there is this shop that told me hoya pro1d 67mm filters that are less than rm250 is counterfeit.... is that true? or just trying their luck to butcher my wallet?
Guide - Filters for your camera lenses
Aug 12 2011, 10:44 PM
116 posts Joined: May 2008 |
there is this shop that told me hoya pro1d 67mm filters that are less than rm250 is counterfeit.... is that true? or just trying their luck to butcher my wallet?
Aug 13 2011, 12:37 AM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Incheon, Korea.. currently in Miri, Soviet Sarawak |
butcher, and be careful with fake Hoya pro1D too.
Aug 13 2011, 09:18 AM
1,751 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(ieR @ Jun 3 2011, 12:26 AM) hidden830726: you see, that kitlens is worth less then rm500 (some say rm300)... so it wont be smart to invest on a rm200 filter. i think just use it filter-less, if it break, that rm200 filter investment can go to a new better lens /notshy So do nikkon kitlens 18mm-105mm worth to have a good filter? |
Aug 13 2011, 11:03 AM
116 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(ieR @ Aug 13 2011, 12:37 AM) thanks.... luckily i check prices online before surveying in shops.... how to tell between fake n real filters? actually for a canon 18135 kit lens, is it worth to get an expensive filter? i just need it for protection purpose, is hoya pro1d a recommended choice? |
Aug 13 2011, 11:09 AM
1,258 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: /k/ |
how about this item?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1902932&hl= variable nd filter ?? Any comment on it? looks promising for saving money but don't know about the quality... Also, any recommendation for CPL filter? ima using 18-55mm kit lens.. T,T |
Aug 13 2011, 11:11 AM
2,847 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(nightkids89 @ Aug 13 2011, 11:03 AM) thanks.... luckily i check prices online before surveying in shops.... how to tell between fake n real filters? actually for a canon 18135 kit lens, is it worth to get an expensive filter? i just need it for protection purpose, is hoya pro1d a recommended choice? Bought from reputable shop gua.Q1, I thought of buying this: Hoya 58mm Digital Filter Kit with Filter Pouch (Circular Polarizer + Neutral Density 8 + UV Glass Filter) http://shashinki.com/shop/hoya-58mm-digita...ter-p-7236.html Good enough? Q2, I only got 50mm1.8g, so i get 58mm filter or bigger filter and buy additional step up ring? Thank you for reply in advance This post has been edited by hidden830726: Aug 13 2011, 12:11 PM |
Aug 13 2011, 12:11 PM
2,847 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Q3,
Can we stack filter? E/.g. UV Glass Filter on the lens all the time, and Circular Polarizer or Neutral Density stack on the first filter when need the CPL or ND? This post has been edited by hidden830726: Aug 13 2011, 12:11 PM |
Aug 13 2011, 01:39 PM
20 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Anyone can tell me whether this is orginal or fake Hoya HMC filter? Bought this from one of the shop in digital mall last month.
![]() This post has been edited by unknown_obj: Aug 13 2011, 01:59 PM |
Aug 13 2011, 01:42 PM
346 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Aug 13 2011, 12:11 PM) Can we stack filter? Big no-no. The more layer of extra glass, the worse it gets. Can degrade image quality (either it's noticeable or unnoticeable) and ghosting.E/.g. UV Glass Filter on the lens all the time, and Circular Polarizer or Neutral Density stack on the first filter when need the CPL or ND? This post has been edited by seanwc101: Aug 13 2011, 01:44 PM |
Aug 14 2011, 09:39 AM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Incheon, Korea.. currently in Miri, Soviet Sarawak |
QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 13 2011, 09:18 AM) QUOTE(nightkids89 @ Aug 13 2011, 11:03 AM) thanks.... luckily i check prices online before surveying in shops.... how to tell between fake n real filters? actually for a canon 18135 kit lens, is it worth to get an expensive filter? i just need it for protection purpose, is hoya pro1d a recommended choice? This, is up to u to decide. but to value both lens vs filter. Hoya own Pro1D is recommended for both standard lens, but if me, myself will get better ones, like what i did last night at starbuck, every of my friend get ghosting (reflection) from light via filter in their pic, except B+W. its so obvious.QUOTE(Darkripper @ Aug 13 2011, 11:09 AM) how about this item? variable ND, i only trust one brand, Light Craft Workshop. i used before china brand, it really degrade the IQ compare to LCW. but LCW is damnnnn expensive.http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1902932&hl= variable nd filter ?? Any comment on it? looks promising for saving money but don't know about the quality... Also, any recommendation for CPL filter? ima using 18-55mm kit lens.. T,T QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Aug 13 2011, 11:11 AM) Q1, Q1: yes, they are good, but expensive too, for that price, if u plan to have more lens, you can consider adding more fund to get a cokin system.I thought of buying this: Hoya 58mm Digital Filter Kit with Filter Pouch (Circular Polarizer + Neutral Density 8 + UV Glass Filter) http://shashinki.com/shop/hoya-58mm-digita...ter-p-7236.html Good enough? Q2, I only got 50mm1.8g, so i get 58mm filter or bigger filter and buy additional step up ring? Thank you for reply in advance' Q3, Can we stack filter? E/.g. UV Glass Filter on the lens all the time, and Circular Polarizer or Neutral Density stack on the first filter when need the CPL or ND? Q2: errr, which filter? if normal UV filter, get one for its size. if CPL, usually advise is that, get a 77mm ones, then get step up rings, then in future can use on bigger filter lenses. no need buy too many CPL. (new diff size CPL = rm1xx, VS step up ring = rm25) Q3: YES, filter are design that way. BUT, do understand what are u doing. like seanwc101 said if you use cheap filter, IQ will drop and cause ghosting and vignetting on wide angles. |
Aug 14 2011, 12:46 PM
4,637 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ieR @ Aug 14 2011, 09:39 AM) variable ND, i only trust one brand, Light Craft Workshop. i used before china brand, it really degrade the IQ compare to LCW. but LCW is damnnnn expensive. for a moment there i couldn't find this vari-ND on their website. then i realise it is called Fader ND.cool, as i am looking for a vari ND myself and i am thinking of getting singh-ray filter. but at usd 340 a pop, rather than usd 125 for the light craft workshop (both at 77mm size) i might go for the cheaper version. wonder are they good? |
Aug 15 2011, 06:55 PM
u try lor, if u are not super IQ freak, no issue... since long exposure sometimes will soft if u not using stable tripod....
Aug 16 2011, 01:36 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
after reading all I can at Hoya and B+W website, I will go with B+W simply because they explained the differences between their many choices. Much more easy to understand their whole lineup than Hoya.
Just choose the mount which is F-Pro, XS-Pro or Digital Pro. B+W filters with MRC coating is easier to clean as well Digital Pro and F-Pro is the same thing but Digital Pro mount is chrome in color and F-Pro is black. Then you choose either MRC or none. MRC of course is better and the mount is made of brass. The non-MRC type are made of alloy. The XS-Pro is just a slimmer mount. If you are using it with extreme wide angle lenses, then get the XS-Pro, if not save some money as F-Pro will do. F-Pro is now thinner and can be use with 24mm wide angle lenses. If you are using M lenses which needs 46mm you are out of luck as XS-Pro smallest size is 49mm 26. What are the differences between the various B+W filter mounts? F-Pro: Compared to the earlier standard mount introduced in 2001, the F-Pro mount has become thinner. Now it can be used with wide angle lenses, including most 24mm focal lengths on a full frame body, without vignetting. Another advantage of the F-Pro mount is it's modified retaining ring, which is no longer threaded in from the front, but holds the filter glass in place from the back. When removing a filter or lens hood that has been screwed on too tight to the filter, the retaining ring is not at risk of loosening. Diopters are mounted in the older mount due to glass thickness. XS-Pro Digital: This mount is especially suited for DSLRs with wide angle and zoom lenses. It has a front thread for additional accessories such as lens caps or hoods. All XS-Pro Digital mounts are made of brass and are matte black to prevent reflections. Only UV, Clear, and Käsemann Circular Polarizers are offered in this mount, with the latest MRC nano coating. Multi-Resistant Coating (MRC) with Nano Technology The nano coating is an outer layer of protection that comes standard with all XS-Pro Digital MRC filters. The nanotechnology based characteristic (lotus effect) produces a better beading effect with water making the cleaning of this filter even simpler and faster than ever before. MRC nano has an improved outer (8th) layer over regular MRC. Digital-Pro: The term "Digital-Pro" refers to the use of a brushed chrome ring as opposed to the standard black ring. There is no optical difference when comparing similar glass types. Digital-Pro filters may be used with both film and digital cameras. This post has been edited by idoblu: Aug 16 2011, 01:36 PM |
Aug 16 2011, 01:56 PM
good one idoblu, how bout the DMRC for B+W Gold series?
Aug 16 2011, 02:04 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Gold series price cost more than real gold lol
Dunno much about them but copied this from yamiya They are suppose to be limited edition I think http://www.schneiderkreuznach.com/fotofilt...dition-gold.htm Description » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by idoblu: Aug 16 2011, 02:19 PM |
Aug 16 2011, 05:27 PM
wahahaha! when i first saw the B+W Gold, i fell in love instantly... and clicked buy without knowing it =.=|||
![]() |
Aug 20 2011, 08:26 PM
866 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Anyone knows where to buy Sony Filters wth T* coating except sony centre?
Sep 26 2011, 08:57 PM
1,682 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Sep 26 2011, 09:04 PM
WOW! brass is hard... not very, but harder then those aluminum used by cheap filters..
Sep 26 2011, 09:17 PM
1,682 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
| Change to: | 0.0244sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:38 PM |