(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V2, A tough phone for Android
crapp0
Apr 12 2011, 08:57 PM
Well, it looks like my phone really hates jboogies rom since i've tried both liquid arc and gingerbread and both gave me the problem of intermittent gsm connection problems and frequent "emergency call" status.
Just recovered my old finland rom and everythings back to normal with my gsm reception.
Looks like i gotta see if the next iteration of jboogie wont cause gsm connection blackouts on my phone again.
Btw, i am on singtel non-3g service for now but am going to get another 3G sim card for this phone.
This post has been edited by crapp0: Apr 12 2011, 08:58 PM
blackwhitechipsKL
Apr 12 2011, 08:59 PM
lol, that's bad for you bro. why not try the Barebones ROM? or Pays?
crapp0
Apr 12 2011, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 08:59 PM) lol, that's bad for you bro. why not try the Barebones ROM? or Pays? Could it be becoz i previously flashed by phone using a SBF which has somehow blacklisted my phone from using jboogies rom? Coz everything seems to be working fine on with jboogies rom except for the phone reception which goes haywire real bad.
blackwhitechipsKL
Apr 12 2011, 09:10 PM
i've flashed a lot of SBF when i first tried to move to 2.2, and had a few screw up, so i guess that shouldnt be the case. i was prepared to have my DEFY turn into a RM1k+ paperweight!
luckily Sifu Lingch helped me and finally found a full SBF to flash, although i lose direct downgradability.
did you set APN settings?
crapp0
Apr 12 2011, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 09:10 PM) i've flashed a lot of SBF when i first tried to move to 2.2, and had a few screw up, so i guess that shouldnt be the case. i was prepared to have my DEFY turn into a RM1k+ paperweight! luckily Sifu Lingch helped me and finally found a full SBF to flash, although i lose direct downgradability. did you set APN settings? No i did not. But i did try the phones default apn reset which should get the apn settings from my telco and it had not effect at all since i still exp intermittent outages.
Pallmalli
Apr 12 2011, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 08:54 PM) well, i'm using LiquidArc, and i can say in terms of stability, should be like the stock SEA rom. Unless you like Blur stuffs, i guess this is as good as it gets. Another one that i will try would be Barebones, but you will have to 'customise' it more yourself, but since i malas wanna backup and restore apps, i decide to skip it. well, actually i can do a nandroid backup of my current ROM, and then do Barebones and if i dont like it, i can always restore my LiquidArc Do you mean that you can restore a nandroid backup of Barebones without needing to flash a new SBF? And than if you don't like it, can restore back the LiquiArc nandroid?
blackwhitechipsKL
Apr 12 2011, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(Pallmalli @ Apr 12 2011, 09:27 PM) Do you mean that you can restore a nandroid backup of Barebones without needing to flash a new SBF? And than if you don't like it, can restore back the LiquiArc nandroid? no lah, i mean i do a nandroid backup of my current LiquidArc, and then flash Barebones. If i dont like Barebones, i can always re-flash back to LiquidArc with my apps together
TStyenfei
Apr 12 2011, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 09:31 PM) no lah, i mean i do a nandroid backup of my current LiquidArc, and then flash Barebones. If i dont like Barebones, i can always re-flash back to LiquidArc with my apps together Yeap I always keep a copy of backup in my SD card just in case factory reset not work then i can give a try on restore
greenday
Apr 12 2011, 09:41 PM

back in business  after full flash.....fugly motoblur ui, i wan my go launcher ex
blackwhitechipsKL
Apr 12 2011, 09:43 PM
finland ROM??
greenday
Apr 12 2011, 09:49 PM

2.59 SEA full flash.....might try liquidarc though since so many positive comments but tis week no time  reserve / KIV for next week
blackwhitechipsKL
Apr 12 2011, 09:55 PM
take the plunge dude, and see how much difference custom ROMs are!!
i know i did!! just dont screw up if you want downgradability...and flash on a full battery. i didn't, and i screw up, and i was left with battery low warning, unable to program. had to do some major USB wiring thingamagick to revive the battery before i can flash
greenday
Apr 12 2011, 10:06 PM

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 09:55 PM) take the plunge dude, and see how much difference custom ROMs are!! i know i did!! just dont screw up if you want downgradability...and flash on a full battery. i didn't, and i screw up, and i was left with battery low warning, unable to program. had to do some major USB wiring thingamagick to revive the battery before i can flash roger tat  but still kiv next week, where i will have more time to get more info and all the steps rite lolz, hmm i still need 2.59 in place 1st rite if wan maintain downgradability? This post has been edited by greenday: Apr 12 2011, 10:06 PM
Pallmalli
Apr 12 2011, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 09:31 PM) no lah, i mean i do a nandroid backup of my current LiquidArc, and then flash Barebones. If i dont like Barebones, i can always re-flash back to LiquidArc with my apps together Thanks you spared me some headache!!
blackwhitechipsKL
Apr 12 2011, 10:10 PM
it's Android after all. if you dont like customising it, get an iphone!!
Pallmalli
Apr 12 2011, 10:33 PM
Man give him some time. Once he is started is not going to stop anymore.
lingch
Apr 12 2011, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 10:10 PM) it's Android after all. if you dont like customising it, get an iphone!! You forgot symbian and win7
blackwhitechipsKL
Apr 12 2011, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(lingch @ Apr 12 2011, 10:33 PM) You forgot symbian and win7  what's that you said? i didnt hear you
TStyenfei
Apr 12 2011, 10:46 PM
... ... trade in the N97 because it is symbian. LOL
theBigO
Apr 12 2011, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 12 2011, 10:46 PM) ... ... trade in the N97 because it is symbian. LOL Symbian is dying...that's why Nokia is going to roll out winmo7 phones soon. If not bye bye Nokia....