(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V2, A tough phone for Android

crapp0
post Apr 11 2011, 11:29 PM

4,414 posts

Anybody got any tips on how to fix my phone signal problems?

I currently flashed my phone from the finland 2.2 froyo rom to both jboogie liquid arc and just recently blurginger and the same problem im facing is the poor cell phone reception im getting eventhough my previous finland rom had no problems whatsoever in this regard.

Btw, i am using a singapore line and its just for calling and sending sms so there's no 3G services on my phone for now. Would the "3gfix" i've read on other forums fix my problem whereby i cant get good signal strength anymore even though previously on the finland rom had no problems in this regard.
crapp0
post Apr 12 2011, 07:11 PM

4,414 posts

Step 1 : Download this master-apn HERE
Step 2 : Put it in the root of your sdcard. Now install Root Explorer
Step 3 : In the Root Explorer navigate to your sdcard and find the apns-conf.xml, copy it
Step 4 : Now go to /system/etc. Click R/W to R/O on the top right corner and paste your apns-conf.xml and replace the current one
Step 5 : Go to setting - Wireless and networks - Mobile networks - Access point names
Step 6 : Click menu button and click Reset to defaults. Wait for it to apply your settings automatically and you are done

How do i install root explorer since its not free?
crapp0
post Apr 12 2011, 08:57 PM

4,414 posts

Well, it looks like my phone really hates jboogies rom since i've tried both liquid arc and gingerbread and both gave me the problem of intermittent gsm connection problems and frequent "emergency call" status.

Just recovered my old finland rom and everythings back to normal with my gsm reception.

Looks like i gotta see if the next iteration of jboogie wont cause gsm connection blackouts on my phone again.

Btw, i am on singtel non-3g service for now but am going to get another 3G sim card for this phone.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Apr 12 2011, 08:58 PM
crapp0
post Apr 12 2011, 09:04 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 08:59 PM)
lol, that's bad for you bro. why not try the Barebones ROM? or Pays?
Could it be becoz i previously flashed by phone using a SBF which has somehow blacklisted my phone from using jboogies rom?

Coz everything seems to be working fine on with jboogies rom except for the phone reception which goes haywire real bad.
crapp0
post Apr 12 2011, 09:15 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 12 2011, 09:10 PM)
i've flashed a lot of SBF when i first tried to move to 2.2, and had a few screw up, so i guess that shouldnt be the case. i was prepared to have my DEFY turn into a RM1k+ paperweight!

luckily Sifu Lingch helped me and finally found a full SBF to flash, although i lose direct downgradability.

did you set APN settings?
No i did not.

But i did try the phones default apn reset which should get the apn settings from my telco and it had not effect at all since i still exp intermittent outages.
crapp0
post Apr 14 2011, 09:31 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Apr 14 2011, 08:46 AM)
ROM Name : Jboogie3 UK BlurlessGingerFroyo 4

Link : http://modmymobile.com/forums/640-motorola...-16-2011-a.html

Things to note before use : Non-Downgradable (i think so)

Anything Special In This ROM : Superb battery customization, full flash 10.2, Smoother, and very few bloatware

Battery Life Comment : Awesome. If set properly my phone can last for 2 full days

Stability Comment : Sometimes 3G will off it self. Fixed by restarting phone.

Other Comment : I love this ROM. Waiting for Cyanogen.  icon_idea.gif
I thought cyanogens mod is only for a select few of android phone models, and the defy isnt one of them.
crapp0
post Apr 14 2011, 11:24 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Apr 14 2011, 10:30 AM)
Have not tried that. Thanks for the tip. smile.gif The issue should not even be present coz damn leceh la. shakehead.gif

CrappO: There's a Dev Build for the Cyanogen Mod for the Defy already. I believe we will be getting it very soon. smile.gif
Hmm, i wonder how it will stack up with jboogies, so far all of jboogies roms give me the same annoying problem of erratic phone reception and emergency call notifications.
crapp0
post Apr 14 2011, 12:29 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Apr 14 2011, 12:08 PM)
try insert ntwork tweak on ur build prop..
How do i do that?

One guy asked me to reset my apn settings which i did but not effect.
crapp0
post Apr 27 2011, 01:15 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 27 2011, 11:25 AM)
can take a pic and show us?? my DEFY still naked like first day. no screen protector or whatever
Me too. Since i work out most of the time i got this phone as my primary work phone and am planning to get another phone for personal use.
crapp0
post May 28 2011, 09:49 AM

4,414 posts

Hi, anybody experienced what looks like specks of dust underneath or within the defy's screen?

I sent it to the motorola center and they told me that its natural since their own service center model has this issue and its a design of the screen due to it being gorilla glass.

The specks are most visible under very bright light or under natural sunlight.
crapp0
post May 30 2011, 09:48 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ May 30 2011, 09:45 AM)
after updated to froyo,my defy work very well but no notification sound when putting charging and removing

anyone face this problem ?
Didnt really notice that problem. Its not a deal breaker for me.

0.0379sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:37 AM