(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V2, A tough phone for Android

Pallmalli
post Apr 12 2011, 09:27 PM

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 08:54 PM)
well, i'm using LiquidArc, and i can say in terms of stability, should be like the stock SEA rom. Unless you like Blur stuffs, i guess this is as good as it gets.

Another one that i will try would be Barebones, but you will have to 'customise' it more yourself, but since i malas wanna backup and restore apps, i decide to skip it. well, actually i can do a nandroid backup of my current ROM, and then do Barebones and if i dont like it, i can always restore my LiquidArc

Do you mean that you can restore a nandroid backup of Barebones without needing to flash a new SBF? And than if you don't like it, can restore back the LiquiArc nandroid?
Pallmalli
post Apr 12 2011, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 09:31 PM)
no lah, i mean i do a nandroid backup of my current LiquidArc, and then flash Barebones. If i dont like Barebones, i can always re-flash back to LiquidArc with my apps together
Thanks you spared me some headache!! sweat.gif
Pallmalli
post Apr 12 2011, 10:33 PM

Man give him some time. Once he is started is not going to stop anymore.
Pallmalli
post Apr 15 2011, 07:04 PM

Hi guys, it seems I fuc... up my defy. Was trying to install Dsp manager but forgot to change the wrights of audiolibflingers into rw--r--r--, and rebooted. I got stuck at M logo and can't get into recovery mode only boot loader mode. Anybody have any idea what my options are. If can you please let me know? I was running LiquidArc of jboogie. Thanks in advance.
Pallmalli
post Apr 15 2011, 07:30 PM

if u tested all the way but still no luck to enter recovery .. i think u may need consider the full flash. Others pls comment unsure.gif

Yeah tried few times. mega_shok.gif Can get only into boot loader mode. If I try recovery get the M logo. You said full flash. Witch one should I take. Eclair or Froyo? And I assume it should be the original one? rclxub.gif
Pallmalli
post Apr 15 2011, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Apr 15 2011, 07:39 PM)
I think you have to full flash. Same problem as me last time. I think i forgot to backup. If full flash then you lose downgradability.

I wouldn't mind to flash Froyo 3.4.3_11. Did you have enough battery before flashing? Cause I read once at XDA Developers that before full flash you should have a full battery or at least 80%. And mine was at 70% when I screwed it up. sad.gif So I don't know what to do! Try to full flash or find a possibility to charge full first??!! icon_question.gif
Pallmalli
post Apr 16 2011, 12:08 AM

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 15 2011, 11:35 PM)
dont worry, 70% is more than enough. just flash it, cos if not, battery gonna drain anyway.
Thanks I just did. It's strange cause it has somehow kept almost all my settings from LiquidArc, but off course no superuser app so I'll have to root and install recovery again. Only wi-fi can not be turned on and haptic feedback totally lost. I'm going to put LiquidArc back anyway. smile.gif

Running LiquidArc once more. Everything works ok biggrin.gif .

This post has been edited by Pallmalli: Apr 16 2011, 02:33 AM
Pallmalli
post Apr 19 2011, 02:06 AM

QUOTE(LeoWillis @ Apr 18 2011, 11:45 PM)
Guys, I have a very noob question here:

How can I utilize/install/use the nandroid? coz I wanted to flash LiquidArc ROM.

I have both the LiquidArc ROM & Nandroid 2.0.

I'd downloaded LiquidArc ROM from:
http://modmymobile.com/forums/640-motorola...-21-2011-a.html

But due to my noobness, I can't understand the instructions >_<

My main problem is the use of nandroid2.0

1) After downloading extract the nandroid backup and the sbf file. You will have 1) a folder called LiquidArc and 2) a sbf sheet. Better extract them on your desktop. (Easier to find)
2) If you rooted your phone and downloaded the system recovery from the STEP BY STEP FROM ECLAIR TO FROYO GUIDE, (on the front page of this forum) you will have a folder called goapkrev on your sd card. Place the LiquidArc folder in the sdcard/goapkrev/backup.
3) Open system recovery wipe data/factory reset and wipe cache and restore the LiquidArc nandroid backup.
4) when restore is complete pull battery out and place back in while holding the vol up and power button(bootloader mode)
5)Use rsdlite to flash the sbf
(6)Enjoy
Note: after signing in, select the launcher as default, let google restore your apps for you and when done reboot.

This is all I did and everything went as it should and am very happy with this rom. biggrin.gif
Ps. I never use Nandroid 2.0. so can't tell you anything about it. unsure.gif
Pallmalli
post Apr 20 2011, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 20 2011, 05:20 PM)
sure i apply that .. and just only I recall that i didn't do wipe cache/ data after I restore the LiqurdArc  hmm.gif

not sure this is the reason or not  rclxub.gif  .... after install/ custom my apps really lazy to do it again  cry.gif
You don't have to wipe after restoring LiquidArc. Only before. My setvsel is working ok. The rom is very good and I got only once a FC.

Sorry forgot to mention before. Someone at modmymobile had the same problem and JBoogie told him to don't touch the treshold. JBoogie is not a fan of setvsel either. He prefers milestone overclock+setcpu.

This post has been edited by Pallmalli: Apr 20 2011, 10:05 PM
Pallmalli
post May 15 2011, 10:25 PM

Guys can any of you give a comparison between LiquidArc and cm7? For me most important is battery life. And can I install the second innit and the cm7 zip directly from LiquidArc or do I have to follow all the steps? I have flashed already 3.4.3.-11 UK.
Pallmalli
post May 15 2011, 11:05 PM

QUOTE(tyenfei @ May 15 2011, 10:35 PM)
for sure CM7 is faster.. and this bete6 battery life better. ( users' comment, not my view )

and just skip the step of rooting or 2ndinit if already done/ exit.
Sorry my bad I was not clear enough. I installed 3.4.3 before LiquidArc. Now I want to know if I can go on from here and install 2nd innit and than cm7 or should I restore or even flash again 3.4.3
Pallmalli
post May 16 2011, 01:11 AM

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ May 16 2011, 12:26 AM)

install 2nd innit and then wipe data/cache then install cm7 and gapps.zip
Thanks, will try tomorrow.

Pallmalli
post May 17 2011, 12:22 AM

Hi guys, just installed cm7 but can't conentc to wifi. Any of you had the same problem?
Pallmalli
post May 17 2011, 02:52 AM

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ May 17 2011, 12:42 AM)
mine work on 1st try.
Thanks for fast reply. I'm still having the problem. Wiped twice and even dalvik cache and reinstalled. No luck at all. cry.gif Anybody can help? icon_question.gif
Pallmalli
post Jun 23 2011, 10:23 PM

Hi guys, its been some time I haven't checked the forum and see a lot of new things. That's really great! Defy all the way. Does anybody know how to install JBoogie3BlurryGinger v2.0 starting out with cm7?
Pallmalli
post Jul 6 2011, 12:14 AM

QUOTE(dnth @ Jul 3 2011, 05:05 PM)
anyone got hold of the 2200mAh batt??
hows the performance? any difference?
If you are asking about the 2200mAh Andida battery from obostore, I would say not even as good and long lasting as the original one. Good as a back up but not as a replacement.

0.0381sec    0.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:59 PM