807 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 26 2011, 01:02 AM)
Singapore -.-

I'm not kidding!

http://www.starhub.com/tv/packagebuilder.html?product=basic
http://www.starhub.com/entertainment/channel/skynews.html

Then again, Between Starhub and Mio, they have all the f$<#!^& channel available to Asia. Something we can only wish for over here.
My mistake..that day I went onto the Star Hub website but never saw that 'upsize' option..arrrrgghhh..come on Astro..keep this channel..
dxjb
post Apr 27 2011, 12:27 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 26 2011, 08:36 PM)
I hv to agree with you on that, at  the same time I feel giving Astro full exclusive  control of EPL was unfair! 6 mbps at RM149 is fine  ,how about your astro channels,how much wld that add up to? unsure.gif
As has been stated earlier, it depends on what a customer wants and that will determine whether they will go for Astro or Unifi..so just because Astro has the same old crappy content, doesnt mean a person will just switch over to Unifi..

Take me for example..Im a crazy football..not just EPL but every other league I will try and follow..now even though Astro doesnt offer me some of the things I want, just because of EPL nd the football, I will stick with them coz I dont seem interested with much with UNifi has to offer..but for some TV enthusiast who dont necessarily have one MUST HAVE TV content, yes they can probably test both services..n talking bout internet, as noob and as stupid I might sound, I can survive with just broadband so Unifi TV bundled with internet services would not be in my best of interests..I hope u know what I mean nod.gif

BTW, I have to disagree about Astro having exclusive rights for EPL..splitting EPL coverage over two providers would not make life better for football fans..it would create more burden..imagine u need two services to watch EPL (Astro & Unifi)..paying for that would be astronomical..and im just not talking about EPL..im talking about football in general..imagine u wanna see EPL and its on Astro but Champions League and Spanish La Liga is on Unifi..I think Singaporeans are facing this problem if Im not mistaken..

This post has been edited by dxjb: Apr 27 2011, 12:29 AM
dxjb
post Apr 27 2011, 11:46 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 27 2011, 06:22 AM)
Bro,what I meant was FTA channels  do carry some matches,like Indonesia so even the poor gets to watch a live game of his team! As the years go by we pay more and more ! Even when astro carries it its packed with adverts,so it makes no difference except here one person makes all the money.Exclusive rights screw up everything!
Yes I agree with u that probably some matches should be shown on FTA channels and at the same time on Astro..but u look at the Malaysian Super League..even that now has no coverage on FTA channels..only Astro has exclusive rights for that..luckily RTM can still show matches involving the Malaysian national team..

But can u blame Astro completely? Heck no..I will put a lot of blame also on FTA channels like RTM n Media Prima channels..they are simply not interested enough to show EPL or Malaysian football..look at Astro..since they took over the rights, there are at least 4 Live matches a week..when the rights was with RTM, only 1 match per week..and even that not guaranteed coz if government held those stupid festival open house, the matches will not be shown LIVE..their stupid highlights coverage is at 12 midnight every Sunday..how o u promote local football at that time of the day? n their presenters? All the same people who was in the same job 20 years ago..still the same bunch..suam2 kuku effort

N media Prima..when was the last time u saw any kind of football match on their channels? They would rather show Indon dramas 24 hours a day than do anything for the local sports scene..

Credit also has to be given to Astro..Astro Arena has brought sports of all kinds that Malaysian are involved with..they do bring some sports that u could not dream of would be shown on FTA channels simply coz those blokes at RTM and Media Prima just dont have an ounce of car about it..
dxjb
post Apr 27 2011, 11:57 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 27 2011, 07:15 AM)
I do agree with you, splitting the content to the other providers (which is very unlikely in Malaysia) will make the citizens more confused. Plus, let's say if Unifi get an exclusive right to air EPL on their IPTV Platform while their service still not covering the whole Malaysia, surely it will lead to more havoc state here. UNIFI HSBB also unbundled, you cannot separate the IPTV and phone service, how about those EPL Fans who even not have an broadband service at home, just have an astro to watch an EPL, taking sports package for the monthly fee of RM71.95, suddenly because of Unifi, they need to pay RM149.00 or even more if TM decide Sports channel are considered premium channel which the cheapest premium channel on Unifi itself is RM6.50. Are they willing to spend that money every month? This case usually applied for those who live at kampung like my uncle, I have asked him about this and he said he doesn't need Broadband at home and surely he will blame Astro if they removed the EPL... (or maybe he doesn't understand at all the "exclusive rights" terms....)

Just my 2 cents... not supporting astro and tm.  notworthy.gif
I agree about that UNIFI issue..if EPL was on Unifi and u had to take internet bundled with the TV, then I dont think Unifi can match Astro' number of customers..even some warong2 in the kampung just take Astro for the sports pack..now try and think how many of those warong would take up Unifi if football was on their platform and they need to take up internet as well..?

If Unifi want to compete with Astro, they should try give customers of Astro what Astro wont give..for one, let them pick the channels that they want..not come bundled in one..Unifi should try emulate what ESPN has done in the UK..they bid for EPL rights and won 1/4 rights to show matches with the rest going to Sky..ESPN is available on Sky's platform..so the money for subscription for the ESPN channel will go to ESPN and at the same time Sky would still get their share of the subscription fee..

Can I ask u AjkR06, if u know, what leagues are split between the two providers in Singapore? I wish this never happens in Malaysia.. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Apr 27 2011, 12:00 PM
dxjb
post Apr 29 2011, 02:32 AM

807 posts

Last day of Sky News..come on Astro..do something decent for once..keep the channel ffs..
dxjb
post Apr 30 2011, 03:20 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 29 2011, 03:15 PM)
Or when they change to DVB-S2+MPEG-4+AAC exclusively, which may or may not be in progress. There's no other reason for them to force everyone to change to a B.yond decoder (which is DVB-S2 ready).
Seriously, is there no other way for Astro to make some space for new channels? I mean..I would gladly swap some of the Astro crap channels that I get now just for SkyNews and SkyNews HD..is it just me or does anyone else feel there are just some unnecessary channels on Astro right now..(Astro First and AOD channels)..if the number of those channels were reduced, would that help to create space for new channels?

Now Im back to watching CNN and BBCWorld since my favourite channel Sky News is gone both in SD sand HD..damn sad.. cry.gif

dxjb
post May 2 2011, 11:13 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 2 2011, 05:59 PM)
I think they have discontinued SkyNews HD. Couldn't find it even if you subscribe to it?
It was only a preview channel that was intended for the coverage of the Royal Wedding from 25-29 April..

dxjb
post May 3 2011, 03:34 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 3 2011, 02:18 AM)
HyppTV, TM IPTV and DeTV has this channel. Maybe they're not on Astro because they refuse to bow to Asstro's monopoly demand. 
Or because the channel carries significant pro-Malaysian opposition news that the government do not want Malaysians to know about..yes its on TM IPTV and DETV but how many households has those? N how many households that Astro are in? Astro is a political tool to BN and it is through Astro that the government poison the minds of Malaysians with pro-BN news and anti-opposition news all day long.. trust me, Channel News Asia can swing a few if not many votes in the oppositions favour if it was allowed airtime on Astro..my experience living in JB and watching this channel just shows how sick and twisted plus low class TV3 and RTM news channels are..

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 3 2011, 02:18 AM)
Which is dumb. Singapore and Hong Kong PayTV all have that channel as part of their package.
Another sad story of Astro not knowing what channel is in demand from their customers and whats the best channel out there..Astro are plain dumb..

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 3 2011, 03:35 AM
dxjb
post May 3 2011, 03:47 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 3 2011, 01:25 PM)
As predicted, all Sukan programming only, if not Chinese drama channel. They might as well drop everything not sports related and rebrand as "CINSU".
Well, thats just it isnt it? Clearly the demand for sports content, be it local or international far outweighs the cry for content such as news, documentaries, kids and other channels..and clearly Astro see sports ad their profit hub that can get them more money than they can ever dream of..

N also..I think when u say that consumers need to voice out their demands, this is an example of it..not necessarily through calling Astro but by the wave of feedback consumers of the sports packages to Astro through various mediums..contrary to those who might think sports have enough channels already, the fact is, they dont..remember the controversy of no NBA earlier this year? Its very hard to cater the needs of many sports fans..in this particular case, its an additional local sports channel..n I bet u, this channel is set up with many financial backers and sponsorship deals..that plus the potential revenues Astro take in financially, it all plays into Astro hands..

Astro give u what they want to give u..if u want something from them, try doing something about it..
dxjb
post May 4 2011, 12:11 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 3 2011, 10:22 PM)
Have a query here and am curious to find out....is the BPL 3D match on Astro Supersports 3D also taken from SKY SPORTS 3D like mio stadium here??
Yup..same thing including with Sky Sports graphics on screen graphics and all..at half time, theres the Sky Sports half time show..so its a direct feed from Sky Sports..only that they use the ESPN 3D logo on the top right of the screen and the Supersport 3D logo if the match is on Supersport HD..
dxjb
post May 4 2011, 03:16 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 4 2011, 01:03 AM)
Thanks dxjb!......cool to see the half time show from SKY.....we only get a see a static mio stadium slide with the message 'Match will resume at 10.15pm'.  sad.gif will feedback to Singtel.  Cheers and thanks again for the confirmation. biggrin.gif
hey there bro chuppachop..since ur in Singapore, could u help explain what u guys have there in terms of the football coverage..? First of all, Im interested to know how has mioTV or mio stadium done in their debut season covering EPL? Who are the presenters on Matchday and what kind of coverage do u get? Here, we get the usual ESPN chaps and then switch over to the almost intolerable pundits Astro offers..is it true u still get John Dykes and the Premier League TV channel feed there?

N one other thing..recently we had a debate on here whether or not football coverage or EPL in general should be shared among providers..I do not see this as helping the customers but burdening them as it might mean paying for two providers for football..isnt that what Singaporeans are facing right now?

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 4 2011, 03:17 AM
dxjb
post May 5 2011, 12:30 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 4 2011, 10:50 PM)

Yes..finally someone from Singapore that can shed light on the current state of affairs..Thanks for the info bro..that was more than anticipated..this is actually the evidence that I wanted to see and others to know that two providers splitting broadcast rights for sports content..

What I wanted to point out is that two providers does not necessarily help the consumers..it might end up burdening them..we had a debate on here whether it was right for Astro to have the exclusive rights for the EPL..some didnt like it..and some,like me, would settle for it as long as we dont need to pay double to watch games..In Singapore's case, football fans are paying for 2 providers for their dose of football..is that good? If it cheap, then no problem..but if its expensive, football fans and consumers are ultimately losing out either by not subscribing to one of the 2 providers or just pay..

What I think is the best solution is like what the ruling state..the rights goes to the channels, i.e ESPN and that channel is provided by both providers..thats what happens now in the UK with Sky Sports and ESPN sharing the rights for the EPL but Sky is still providing ESPN on the platform..

N here, everytime I hear Astro's host Jason Dasey say 'This match is exclusively live only on Astro', it makes me wanna throw up..he keeps saying that like over and over again throughout the whole season..

What I would like to see is the IMG Premier League channel take over all broadcast of the Premire League coverage here so those Richard Keys, Andy Gray, martin Tyler, wannabes would watch he shows instead of being on it.. I really hope we can get to see John Dykes and his gang than the wannabes Astro gives us week in week out..At least in Singapore, its equally divided between the local production and international production..

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 5 2011, 12:31 AM
dxjb
post May 5 2011, 03:21 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 5 2011, 06:18 AM)
Yes finally u  shed light on a matter which needed some confirmation. The so called dirty strategy, Astro is famous for that,so many channels hv been blocked this way by astro ! Have money wl travel,how true ?Although starhub does the same thing but it gives variety not like Astro,here we are doomed!We pay so much for so little !SETANTA Sports too is now under Astro's control on channel 811 !
I would have to disagree with u here bro..ur saying we are doomed? not so sure how true that is..Let me say it like this..Right now, Astro have some, if not all, exclusive rights that there is out there..my point in disagreeing with u is that the variety that u said Astro in not providing unlike Starhub..Looking through what Starhub offers, most of them is available on Astro..but the difference is that Starhub gives u more of that variety than Astro..for example, lets talk about the Six Nations Rugby competition..on Starhub, u get all the games through Setanta..but on Astro, u only get the games selected buy ESPN STAR SPORTS..

But when u look at that, how willing are u if here in Malaysia, u have to decide between two providers..as I understand, if u want the channels on StarHub, u wont get the channels on mio TV..and that includes missing out on ESPN STAR SPORTS and sports like F1..I would settle for Astro having everything (even if a bit limited)on their platform then what the Singaporeans are facing and that is forking out money for two providers..so I dont think we are actually doomed with Astro but more of deprived from getting some f he thing we would want..

The best solution is to have the sports on both providers but that would mean scrapping the exclusive rights, something that providers are unwilling to take..

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 5 2011, 03:27 PM
dxjb
post May 5 2011, 09:28 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 5 2011, 03:37 PM)

Added on May 5, 2011, 3:42 pm
Yes friend, the right word should be Deprived ! Just like now we are going to be deprived of Setanta Sports  !
Yeah..Setanta Sports is kinda big in Australia and the US..but its gone bust n the UK..and to be honest, the content on Setanta in the US and Australia is mainly from other networks like Sky Sports and FOX..would be good to have on Astro but I would be rooting for FOX even though there's zero chance of that happening.. flex.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 5 2011, 09:30 PM
dxjb
post May 6 2011, 12:10 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 5 2011, 11:20 PM)
Does anyone else bother that, since (in order) AXN HD, FX HD & Star Movies HD start putting title show besides their tv logo? shakehead.gif
Kinda like it for AXN coz it makes it easier to know what season the series is..but it is a bother on Star Movies HD though..

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 6 2011, 12:16 AM
dxjb
post May 6 2011, 12:15 AM

807 posts

NEW CHANNEL ON ASTRO..BABY TV - CHANNEL 614

It suddenly popped up on my EPG while watching Disney at 12.15 am..so what is this new channel?

Available to all for Preview from May 9..
From 1 Oct, available at RM5/month..

Wtf? What package is that gonna be in? Dont tell me the channel alone costs RM5 per month?

More channels to come along? Or is this a direct replacement for Playhouse Disney?

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 6 2011, 12:18 AM
dxjb
post May 6 2011, 04:40 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 6 2011, 01:56 AM)
As for replacement for Playhouse Disney/Disney Jr, well, if they have the guts to take Chuggington and Thomas away from the kids. I predict they'll only bring in HD version of the channel to "encourage" parents to get B.yond. That's pretty much the only HD Kids channel available in Asia at the moment.
What I ws trying to say was that since Playhouse Disney is on the way to be changed to Disney Jr, maybe Astro think its not worth it to bring out a HD channel for the kids especially Disney Jr..maybe thats why they decided, 'we gonna do away with Disney Jr/Playhouse and put another channel to replace it without needing it to be HD..? Or u could be right that they want the parents to get HD for their kids..wait and see.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 6 2011, 04:41 AM
dxjb
post May 6 2011, 04:02 PM

807 posts

edited

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 6 2011, 04:02 PM
dxjb
post May 7 2011, 02:10 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 6 2011, 10:06 PM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Astro_channels

Looks like someone already updated list of channel. hmm.gif
That info better be right..it says Sky News is coming back in both SD and HD..if that proves to be false, i'll hunt and track down the wacko who put that on the list and slap the living hell out of him for raising unquestionable expectations.. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 7 2011, 02:27 AM
dxjb
post May 8 2011, 02:15 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(khairulnizam @ May 7 2011, 09:27 AM)
no baby tv on channel 614 ? where is that chl go..
QUOTE(pokemon @ May 7 2011, 11:23 AM)
It becomes ch 992 now.  Memang Ass Throw
QUOTE(khairulnizam @ May 8 2011, 12:11 AM)
Now Baby TV on channel 618..not 614...hmmm..what package would it be in..ala carte or fun package..
This is like drama laa...once I read the 1st comment, I checked it out..true..no Baby TV on 614 eventhough it was there yesterday..then I read the 2nd comment..I checked it out..aik? No Baby TV on 992 pun? I try 922 but thats AOD..then read the 3rd comment..aaaaa..checked it out only then see its there..asTERUK betol la!!! shakehead.gif

Added on May 8, 2011, 2:19 am
QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 8 2011, 12:35 AM)
live F1 race is on ch.830 ASSP SPORT+ instead, before the Man.U vs. Chelsea 3D match. hmm.gif

I wonder how Astro could handle new HD feed of F1? Hope better than ESPN HD. brows.gif
No..they are not receiving new HD feed of F1..theres an EPL match at the same time of the F1 race..so they show that match and also dont miss out showing F1..it will be the same ESPN feed..I wonder what would have they done if CH830 was not available..they must show EPL match for contractual reasons..they dont want to get bombarded with vulgar and dirty words by F1 fans in FB like they did last year for not showing F1 in HD Live..clearly the amount of HD sports channels not enough..Sky Sports have 3 HD channels plus one extra channel for the use of the red button like for World Cup on Astro before..

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 8 2011, 02:20 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0536sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:22 AM