is owned by nissan.. have a look at nissan taena, the cvt ratio and final drive is exactly the same as the asx The Teana's gearbox is anything BUT the same as the ASX. Firstly, Teana's one ranges from 2.349 to 0.394 while ASX is 2.349 to 0.543. Final drive ratio for the 2.5 Teana and the ASX might be the same (6.12) but the 2.0 Teana final drive ratio is 6.466.The Teanas and Muranos equipped with the VQ35DE engine has gear ratios from 2.371 to 0.439 with a final drive ratio of 5.713. |
Feb 18 2014, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 18 2014, 10:59 PM) That's true. Should read this... CVT-equipped WRX triggers mass suicides thats the problem if u dont read word for word.Aiyoh... Kena clubbed by the smarter guys. Chill guys. Ever hear figure of speech? The Teana's gearbox is anything BUT the same as the ASX. Firstly, Teana's one ranges from 2.349 to 0.394 while ASX is 2.349 to 0.543. Final drive ratio for the 2.5 Teana and the ASX might be the same (6.12) but the 2.0 Teana final drive ratio is 6.466. The Teanas and Muranos equipped with the VQ35DE engine has gear ratios from 2.371 to 0.439 with a final drive ratio of 5.713. read lah http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.au/vehicles/asx CVT Range 2.349 - 0.394 Final drive 6.120 sounds familiar? what u saw is the preset virtual ratio, which can be adjusted based on manufacturer's need. the hardware, is the same This post has been edited by ckk125: Feb 18 2014, 11:08 PM |
Feb 18 2014, 11:13 PM
8,421 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Feb 18 2014, 11:33 PM
Feb 19 2014, 12:22 PM
639 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
So same CVT as the Teana. Apparently Nissan is very famous for their efficient and smooth CVTs. So since we are getting the same hardware, reliability and performance should be top notch. Yea I read Mitsubishi and Nissan both using Jatco cvt.
I feel thay reviewers are really biased as well lar. Everyone is raving how Nissan Teana cvt plus 2.0 engine gives a smooth and pleasant drive with good acceleration at 1450 kerb weight. While same reviewer days the asx 2.0 with the same cvt at 1350 kerb weight feels sluggish and just "up to the task". ??? Mitsubishi why you no bribe journalists? This post has been edited by ivanpei: Feb 19 2014, 12:35 PM |
Feb 19 2014, 12:38 PM
malaysia CKD production line factory at segambut:
![]() leaves a lot of things to be desired |
Feb 19 2014, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(ivanpei @ Feb 19 2014, 12:22 PM) So same CVT as the Teana. Apparently Nissan is very famous for their efficient and smooth CVTs. So since we are getting the same hardware, reliability and performance should be top notch. Yea I read Mitsubishi and Nissan both using Jatco cvt. nola... u mz remember, nissan engine is more torquey and smoother than most engine. the 4b11 is quite harsh and noisy.I feel thay reviewers are really biased as well lar. Everyone is raving how Nissan Teana cvt plus 2.0 engine gives a smooth and pleasant drive with good acceleration at 1450 kerb weight. While same reviewer days the asx 2.0 with the same cvt at 1350 kerb weight feels sluggish and just "up to the task". ??? Mitsubishi why you no bribe journalists? |
Feb 19 2014, 05:27 PM
843 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
| Change to: | 0.0309sec