(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V2, A tough phone for Android

theBigO
post Apr 16 2011, 08:01 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(eveready @ Apr 16 2011, 06:49 PM)
Beta1 already out for download
Yup it's out...but seems still have a lot of bugs. I think i will wait till it's more stable before using it. Cant afford to miss a call or two blush.gif

Added on April 16, 2011, 8:04 pm
QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Apr 16 2011, 06:12 PM)
New Defy case  brows.gif

[attachmentid=2159778]

Many more here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=41544820

PM me if interested.
Been using this case for the past 1 month. Got it from Ebay. Fits perfectly with easy access to all the buttons. But the only downside is that it doesnt offers full protection on the top and bottom on the phone as it is exposed. But it looks really nice and slim.

This post has been edited by theBigO: Apr 16 2011, 08:04 PM
theBigO
post Apr 18 2011, 01:41 AM

31 posts

Just install CM7 Beta 2 on my phone. Will let you guys know how it works out. brows.gif
theBigO
post Apr 18 2011, 03:19 AM

31 posts

Wow...1472 on 800mhz quadrant...
theBigO
post Apr 19 2011, 01:30 AM

31 posts

Been using CM7 (Beta 2) for the past day. Had some issues with calls as it will fc sometimes...but found out it's due to me forgot to do a complete full wipe. After doing the full wipe calls has no issue anymore.

Other than that everything else is fast and smooth even without OC.
Camera is working fine. You can actually customize the volume button to take photos. As some of u alrdy know that CM7 has a lot of customizations. I still have not explore everything yet.

Battery life is good. From yesterday till now i still have about 20% left (about 27 hours with constant downloading, testing and tweaking).

Other than that as reported in XDA, these functions are not ready yet:

aGPS - not work
Video Camera - not work
720p Video - not work
Auto-Brightness - Not Work
FM-Radio - not work

But as a everyday ROM it's fully usable now if you dont really use the functions above.

Waiting impatiently for Beta3 ... hope there is more improvements.
I wanted to use back 2.2 froyo...but just cant find myself doing it. blush.gif
Once you install CM7 you wont wanna go back to 2.2 rclxm9.gif

theBigO
post Apr 19 2011, 02:06 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 19 2011, 01:55 AM)
it's THAT good?? i was hoping for a far more stable ROM before using it. after all, i can wait. i hate to re-customize everything again.

can you do a step by step guide to install CM7?
Well if you go to XDA u can see all the guys there are so excited about it. So you can imagine how does it compared to Froyo. It's really fast. As for Quadrant, i dont know how accurate it is but at 800Mhz i got 1400++ and OC at 1000mhz i got about 1800.

It's quite stable alrdy but as i mentioned a few function couldnt work yet, but i dont really bother about those. I never use aGPS, FM radio and Auto Brightness. As for Camcorder, so far i only use it once since i got the phone. Will do a guide when i am more sober. haha. Dont want to write wrongly and cause others to brick phone sweat.gif

This post has been edited by theBigO: Apr 19 2011, 02:10 AM
theBigO
post Apr 19 2011, 02:15 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(theBigO @ Apr 19 2011, 02:06 AM)
Well if you go to XDA u can see all the guys there are so excited about it. So you can imagine how does it compared to Froyo. It's really fast. As for Quadrant, i dont know how accurate it is but at 800Mhz i got 1400++ and OC at 1000mhz i got about 1800.

It's quite stable alrdy but as i mentioned a few function couldnt work yet, but i dont really bother about those. I never use aGPS, FM radio and Auto Brightness. As for Camcorder, so far i only use it once since i got the phone. Will do a guide when i am more sober. haha. Dont want to write wrongly and cause others to brick phone  sweat.gif
Just done a few more quadrant - 2000++ @1000mhz ohmy.gif
theBigO
post Apr 19 2011, 12:09 PM

31 posts

One more thing....i think the 3d rendering has improved greatly. Last time when i do quadrant test on the planet spinning image, you can actually see a black spot on the moon which i not suppose to be there. Now using CM7 i dont see the black spot anymore. The FPS also increase from 10 fps to about 60-65fps.
theBigO
post Apr 19 2011, 12:15 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Apr 19 2011, 12:11 PM)
From 10 to 60 fps?? For real? cry.gif
Well that's the reading i got if Quadrant can be trusted. I will try other benchmark and see.

YUP...i just did another quadrant test. The moon image is running at 50-60 fps.

This post has been edited by theBigO: Apr 19 2011, 12:18 PM
theBigO
post Apr 19 2011, 03:46 PM

31 posts

Steps to CM7:

1)Go to Market and download Defy 2int App.

2) Download CM7 (Beta 2) from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1033654

3) Steps

- download CyanogenMod7 Beta 2 and put it on sdcard
- load 2ndInt Recovery Installer from Market
- start the app, click install, wait for the led to turn green, disable usb debugging in the settings and reboot normally for 2 times.
- Reboot for the 3rd time, when the M logo appears, wait for the blue Led and then press "Volume down"
- Choose [Custom Recovery] start
- then you will see the familiar Clockwork Recovery interface
- wipe data/factory reset and wipe cache partition
- after that "install zip from sdcard" (choose the downloaded cm7 zip from sdcard)
- reboot
- wait for blue led again then "Volume down" and then choose "[2ND-INIT] boot"
- done and you are now in CM7

4) After that you can install the others like gApps, update zips, and fixes.
(Fixes and updates zip can be found here --> http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1033654 )

-reboot
-wait for blue led then press Volume down
-choose Customer Recovery
-choose Install Zip From SDCard.
-choose the zip file u want to use
-reboot
-done.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Do not use the normal Clockwork recovery anymore. Anytime you want to install any zip file or restore/backup, you MUST use 2int by following the steps above. If not you will get stuck in boot logo.

Not working at the moment :
aGPS - not work
Video Camera - not work
720p Video - not work
FM-Radio - not work

Features in CM7:

-A lot of customizable themes
-DSP Manager
-Customizable Lockscreen
-Customizable Camera Buttons
-Faster and smoother than 2.2 Froyo
-Improved 3D performance

And a lot more:
theBigO
post Apr 19 2011, 06:29 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(eveready @ Apr 19 2011, 06:02 PM)
I'm using this gingerbread launcher for my CM7 defy.

On quadrant score, the guy who ported CM7 said it is not accurate for modded rom
Any improvement? I am using Go Launcher ex and so far so good.

Added on April 19, 2011, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(theBigO @ Apr 19 2011, 06:29 PM)
Any improvement? I am using Go Launcher ex and so far so good.
Try to install it but got error.

This post has been edited by theBigO: Apr 19 2011, 06:52 PM
theBigO
post Apr 20 2011, 04:55 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 20 2011, 04:33 PM)
My SetVsel setting will run away after i restart my phone.

never happened to me.  any one got same issue before ?
Did you click apply at boot options?
theBigO
post Apr 20 2011, 08:14 PM

31 posts

Camcorder on CM& beta 2 works now smile.gif
theBigO
post Apr 21 2011, 12:28 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Apr 21 2011, 12:20 AM)
still in Beta 2? only a minor update?
Beta3 is out. rclxms.gif

Added on April 21, 2011, 12:53 am
QUOTE(LeoWillis @ Apr 20 2011, 10:05 PM)
Sifu,

How come u can keep the motorola date widget with u while u r using Jboogie's Liquid Arc?? (last slide)

And can you share with me all the widget u r using? it all look so nice  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
If you scroll down a few post after the post you can see what i am using.

Added on April 21, 2011, 2:08 amAm testing Jboogie CM7 ROM now as a beta tester biggrin.gif
It's silky smooth!

This post has been edited by theBigO: Apr 21 2011, 02:08 AM
theBigO
post Apr 21 2011, 12:07 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(junshern222 @ Apr 21 2011, 06:37 AM)
Anybody bother to help me,i cant send emails,anyone experienced.this?
Where do it send it from? Through phone applications or webpages? I can sent hotmail using email applications and of course gmail.

theBigO
post Apr 21 2011, 01:15 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 21 2011, 12:26 PM)
cannot tahan lah. want to install now, but wanna wait for final version first lah....but the poison....arghh!
Let me poison u further!!!!Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Added on April 21, 2011, 1:19 pm
QUOTE(eveready @ Apr 21 2011, 01:07 PM)
Where did you get jboogie3 cm7 rom? cannot find in modmymobile.
at the moment I'm on beta3 cm7. launcherpro lag issue already gone
It's not release yet. He just send to me and ask me to be his beta tester brows.gif

This post has been edited by theBigO: Apr 21 2011, 01:19 PM
theBigO
post Apr 21 2011, 02:22 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 21 2011, 02:10 PM)
i'm sure 2.3 really smooth than 2.2 .. coz my sister's CLS low end phone also feel the same after upgrade to HTC's 2.3 unofficially ....

= =" me still 2.2
Well u can be in 2.3 with a few touch and click on your phone laugh.gif
theBigO
post Apr 22 2011, 02:08 PM

31 posts

Tyenfei, i think you should update the post on 1st page regarding the CM7. It's now on Beta 3 alrdy. List of things working and not working:

Wifi - Working
SD-Card - Woking
3d - Working
Brightness - Working
Sensors - Working
Bluetooth +Headset + HID - Working
USB - Woking
Audio - Working
Photo Camera with Flash - Working
LED - Working
H264 Video - Working
RIL - Working
GPS - have bugs
Video Camera - Working
aGPS - not work
720p Video - not work
FM-Radio - not work
theBigO
post Apr 22 2011, 02:40 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 22 2011, 02:24 PM)
Updated jor smile.gif

Will going to test it once GPS okay ^^.

btw .. what is that "RIL"???
RIL is Radio Interface Library for our phone to make and receive telephone calls and use data connections.
theBigO
post Apr 22 2011, 11:50 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 22 2011, 11:45 PM)
every phone is complex if we talk about how it build/work/engineering function.

but phone doesn't complex if ~ we just use it smile.gif

for the speaker hole, i don't know how it work but i'm sure my Defy unit is water proof ^^.    I applied my screen protector with fresh water tap open and my phone under water.
Actually there is a lot of rubber seal inside the phone to protect the circuit and parts inside. I open up the phone before ohmy.gif

theBigO
post Apr 23 2011, 07:42 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 23 2011, 06:55 PM)
really?? i'm next to my router also cannot detect and connect? need to do anything special??

Added on April 23, 2011, 6:56 pmreally?? i'm next to my router also cannot detect and connect? need to do anything special??
No...no need anything special. Mine work out of installing. Just make sure you on your wifi before u use the market to recover ur apps or you gonna eat up a lot of data $$$.

Oh and make sure your choose auto 2nd Int boot in the options.

This post has been edited by theBigO: Apr 23 2011, 07:44 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0452sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:30 PM