Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!
ktek
May 29 2015, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(benblitz @ May 29 2015, 08:05 AM) Here you go, this is basically what I am doing right now, the hanged speakers are surround speakers model, my main issue is that shouldnt surround sound use optical? since rca only left and right? please advise the surround speaker placement. thanks [attachmentid=4464893] a quickie for u is optical cable transmit data, not sound wave. u cannot use optical without decoder at speaker side. rca is left--right, does not mean the amplifier unit cannot produce surround. dsp inside is a sound field processor which split out the stereo sound from rca to surround channel. front height surround is ok, be sure u reverse the phase to avoid cancellation This post has been edited by ktek: May 29 2015, 09:43 AM
benblitz
May 29 2015, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ May 29 2015, 09:39 AM) a quickie for u is optical cable transmit data, not sound wave. u cannot use optical without decoder at speaker side. rca is left--right, does not mean the amplifier unit cannot produce surround. dsp inside is a sound field processor which split out the stereo sound from rca to surround channel. front height surround is ok, be sure u reverse the phase to avoid cancellation Reverse the phase of both of the front height surround? I have to flip the red and black wire is it?
ktek
May 29 2015, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(benblitz @ May 29 2015, 11:52 AM) Reverse the phase of both of the front height surround? I have to flip the red and black wire is it? yes. flip them
acson56
Jun 7 2015, 09:13 PM
i used aego M many years ago...then upgraded to focal xs 2.1 as the aego m cant satisfy me already.... now im thinking to upgrade it to focal bird 2.1 or little bird 2.1 ...any suggestion and where can i get them? is it worth to upgrade from focal xs 2.1?
hushymushy
Jun 7 2015, 09:52 PM
if satelites won't satisfy you.....i think you should move up the chain and consider bookshelves with stereo amp
widget
Jun 7 2015, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(acson56 @ Jun 7 2015, 09:13 PM) i used aego M many years ago...then upgraded to focal xs 2.1 as the aego m cant satisfy me already.... now im thinking to upgrade it to focal bird 2.1 or little bird 2.1 ...any suggestion and where can i get them? is it worth to upgrade from focal xs 2.1? If you like Focal house-sound, maybe you can try upgrade to their active monitoring speakers, like the entry level Alpha series? I've listened to their Bird/Little Bird series and to me, they do look nice but the sound quality is nothing to shout about.
GI Jie
Jun 8 2015, 01:07 PM
Hello everybody...just came home last nite. Ya, visited the shop in Mongkok. Hell, in fact the whole building was full of imported high end stuff. No pictures cos they won't allow me to take them. Auditioned the MBL but not 9008A or the 9011 cos not in stock but the 7008A integrated amp coupled to the strangest looking loudspeakers (116F) & AR CD6. Very transparent but too clinical for me. Zero life. Well, played my CD there and it sounded different. Not the sound I was looking for but the bass rattled the glass display cabinets when he turned the volume up. Cost of the 9011 is HKD140,000. Transaction in HK only. You do your own shipping. 2 months to order. Walauwei....
widget
Jun 8 2015, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jun 8 2015, 01:07 PM) Hello everybody...just came home last nite. Ya, visited the shop in Mongkok. Hell, in fact the whole building was full of imported high end stuff. No pictures cos they won't allow me to take them. Auditioned the MBL but not 9008A or the 9011 cos not in stock but the 7008A integrated amp coupled to the strangest looking loudspeakers (116F) & AR CD6. Very transparent but too clinical for me. Zero life. Well, played my CD there and it sounded different. Not the sound I was looking for but the bass rattled the glass display cabinets when he turned the volume up. Cost of the 9011 is HKD140,000. Transaction in HK only. You do your own shipping. 2 months to order. Walauwei.... I think the sound from some German high-end, be it MBL, Burmester, is an acquired taste. I'm also not fond of what you said as very transparent but too clinical sounding. Their aesthetic can also be a bit over-the-top, but I do like the design of T+A stuff. This post has been edited by widget: Jun 8 2015, 01:23 PM
hushymushy
Jun 8 2015, 01:32 PM
strangely they pair with AR CD6 as that might not be a good match.... nevertheless.....the MBL sound signature is very strong and needs proper matching
good experience though to listen to those Germans..... its not easy to audition in MY....
@GI Jie , you may have acquired taste for Passlabs...hehehehehehe
hushymushy
Jun 8 2015, 01:34 PM
i might be flying TH and HK in July....might pop by Mongkok and KS & Sons @ Bangkok but scared the poison kicks in....
am at the look out for mini power amp and bookshelves for my study room... gonna go budget this time......max budget including speakers, power amp and cables RM5k
GI Jie
Jun 8 2015, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jun 8 2015, 01:34 PM) i might be flying TH and HK in July....might pop by Mongkok and KS & Sons @ Bangkok but scared the poison kicks in.... am at the look out for mini power amp and bookshelves for my study room... gonna go budget this time......max budget including speakers, power amp and cables RM5k You mana boleh tahan ler...The ARC poison will take control and before you know it, it will be sitting in your study
GI Jie
Jun 8 2015, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(widget @ Jun 8 2015, 01:22 PM) I think the sound from some German high-end, be it MBL, Burmester, is an acquired taste. I'm also not fond of what you said as very transparent but too clinical sounding. Their aesthetic can also be a bit over-the-top, but I do like the design of T+A stuff. Ya, I think so too...acquired taste indeed but so far not to my tastebuds (yet/perhaps). Ah well, it was actually fun seeing the sales lugging that monster up and down the room. Actually took more than 20 minutes to set it up and another 10 minutes to warm the bugger up.
GI Jie
Jun 8 2015, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jun 8 2015, 01:32 PM) strangely they pair with AR CD6 as that might not be a good match.... nevertheless.....the MBL sound signature is very strong and needs proper matching good experience though to listen to those Germans..... its not easy to audition in MY.... @GI Jie , you may have acquired taste for Passlabs...hehehehehehe Actually and seriously no as I am genuinely considering the Momentum monoblocks by Dan D'Agostino paired to SF Aida. The Passlabs are just too massive.
Topet
Jun 8 2015, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(GI Jie @ Jun 8 2015, 06:25 PM) Actually and seriously no as I am genuinely considering the Momentum monoblocks by Dan D'Agostino paired to SF Aida. The Passlabs are just too massive. Oohhh Aida.. Beautiful Masterpiece...i support if aida
hushymushy
Jun 8 2015, 07:41 PM
Topet...Aida's come with premium request for top notch amps...hehehehe
GI Jie ...i won't want another system with ARC.... needs to be something different needs to be budget with high end sound output
unless ARC VTi60 comes at a good price...which i doubt so
even sonerin Musical Paradise oredi 8k++ and then plus speakers and cables will be sub 10k+++ too expensive for study room
This post has been edited by hushymushy: Jun 8 2015, 07:53 PM
Topet
Jun 8 2015, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jun 8 2015, 07:41 PM) Topet...Aida's come with premium request for top notch amps...hehehehe GI Jie ...i won't want another system with ARC.... needs to be something different needs to be budget with high end sound output unless ARC VTi60 comes at a good price...which i doubt so even sonerin Musical Paradise oredi 8k++ and then plus speakers and cables will be sub 10k+++ too expensive for study room Great amps with great speakers...never heard how aida's sound. Just her little sister venere at amcorp mall. Sound was great until i saw the price...i'll stay with paradigm for a time being.. Whoever buy Aida i beg you olease let me listen to it 1 song only. Illinois Jacquet
hushymushy
Jun 8 2015, 08:30 PM
Topet am sure at KLIAV ... Perfect HiFi will probably bring the Aida's again
Venere actually i don't quite like it... i'd choose Grand Piano or Luito over Venere anytime
honestly....i'd skip the lower ends and go straight for Cremona / Olympica
Topet
Jun 8 2015, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jun 8 2015, 08:30 PM) Topet am sure at KLIAV ... Perfect HiFi will probably bring the Aida's again Venere actually i don't quite like it... i'd choose Grand Piano or Luito over Venere anytime honestly....i'd skip the lower ends and go straight for Cremona / Olympica I couldn't afford even the lower ends of SF, i can only drool...really want to go KLAV but stay in Sabah. Maybe somewhere in time. Last friday felt pure LFE when quake happened. Scared also...
hushymushy
Jun 8 2015, 10:24 PM
Topet if you really want to go into SF....you can consider previous Home or Domus series
Concertino and Concerto Domus are quite good....and of coz the Grand Piano
Grand Piano used good condition should fetch roughly 6k to 7k now
GI Jie
Jun 9 2015, 03:05 AM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jun 8 2015, 07:41 PM) Topet...Aida's come with premium request for top notch amps...hehehehe GI Jie ...i won't want another system with ARC.... needs to be something different needs to be budget with high end sound output unless ARC VTi60 comes at a good price...which i doubt so even sonerin Musical Paradise oredi 8k++ and then plus speakers and cables will be sub 10k+++ too expensive for study room Bro, get a used Marantz lah...not bad at all, in fact actually quite good. Hook it up to a reasonable pair of speakers and you will be pleasantly surprised. That is why my daughter is inheriting my Marantz setup hooked to a pair of Dynaudio speakers & my reliable BMB sub. Much better than the crappy Bose Wave SoundTouch which I regret buying for her. That will be demoted to the kitchen (hahaha).