133 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

SiriuslyCold
post May 22 2006, 08:54 AM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ May 17 2006, 11:24 PM)
OMG.. why I saw McD + Fine Meal in Audiophile thread..  doh.gif doh.gif laugh.gif
laugh.gif it's called an 'analogy' tongue.gif

why? food makes sense to most people

about McDs - whjen the first McD opened up in KL they were the first fast food joint to enforce self-service... not realizing this, two guys went and after waiting at their table for 1/2 hr (upstairs where they can't see the counter) stormed out of the place saying "bah! poor service!!"

htkaki
post May 25 2006, 09:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

When I see McD Value Meal, I think of Hi-Fi package at bargain price. tongue.gif
SiriuslyCold
post May 26 2006, 03:52 AM

1,976 posts

my equating McD is on the basis of that its edible, but mostly junk i.e listenable but not high fidelity wink.gif
AoiNatsume
post May 26 2006, 07:05 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 25 2006, 09:37 PM)
When I see McD Value Meal, I think of Hi-Fi package at bargain price.  tongue.gif
yea yea, i went to McD recently... and suddenly recall this post and really lol-ed...
htkaki
post May 26 2006, 09:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ May 26 2006, 07:05 PM)
yea yea, i went to McD recently... and suddenly recall this post and really lol-ed...
I think the Hi-Fi bug really did it job on us. tongue.gif
Omegaminx
post May 26 2006, 10:12 PM

181 posts

Is this turning into a McDonalds thread (hijacked)? LoL tongue.gif

Hi there htkaki, how've u been, and the Velodyne CHT12R? smile.gif

SiriuslyCold
post May 26 2006, 11:57 PM

1,976 posts

its the same, when you go McD's you get UPSIZED biggrin.gif

back to hifi...

does anyone in Malaysia sell Acoustic-Solutions? There are a couple of shops in Singapore selling their products and the prices are low (arouns SG$200+ for the CD player if i remember correctly - will update once i go to Sim Lim Sq).

For those prices, it probably won't compete with the likes of NAD, Marantz or rotel, but could make a good entry-level system for a beginner. Should be much better than a minicompo

And I also saw a digital 5.1 AV Amp on eBay UK selling for £55.00

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: May 26 2006, 11:58 PM
poison arrow
post May 27 2006, 05:58 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ May 26 2006, 11:57 PM)
its the same, when you go McD's you get UPSIZED biggrin.gif

back to hifi...

does anyone in Malaysia sell Acoustic-Solutions? There are a couple of shops in Singapore selling their products and the prices are low (arouns SG$200+ for the CD player if i remember correctly - will update once i go to Sim Lim Sq).

For those prices, it probably won't compete with the likes of NAD, Marantz or rotel, but could make a good entry-level system for a beginner. Should be much better than a minicompo

And I also saw a digital 5.1 AV Amp on eBay UK selling for £55.00
a dutch product huh.......look sleek.....sifu, u planning for one? tongue.gif tongue.gif
SiriuslyCold
post May 27 2006, 10:32 PM

1,976 posts

no lah... just making options available for new addicts wink.gif

htkaki
post May 29 2006, 04:59 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Omegaminx @ May 26 2006, 10:12 PM)

Hi there htkaki, how've u been, and the Velodyne CHT12R? smile.gif
Bro, changed my mind as my current sub cld go as low as 25Hz, which is same as CHT-12R and enuf to 'shake' the foundation of the hse. Now, saving $$$ to buy AE900 and reno my room into HT room. smile.gif
Renovatio
post May 29 2006, 06:17 PM

~ Enthusiast low on cash ~
1,942 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 29 2006, 04:59 PM)
Bro, changed my mind as my current sub cld go as low as 25Hz, which is same as CHT-12R and enuf to 'shake' the foundation of the hse. Now, saving $$$ to buy AE900 and reno my room into HT room. smile.gif
hehe how much is the expected cost for the entire project? tongue.gif Just want to know a rough idea coz I am also planning the same. If possible, going to dump around RM30k into it haha.. but before that, I need to upgrade my house's security haha
htkaki
post May 30 2006, 08:17 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Renovatio @ May 29 2006, 06:17 PM)
hehe how much is the expected cost for the entire project? tongue.gif Just want to know a rough idea coz I am also planning the same. If possible, going to dump around RM30k into it haha.. but before that, I need to upgrade my house's security haha

Not too sure. Now, sourcing for the sound insulation foam. Carpetting will de done too. Then, will have to invest in 'black-out' curtains. I dont think the whole project will cost RM30K for me.

My room is just nice; measuring 10' X 20' and the door is of solid door. Just have to do proper sound insulation, carpetting and install air-cond. Move out the existing furniture, replace with comfy sofa and do some cabling job (DIY). Final touhc-up wld be some nice movie posters that I have collected to be hang on the wall.

Sld be less than RM10K.

AVJunior
post Jun 13 2006, 11:34 AM

151 posts

this is a good topic which i could get lots of information on a HIFI system(including McD) for a newbie in HIFI world like me.

i need your opinion again. actually never tot of getting a HIFI system. but went for audition last weekend on the NAD 521 and 320, immediately fall in love with it. sigh.....have to spend more again. maybe an entry level one will do for starting. the speakers used during the audition was Focus audio bookshelf. sound was amazing. but after looking at the price tag, forget it, changed to mission m31. played the same songs, amazed again that it doesn't loss that much. natural and very good soundstage.

so was wondering if the diamond 9.1 will sound better than the mission coz thinking of getting a pr of 9.1. any comment? hehe....

For a budget HIFI system, i saw in perfecthifi promotion, marantz 5400 and PM4400 was lot cheaper than the NAD. any opinion on how it sounds compared to NAD? oso if cost the matter, can i paired the 5400 with NAD 320, which will save me few hundreds if to use NAD CDP?

can a normal DVD player sounds as good as the CDP?

Thanks,
htkaki
post Jun 13 2006, 11:58 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Actually Mordaunt Short Avant 902i also quite good.

Here's the link to the info and review:

Mordaunt Short Avant 902i - Supertest Winner
sevendogz
post Jun 13 2006, 12:36 PM

1,276 posts

i heard that diamond 9.1 needs plenty of power to drive, i've auditioned both, thinks that 9.1 got more oomph when pairing with a marantz, then MS is detail and crispy, to say,..my personal view
htkaki
post Jun 13 2006, 02:20 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I guess that Marantz aint that a good match for Avant 902i kua.
SiriuslyCold
post Jun 13 2006, 02:51 PM

1,976 posts

check out the review of this new speaker company in the current issue of What Hifi (or read it online)

it looks solid, and the insides look well made too

QAcoustics Q1010

user posted imageuser posted image

Enclosure Type: 2-way
Bass Unit (mm) : 100
Treble Unit (mm) : 25
Frequency Response (±3dB) : 68Hz - 20kHz
Nominal Impedance (Ohm) : 6
Minimum Impedance (Ohm) : 4
Sensitivity (2.83v@1m) : 86dB
Recommended Amplifier Power : 15 - 75W
Crossover Frequency (kHz) : 2.5
Effective Volume (litres) : 3.4
Cabinet Dimensions (HxDxWmm) : 215 x 195 x 150
Weight (Kg per cabinet) : 2.8

eyerule
post Jun 13 2006, 02:54 PM

my cow died, it slipped on a banana skin
1,037 posts

quite good numbers on the spec sheet for a 4inch cone... it is 4 inch right?
SiriuslyCold
post Jun 13 2006, 02:59 PM

1,976 posts

ya this is the 4" baby model - looks like they have bigger models as well; but the baby of the range Q1010 starts at GBP100 which is also quite promising, price wise.

Wonder when they'll come to this region (maybe someone can ask one of these guys)

htkaki
post Jun 13 2006, 03:11 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

CMY in Sg Wang.

133 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:31 PM